"I prayed for him to die" Nigerian woman writes as her son turns 18 (A must read) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 25 June 2016

"I prayed for him to die" Nigerian woman writes as her son turns 18 (A must read)

A Nigerian woman known as Nneka Anyachebelu took to Facebook to celebrate her only son who turned 18 yesterday, June 24.  In the post she talked about her trails and tribulations concerning her son who suffered from autism. Read the post below.
"I PRAYED FOR HIM TO DIE. Dont judge me, wait untill you hear me out.#‎Dilemma‬#Myonlyson#Autism#nohope#prayernotanswered#gaveupthefight# He was a healthy awesome child when I had him but by age 2 we noticed there was something wrong. There was no eye contact, he could not talk, didnt understand instructions, and so many other bad vibes. 
 That was when my nightmare started. I ran from pillar to post seeking solution. In some places they said he was partially deaf at others they said it was Autism. Up untill then I never heard the word Autism. The information I got about it was frightening and I saw those signs clearly in my son. 
 My life stood still. No school would take him in as he couldnt settle. Finally and luckily an Indian lady with a nursery school took him in, but my heart broke the Day I went to pick him up from school and asked her politely how he was doing. Her response was i don't know what to do with him. Am just a teacher not a psychiatrist. I cried all the way home. Thoughts bombarded my mind. Worst of all there was no answer to the tormenting thoughts. 
An only son, Autism, was it generational? Or the devil? No answer! Up untill then I was having a swell time living my life to the fullest.. But with this dilemma I crawled to God .I attended every Christian gathering, crusade, vigils; just name it. I prayed; prayed , cried, fasted , sowed seeds but nothing happened. The years went by and it seemingly got worst.
People were begining to notice there was a problem I couldnt hide it any more. (By the way, dont try hidding your shame if God doesnt hide it you can't hide it)
 My husband was tired. My mother who was perpetually encouraging me was tired, I was tired, exhausted and tired of casting, binding, fighting and faithing, so I prayed for Him to die so I could move on with my life.
 (I wanted a short cut) 
He didn't die instead he grew. Seeing God wasn't ready to take him I went back to God again in prayer, I repented and continued from where I stopped .Running from pillar to post, church to church.
 At one church I was told to go on one week dry fast with consistent midnight prayers. At midnight when I came down to pray I was usually afraid. One night as I came down for the prayer routine, I heard a voice say to me how can you be praying and afraid. You are afraid because you do not know the God you are praying to.
At that point I packed up and went on a quest to know this GOD!I stayed alone for 2weeks with only one prayer point. ( God if you are real let me know you.). I spent more time within those weeks studying the Word of God , and through the pages of the Bible I came to know this GOD. After that 2weeks of word immersion I had peace like I never had since the ordeal started. The burden for my son to speak or get normal left me. I was just at peace with God and the World.
About 3weeks later we travelled to England on Holiday. We were in a shop on Oxford street when my son that had never spoken came to me tapped me and asked me a question. 
His first words to me were where is kamsy? He was asking for His older sister.
 That was how my son started talking. One thing led to another; he started doing things he couldnt do and like magic caught up with his age mates.
 It was like Magic! No Miracle.! Today I celebrate God as He turns 18.
 There is nothing we dont talk about now. From His school work to the Girls that likes him and the ones He likes, lol.. Sometimes I even scold him that he talks too much, correcting him that as a gentleman he shouldnt talk much. How we so quickly forget...smh...
I cant thank God enough for him. Through my trial with him, I was reconnected back to God, I found my purpose in Life, and my ministry was birthed.(That is another story for another Day). I encourage you today in your own trial to fight on. No short cut.
God has not disappeared, take your eyes off your problem (if you can) Seek Him and He will do the needful plus much more m still praying... During my prayers today

I PRAYED FOR HIM TO LIVE AND SHOW FORTH THE GLORY OF GOD

149 comments:

Only stupid people will be known as hurry to judge and insult you after reading the first headline. After reading this i see reasons why I should always be grateful to God.
PRAISE THE LORD!

Only stupid people will be in ahurry to judge and insult you after reading the first headline. After reading this whole article i see reasons why I should always be grateful to God.
PRAISE THE LORD!

