Xenophobia: South African minister denied visa to enter Israel | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 24 April 2015

Xenophobia: South African minister denied visa to enter Israel

Israel, thank you for doing this! You know their people suffered xenophobia back in the 1940s, so I guess they have zero tolerance for it. A minister from South Africa was denied visa to visit Israel for diplomatic work.

Aljazeera reports
The government of South Africa has expressed outrage after Israel's decision to deny a visa to Higher Education Minister Blade Nzimande. Clayson Monyela, Deputy Director General of Department of International Relations and Cooperation, told Al Jazeera on Thursday the Israeli government needed to offer a reason for the snubbing.

"We are taking it up through the proper channels. We need to receive a proper explanation for the denial of a visa to a sitting cabinet minister," Monyela said.

The minister was scheduled to travel to the occupied Palestinian territories from April 25-29. He was scheduled to secure further collaboration with the University of Johannesburg and institutions in Palestine.

Nzimande's spokesperson told local media that the denial of the visa had caused a "serious diplomatic problem".

Naeem Jeenah, Director of Afro-Middle East Centre, based in Johannesburg, described the snubbing as "surprising" considering the two countries' growing trade relations.

Jeenah said the Palestinian solidarity movement in South Africa "would be thrilled" with Israel's decision "because South Africa now has to respond to this matter".

Arthur Lenk, the Israeli ambassador in Pretoria, told Al Jazeera that South African officials routinely visit the West Bank through Israel.

Lenk would not be drawn into discussing why specifically Nzimande's visa application was denied, though he described the minister as being "very vocal on a range of issues connected to Israel, South Africa and my region".

The ambassador said the decision to deny the visa was made in Israel.

"The decision came from Jerusalem," Lenk said.
Vocal critic of Israel
But Jeenah said that anything the Israelis say on the matter "could really only make the situation worse".

The Palestinian embassy in South Africa described the decision as "racist".
"We take note by this aggressive action that Israel is trying to implement the same rule as in the previous apartheid regime of South Africa," the embassy said in a statement.

The Palestinian lobby group Boycott Divestment and Sanctions (BDS-South Africa) released a statement saying it's "more confident than ever that its time to expel the Israeli Ambassador from South Africa".
"Israel cannot want to tell us who our friends should be, where we should travel and who we can speak with." BDS said.
Nzimande has been a vocal critic of Israel. His spokesperson said on Thursday the minister would call on all higher education institutions to cut ties with their counterparts in Israel.
"We must just boycott Israel," Nkwanyana reportedly said.

South Africa currently has full diplomatic relations with Israel and recognises Israel within the borders demarcated by the United Nations (UN) in 1948.

121 comments:

WhoHimHelp??

Serves him rite

I love this. Lindaobserve

This is just the beginning

He got served. .. good for him. ..

Very good! Am in support! Mtcheeeeeew! Idiots!

Idaful!!gud 4 him

If yu are happy and yu knw say S.A FUCK YOU.....

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

Thank you Israel
Naija needs to act up fast

Nice and welcomed development.
More of such news.

Now they will know how it feels being rejected, I pray other countries follow this path. Sadly enough AU won't be there to fight for their course. Karma is indeed a bitch.

Dis xenophobia thingy is fast spreading. Na wa o

No this is just the beginning get them fostrated ungrateful people of South Africans.

The beginning to their end.

Serves him right. Confused Lot.

Correct

As least they shd bask in d sweet smell of xenophobic syndrome.

Serves South Africans right. Those who live in glass house shouldn't throw stones. www.joytammy.blogspot.com

They should deny all of them

Very good... any south African man I see here in china I will slap him hehehee

Glory be to God

*dancing shoki right now* Good radiance

Drink your own poison dear South Africa

I believe oda countries will folk suit

CHERRY said...

Good,he shouldn't be allowed!

And this is how it's done! Subtle actions! No noise making, no violence, no curses!! Thank you Israel, thank Malawi!

BrendaN

Very good! I hope they deny them visa to every country. Make dem go chop their country. Crazy people!

Linda, your commentary on the story is skewed and childish. Obviously, Israel and South Africa are at loggerheads because South Africa is perceived as pro Palestinian by Israel and South Africa considers Israel to be an apartheid state. So this battle has nothing to do with recent events in South Africa.

Wat are u taking up?Mtcheeeewww Useless S.Africans dat have buried so much bitterness n hatred against people. I watch BBA and I see how much u hate on other countries especially Nigeria and dats y u ppl created BBmsanzi. in fact y'all dat support dis barbaric acts are nothing but retarded,sadist. I don't even blame u guys,i blame d ppl dat fancy dat ur "hate"ful country.

Lol at Nzimande how you see life ? Karma has the address of the people in support of xenophobia . just the beginning.

Oh that's beautiful...looking forward to Nigeria's take.

Its just the beginning. Nonsense

CovertNigerian said...

