Social media titan Babalola Osogbiye dug out the dead bones
in an interview with wife of the latest Marriage counselor “Charly Boy”. An enlightening
interview that reveals the ups and the downs of the marriage life of the couple
and how they have been able to pull through 38 years without being a subject of
media. Words are not enough to give details of the interview, read
more after the cut...
She is married to one of Nigerians most controversial iconic
personalities. The "weird" one Charly Boy has fought for the rights
of the average Nigerian. He has on several occasions been tortured by the
Nigerian police and the military for standing up to bad leadership or unfair
treatment of the impoverished masses. His television series, The Charly
Boy Show was one of the most watched programmes for a very long time. He’s
an accomplished singer/ songwriter, television presenter, publisher,
producer and talent judge.
The American trained mass communication masters degree
holder, who decided in his own words, to punish his parents by creating the
larger than life image. A punk, a boy, an AreaFada, and lately a Jesus lover.
He has been married three times before, his present marriage is the 4th and
maybe the last, kissed Denrele Edun, has a pet python was photographed
naked. That pretty much sums it up, from a shallow point of view. One person
who knows this enigma would be his wife of 38yrs the best person to give
intimate account. Lady Diane Oputa.
38yrs SEEMS LIKE FOREVER IN COMPARISON TO THE
LIFE SPAN OF THE AVERAGE CELEBRITY MARRIAGE. HOW HAVE YOU MANAGED ?
I have been able to manage very well because of the man I
got married to. Charles is a strong family man, a decent gentleman who puts his
family first before anything else. He has been a wonderful husband, a good
father and a wonderful son to his parents. Charles is the husband every woman
dreams about. He is sensitive, he listens, the first to apologize if he is
wrong. I love his never say die spirit. I think we were ordained by God to
marry each other because we both want the same thing, we are both committed to
our marriage. Like they say, it takes two to tango. However our marriage has
not been a bed of roses, we have our issues and challenges, but because we are
best of friends, because we are loyal to our commitment we always resolve
whatever issue that comes up, to move forward. We don't have a perfect
marriage, no such thing in this world, but we have a friendship that has
endured through time. It has been a long journey and we have had ups
and downs within the 38years that we have been together. But we are happy
together. A lot of couples haven't got that far-we are really privileged. I
thank God.
WHAT HAS BEEN THE HARD PART OF YOUR UNION? , THE
THINGS THAT MADE YOU MAD.
In the beginning it was the women, my gosh! Women
everywhere. Charles is a charmer. He had 7kids from his away matches and the
women he married that didn't work out, before we got married. His stubbornness
was sometimes obnoxious. During his hay days as a performer, his acts were
sometimes so overboard that I will refuse doing his background vocals and we
always argued/quarreled about that. But as the years rolled by I found ways of
calming him down, and curing my high blood pressure. I later found out
that the women were more for his hypes and pons, like the charly’s virgins. One
thing I knew from the beginning was that my husband always wanted to be a family
man, after all he grew up seeing both parents together for sixty something
years before papa passed on. Much later the women thing totally fizzled out. In
the beginning I wasn't too sure how to deal with all his children from deferent
women, but trust charles he knows how to put his family together. That's how I
overnight became a mother of 9 children plus my last three. The only thing that
he still does that pisses me off till tomorrow is his silence, when he is angry
about something. He will lock himself in his room and may not talk to me for
days. I can't deal with that because we talk all the time our communication is
on point. He always says he doesn't want to say the wrong things when he is
angry. Otherwise, Charles is the best thing to happen to me and I thank God for
that.
WHY DO YOU THINK CELEBRITIES MARRIAGES HAVE
SHORT LIFE SPAN?
Celebs marriages are not different from any other marriage,
however, the bottom-line is that both parties have to know what they want from
the start. For most young people it's about the packaging and never the
content. Marriage is about two people who want to stay married no matter the
weather, if one person wants it more than the other it won't work. The
ingredients for a fairly decent marriage, will be mutual respect, good
communication between the couples and good friendship. Thank God that today
what we have most, is old fashion friendship. My husband is not your typical Nigerian
person, above all he listens and he is very sensitive to how I am feeling as my
friend and it's all mutual.
HAS YOUR TRUST FOR HIM EVER WOBBLED?
Yes, in the beginning the first maybe 8yrs, too many drama
that I was dealing with. It wasn't easy at all but I also matured along the
way. I began to see things for what they really are not for what it looked
like. Experience has thought me how to separate the boy Charly from my man Charles.
