He stressed in this post that corrupt practices in Nigeria and by extension Africa is always carried out by at least one foreign accomplice. Read his post after the cut..
Corruption
often involves very sophisticated bankers and lawyers in Western
financial centers. When corruption happens in Nigeria, or any other
African country, it usually also happens at the same time with at least
one accomplice on the other side of the world, whether in London,
Geneva, or the like.
The
London lawyer Bhadresh Gohil, who I wrote about in my last post, is
just one of scores of international advisors who handle the
sophisticated movement of money in the world, in this case the money
stolen from the Nigerian people and hidden in overseas bank accounts.
___When you choose financial or legal advisors, choose very wisely. Your very life could depend on it.
When
Mr Gohil and other family and associates of Delta State governor James
Ibori were arrested in London, I was asked by the British government to
be a state witness in their trial. I agreed without hesitation.
Being
a witness in such a case is not easy. It meant that I had to stop
working for several weeks and just focus on preparation to give
evidence. I knew I would be grilled in an open court by expensive
defense lawyers who would try to challenge my integrity.
I was told that many potential witnesses had declined to give evidence in open court out of fear.
Not me!
I
headed to England as a "Witness to Her Majesty's Government." For me
personally, I went as a "witness on behalf of the people of Nigeria and
Africa." It was my duty.
A
witness can help ensure justice is done. Solid evidence is crucial in
ensuring the truth is heard and that the rule of law is upheld. Without
witness testimony, criminals can operate with impunity, one of the
greatest threats to Africa’s future.
What
is impunity? It basically means evil actions have no legal
consequences. As a result, criminals are allowed to stay busy committing
their crimes, knowing they can get away with it without punishment.
___A culture of impunity endangers the prospects for prosperity and security in Africa in every imaginable way.
Mr
Ibori's wife, his sister, and his mistress, who each had each received
money from the sale of the shares in V-Mobile (which were assets of the
people of Nigeria), were also arrested in London and were sentenced to
five years in prison.
My written witness statements were submitted and I prepared to appear in court to be cross-examined.
The
night before I was due to take the stand in an open London court as
witness for the state, I was told Mr Gohil and his associates had
suddenly pleaded guilty. My lawyers told me that my witness statement
was too strong and Mr Gohil and his team were afraid they would get even
stiffer sentences!
In
late 2010, Mr Gohil was sentenced to a total of 10 years in prison for
crimes including conspiracy to defraud, conspiracy to make false
instruments, money laundering and proceeds of crime. The sentencing
judge said to him, "You were a solicitor of the Supreme Court and
holding out as a man of integrity... You have brought shame on your
family, your profession and your country.”
When
corrupt people like this get into trouble, they often pay some of the
best lawyers in the world to help them get out of it. Taking them on
successfully requires authorities equally determined and sophisticated
in their approach. These authorities in turn need the cooperation of
witnesses prepared to stand in court and help with the prosecution.
53 comments:
Okpemu!
Good one. We need more ppl like that, that can look you in the eye and tell you the truth no matter how it hurt.
See them!
mr sTRIVE MASIYIWA MY MENTOR,GOD WOULD BLESS YOU AS YOU CONTINUE YOUR PHILANTROPY ACROSS AFRICA,AND DONT MIND THOSE YEYE NIGERIAN LEADERS THEY THINK THEY ARE SMART,THEY WANT TO PLAY A FAST ONE ON YOU?LOOOLX YOU CAUGHT DEM ASAP!!..see ibori face LIKE SOAKED COCOYAM
Ghan ghan! #law and order svu theme song# more of this expose please.
Wow. Do we have a Nigerian Strive? No. All of them shameless thieving Nigerians.
Hummmmmm.....if Ibori had kept quiet after DSP's death, all this wouldn't have come up.
Which kind lawyers ibori get sef,pls go get johnnie cochran
Hummmmmm.....if Ibori had kept quiet after DSP's death, all this wouldn't have come up.
Oh!
#iT wiLL oNly gET beTTer
#It MuSt eNd iN prAise
I Love The Outspoken Nature of this man. Imagine the number of people that wuda bin employed if his company waas operating here.
God bless you here and in the hereafter for standing by the truth.
Mr Strive...you are a blessing to Nigeria...we the nigerian youths with brain appreciate your effort.
