'How a Policeman brutally assaulted me in Victoria Island' - actress Elma Godwin | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 25 June 2016

'How a Policeman brutally assaulted me in Victoria Island' - actress Elma Godwin

Actress and TV Host Elma Godwin has shared details of an unfortunate encounter she had with a policeman - known for his violent antics at Ligali Ayorinde, VI Lagos. (Banky W confirmed same police man has assaulted him & Lynxxx before and threatened to shoot them). 

Elma says not only did he threaten her to beat her with his belt but also assaulted her by slamming her against her car. She tried to call Emergency number 112, Police Control and the Rapid Response Squad but got no response and were advised by someone from the RRS to 'go home and call back'. Read her story after the cut...

On our way home on Friday morning at about 12:45am from supporting DJ Obi at his 10-day attempt to beat world record with two of my friends, we stopped to get Sharwama at Maroccaine Restaurant (a popular 24-hr restaurant in Victoria Island). On our way out, we approached a police stop with three fully armed police officers at Ligali Ayorinde and turned on our inner lights and my friend driving wound down so they can see we were all harmless girls. Immediately he started accusing her of holding something in her hand, aggressively questioning “what is in your hand?!". She shows him her empty hands and he goes on to say that he must search the boot and demands we come out of the car. I came out of the car to check this boot with him, he inspected, found nothing and before I closed the boot he quickly walked towards the passenger’s door I had left opened and grabbed my friend’s bag.
She asked him severally to return the bag, and we all started saying "give us the bag!" and then he began to rain insults on us, yelling “What’s in this bag? There is an ‘exhibit' in this bag! I must search this bag!” while continuously flashing his flash light directly in our eyes like we were criminals. This did not even allow us to see his name or his badge so we know how to address him. Bear in mind we were just 3 girls and officer 2 & 3 stood there doing nothing like they were waiting for other cars to harass. So I picked up my phone to call for help and before I knew it, he forcefully snatched my phone from hand leaving us in shock, fear and we frantically started shouting “give us our phone and bag back!” and even trying to get the attention of the few passerbys incase anyone could help. Insults fly as things get heated up, he threatens us multiple times that he will use his belt on us and then I managed to grab my friend’s bag, but my phone remained in his possession.
He started insulting my parents, “God punish your mother and father! Your father is an  idiot!”. He called us stupid, indisciplined etc. repeating himself “Am I your mate?”. I scream “you are holding my property! Give me my phone! This is stealing! The police are stealing!” and that was when he released his grip of my phone and I started walking back to the car. He chased me and started pushing me and slammed my body against the car. Thank God my door was still open I jumped in, locked the door and my friend zoomed off.
As we drove off I felt a sharp pain, realised I was bleeding on my right hand and three of my nails had been broken. How can a police officer assault me like this? This is gross misuse of power and brutality.
We called Police Control, Rapid Response Service (RRS) and the emergency switchboard (112) who forwarded my number to another unit. They weren’t helpful at all, instead asked us what we expect them to do and were frankly not concerned. Someone from RRS advised I go home and call back at 7am. The emergency switch board told me they would forward my details and we should expect a call back… Till now, no call back.
This has opened my eyes to the fact that WE ARE NOT SAFE IN NIGERIA!!!
THERE IS NOTHING LIKE EMERGENCY RESPONSE.
Think about it… If I were being brutally raped, robbed or attacked and I called our so called 'emergency service’, nobody would show up.  It’s a sobering thought to think that;
  1. The ones who should be protecting you are the ones to really be afraid of
  2. If something horrible happens, there’s no calvary, there’s no red and blue sirens coming to your aid… YOU’RE ON YOUR OWN!

89 comments:

Phew! Look at the people saddled with the responsibility of securing lives, bunch of mad people with arms. They've wasted many lives in such fashion. Nigerian P

Look at the people saddled with the respnsibility of securing lives, bunch of mad people with arms. Many lives have been lost in such fashion, they have wasted many innocent lives. Nigerian police need overhauling.

These are the bad eggs that needs to be flushed out in NPF. The men in black have lost their good name because of the activities of these bad eggs.
I was once in a taxi on my way to work. This reckless policeman in his car kept changing lanes like it was his father's expressroad. When our driver shouted at him to maintain his lane, the frigging policeman sped off, only to park his car at a junction, where his co-policemen were littered and helped to maintain traffic. That was how a simple "Oga wetin dry do u na, maintain ya lane" turned out to be "Insult on a police officer, reckless driving, intimidating a police officer "

Welcome to Nigeria.
What do u expect when every thing in Nigeria is being rule by incompetent almajiri.
NIGERIA POLICE IS A SHAME AND A DISGRACE LIKE THEIR PRESIDENT SO AM NOT SURPRISE.