Charly is an incorrigible botton pusher and that will never stop, but my man
Charles is also an incorrigible introvert and that's who I married. A few times
he has reported himself to me and he is not good at lying. BEING FULFILLED IN
MARRIAGE IS GUARANTEED WHEN YOUR SPOUSE IS SUPPORTIVE, UNDERSTANDING AND
SENSITIVE TO YOUR FEELINGS AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, WHEN HE IS ALWAYS LOOKING FOR
CREATIVE WAYS TO KEEP THE FIRE BURNING.
YOUR HUSBAND IS NOW A MARRIAGE COUNSELOR OF
SORT, HOW DOES HE COPE GIVING UP HIS PERSONAL NUMBER TO FANS WHO HAVE MARRIAGE
PROBLEMS?
Yea, that's Charlyboy for you, who else would give their
personal number on air. Do you know how many calls he receives per minute? He
however has been doing all of that for a very long time, it's only recently he
went ballistic with that. I guess for him, he wants to always feel useful,
always wanting to teach, to share, to give hope to the hopeless, that's
charlyboys story, aside the fact that he likes to confuse people with his
antics. Am I surprised? no. I won't be surprised if tomorrow he opens a church.
Charles has always been spiritual ever since I met him, very deep. That's why
for people who meet him one on one, they are so charmed because he is nothing
like charlyboy puts out. And it takes intelligence and discipline to know the
boundaries. He has counselled and inspired millions of nigerian youths, to be
themselves, be focused and never to let anyone kill their dream. I love him for
the many lives he has touched and still touching, for all who worked with him,
they too can testify he added value to their lives. That's who he is.
IT’S ALMOST GOING TO 4DECADES OF MARRIAGE WHAT
KEEPS THE FIRE BURNING?
Hummm!!!! Charly can be un unrepentant romantic when he
wants to be. Though he hasn't pulled any stunt to sweep me off my feet
recently, but he can be full of surprises. The last time, he asked me to escort
him to the airport to receive a certain business partner from the carribean.
Before I knew what was happening, I was on my way to the Bahamas, sweden and
Dubai, with nothing but my purse. He knows I love romance and from time to time
he figures ways to sweep me off my feet. That's why we try to keep it as
youthful and as fresh as we can. We really work at it. It's not easy but we are
determined. Charles woos me with his outlandish and elaborate stunts, and I
like it. I always look forward to my birthdays. We are like two buddies.
RESENT REPORT SAYS HE HAS BECOME MORE RELIGIOUS
AND HAS FINALLY BECOME BORN AGAIN?
Charles has always been spiritual, has always given himself
to service. He has always been an inspiration to millions of frustrated
nigerian youths. His life style has made thousands chase their own dreams and
never gave up on theirselves. Yes, people where not too sure what to make of
him, because he kept confusing people who couldn't see the humour or the sense
in how he was putting out. He has always been about how he can add value to his
environment and the people he meets. He may not have been a regular church goer
but was a Christian by his actions. I guess the difference now is that the
press seems to be reporting more of his works and the value he promotes than
all the stunts he pulls to keep the people guessing. But yes he is more calmer
now, more at peace now and more spiritual. Like they say, there is a time and
season for everything. He is been there done that and seen that, what else can
be new for him so I guess is Jesus time from here on and that's all the better
for him. He is doing what God wants him to do.
73 comments:
Kikiki...area,no doubt!
the wife can endure shaoooooo
seen the woman with the best jeans fitting ass
Linda my final word for u,censor this hooligan Aboki comment who see noting evil in buhari government always hidden under anonymous to abuse u Linda and calling u to censor freeborn comment because of his bold comment of truth.
Aboki u are a nuisance to this country.
7 children from away match? chaiii! there is God
See what this woman and man are doing in the church
Libers don't like epistle u should know that!
it is well. if she can go for 38 with charly boy, she is a heroine
man caught wife having hot sex with ex-boy friend in a the bathroom at their wedding reception party(Photos)
His cup of coffee
Okay. More Instagram followers for you
This one get as e be ooooo
Abeg make una come see this beautiful website http://smhos.org
the man na sharer alias keziah
can you do this ladies? See the stunt this lady pulled on her wedding dress
Baba we hail thee.
LWKM. Laugh at Nigeria's funniest pictures here
How many did 2face have?how many did flavour and wizkid have?they should leave my man alone.
Flavour will have like about 20 before he reach charly age so madam pack well.
Awaymatch who no dey do away match all this terrorist buhari traveling who tell u is not away march thing.
Their Business
Father of all nations
Lucky woman! Linda take note!
I must confess, the title of this piece looks kind of incomplete and misleading, initially I thought he had those children after he married this his wife of 38 years indicating that he was an unfaithful husband, but only after reading through, did I get the true picture. I guess its all publicity stunt so as to draw the attention of more people to read it.
