APC, PDP at war over source of bailout funds | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 8 July 2015

APC, PDP at war over source of bailout funds

Top members of the APC and the national leadership of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, are reportedly divided over the sources of the N804.7 billion relief package being considered to bail out states who haven't paid workers salaries.

The PDP said that a very large amount of the bailout funds came from savings left behind by the administration of Dr Goodluck Jonathan, however, the Presidency disagreed, arguing that the money came from proceeds of Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG).

Upon assumption of office on May 29,  President Muhammadu Buhari said the departing PDP government left an empty treasury and pleaded with Nigerians for patience as they await urgent implementation of his change agenda.
The Presidency also denied some media reports that the presidential relief package was drawn from the Excess Crude Accounts, ECA, stressing that the ECA is intact. This came as state governments, the leadership of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and some eminent Nigerians praised President Muhammadu Buhari over the relief package, saying it will help boost the economy.

In a statement by Chief Olisa Metuh, the National Publicity Secretary of PDP, he said that the bailout would go a long way in alleviating the sufferings of Nigerian workers in various states of the federation, most of whom haven't been paid for several months.
He said:
“This development is in clear contradiction to the earlier impression given by President Buhari to Nigerians and the international community that they should not expect much from his administration in its first 100 days because according him, on assumption of office, he met a virtually empty treasury.  
“We want to believe that given the President’s release of such huge amount, he may have realized that he was earlier misdirected on the actual financial state of the nation at the time he took over. In this regard, we expect the President, as a respected statesman to do the needful to correct that erroneous impression. 
“Furthermore, we expect President Buhari’s APC administration as direct beneficiary of this savings initiated by past PDP administrations to appreciate the strategic importance of always saving for rainy days and as such guarantee prudent and transparent management of the nation’s resources now under its care.”
Metuh said the party therefore charged the APC as a party in government to put its house in order, desist from injecting confusion and distracting the President from settling down to form a government and face the enormous challenges of governance, especially the implementation of his long list of campaign promises to Nigerians.
He said Nigerians are no longer interested in insults, tirades and propaganda but in actions and policies that would move the nation forward, a stance the APC has failed to recognize.

Vanguard

88 comments:

It is well

Buhari is not only slow, he's a liar and a fraud.

Osborne's Lawyer said...

Buhari is a failure for a president can't believe sensitive positions like minister of petroleum and. Finance haven't been filled just one man running and looting everythn, such a corrupt bastard

PDP are nothing but bunch of thieves in one gabage can,full of lies,they can never distract this administration. Losers they are,losers they remain. Shekenan!

chuks Change Agent said...

Let government businesses begin...Nigerians have suffered for too long and may loose their patience. Politics & elections have come and gone, it is time to prove superiority over the past administrations in delivery of good and people oriented governance.

wildflower said...

It is possible to generate that kind of money nao....
It is in Naira not dollars

Amy said...

Now governors will resume their foreign trips, partying with the girls, Moet and co. Summer period. Best time to release such funds. Money is about to be divided. Empty treasury indeed.

Interesting

The only reason I stuck with the PDP Havin realised that the APC Rush to lie and confuse people .. This practice is very bad and cannot move d Nation forward as there will always b wounds to heal...

N804.7 billion ????? Lots of kick back for Tinubu and the governors, what happens to the IGR ??? When as these states suddenly turned Greace ??? Edo state for instance hawkers are being tax , government properties are being sold to friends, oshomhole forcefully acquiring people's land , Luck james sharing the local governments money........ God heal our land

Outstanding salaries are from last year in some states and others this year.

If the pdp left money in "savings" as you are purporting,wasn't it then irresponsible to be owing states their monthly allowances?

Why have savings yet owe state their monthly allocations,whilst Nigerian roads as shown everyday on LIB remains in dilapidated conditions?why save and put Nigerians through hardship by not paying the marketers (oil thieves) their outstandings?

I think the PDP and even the present leaders all around continue to tell us one lie after the other because Nigerians continue to be stupid.We are fed whatever stories they feel like coming up with because when they read our online comments,majority of us obviously do not make use of the ability to reason/think things through section of our brain.

They all of a sudden nearly stamp out boko haram in a six weeks fight when they needed our votes yet they have started the assault again once they didn't succeed.Yet we don't find it strange?foreign and local organizations and individuals have told us the former ruling party have a hand in it.I won't bore you with the details.