Wowww that's awesome,we serving a living God.I'm inspired smtimes our problem is there to draw us nearer to God.

& who said God doesn't answer prayers?
He's the omniscient, omnipotent & omni-knowest God.

Congrats ma!Happy birthday to ur son,wish him many more grace to succed in all.

God is great

Awwwwww what a great God of justice.
What a great inspiring article am sure that bitches that find them selfs in her shoe are reading this?
HAPPY BIRTH MY DEAR NO BE YOU TELL FOOLS TO VOTE FOR SCAM ALMAJIRI TERRORIST BUHARI.

Thank God for u and ur son..

Jesus is Lord. Thank you our Creator

ebony said...

I sheared tears as I read ur testimony. Our God is indeed real. I am encouraged by ur testimony. I'll shear mine someday.

They God we serve is not deaf, he sees everything and surprise his ppl wen we list expect him.. I will serve you till I die 😇

baba said...

Godtakeover

Kpakpando said...

Mother's are wonderful, enduring and great.

Proverbs 3:5 gives a total summary 2 story. Doing things our own way makes it difficult 4 most people 2 find solution 2 dia problems. The "I AM, DAT I AM " is all sufficient. Hallelujah.

Glory be to God...I tap into that grace and miracle IJN

Waoh! Am inspired
Thank you Jesus! 👅

Waoh! Am inspired
Thank you Jesus! 👅

I don't know you...but u just safe a Life!!! May the miracle and victory in ur son's life be permanent.. God pls visit me and wipe this tears.

Ok nice .
www.emhometutors.com

So touching!

VIDEO – “I swear, BROKE Guys Fuck The Best” – SEE HOW THIS AFRICAN GUY IS DESTROYING THAT PUSSY

Video: See How This Uniport Guy Hang His Girl On The Wall And Fuck The Hell Out Of Her [Monkey Style]

My God is not DEAD

Wow!!! There is GOD!!!

Wow... so touching. I thank God for his life

Awww... Thank God he survived, and courage to be there for him till this moment, it isn't easy really but God got your back! HBD handsome! #Grace

Bless God.im inspired

He is still ain't making eye contact with the camera

bravemomsbible said...

Thank you so much for this post, linda and the lady. You guys have no idea how this has impacted me. Now my struggle all makes sense. I look forward to seeking more of God, he has assured me all will be well, I just have to believe. I have been praying out of desperation not faith. I'll just leave it at that,thanks for sharing and by the way linda 'you are a phenomenal woman and may the good God we serve grant you all your heart desires.' Amen........................

heya

Wow, God give us a burden to test our faith! Never give up in life!!

Waoooo. Faithful faithful God...

God is Good. Linda take note!

What a wonderful testimony. I equally experienced this some 8yrs ago when I had my son. I noticed that his behavior was not in accordance with his age and had speech problem. I continued to trust in God and kept on with the struggle. To clear the doubt that neither I nor my wife had any biological problem, we had our second child a girl less than two years later. Because of our first experience, we quickly exposed the two of them at early stage to other children in the neighborhood to aid interaction. I visited so many hospitals such as Ear, Nose and Throat Care hospitals and Autism Centres but to no avail. My daughter started to talk less than two years after her birth. Then our third child another daughter about two years after the first and she equally commenced speaking at the age of one and half. All these years, my son could still not talk. I became so reclusive to the extent that I hardly attend ceremonies same with my wife. But my mum kept on encouraging us that the boy will talk. She showed me a girl that started to talk at the age of eight but that sound to me like ordinary story. To God be the glory, at age six while attending same school with his sisters the miracle of my life happened. We were returning from the mosque when my son pointed to the sky and said " daddy, see the stars in the sky". I was shocked because it sounds like I was dreaming. He began to call names of objects inscribed on a school fence before my house. Till today he talks more than the girls. My advice to parents especially newly wedded couples that just are expecting their first child, communicate with the child right from the womb till when they are born. Do not keep them indoors, expose them to their piers that will go a long way in eliminating the symptoms of Autism.