Our policemen ar turning to something else..tomuch kai kai in there system is really affecting there sense of reasoning

Nigerian police is a very BIG disgrace to the whole world..

May God continue to keep us safe

baba said...

Sorry

Na today wey your eyes open to know sAY you no dey safe for Nigeria? Emer what? Emergency..my sister in which country you dey find the emergency response.
CORRUPTION would never cease in Nigeria when you have your administration being run by old sentimental corrupt individuals. You better leave that country that has been badly destabilized by corrupt government and go back in 2019 when the Clueless Man they call president has been impeached

This broad is ridiculous .i bet that's not all of the story ,policemen are humans to and deserve to be treated as one.Regardless of if your right or wrong ,always treat them with respect .Respect/Humility will bring y'all to same level and you can banter like paddies.

Dirty finger nails is all I see, probably you and ur friends were trying show that u girls are big girls and celebs.

Now they'll paste on their wall.'POLICE IS YOUR FRIEND...hian..thank God the idiot didn't shoot you girls

that's Nigeria for u dear,sorry

Hmmmm. Those we entrust our safety to are even the threat

I don't stop for police officers midnight, they r thieves, they rob with guns and rape too, Nigerian police officers are robbers

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

I have been almost everywhere in the world and it is sad to see and know my own very oil rich and blessed country is the most unsafe, barbaric, disgusting, corrupted, terrifying, horrible and unpalatable of all i can say, just few days ago foreign expatriate were kidnapped, people get killed and robbed everyday, innocent children dying, people suffering...fuck that very police man for assaulting a female like this instead of protecting us they even assault us both male and females, fuck the rest of his crew, fuck the so call emergency line, fuck everyone who have made the country the way it is at the moment, fuck Nigeria police not doing their job the way they should and making us feel so unsafe in our own country instead of protecting us, fuck our corrupted leaders, fuck the government, fuck everyone who is against my opinion right here...I am out.

Niger na error now

Vic said...

Truly sad but 100% true. The Nigerian police force right now are just a menace to the society especially here in Lagos.

Why didnt you allow the police search the bag?
Most of the Lagos girls are on drugs: skunk, pills, and cough syrup.
It wont be a surprise if that is why you were defensive.

Dat Nigeria for no law

''WE ARE NOT SAFE IN NIGERIA!!!
THERE IS NOTHING LIKE EMERGENCY RESPONSE.''

lol r u just knowing this?

fcvk

this is Naija for you. we are still waiting for change. thank God nothing worse happened to you.

God help us all o.

anonymous said...

In as much as I don't support the high handedness of the police man ,I would advise you not to drag with them or resist them from searching your car when stopped.

Chop Chop said...

Some of them needs to be retrained or boot off the force. They are pure disgrace to our country.

God help us!

Unprofessional police officers dat dey recruit and Nigeria emergency is write off.

izu said...

obey the police! dont act silly and cry fowl.

TONY OBUM said...

Fear Nigerian Police.I don't trust them>>some are sincere though
100%
Natural long lasting solution to sagging breast read here ladies
dietherapy247.com

Nna na wa o! See temptation !! Linda take note!

TONY OBUM said...

Fear Nigerian Police.I don't trust them>>some are sincere though
100%
Natural long lasting solution to sagging breast read here ladies
dietherapy247.com

Stephanie said...

You are on your own! Sorry ohhhh#Abkeeys#

*************************Aboki Aboki wey full police force ******* wor do u xpect ????????? If not dis kinda stories !!!!!!!!! Onokata onye igbo emee dix kinda thing !!!!!!!!!!!!!! Iyaaaaaa !!!!!!!! Na Aboki pipo **********all of dem with dia uche aturu !!!!!!!!!!

This country don taya me...

If I have my way, police will not exist in dis Country because they are our worst enemy police once stopped me and I immediately brought out my particulars and driver's license do know what he said to me! Madam I stop u and u dey bring your particulars u think say u fit get all particular complete police get more than 100 law that I won't have if he start to mention them can u imagine!!! Very stupid set of ppl and hungry animals! Everything in me hate Nigeria police!!!

Elma is right the police control system does not work. Its either they are too lazy to act or the Nigeria system have eaten into their brains.

I remember few years back on my way to work through the third mainland bridge. Just beside the bridge that links to idumagbo, there lay an elderly woman in pain with blood gushing out from her private part. I suspected she was a victim of ritualist who cut off her vagina and dumped her there to die. I quickly made a call to this same police control and they told me they will be there. Ofcourse they never was there because the woman died few hours later. My heart bled for her knowing she could have been alive if help had come the moment I called.

We know how innocent people die in the hands of our security men who are supposed to be protecting us and yet their ogas dont see snything wrong. So shameful.

Eyahhhhh dat's unfair,police no dey look cele face again

Na now u know say police is not ur friend....

