Kemi Adetiba shares her experience on overcoming Fibroid | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 7 July 2015

Kemi Adetiba shares her experience on overcoming Fibroid

Music video director Kemi Adetiba has opened up about the surgery she had concerning her battle with fibroid after a fan reached out to her. She took to one of her social media outlet and wrote;
'I battled with an extreme case of Fibroids in secret for many years. When I say extreme, I mean extreme. From being rushed to the ER where the intense pain wouldn't even allow me cry, to being dangerously close to death because of anaemia, to the physical changes, the mental and emotional roller coaster it takes not only you, but your loved ones privy to the information. I alluded to my battle in a recent interview while speaking on something else, and since then I have had an avalanche of msgs from every avenue possible. Women going through the same thing needing more information.
How I handled it. It's amazing how many women live with this everyday yet have NO information on how to get better, or manage the symptoms pending surgery. Even with all the resources available to me, it was difficult making the right choices. I had one doctor in NY tell me that I would have to take out my ENTIRE womb, that my case was THAT bad. Smh. I was like Errrrmmm I haven't had kids yet.
I got a nonchalant "sorry" and a Kanye-shrug. Things I endured Ehn??? SMH Thank God I found a doctor who thought that was rubbish... And he was Nigerian... In Nigeria!! It's definitely something I would love to speak about, hoping that it helps someone out there. I won't talk about anything other than MY experience. It's been 6 months since I had the surgery. Even post surgery is another whahala, but I'm fully healed now and it's like I have a new lease on life!! As you can probably tell from my instagram
I kept quiet about it initially as it was a very personal experience that forced me into an extremely fragile mental and emotional space. I wasn't ready for it to be public. Now that I am healed (by God's Grace ) I would love to share my story hoping that it would help someone. Maybe a blog, or a video, or Twitter session... Not sure yet, but I will do it for you guys. Thanks for all the messages and questions. Keep them coming. I'll try to answer all I can, and know you are not alone.'

63 comments:

Nky said...

thank God for the testimony

Awwwww, so inspiring. Congrats girl. Linda take note!

Fibroid is very very deadly but we over look it here. I ave someone very close to me that suffered the same thing infant she got liner by The day but thank God she's getting better. Thanx for sharing.

Eeyyahhh...thank God u pulled through dear. I love u Kemi

Its takes courage and help from God to cope and manage Fibroid successfully

Wot is fibroid

thk God shez healed

Can people also talk about the causes of fibroids too please...mainly diet (the crap you eat - the body doesn't know where to place that waste and then causes growths - aka fibroids). The perming of hair...when looking at female adults with perm hair...look at their wombs and ovaries...all those chemicals you pumping into your body for the sake of straight hair....

Thank God 4 her

Hmm women are concubines to pain.Thank God for her life

Praise the Lord!!!

BabaGoSlow said...

Congratulations.

What do you think about President Muhammadu Buhari's progress in office? Is he really BabaGoSlow? Click here to have your say.

FinFreedom said...

Good to hear that you overcame.

Get the car of your dreams with ease. Click here now to begin the process

Thank God for your healing...

Thank God for life

Thats gud to knw.....

Ignorant anonymous, fibroid isn't caused by what you eat or perming hair. There is really no "cause" for fibroids although it's more prevalent during a woman's reproductive years when her oestrogen levels are high (16-50 yrs) and shrink after menopause.

Most people don't know they have it until they go for the GP for a gynaecological exam usually when they are pregnant or trying to get pregnant. A few have severe symptoms like chronic pain and heavy periods and it is prevalent in women of African/Caribbean descent.

So do your research before you spew such ignorant comments. Sounds like an old lady's tale you probably heard from your mother or some aunt from the middle ages.

Mschewwwww

Aww very inspiring, love you Kemi.God is with u dear.

THNK GOD FOR U....TOMJERRYSWIT

Don't call another commenter "ignorant" because can trigger a lot of things. Even late nurse cum herbalist Elizabeth Kafaru wrote in her Guardian articles that fibroid suffers should avoid eating Eba or gari. So who is ignorant now?

Maybe sufferers should do a detox before getting pregnant. Do you dream of eating in your dreams Kemi? If so, go to a powerful church like MFM for prayers too.

It is well wit u dear kemi

Seriously???? Do people still reason this way??? I'm in a state of shock! My dear google is your friend. Try and read up about fibroid

It's that growth in ur head that won't let you have sense

It's that growth in ur head that won't let u have sense

Poshbabyj said...

My dear linda, please i want to know the name of the doctor and the hospital in Nigeria she removed the fibroid because my younger sister is suffering thesame issues she had with fibroid. Thanks

Poshbabyj said...

My dear linda, please i want to know the name of the doctor and the hospital in Nigeria she removed the fibroid because my younger sister is suffering thesame issues she had with fibroid. Thanks

Poshbabyj said...

You really are ignorant. So african american women who have fibroid should avoid garri and eba that they have never eaten. The nurse must be a herbalist. I suggest you simply go to google for more information and stop scaring people and spreading rubbish...

@ Anonymous 2:32PM, it is people like you that needs to check in a mental institution. i have never insulted anyone on this blog but your comment sure deserves one better insult. ignoramus like you. i sorry for you and your kinds out there being deceived by pastors. Ur case is a pathetic one i tell you. Am so sorry for you

Mechionu anon. 2.32pm, aki awusa

My dear Kemi, I'm happy you decided to take a 2nd opinion about your treatment options for fibroid (from a Nigerian doctor).

