Gov Ambode orders enforcement of law prohibiting street trading, begging in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 8 July 2015

Gov Ambode orders enforcement of law prohibiting street trading, begging in Lagos

There's already an existing law in Lagos prohibiting street trading and begging in the state but people still do it. But today, Lagos State Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode directed the Task Force on Environmental Sanitation and Other Special Offences to carry out full enforcement of the law restricting it

In a statement signed by the Secretary to the State Government, Tunji Bello, the governor asked street traders to go sell their wares in the markets, that if they continue to sell on the streets, they will be arrested and prosecuted.

"At the State Security Council Meeting on July 7, it was resolved that the act of street trading that has continued to hamper free flow of traffic on Lagos roads which further constitutes nuisance and security threat to law abiding citizens will no longer be tolerated. Therefore, street traders and buyers will henceforth be arrested and prosecuted. The Task Force on Environmental Sanitation and Special Offences has been mandated to ensure the Law of the State against street trading is enforced to the letter”
About the beggers, the governor said;
“We’ve had security reports on the activities of persons who pose as beggars, especially in traffic, but their sole aim is to perpetrate evil. We are putting a search light on this trend and one way to do that is to ensure that we take preemptive measures to forestall this development”

61 comments:

Hmm,k oo

Very good, nice one my Able Governor. Linda take note!

I hope those niger peeps iyaff hear this one oh.

Easier said than done.

Good one, Amode that's a great moves.

Cool but most of 'em will find it very difficult...

The street begging has really become a serious business. . I mean occupation. I support him. Col 3:14

How is this possible Considering the high level of unemployment and poverty in the land.
Even Mallam Nasir El Rufai gave the same order some days ago in Kaduna state. His case is even worse.

Is he mad??? Where the fuck am I supposed to buy Gala and Team Bitter lemon from?

Which one is street trading again.
So if I want to buy biscuit I will go to the market abi?

how do I buy gala in traffic

hope they find succor to the affected ones

Slim Down Your Tummy, Discover shocking nigerian meals that help you trim fat. click here to find out

Adetunji Saka said...

APC in Lagos is working perfectly well to say d least.

"Slow and steady wins d race"

Adetunji Saka said...

APC in Lagos is working perfectly well to say d least.

"Slow and steady wins d race"

This is good...they were turning themselves to public nuisance I must say

About Time!!

hope they find succor to the affected ones

Slim Down Your Tummy, Discover shocking nigerian meals that help you trim fat. click here to find out

Noted

Good way to go.

Ambode is working

Oh!

The way they pack ppl market/goods including generators today for Ikeja , awolowo road computer village side no b small...but I overheard one of doz woman talking with her cohorts complaining bitterly that when govt build shops they rent it out at a High price they can't even afford and that's their source of livelihood.... That this is what they re in for in d next four years...

chalee said...

The fear ok boko haram

So no more gala and lacasera??
Oooops

D street trading if prohibited wil not b nice bcos a lot of families use dis to sustain their familes, and how does d govt expect them to survived witout means of livelihood.

I am so delighted to hear this. It has become really annoying in recent times. I have been a victim of traffic robbery twice in d space of 3weeks. Esp at Costain and Akpongbo area. The hawkers in pretending to sell spy into ur car and signal the thieves to attack u. I really pray this take immediate effect like it used to be. REI

Yeaaaaaa praise thy Looooord! I've waited for this news for so long...

I'm filled with joy with this development... Nigeria is taking a new turn..I can now drive in peace in Ajah!

Nice one but he shld provide a better facility 4 dem,as for d beggers maybe he shld hav a governmt organisatn dat wil help dem out 4 d bettermnt of life I mean d physically challenge ooo... #overpopulation4lag

Ha No street trading in Eko keh? Ambode How far now. Abeg no kill Lagos for me O.

That is very good if they can obey you, mostly hawking at traffic, those boys that sell gala and drink at traffic are robbers, most of them has Gun, they have attack my friend before at Dopomu bridge, collected everything from her, Also at island those women selling on the road can be wicked, they block every where and insult you when you complain

Some street at oshodi is block for market, you can't drive pass that access road again bcos of trade on the road, KAI people encourage them bcos they collect money from them

Better abeg. All these boys that hide guns under gala beware!!!