God is great

Waowwwwww!this kain God oooooo!I bless God for you. I use this as a point of contact for my friends going thru this!!

That's the God we serve,he maketh ways where there seems to be non.when you hold on to him and serve him diligently he will surely hear your voice and grant your hearth desires.

Eyahhhhh!! It is well

Than you Lord for I know you will come to my aid. God is not dead

Waow, am greatly inspired by this story. It means my own case is not over only that I have not prayed enough. God still answer prayers like before. Linda thanks for the post

mimik said...

Miracle working God.

Wao what parents with artistically children go through. Thank God for with Him there is no impossibility. Am so happy for you madam and celebrate your son with you because you came, you saw and you conquered. The Lord will continue to be your strength.

chi said...

Thank u Jehovah. Awesome God

MicahJnr said...

Wow 😲

What a mighty God we serve.

linda ikeji's driver. said...

Dats d God I serve,not one God dats ask me to kill for honour, or to inherite some virgins! Congrat to u madam.jesus christ d same today tomorrow n forever!

VIBEbrown consulting said...

Wat a touching story,d Lord is your strength.

Shols said...

God is faithful. I watched the video on facebook and I was quite impressed t watch Chibby speak. His speech was so fluent. I just reminds me that everything is possible with God when persevere.

Dis is soo deep. I'm truly encouraged. Thank u for sharing ur story. He shall live to fulfil d num of his years.
Pls madam Linda ikeji we need more posts like dis one

Promise Excel said...

I've never read a story as touching as this. Every word and sentence made me cry.This story reminds of Jon Morrow's mother who fought for the life of his boy with everything within her and today his son is a millionaire blogger.

No matter what one is passing through, when there's a will to survive and win, nothing can stop you.

I celebrate all the mothers and fathers and families who fight for the children no matter what.

#YourDreamsAreValid

Oh my God, I can't help tears.congratulations.your testimony will remain permanent in Jesus name.God bless you young man.

Leonard Omotayo (Hormortaryo #Frosh) said...

Halleluyah!!!

ibkworld said...

it can only be God

GOD IS GREAT

Fine young man, he has turned out to be. He shall not die but live to fulfill his God's given destiny, which is good and not evil. He shall be for signs and wonders and ur joy shall be full and overflowing over him IJN, amen.
I av a son that is on the Autistic spectrum too, but i love him to bits and with each new day, i see the manifestation of God's faithfulness, love and touch in his life.

dammy said...

One of the best things I have seen this year

Genny's Blog said...

Awwww! thank God for him.

Whao
God you are awesome!!!

God is good to Him alone be all the glory and honour and praise forever and ever Amen

My sis I feel you I went through the same thing in England there is a special sch here for kids like that that condition attack boys more my own son is now 32 getting married soon to a wonderful girl soon cont to show him love and he will be ok love is the key

I bless God...Awesome God

Inspirational .Thank God and I pray for better years .

Prayer is the master key

I understand her perfectly and is a shame most people don't understand what autism is all about

All tanx to God.

Almighty Jehovah... This came at the right time. I was having all kinds of thought. No one knows or understands what I am going through.... I smile but behind those smiles is an unhappy woman. I key into this woman's testimony right now. I will share my story for the whole world to know that God is good

Tank God....

Awwww sweet. Hmmmm, there is purpose in pain.

God is good

Stephanie said...

God is awesome #Abkeeys#

Thank God

OKORO UPGRADED

ADeSeWa said...

Hmmm, ur words are touching. by his stripes all sickness will be healed. happy birthday. long life ijn

AfroShill.blogspot.com said...

Dear God, if you can do this for this woman please do it for me. Heal my brother of this ailment...

GOD IS AWESOME!!!weeping may endure for a night But JOY comes in d Morning!

Sam spiritual said...

Wow! This is the best story ever on lib. God is real n going about doing good to those that seek him.

obietrezy said...

Thank God for making you and your family happy again, I hereby tap from your blessings.. Amen

HMMMM

YOU 4KILL AM NAW, YE YE.

AUNTY LINDA....

Even with a billion mouths, we can't thank him enough. Our God is awesome indeed!!!!