There is no evidence in this report that the same Israeli government that holds African asylum seekers under inhumane conditions, and that has been accused of sterilizing Ethiopian Jew women cares about xenophobia in South Africa.

CovertNigerian said...

There is no evidence in this report that the same Israeli government that holds African asylum seekers under inhumane conditions, and that has been accused of sterilizing Ethiopian Jew women cares about xenophobia in South Africa.

South africa!!! Una never start. This is just the beginning. Now you know how it feels #first to do no dey pain

Z is gettin DRUNK n still trollin on Linda's page.
Call me an Israelite for the nite cos me lovin this response all the way.

Z is gettin DRUNK n still trollin on Linda's page(talkin bout addiction).
Call me an Israelite for the nite cos me lovin this response all the way.

Favourmoyse Blog said...

Kudos Isreal. Fanks for doing this. SLEEPING WITH THE ENEMY

Israel only car about Israel, they don't car about the Xenophobia. They just don't want him doing anything Palestine.Israel is guilty of apartheid also. Buy America is afraid of them, because the own Hollywood and 98% of the media house in America.

ISRREAL IS WORSEEEEEEEEEEEEEE.

kace said...

Is just the beginning they never see anything rasicm!!!! Right and u people are doing prom night for una fellow Africans baahhhh!!!! Mtchewwww

Good for them. So they are expressing their outrage, they have seen anything yet

It serves dem rite, dey never see anytin sef, by the time d whole world will deny dem visa, dey will knw dat xenophobia shldnt be practiced in dis modern world.

O Olayiwola said...

Serves them right,
A big shame on Mr Jacob Zuma failed govt whose only passion is acquiring wives other than building on the good legacy of The great madiba.
South africa is a very useless irresponsible nation.

if all country can do this to all south africans, then i think they will learn their lesson not to always be foolish and stupid. make una stay una country now since una nor want foreigners for una country, una forget say una still be foreigner for other people country. stupid and dumb people

God bless Israel abundantly for dis good deeds they d. For crying out loud let their ministers feels d pains dat d world felt when d national disgrace was going on in their country.

I pray other countries follows suit wit dis. Nonsense!

Good for their minister, and I pray they should b served more of dis dishes where ever they want to travel to. Good riddance to bad rubbish.

E be like say dis southafrican people head dey bring out smoke of weed,can u imagine tellin the isreali dat dey can chose who to relate with!so what dey r doin in their country to their fellow africans is right is what this fool is sayin oooo.Abeg na mek una try dem isreali ma one second dey go finish una entire country people...Nonsense

Serves dem right
Let dem eat and die in dia country
Can dey do witout de whole world?
Bunch of sick people
Mtcheeeeewww
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Serves dem right
Let dem eat and die in dia country
Can dey do witout de whole world?
Bunch of sick people
Mtcheeeeewww
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Dreezy the quidnunc said...

Serves them right

Onuku,where is he going to?

So its paining them abi foolish south africans, they have not seen anything yet mtewww!!!

Wow ! Nice one, other countries should do same, since they don't others in their country they should please stay in theirs.

Ok good

Joy C said...

Hohohohoho! dis Tory sweet my belle wella. Palestine had never being in good terms with Isreal, they r always looking for a way to attack, they end up losing each time. We know racist when we see one, d noise continues d koko be say Dem deny him visa. Lmao!

This is just the beginning.

Israel knows what it feels like to be hated.

This govt sef. They have said more about a visa denial than they have said about the attacks.

God bless Israel for not giving him d visa. What goes around comes lolz

Nnamdi said...

Good for them

Linda!! You and rumour! The visa was denied because of his a vocal critic of Israel he is visiting Israel's arch enemy, Palestine. It has nothing to do with xenophobia. Smh

Fgffg said...

This people are mad, so they ares spitting fire and brimstone because their minister was denied visa, yet they've limited the condemnation of xenophobia to the pages of dailies. Israel you're mouthed... deny them and their forefathers again and again... I am vexing joor...

SA, How market? what goes around comes around... stupid, urgly, lazy, idiotic people..

Linda, please as a point of correction. This is not linked to xenophoobia. This is linked to the palestine/Israel situation. From a reader in south Africa.

After reading dis? I could not hold my comment back, S/A that is the beginning of ur down fails, who do first no dey pain, na the person way do last?? Soon every country will boycott u people, then I will see how you will survive, A tree in the bush can't make a forest?? We need each other to grow?

Soonest all ur resources investment from other countries will fold up, if you continue dis ur barbaric attitude concerning ur fellow blacks, stop xenophobia now!!!

After reading dis? I could not hold my comment back, S/A that is the beginning of ur down fails, who do first no dey pain, na the person way do last?? Soon every country will boycott u people, then I will see how you will survive, A tree in the bush can't make a forest?? We need each other to grow?

So be it!!! These South Africans are wild Animals. A special isolatory zoo should be created for them in the comity of nations.

Sorry, he was not refused visa because of xenophobia. It was also because of his stance against Israel and their policies on Palestine. Don't shove a wrong interpretation down to our necks.

tunde Siyanbola said...