Doctors in western world especially in the Caucasian world where fibroid is not so common are not very conversant with management of fibroid like our Nigerian doctors. They are always very quick to opt for removal of the womb especially when there are multiple fibroids because the surgery is more prolonged and 'stressful' Also because they are not very kin on having kids. But in nigeria, children are very important to us so our doctors always make sure that they preserve the womb.

So I would say kudos to our naija doctors and congrats on your victory over fibroid.

Do your research nonsense

N I have a friend n sis dat just died after fibroid operation. Shes bin buried on friday. 10th. Pot of beans. R.I.p okwy

lami said...

Thank God for her.

meggy said...

Thank God for you

Olodo,smh

OmoJesu said...

The same Elizabeth Kafaru who used to drink her own piss and spew out all manner of suspicious 'health tips' but died unceremoniously?! Abeg please!

ANNON 2:18PM U ARE VERY CORRECT, FIBRIOD IS NOT CAUSED BY WHAT U EAT OR PERMED HAIR OR CHEMICALS, AM PREGNANT AND DIDNT KNOW I HAD FIBRIOD TILL I DID MY 1ST SCAN, MY DOC TOLD ME NO ONE KNOWS D ACTUAL CAUSE OF FIBRIOD AND AV DONE A LOT OF RESEARCH ON FIBRIOD AND SAW THAT HE WAS RIGHT, ITS VERY COMMON WITH AFRICAN WOMAN AS U MENTIONEDM SO ANTY KEMI TANKS FOR SHARING, IT WILL HELP ALOT OF WOMEN.

Thank God for her life.

Google is ur frnd

anon 1:55 you are the dumbest person in the whole wide world. How can you say that rubbish

I thank God for your life...God that has started this,will complete it....

Afflictions will not rise up the second time....Amen

Lwkmd..... Pls stop

Pls I beg you too to stop. I won't say more than that..... Eba!!!!!! ..... Lmao .

Gabby said...

Eyah.. This is so inspiring. I know a lot of women who suffer from fibroid. I think it is increasing this days. God help us all..

GABBY SPEAKS: 6 WAYS TO HEAL AFTER CHEATING

Thank God Kemi u pulled through. It will all end in praise by God's grace

Thank God for her recovery, and I bless God for her life. Its well wit her soul.

Don't be ignorant. Google is ur friend, use it to know more.

You are very stupid and ignorant. There's no need explaining to idiots like you because your daft brain can never comprehend it.

Dr. P

You are an idiot. Women from all over the world, and races get fibroids. Have seen some healthy ppl who have it as well

Lmaooo "avoid eating eba or garri". U do realize women from diff races who has never tasted above foods have fibroids right. U r indeed ignorant.

What nonsense are u saying? Permed hair causes fibroid? Gerarahere!

I'm tempted to agree with you that it's the crap we eat...but men also eat crap, how come they don't have fibroid?

Tell us the hospital abeg and the doctor since he's so good so that other people that may not know where to go solve there own problems could use him. Thank God for healing you

Swtht, I wish I could be there for me

There are some very good Nigerians that are good with Fibroids and surgery just like Kemi said. When my sister was ill with it we went everywhere. Then we kept on hearing of this Gynaecologist in Ibadan....Dr.Chris Aimakhu.He is a relatively young guy and very approachable. He handled my sisters case superbly and she has had 2 kids after the surgery.

Linda, there are a lot of dumb people on your blog. It's disturbing. I think I'll stop visiting this site. @Sheyo men CANT have fibroids cos they don't have a freaking womb!

I had my successful fibroid surgery done 3months ago. Funny enough I did it in Nigeria - Reddington Hospital Victoria Island. God bless you Dr Iweala.

This is a common mistake most Nigerians make. They go to the US for treatment forgetting that Caucasians do not have Fibroid and so do not have doctors experienced to handle it. Know someone that moved to the States just so his wife can be close to the doctors and after many years without success, they got referred to a doctor in Nigeria who performed the surgery within 30mins and that was the end of fibroid till today.
Don't go to a quack o, please go to a Nigerian doctor with case histories of success.

Three things we all use in our kitchen can subsequently shrink fibroid. Apple cider vinegar with the mother in it, molasses n baking powder

ALL THANKS TO DR WILLIAMS.
For 8 years my husband and i tried ceaselessly to conceive to no avail. The gynecologist told us that the Fibroid is causing difficulties and he recommended a surgery. I love my life so much and i did't want to undergo any surgery because i was told it's too painful and also there are 80% chances of it growing back. I was discussing this with a close colleague who told me how Dr williams helped her cousin cure fibroid. I contacted him and he was so amazing with encouragements and finally sent me a very effective medicine that changed my life for good. It has been four years now and i am still very fine and i have son i call my own naturally. You too can reach him too on drwilliams098765@gmail.com for his medicine

ALL THANKS TO DR WILLIAMS.
For 8 years my husband and i tried ceaselessly to conceive to no avail. The gynecologist told us that the Fibroid is causing difficulties and he recommended a surgery. I love my life so much and i did't want to undergo any surgery because i was told it's too painful and also there are 80% chances of it growing back. I was discussing this with a close colleague who told me how Dr williams helped her cousin cure fibroid. I contacted him and he was so amazing with encouragements and finally sent me a very effective medicine that changed my life for good. It has been four years now and i am still very fine and i have son i call my own naturally. You too can reach him too on drwilliams098765@gmail.com for his medicine