They continue to have a good laugh while we ridicule and curse ourselves on social media because they know we will never question them in a reasonable manner.But that we will keep on arguing along religious,tribal and gender lines.While young people are given life imprisonment for a 1million naira fraud,a foul mouthed man is given a big hug and a pat of the back for billions of naira.And even given media platforms to ridicule God by changing his name and throwing a lavish party with a girl half his age,

Nigerians,continue ok.you and I are the ultimate losers.Their families are safe and sound.

Good morning.

Linda forget about dose criminals they are fighting on how to share the money to dem self

PDP pls leave buhari alone so he can work

Collins said...

he should explain where he got the money from.....pls click on my name

BUHARI IS A TERRORIST HE CANT SAY THE TRUTH.THIS IS CHANGE...HAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAH HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH HAHAHAHAHAH.
MAY GOD BLESS JONATHAN.

BUHARI IS A TERRORIST HE CANT SAY THE TRUTH.THIS IS CHANGE...HAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAH HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH HAHAHAHAHAH.
MAY GOD BLESS JONATHAN.

All will be well IJN..

Salaries should be paid first

Amaka.u.l said...

Pls weed need change ooooo. we are nt seeing what u promised us buhari

From empty treasury to 804bn relief package.....i hear

Linda if you like don't publish my comment...u of all pple shud know dat MB is not free in naija

Wilsoniyke said...

Yoruba Hippocrites! How market with your alliance with Hausa APC members, you all will regret ever taking your generation to stone ages... Ask Awolowo how he regretted his Alliance with NPC in the first Republic....

This Buhari is becoming a classi example of diarrhea mouth and smelly mess(fart). If the treasury was truly empty just a couple of weeks ago, no how he would have got the 800 plus billion in less than 2 weeks. Idiot.

This is truly a the type of opposition we want in Nigeria, it's a matured form of opposition. PMB messed up though by saying he met and empty treasury

Me sef I knew Bugari had lied when he took over. The fact is that LNG could not have earned the country that much in one month at a time that we are having problems finding markets for our crude oil and gas due to the slump. So of course he shared the savings left in the ECA and many other news outlets reported that. I think APC has to stop all the propaganda and just start governing. Enough of the shameful excuses.

Of course Buhari shared all the savings in ECA left by the past administration. What a shame that even that is lies about. When will all the Buhari lies stop? All we want is good governance and not all the lies upon lies.

Thisday reported that the ECA was the source of the funds. So let's move on. There is no more money to cushion the economy from external shocks. Shikena.

What Buhari did yesterday by asking for the money in the ECA to be shared is fiscal recklessness. It just means that the looter governors have taken over and nothing is coming out of this administration except a more indebted Nigeria. The days ahead are very dire for Nigeria now that all the cushion in ECA has been eaten up by Buhari and his band of looters.

Allybrownny said...

This is serious,who do we believe?Anyway,president do wat u can cos I'm beginning to feel dat seat is too hot for u o

Hmm this people sef. I tot APC said PDP left the economy bankrupt? Where in Gods name did this money come from. I don't want to knw where APC say they got the money from. #i hate liars

Bad_girl_riri 4 life said...

Rily don't knw wat dis pdp pple want..see as dey are giving advice like dey knw wats up..I don't blame dem,I blame Buhari 4 nt probing dere life and sendin dem 2 jail..maybe by den dey will shut deir ignorant smellin stinking mouth up...

Ok ooo...the truth must come out....all those that insulted jonathan will eat back their words............

*K'o_official*

Charles A. said...

APC Should just wake up.....

They told us they met empty treasury yet they are giving away such huge amounts how come a president who have empty Bag Rais such money? Apc u can do better stop lying like local market women

For once I agree with you Olisa Metuh and anyone dat comes here to abuse him is incapable of reading and digesting a simple and truthful statement.

I'm now fully convinced APC have no game plan other than to dislodge GEJ led addmistration with their pack of lies. How can you meet enty account and you are about to spend above 80b naira under 40days of addmistration, you no buy, you no sell, you no borrow. And last time I checked we are not in the wilderness let alone expecting mana from heaven. I think you guys are really magicians.

meggy said...

Hmmmmmm.......... PDP eh!

Shameless party called PDP. No mater where the fund is from, someone is trying to clean your mess. You should all bury your heads in shame and disgust.