# i just want to make common sense

Something similar happened to be at ibadan toll gate not far from BAT. The crazy police man checked the booth, saw my paper bag with clothes inside and started searching my bag, asked him if he has a warrant for that search and he said he had every right to search me and my hubby. I was in shock. They other ones even threatened us. The govt need to do something about this animals that parade themselves as police men.

Agreed there are many overzealous police officers,but many of our celebrity also behave like small gods in her explanation the police asked her to opened her booth,then demand for her bag I don't see any reason for the schuffle if she had obeyed the policeman gently.

Pele

kunta said...

Elma are u a learner?u are in Nigeria one of d most fantastically corrupt country in d world..d funny part of this story is that u said u failed 112 at that odd time...lol.. If u dail that same number at 4pm it won't go try more or less that odd time u dialed it..
Thank God u girls were not raped..and next time try to get his name that could have been really helpful..what I know is his days are numbered.

SORRY THOU BUT MAYBE YOU CROSSED THE LINE. I SAID MAYBE O!

AUNTY LINDA....

Prince Nwachukwu said...

Eeyah...

SkyNaija

finally, an actress with well written English.. sorry for the assault tho, Nigeria Police ain't shit..

Jude Akinwole said...

I challenge Ambode & the Commissioner for Police to look seriously into this. This is criminal & not supposed to slide off easily! And these guys are supposed to protect us? Jeez!

Monisola said...

Next time, get his badge no., so u can teach him a lesson... absolute rubbish!!!

i am sure you must have muttered a whole lots of rubbish as if u were just askin questns with this your rukuku mouth. you can be very rude atimes. i know u from schl days.

Nigerian police are worthless and they are indeed the greatest problem Nigeria has as a country. linda take note

Haha! Pls something should be done ASAP! D guy needs to be fished out and dealt with.

Frustrated Nigerian Police again! We tire for Una Mata ooo!!!!!!!

akpa-ose said...

Naija police is never it friend, the drive joy from intimidating innocent people.

Very simple, "open the bag". You refused cos you probably had exhibits in it. Who said 3 innocent looking girls can't cause harm? Nigeria Tv personalities always think they are above the law.

This is outrageous...police cannot save u excerpt God Almighty

Disgusting nail's eewwwww!!
Enjoy MTN Unlimited Browsing & Downloading

Una never knw say police dey rob for nite abi, make una thank God say dey no kill una carry that ur car, many hav been a victim of our so called police men we hav in this country, u get luck say na only small cut dey giv u no be bullet for for head. And u dey complain say dey broke ur nails lol.

LTA said...

It's kinda unfortunate. Nonetheless from your narrative, its probable that you girls got hysterical at some point which then aggravated the situation. I'll urge you to show some comportment and restraint when faced with similar circumstances next time. My 2 kobo opinion

Foolish behavior by the girl. Alway obey a law enforcement agent and remain very polite in your interactions. he has a right to search your bag and belongings. People are shot for less than this in US. Please read the law on the powers of the police and try not to test the authority of man with a gun at 1am.

This is very shameful of NPF in Nigeria.

He should not have rough handled you but you did not have the decorum to properly manager such a treacherous situation either. He could have shot you when you drove us. When you started saying the police is trying to steal your bag, you could have incited more aggressive behavior and probably did. When you are operating in the realm of someone intoxicated by the power of their gun and the right to arrest, you have to force yourself to minimize your words and interactions just so you dont get shot. If you die, they live and only go to jail but you die. Dont repeat your response again unless you are looking for an incident.

Madam there is a complaint response unit of the police and they seem to be doing a good job. Check them out on twitter and tweet at them. It's easy to fish out the police men.

CHIEF AJANAKUKOJAAMORINKANFIRI said...

ELMA I KNOW YOU ARE LYING BUT GO ON...

Imagine, stupid,useless police people if they see d real arm robber now they fly away,NNE take hear u have said it all,we are on our own..

Nija we re doom

hrm paul ojeih said...

Their emergency unit is bullshit dey won't attend to u.instead call. Cp or the ppro S.P Ddolapo badmus she willl respond we just nedd to b care after d devil na police folow

hrm paul ojeih said...