Faithful God

I understand how you felt because I'm going through the same thing with my son. Sincerely speaking it's not easy but with God it will. Congrats ma and happy belated birthday to him.

God is Great, nice story. I believe he'll never forsake me. But you guys should See How they striped, Assaulted and Raped innocent girl in public, make sure you Watch this

De miracle working God am humbled! thank u Jesus for dis amazing Testimony. We bless u now and forevermore! Amen and Amen !

I thank God for his life and your family. I connect and receive my. Own testimony

Praise God. Oh God please heal Tejiri

Awesome God!

quite inspiring...

Praise God... Thanks to Jehovah over do.

WHY WOULD YOU PRAY FOR THE BOY TO DIE? WHY DIDNT YOU PRAY FOR YOURSELF TO DIE YOU MORON? BIA LINDA, IM MAD AND DISAPPOINTED. WHAT WAS SO MUST READ ABOUT THIS? CANT YOU SEE THIS WOMAN IS A CHARLATAN TRYING TO DECEIVE US INTO BUYING INTO HER "MINISTRY"? MY DAUGHTER HAS AUTISM AND HAS 3 TIMES WEEKLY THERAPY. IN AUGUST SHE IS GOING TO A SPECIAL SCHOOL FOR KIDS WITH AUTISM. IF YOU LIKE STAY THERE LIKE ODE AND BE PRAYING. THE SAME GOD THAT GAVE YOUT CHILD AUTISM IN THE FIRST PLACE WILL MAGICALLY TAKE IT AWAY.

MAMA IFU.

WHY WOULD YOU PRAY FOR THE BOY TO DIE? WHY DIDNT YOU PRAY FOR YOURSELF TO DIE YOU MORON? BIA LINDA, IM MAD AND DISAPPOINTED. WHAT WAS SO MUST READ ABOUT THIS? CANT YOU SEE THIS WOMAN IS A CHARLATAN TRYING TO DECEIVE US INTO BUYING INTO HER "MINISTRY"? MY DAUGHTER HAS AUTISM AND HAS 3 TIMES WEEKLY THERAPY. IN AUGUST SHE IS GOING TO A SPECIAL SCHOOL FOR KIDS WITH AUTISM. IF YOU LIKE STAY THERE LIKE ODE AND BE PRAYING. THE SAME GOD THAT GAVE YOUT CHILD AUTISM IN THE FIRST PLACE WILL MAGICALLY TAKE IT AWAY.

MAMA IFU.

MAMA IFU.

Chai. So touchy.

have bn in tears for over two hrs nd telling God 2 tk my life if I couldn't get my bf whom my careless took away from me and I read this story nd a particular line attracted me ' I encourage you today
in your own trial to fight on. No short cut.
God has not disappeared, take your eyes off your
problem (if you can) Seek Him and He will do the
needful plus much more' it is well.

Glory to God in the Highest. Amen

Happy birthday and many happy return.
God will continue to keep you in strength and gud health

chuks said...

God is faithful.... Am praying for a wife ... Believing God too will answer my prayers .

Praise God God is good, great mighty, faithful..... i noticed dat on my daughter when she was one but now she is doing very well, i thank God.

God bless you sister. And Linda God bless you too for posting this. I'm encouraged. I will seek God. No short cuts!

Mr 47 said...

To God be the Glory. I thank God for your life

*Shed tears...; *Share mine...

@STERN so you sabi pass good comment like this? So you sabi God? I thought you are known for bad comments? Thank God for your life oh. We go kill cow & celebrate oh. Stern don change.

Who is this mama Ifu? You are so senseless and foolish. The lady that gave the story just begged you not to judge her. She is human and was fraustrated that's why she prayed for him to die. At least she didnt kill him. She only prayed for God to take him back so that the poor child doesnt suffer in this world. Stop judging people and learn to appreciate testimonies. @Stern don already curse you sef before even you pass this comment. Dull brain!

Great God

Awesome God

slimm said...

Thank you Jesus for this great testimony...