Mr Strive this is having some guts, thumb up kudos to you. May God strengthens you to do more,you're a real hero .Nigeria and Africa at large need more patriotic people like you
Hmmmmm buhari and hausa people am seeing una hand work,only God knows what buhari promise the idiot to be doing all this rubbish were was him all this while why must it be now that his testifying against him.
Ibori is not corrupt.
Hmmmmm buhari and hausa people am seeing una hand work,only God knows what buhari promise the idiot to be doing all this rubbish were was him all this while why must it be now that his testifying against him.
Ibori is not corrupt.
Hmmmm, Ibori still has a long stay in UK prison. Linda take note!
Thank u Jesus for dis blessed soul dat stood his ground to expose dis corrupt individuals. I pray Ibori rot in jail so dat we wil never hav his kinds in Nigeria.
God bless this man
I hope this will help to alongate that criminal stay in jail tthough.... #NowPlaying>> pade: ydee...
God bless Strive Masiyiwa for this.
Huuñn. Which way nigerian
Great man!
Can such a man spring up in Nigeria to testify against Ibori?
I comot cap for you Strive Masiyiwa.
YOU ARE THE MAN!
Sh*t gets real....
I love this man!
The fight against corruption is a fight for the principled men and women who refuse to sell their birth right for a little token...
Let's raise more of those men..
#Leadership
Is this a new development or the reason he's in prison now?
Welldone Sir! You are a clear example of citizen who takes pride in his country and protects its interest. Nigerians we can all rise to the challenge! We all have a role to play in the war against corruption and insecurity. One Nigeria! One Africa! One love!
I bet u dat gohil or comehill would ve been walking freely if it was in nigeria the way ibori was actually walking freely b4 he was sentenced in London. This s d sorry state of Nigeria where pple don't get judge by d content of their character but by d materials dey stolen acquired and God will not forgive our judges in dis regard. And to imagine even a more bitter slap to nigeria d bribe drunken ibori wrote from no where dat d late governor alarmy was never a corrupt man and dat same information was now passed to d public by d supposed tot to be credible Tony. God ve mercy .no wonder buhari did what he did in d US. Who do we will even call a mentor in thiss part of d world. Too bad really.
Why these stories,
Strive Masiyiwa, One of the continents best,A billionaire philanthropist , A great role model to upcoming African entrepreneurs, A decent hardworking fellow. keep making Africa proud Mr Masiyiwa.
Good job Mr Strive. God will continue to uphold you and your company. thank you for what you've done for the Nigerian people and Africa at large. God bless you
hmmmmm.........great one
RMay bless you an curse all your haters and abusers here.
the only dude thaf speak the truth.
*************""""""""""""""""""-*****************""""""""******KC
May bless you an curse all your haters and abusers here.
the only dude thaf speak the truth.
*************""""""""""""""""""-*****************""""""""******KC
fool asawo koko.
can i kiss you freborn
Wetin be dat ibori na dere u go die put thief thief shame on u u wan carry money go heaven wetin sef
People should pay for the untold hardships they caused Nigerians... there are still many men like Ibori still driving around in tinted cars with Government plate number... the FG should hunt them! This is time to vomit those ungodly money they stole
this is what they called d world. needs
men. thanks for d information.
This is the best expository write up about the fraudulent practices of the so called Nigerian politicians we voted into power. Brother in Christ, Strive, you are the best in the world. God bless and keep you.
Freeborn zinalima just go and slep u don't no anything about politics Ibori is not corrupt and metro police in uk find more dan 1m pounds in his apartment and his not Corupt
He is a fool. Tinubu also demanded the same amount from econet wireless. Why has he not accused Tinubu? Selective justice is injustice. Nonsense.
Where Uduaguan dey o anoda thief on d run. Delta state is corrupt,they are fidifi govt
Was Tinubu caught in London with his hand in the cookie jar?
If you don't know that justice is selective then take several seats.
Do I want him to name all the conspirators? Yes. But does that stop what he said from being the truth? No.
God willing, Tinubu's day is coming too.
Believe me he had the best money could buy. The case against him was just too strong. There's a BBC special on the case. Watch it and you'll pity Nigerians
that's great our Father is doing. God bless you