I appreciate the fact that charly boy is helping out in marriages. More grease to his elbow
Now I think I can borrow a leaf or two from these two.
Nice one. Same minds think alike...
Wow wow so nice dat y d say change know no boundaries charly boy is an example to wot d said there is time for everytin and every season glory to God fr his life
Did you know the first letters of the months July through to November spell JASON
Click to read more AMAZING facts of the world here
Heard he's gay
I just lov dis couple
More fruitful years to you guys
Not surprised
I knew of one of his son's from My days in Enugu!!
Suddenly became a good man after 7 away matches and 3 failed marriage.. Nonsense gist.
beautiful pictures...
38 yrs is a long time....... Nice
Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB
So all those stunts was just to draw attention to himself lol I swear I was one of the people confuse I hope to meet him one day.
Oniranu meji.
There is indeed time for everything. He is changed. Thank God it's Jesus time. His past is psst and if he continues on Jesus part, he will make heaven while typical church good people seat and be judges.
Diane, I love your husband, I love you, I love your marriage, I pray mine lasts as long or more than yours. 38 Years? Charly boy? Wow!!!
I like that part of being born again..i pray God should arrest him totally.
I really enjoyed reading all, yes, it's worth reading, very educating too,,, behind every successful man as thy say... even Lions and Beast has their Match soft side in them. But It takes Love, understanding,Humbles, Determination, trust, and above all,,,Submissions. cause two captains can't be in one sheep.
Hmmmm,charly.....
This woman strong ooo
I love that! One day hopefully I will meet my own soul mate in Jesus name
Weird couple
Intelligent woman... They both have decided to stay married, that's all.
Wow! awesome couple
Spirituality has nothing to do with religion. One can be a very spiritual person without going to church. Religion may open the door to spirituality but it does not take you into the spiritual realm unless you embark on a search. And when you find what you were searching for Christianity becomes very archaic and outdated. If Charles is a truly spiritual person opening church will be a reversal.
Very good, marriage is still sweet no matter what. It all depends on understanding, she understands her husband very well that's why she laughs at what other women will see and throw tantrums. Understanding and true love, not love with benefit,selfish love, but going into marriage bearing in mind that it is all about sacrifice from both parties.
Team marriage.
Lolz
Stop wasting money on Data. Join the free browsing blog @ Entclass.com
Wow he surprised me with what am reading about him dis is a lesson for all couples and families.
Story! Story! Storysss! I think she believe she is Talking to children! The lies are not sweet at all.
....CYNTHIA commenting from my TOYOTA 2014
The guy na correct
Nice one.
Wow. Like that part of flying with only her purse.
It's very obvious... Crazy people everywhere!
Mtchewwww!#Lindangwanu#
Charly has 7kids outside this marriage?
Awww I love her
Ok ooo..
Great story. Not hypocritical, no eye service. Say it as it is. Inspiring
Hhmmm!!! Can't rily pick out anytin... okae! Ch
Orishirishi
Love you guys to the moon and back!
Well said.Its well with him....I like the guy sha,hes always ready to take responsibility for his actions.
Nice one keep it going
Women of nowadays should learn. This is an akata talking. I don't know if its the wild and wayward spirit of the runs you people got from sleeping around that makes most of you not to stay and work out your marriages. Small thing una don jump out into emptiness. Some of you ladies copy westerners. Culture is not the same for us and them. If you like continue. You will pay.
My take on all these women that walk out of your marriages when your husband cheats or at the flimsiest excuses. Most divorced women you see that claim happy are not really happy. I lived in America and most of the women that were begging me to sleep with them were mostly divorcees. Even though they knew i didn't care but they only wished to just have someone be with them or even hang out with them. So i begin to wonder.....why even leave your hubby in the first place and then only to be begging a younger man that doesn't even give a damn to be with you. Look ahead ladies, look to the future. Don't take decisions out of ego.
Despite his unconventional ways, I always liked d man sha!Gud family values and all.love u guys so much jare.Linda Wetin I do u nah wey u no dey like to post my comment? Shoooo maaa begi fun eeeee oooo
This dullard j dont think u even read the write up before commenting
She really strong.cant tk dat oooo
Both of them and their family are devil worshippers. The same cult with vagina circumcised ugly looking Linda ikejie.
in truth it should be the wife that should be the marriage counselor not him!.. i dont lie the way they look though.. i wouldnt go to them.. they look dark
"He may not have been a regular church goer but was a Christian by his actions" hmmmm! Linda u see am
Biko too long
Hehehe, hater, u ar jst so bitter,my friend if e pain u go hang urslf...
Super woman lady D