Nicole said...

I think the beggars should be banned from loitering the streets , at least during the insurgency.

Gen!gen!

MR AMBODE PLS DRIVE ALL OF THEM FROM THE STREETS ESPECIALLY THE BEGGERS BECAUSE THEY ARE DISGRACING AND EMBARASSING NIGERIA

Kaiii,wetin dose boys go chop now. Ambo provide job den
*iyawo Bama

another stupid governor who thinks good governance is merely about making the city look better

deboakins said...

You have to be anonymous because you can't dictate from your left and right, perhaps you are part of those selling and hawking on the street, but whether you like it or not Lagos must work Mr. Anonymous.

Street trading has no place in Lagos. If the so-called hawkers cant survive then they should return to whatever state they migrated from and DEMAND that their Governor put the State's money to good use and provide them small-town opportunities.LAgos is so congested because everybody moves there since the other Governors are useless and dont make their states attractive to business that will bring employment and revenue for the States. City life ain't for everybody and there is no room for hawkers, cart-pushers etc in Lagos.

Chizzyluv said...

Good one frm my gvnr. All this beggar way dey constitute nuisance for road eh! infact... buh let some measures be put in place for em. I mean the beggars most especially. the hawkers can cope or lemme say adapt. jst a matter of time.

Is it the best?

Banning things without providing an alternative. Typical.

That is why your English is poor. Why won't u come here and be saying rubbish.

A good one! Ambo. Thieves have mixed up wuth them, hence need to ban them.
Ambo, also place your search light on the area boys that attack motorists on d bridge during hold up at night. Life is becoming very horrible in Lagos. More grease to ur elbow as u make Lagos safe f all.

La said...

Yes. Foolish anonymous. We will drive you off the street because you rob people in traffic. However, Ambode should pass a law on Omo onile ( land grabbers) and area boys. Enough is enough before people start to kill them.

No more red oaks plantain chips for me.

MEISM IS GREATLY KILLING US IN THIS COUNTRY WE DONT TRULY CARE ABOUT ONE ANOTHER.

Nice one,but that's not our most pressing issue right now. The trucks of containers driving during the day destroying lives should b addressed.

commendable but he should provide an affordable place for them to sell their goods.

That is good. It might help curb a lot of crimes in the long run!

chima said...

this is a good initiative by the governor particularly in the areas of these so called beggars who are actually robbers in disguise and people should take note including those on the island.my only problem is in solving one problem, a bigger problem is created in the process and could pose a threat to life and property.alternative solution should be provided for these street traders so that there is order and no chaos in the streets of our beautiful Lagos.

wisdom said...

we are fighting against terror in Nigeria yet we are stopping people from hustling. rather than government condemning someone selling on the street, why cant the government see that this guys have chosen not to be security threat in our nation like other boys, girls, men and women that poverty has pushed into crimes and terror. why cant government consider and help this people to build on their positive approach to life 'work for your survival and others' by building a low cost and affordable shops or stand for them in approved places and encourage them to have one. i am not saying this guys should remain on the street i am only saying if government has no where to take this people to, they should try and reconsider their decision for security reasons.
bad people take advantage of good intention the victims of traffic robbery should remember but not all those people you see on the street are robbers most of them are hustler like you and i.they are just victim of circumstances to have met themselves working in that way. transfer of aggression and injustice is judging the innocent for the crime committed by another person .

strest trading should be clearly simplified else even people who own shops in streets will be harrassed by this clueless agbero boys in the name of KAI. It will be great if the govt agencies are optimally functional too, for instance its not everywhere and every time that you find Larma so these Hausa kule-kule boys are very useful in keeping the environ cleaner.

Before they enforce such laws, they should make provisions for such people because it is known these hawking and begging.
Not all these people can afford shops. #Myopinion

Talk is cheap. What is the result of visiting traffic points. more traffic on thirdmainlandl Abegi