This is a wonderful story, I tap into that blessing🙏

What a great God

Oh my God! Can't just imagine what the woman and you Abdsul Salam must have gone through. While reading through your stories, tears rolled down my eyes because as a mother, I know how it feels to see your little one smile,chuckle,not to talk of talk. Alhamdulillah for both of you.

My sister thank you so much for sharing this and Linda thank you for posting. Pls don't judge her for wishing that God takes him away at some point it's only those that have that problem that can relate with her. I pray this morning as I key into that Miracle that my expectation over my first son shall not be cut short in Jesus name. Father as I cry unto you this early morning that as you have done it for this woman you shall completely make my son free of all problems in Jesus name and that Miracle that he is expecting from you come and do it in his life in Jesus name. Make him completely whole mentally, physically and otherwise in Jesus name. I will share my testimony soon. Amen.

U sound so hard hearted! She's trying to express herself! Seems you have already accepted your fate! No need for a miracle then...God have mercy on u, amen

Alhamdulillah!!! Nice one

Waoh, what a great God, thanks to Jesus for manifesting his power

Hallelujah, God is awesome.

boy4real said...

i bless God cos his mercy is forever

Repent and be grateful to God

Who is like unto thee

Where on Facebook?

Awww,see me crying as reading this,thank for sharing at list I ve learn one or two things from this story am inspired,HBD to ur son .

OBA'S BLOG said...

Tank God he didn't die. Bk was here!!

My learning from here is that which I have always believed. ""that GOD has never lived in churches, Pastors or Priests. He lives in every one of us.""" If you seek GOD by your own self, you will always see HIM.

GID is not what they thank youell people about. It is what everybody who believes must experience personally.

Thank you for sharing this with us. My advice is that when ever we have serious problems like this, let's not waste our time going from one place to another, Let's go on our knees and ask GOD, definitely HE will answer even more than we asked. Thank you.

This Just blessed me...Great God!

God has already answered. JT marry me.

This is the news we should spread all over the globe that JESUS CHRIST heels,deliver,prosper, grants genuine salvation and brings people to haven at last.what a news in fact the king of all news.

Anonymous 2:26am,I was shocked about @sterm comment too, this is the first time something good is coming out of his mouth.

Its was a miracle, take note not magic

This God is too good o!!!

Hmmmmm it is well

I pray u carefully locate your own missing rib.

There is nothing God can't do.He will always do it at his own time.May His Name be praised.

Indeed our God is a good God. I thank God that we can do all things through God that strenghtens us. The part of the story story where you said you were usually scared to go downstairs to pray hit me....the answer you also got from the voice you heard that "..how can you be praying and are afraid made identify with you immediately! I was always battled with the spirit of fear especially when i need to go down to my basement or living room to pray. I praed seriously and facted for that spirit to leave me and it did! Prauer i strongly believe is the gateway to God. I pray for every one of us going through one battle or the order that God will give us our own testimonies in Jesus name! I tap into this victory... Thank God for ur son and happy birthday to him and u too!

DADDYSWIFE said...

Tears fills my eyes.thank you sweet Jesus.u are so awesome.may ur holy name be praised forever.am so happy for u dear.
#nothankyoui'drathwrbeswlfmade

Anon said...

*least expect

HI LINDA. PLS POST THIS COMMENT IT WILL HELP SOMEONE, AM ONE OF YOUR DAILY ANONYMOUS READERS (i REFRESH YOU PAGE AT LEAST 4 TIMES A DAY WINK) AND I HOPE IN THE NEAR FUTURE YOU WILL PUT UP MY POST ON AUTISM - I WILL BE HAPPY TO PAY FOR IT. ANYWAYS, I AM POSTING UNDER THIS STORY AS I FIGURED MANY PEOPLE WILL INTERACT WITH THIS POST. MY COMMENT IS REGARDING THE AUTISM POST OF YESTERDAY.