Plss he shld release d moni hunger wants to finish ppl. Dey r owing a lot of ppl in ds country, life is becomin more difficult . Pls PMB release d money!

Trendyify said...

Choi, see money

it is well

The great Gatsby said...

It was announced that the presidency is bailing out states with 400billion naira and people are nodding and clapping.

When you have someone like femi adesina as your media team, what u will see is tabloid news. He lacks cordination. Mr president said...12hrs later, Mr president did not say.... 12 hrs later, what Mr president meant is...

Let me explain something to you:

Mr president is not bailing out states. He is bailing out banks and transferring liability for irresponsible lending to the CBN. How? Let me expantiate.

1. States took loans from banks. Bank did not ask questions.

2. Crude oil price collapses; states cannot pay back loan. Non performing loans jump up.

3. Banks recruits lobbyists and sends them to Buhari

4. President Buhari orders CBN to print more cash and buy back these debts. This means that banks are free from liability forever. CBN takes it in.

5. Buhari sends femi adesina to make a new statement making it seem like we are helping workers

6. Press release: Presidency announces States bailout
Real News: banks to be relieved from states liability

Nigerians pay everytime as they are hit wit inflation.

I which all dis top politician will die, nigeria would have been a better place. ~see me~

I am in total agreement with Olisa Metu.

I sahre dis same thought "He may have realized that he was earlier misdirected on the actual financial state of the nation at the time he took over".

D earlier PMB get it right d better for d coutry, and every other tin dat follows. I wish him all d best.

this whole administration is confused and messed up. the president seems not to know what he is doing at all

Anywhere the money is coming from, don't matter as long as it would ease the sufferings of the common man. Linda take note!

we got no president up till nw....Nigeria still swimming. God help us.

This olisah metuh and the pdp iz it not in their administration that the state govt didn't pay workers for months?? Why is he just blabing trash and seeking for notice.

WATEVER....TOMJERRYSWIT

Bitch better have my money

True talk, APC should stop all this childish play and for once be serious, we are in July, they have not done anything, only to fight for power and money, God help us

More still to come..

***dahenriez***

More still to come..

***dahenriez***

So the excess crude account has money in it at all ..hmm ok ..I wonder what u were coming to change ..start working nd stop giving excuses

~make I go take one bottle of beer~

What do you expect when buhari is a miracle worker. He got more than how many trillions of naira in a month from sale of liquefied natural gas. It's either he's being wicked on purpose so that he can totally discredit jonathan's rule, or nigeria makes billions of dollars 'monthly' from oil sales.

What do you expect when buhari is a miracle worker. He got more than how many trillions of naira in a month from sale of liquefied natural gas. It's either he's being wicked on purpose so that he can totally discredit jonathan's rule, or nigeria makes billions of dollars 'MONTHLY' from oil sales.

abujakenneth said...

Bill Cosby King of no comment, APC party of disappointment

KING OF LIBERS said...

See hin mouth, ta ta ta ta ta ta ta ta ta ta ta ta like the idiot that he is.

The earlier these PDP maggots realised that they are indeed dead and buried, the better for us all. Much time and effort would be saved by us all and channeled into far more productive ventures thatn having to listen to their incoherent rants.

But still on still sha, LIBERS LOVE AND HAIL THEIR KING.

Why is APC always trying to look good? Are they telling us they saved that huge sum for 1month and 10days in office?
Please, enough talk, we need the positive promised change now

APC is a party of rebels, propaganda and insurgents

Metuh is tilting 2 President Buhari agenda gradually,dis statement is quit differents 4rm d formal ones.I am sure in no time,dere won't be nthing 2 say abt President MB again other dan,HE SHUD CONTINUE.Jonathan has syphon our money in2 differents acct,wht do u expect?surely Nigeria will be broke,we d right man 2 bail out in time need n dat is wht d right man,President Buhari has done.Sai !! Baba carry Go

Metuh is tilting 2 President Buhari agenda gradually,dis statement is quit differents 4rm d formal ones.I am sure in no time,dere won't be nthing 2 say abt President MB again other dan,HE SHUD CONTINUE.Jonathan has syphon our money in2 differents acct,wht do u expect?surely Nigeria will be broke,we need d right man 2 bail out in time of need n dat is wht d right man,President Buhari has done.Sai !! Baba carry Go

Vivie Lurv said...