South Africa should be prepared for their down fall. Africa made u but d whole world will bring you down. A tip of the iceberg

Madam Linda, it was not because of xenophobia. The Minister is known as a strong critic of Israeli apartheid policy on Palestine. Beside, the Israeli embassy did not interpret it as you claim.

It is called kama.. .Lmfao

Godwin said...

So they knw wot racist is yet they lynch their own black brethren, abeg Isreali govt na u biko jare

So it can pain dem? Dem never start, oloshi people. Linda take note!

aeesha said...

Good for dem...let dem also stay in der country...

Anointed said...

That serves them right,atleast dey will knw hw painful it is,for people to be dieing in their hands.

Anointed said...

That serves them right,atleast dey will knw hw painful it is,for people to be dieing in their hands.

Anointed said...

This is just the beginning. The world hate South Africa with passion now.

Well if they don't want other people in their country, they shouldn't go to other countries

Still observing thru my white 'n' Black LG tv

Olodo. It's about the Palestinian crisis and not xenophobia

That's good.. Seems that's †Ñ’ξ best thing to start doing to all of them

This is just the beginning. They should prepare their minds for more.

I'm thrilled by this new development. They are in for more surprises. Its like one man sword fighting many. They had better retract nd make amends or continue to face more in future.

Linda,this is not linked to xenophobia.I guess the SA government is doing all it can to attend to the xenophobia saga.
Rather the visa denial is due to SA's stance in the ongoing Arab-Israeli issue.
You must always get your facts straight so you don't mislead people.We love your blog but please don't mix issues

Mtchewwwwwwwwwwwwww e pain the idiot looool

Southern Africans r just a set of arrogant fools! So dey don't wanna change, dey'll just retaliate...bastards!

Thank you Israel! Let us all join hands together and teach this Vile nation(S.A) some unforgettable lesson. Anything worst for them? COUNT ME IN!

Good one this is d beginning

They never see anything! They gi see things!

Folashade Idowu said...

I don't get it. Why are they expecting Isrealite to give them an explanation? You kill your fellow brothers and sisters took away all they had, burnt their belongings and you expect nothing to happen? No dearie, you should know you can't get away with things like that na. There's always a consequence of every action we take, thought you know that. South Africa believe you just start. This is the beginning of your humiliations. Fools

Let dem take it up n pple wl take up d attack on foreigners too. Useless pple. So dey can speak out now abi, tot dey were deaf n dumb on d xenophobic attack b4? Awon olori buruku

Onuku,where is he going to? Smhhh

They are racist as well

This is just the beginning...una never see anything #useless southafricans

Well their sin has found them. I wonder what they expected. And they want explanation on the refusal of visa to their miserable minister, are they serious?

Ruthless people

So he's a sitting cabinet minister yet he could utter a word against d killings of black foreigners,he should fuck off already

Very good. This is just d beginning.

Nice one from Israel, rugged you guys. 9ja which way forward oh

Serve em right

Aces said...

They denied you visa and you are boycotting them, what would happen if they kill you? Then you can have an idea of how those Africans you've killed in this xenophobic attack feels

Hahahhahaha! Serves him right! Now the government that kept quiet about the devilish acts of it's citizens, are now facing the music! Lol. This goes a long way to show that the world is watching and not happy about what's been going on.

South Africans neva see notin...Mtcheeeew remaining we Nigerians to do wat Malawi r doing self..

Why are they complaining? Since they don't want foreigners in their country, no country wants them in theirs either... They are even lucky we have not pulled down all SA business in Nigeria.

Outrage my foot for dis is d beginning of their rejections to other countries. I wonder wht so special abt a sitting minister compare to d precious lives dat were loss in SA.

whether the foolish and stupid south african government expel the israeli ambassador or bycott their products, it dosn't stop the israeli from kicking the ass of their enemies whenever they misbehave. Long live israel.

Israel I just fell in love. Since they don't like development

U seem to b d onli reasonable commenter on ds page,it shoz dt truly many of us r illiterates...simple aRticle dey can't read ryt

BLACK SOUTHAFRICANS ARE A JOKE AND ARE VERY IRRELEVANT PEOPLE ON THIS PLANET. THE WHITE MAN MADE THEIR COUNTRY AND EVENTUALLY IT WILL BECOME TRASH. NO ONE CARES IF BLACK SOUTH AFRICANS BOYCOTT ISREAL. THEY AREN'T BEGGING YOU TO GO THERE.

Dancing skelewe. Very good

Looks at how he looks in the photograph self. He looks like a Xenophobic tout that didn't go to school. Good for them. What goes around comes around. They can now see how painful it is.

And this is not even physical o, yet see how they (SA) feel about it. Òhònyin!!

Chuks Jay said...

Serves him Right! Nemesis I guess! Its pay back and Isreal has open a way...

they should extend this to all south Africans

God bless you, the isrealite