TO THE LADY WHO PUT UP THE POST THANKS FOR DOING SO. I KNOW THE FRUSTRATION YOU FELT AS PRESENTLY I HAVE A NEPHEW WITH AUTISM AND MY SISTER SAYS TO ME SOME TIMES SHE FEELS LIKE GIVING HIM UP FOR ADOPTION OR WAKING UP FROM WHAT SEEMS TO BE A NIGHTMARE. IN TRUTH IT IS HARD AND EXCEPT YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED IT YOU DONT KNOW WHAT IT FEELS LIKE. BUT MADAM AM CURRENTLY CAMPAIGNING AND CREATING AWARENESS ABOUT THIS CONDITION BECAUSE OF MY NEPHEW BUT AM SORRY TO SAY THAT AM DISAPPOINTED THAT YOU COULDNT EVEN EDUCATE PEOPLE A LITTLE BIT ABOUT THIS CONDITION, I KNOW IT'S YOUR STORY, YES I AGREE BUT IT IS INCOMPLETE. AS ONE OF THE COMMENTATORS OBSERVED,YOUR SON IN THE PICTURE DID NOT MAKE EYE CONTACT WITH THE CAMERA WHICH MEANS HE IS STILL DEALING WITH AUTISM. THE SIMPLE MESSAGE I WANT TO PUT OUT WHICH I WAS HOPING YOU COULD HAVE PUT OUT AT THE END IS ONE OF HOPE TO SAY TO THOSE WHOSE CHILDREN LIKE THE BOY IN THE STORY MAY NOT TALK AT EVEN AGE 3 IS THAT EVENTUALLY HE WILL TALK, IT TAKES TIME LOTS OF PATIENCE AND ALLOWING THE CHILD TO MINGLE MORE. ALSO PLEEEEEEEEEEASE I BEG OOOOOO AUTISM IS NOT A SPIRITUAL PROBLEM SO STOP RUNNING FROM ONE CHURCH TO ANOTHER AND DONT START CALLING THE CHILD POSSESSED OR A WITCH AND START BEATING UP THE CHILD WHICH IS WHY I AM TRYING TO CREATE AWARENESS. I KNOW SOMEONE WHO STARTED FLOGGING THE CHILD SAYING SHE IS A WITCH MEANWHILE SHE IS AUTISTIC. MANY NIGERIANS ARE NOT WELL EDUCATED, LIKE ME I DIDNT KNOW UNTIL MY NEPHEW. FINALLY LIKE WITH THE LADY'S STORY THE CHILD WILL LEARN SLOWLY BUT NEEDS TO BE SUPPORTED AND HELPED TO MINGLE WITH OTHER CHILDREN IN ORDER TO MITIGATE SOME OF THE SYMPTOMS, ALSO SPEECH THERAPY AND BEHAVIOURAL THERAPY. To ALL PARENTS WITH AUTISTIC CHILDREN BE STRONG, NEVER GIVE UP IT DOES GET BETTER WITH TIME LUV HUGS AND KISSES.

Thank God

Amen. I'm in agreement with you. It is well with you for God has definitely heard you

You really need to do more research on autism. Not all people with autism end up talking. Some sink deeper into the autism spectrum and thus get worse with age. This woman's testimony is huge. It can only be God.

Awesome God..... He is never late.

Awesome God... He is never late.

Thank God for year son dear. I am a final year film student writing on creating awareness for autism through film..i have come to understand that most Nogerians make the same mistake. Autism is not a spiritual problem, neither is it madness. Its just a disorder ehich one can outgrow with the right method. Unfortunately for us, the govt is.not doing anything abt this issue. We dnt have up to 5 autism schools in nigeria. Most children are dismissed as imbeciles and seen as a liability but they can putgrow it. They just need love support and attention. I have a cousin who is autistic and up until last year, the mum thought it was spiritual problem. She nw attends a special needs sch and she is doing well now.I recommend you watch these two documentaries on autism in nogeria: emere and when dew drops.

God healed him in Jesus Name. You can go and hug transformer. Enemy of progress

God has healed him in the name of Jesus Christ. You can jump into the lagoon if it is paining you. Enemy of progress!

To God be the glory, great thing He has done

I thank God for His mercies. I key into this testimony for my son. I am waiting for the manifestation

No one ever truly seeks our God and not find him. The truth is he yearns to be sought after so he can do what only persistence and diligence will unveil. God be praised. My testimony will follow soonest! I receive grace to do the needful as led by his spirit.