APC should rest already and start working! Are they implying Goodluck didn't save nothing for Nigeria? That's obviously not true..

Are they vexed because Baba is bailing this states out? This issue was not sorted by GEJ when in office, because madam finance kept telling us we were broke..am happy the salaries will be paid to Nigerians and not Ghanaians. PDP my ugly asss

If PDP had that money, how come they never thought of bailing out states in need of funds? They were busy stealing everything possible. Thiefs!!!

Gold said...

The most important thing now is that, there is money now to work with. Where it came from is secondary.

Shut that your lick mouth of yours up Olisa Metuth, u re a useless man.

molebaba said...

Wherever they claim the funds where withdrawn from, the base of argument her is that APC leaders claim our treasury is empty! Meaning every source of money is empty be it ECA or what's so ever! Are they telling us PMB regime generated such huge amount with this few weeks of his administration? SMH sha! Our leaders thinks there governing illiterates!.

samuel is a fool. y did ur apc states squander funds

Olisa Metuh of PDP is the doing the right thing. Nigerians need to know the truth of the exact source of the money. APC should stop taking another's glory. Shebi Buhari claimed he met an empty treasury. May be the money was gotten from his personal account. Liars!

You are a minus to your generation, a big disgrace to your family. You talk foolishly, no sense ever comes from you. Instead of addressing the issue on ground you are abusing the man.

lami said...

The main thing is that there is now money and workers can start living again and this will help the economy at the end of the day.

Crazy republic

I wonder when we would wake up from this Bad Sleep

Was Suswam of Benue state APC? Yet he owed civil servants wages of almost a year amounting to N97 billion. He skipped handing over to the new governor and fled the country on the wee hours of that day. I'm not going to use vulgar words on you because I'm grown past that + I see no meaning in it anymore.

Na dem sabi, make dem they waste their time thy fight

one wonders why the source of the bail out funds has become more important than the relief those owed salaries since last year are feeling. Not everything is about politics. Rather than bug our head about where the funds came from, why cant we keep an eye on those whose custody the money is placed in their hands and ensure that the funds are used for what it is meant for. Been distracted by petty politics is how we have landed in the mess we are today, because none of us here kept a vigilant eye to watch wen our collective wealth and destiny was been stolen from us. It is time for young men and women to begin to think and act like leaders and get involved in nation building and not like cowards who hide behind the social media platform to make unfounded accusations without invesigations. if Nigeria goes to ruin, we loose.....yes you and I who did nothing. For those who voted PMB, ensure you defend your votes by demanding the best from this government. for those who voted against, ensure you demand the best for your nation and future(cos ur children are and will be born here.What they inherit depends on how u fight for it).Thank you

Plus all her Gbaguan. Bitter fool!

Buhari is a statesman. He told Nigerians the truth concerning the state of the nation on assumption of office. What we need ask ourselves is "how much money does Nigeria make a day?" and many more like, how much money is lost through bunkering, every day? How much has been remitted to the federation account and how much stolen funds were returned days to his swearing in? Remember some people left this country and have not come back since days to his assumption of office. This confusion and bigotry planted by PDP will be exposed by the special grace of God. 16 years of impunity is no joke. Let those who scribble things without ideas open their eyes to reality. NIGERIA IS A GOLD MINE and a few have always benefited from the NATIONAL CAKE SHARING, while spreading hate, religious and ethnic intolerance to the few who are so unlucky. I am no politician but iii sure know the difference between stealing and corruption! God help us.

I can c ur generation is d greatest fool dat ever live cursed were ur forefathers ever born during d time of great AWO. Ignorant!

lami said...

Your father is mad

FOR THOSE TALKING ABOUT EMPTY TREASURY HERE, YOU ARE JUST AN IDIOT. WITHIN THE ONE MONTH THAT BUHARI HAS STAYED IN OFFICE, THE GOVERNMENT HAVE MADE PLENTY OF MONEY THAT HE USED TO PAY SALARIES AND OTHER THINGS THAT JONATHAN COULD NOT DO. JONATHAN DID NOT LEAVE ANY MONEY FOR BUHARI. IT IS THE MONEY THAT NIGERIA MADE IN ONE MONTH THAT BUHARI IS SPENDING. SO GET THAT INTO YOUR THICK SKULL. ODE!