Often at times we meet police men daily your manner of approach matters alot but to disarm a violent aggressive cop is most easy esp at night.Night is risky bcos it is dark u don't get to c their faces and name tag.if it's morning or noon quick memorize his name and use d name to form greetings like oga john u still dey on duty na wa o una dey try o God go guide un o use words like dat and u findout dey will b friendly go d extra mile like officer I wan appreciate u o.oya hold is 1k for suya.they will take it an salute u.u go ur way.for dnight police immediately dey stop u start hailing them oga God go guide un dis night no enemy go reach here o.una family go meet una alive oga I wan appreciate u this night wit my small chance use mild words and dey will let u go.but u prove u are stubborn my dear anything can happen person waydon die don die

Police in this country and especially in Lagos are so untrained, lack proper orientation and power drunk..they are one of one's biggest problem..they lack professionalism and are a bunch of frustrated miscrants..that Job is cursed and d worst job any right thinking graduate can pick up..those fools wif SSCE standing on d road are heavy criminals with arms..when d real criminal shows up lik d robbers they run away but will be out at night trying to oppress people going about their life easily..IF YOU ARE A POLICEMAN IN THIS COUNTRY YOU HAVE AN IRRITATING JOB PERIOD

U re blessed

Welcome to Nigeria!!!!!!!

you are not in America
when you meet police officers in a check point simply play nice with them joke with them and be nice... if not they can delay your journey with search excuses or even harass you and nothing will happen!!!!!

unless you are a politician or a force man yourself

Welcome to Nigeria!!!!!!!

you are not in America
when you meet police officers in a check point simply play nice with them joke with them and be nice... if not they can delay your journey with search excuses or even harass you and nothing will happen!!!!!

unless you are a politician or a force man yourself

@micheal onunaku its ppl like yu that make Nigeria a lawless country, hy would you accept what is wrong simply because you are in Nigeria? why should a police man who is meant to protect you harass you? well except you are on of this law breakers who is ok with them treating you like trash.

I'll pray for you.

I'll pray for you too.

Nigeria Police!!! Na wa o. Cant they learn from The way police behave in other countries

What is your own job mr excellent?

Let's look for solutions because this issue is out of hand. Will increased salaries help them stop? Because mist of them are illiterate and are just opportuned to handle arms. They misuse it. Certainly we are helpless

Nigeria police are useless and corrupt and cannot be trusted because most of them are illiterates. All they know how to do is collect bribe and be aggressive to innocent citizens especially when you refuse to give them money. Buhari needs to look into the police. They should start recruiting civilised graduates only.

Anon kindly visit a psychiatrist. Or maybe u r a policeman. Thief and rapist like u

Really???? So with all the madness they shouldn't get hysterical? Wow. Always find a way to blame the woman

What right?????

If your father is competent let him contest in 2019.

@ Mr Paul

my guy u b correct man!!!!!
Salutes to you!!!!!!!

what Nigerians fail to understand is that Nigeria is still way too backwards in everything and earlier you come to accept this fact the better for you...

since how long have we been complaining of police harassment or military brutality yet what have been done about it???? NOTHING!!!!

some time ago here we read about a lawyer that was nearly killed by officers because he was trying to school them on their job.. he wasn't spared!!!!

your little 500 or 1k can save you a lot of troubles and then you will be on your way!!!!

we shouldn't always compare our country with what we see in the Foreign movies or seen in other developed countries coz 9ja will always b 9ja!!!!

you can complain from now till the end of the world until you fall victim yet NOTHING will happen!!!!!!

@ Mr Paul

my guy u b correct man!!!!!
Salutes to you!!!!!!!

what Nigerians fail to understand is that Nigeria is still way too backwards in everything and earlier you come to accept this fact the better for you...

since how long have we been complaining of police harassment or military brutality yet what have been done about it???? NOTHING!!!!

some time ago here we read about a lawyer that was nearly killed by officers because he was trying to school them on their job.. he wasn't spared!!!!

your little 500 or 1k can save you a lot of troubles and then you will be on your way!!!!

we shouldn't always compare our country with what we see in the Foreign movies or seen in other developed countries coz 9ja will always b 9ja!!!!

you can complain from now till the end of the world until you fall victim yet NOTHING will happen!!!!!!

Genny's Blog said...

A country where security is in their least agenda.

@salihu newsheller you wait until you are assaulted by the police then you would understand it's a cursed job cos most of them are frustrated..meanwhile I do a decent job that hurts no man b4 I forget I took a look at ur pix trust me u look lik those police barrack brought up criminal

linda, this police issue is getting out of hand. on the mainland, especially ikorodu and its environ, police would stop you in broad day light, almost strip you naked just because they are searching for a tattoo or tattoos on ones body. they cause heavy unnecessary traffic, they stop people in their cars, on bikes, anywhere and once they see any drawing, even if its lali, they bundle you in their car like you robbed a bank. i witnessed one on Wednesday, i tried taking a picture but the police man pointed a gun at me, i have a tattoo so i just respected myself and drove off. im a lady and they were rough handling a lady because of her tattoos, i can tell you for a fact that they would make her remover her top despite the fact that they harassed her severally.

Vee said...

You didnt get any of the officers name or IP num?What you need to do is go back to that area and report at the nearest division.Thank God for your safety.

Goshh ur so mean