Photos: Kunle Afolayan, Tunde Kelani, Yemi Shodimu, others walk against piracy in Lagos
Kunle Afolayan, film director Tunde Kelani, Kehinde Bankole, Yemi Shodimu, and others held a peaceful walk against piracy this morning. They marched from Ikeja Under Bridge through Awolowo way to the Governor's office in Alausa where they are waiting for the governor to attend to them. See more photos after the cut...
It's so bad, I saw a pirated copy of October 1 at a friends place, she didn't know it was a pirated copy until she got home, tho we both watched d movie but we felt really bad that we were watching a pirated copy. If u cuss me, back to sender
Kunle talk to Okoroji/Mayo/Oritz,Pman/major players in the music and Nollywood for proper walk against piracy,this your initial plan is not well planned,talk and involve every one with intellectual property,after the walk hold a world press confrence ,special letters to senators and major politicians in APC Government ,I feel your pain ,i have been hit by piracy too - Sia
they should take their march to alaba i dare them to. its easy to come online and become a critic but 90% of Nigerians cant afford going to the cinema should that stop them from seeing the latest and best movies, the answer is No we are all part takers in piracy all of us from watching a tv series from an unauthorized websites to downloading movies i remember a few days ago Game of thrones was leaked i can bet you 90% of everyone coming here to say shit downloaded it, the truth is if really want o curb piracy they should create better infrastructure and make movies on the cinema cheaper else this trend will continue
If they like make dem waka reach abuja e no concern me. Den go use 30mins advertise in d beginning of a film 20minutes in d middle nd 15minutes after d film finishes, Linda observe aw many minutes film den do.if d film cum make sense e no go too pain u,mtchew if they like make dem use dere waka waka reach zamfara.
Piracy is a worldwide problem.Nollywood cannot fight it alone. We the consumers should simply just refuse to buy fake films. Nollywood can have designated shops around , or sell online. the artists must be involved in advocacy, adverts must continue to be placed on TV radio and the Internet, If we the consumers simply refuse to buy pirated copies all these rouges will soon be out of business .
Kunle Pls INVOLVE EVERY ONE IN THE INDUSTRY THIS IS NOT YOUR FIGHT ALONE , I MEAN EVERY ONE IF ANY ARTISTE ,PRODUCERS,SOCIETY COSON ,ARTISTE MANAGERS,WRITERS,COMEDIANS,CAMERA MEN,VFX,STUDIO OWNERS,DISTRIBUTORS,BOI,NEXIM,RECORD LABELS,CBN ETC refuse to take part ,let Nigerians Know that they are enemy of progress of our dear Industry ,I'm sure they will respond,set up a site for every one in the industry to post their details, email address ,phone and name for update ,INVOLVE EVERY ONE - SIA
I wonder why linda still publish your stupid comments you lowlife hungry mannerless illiterate.im sure your parents are full of regrets rite now for bringing such useless ass to d world in d first place!
Piracy is multi-faceted and yes,it should and would be fought.However,let us ask our Nollywood practitioners if they also patronise 'Otigba' for softwares for editing their movies and other related stuffs.Secondly,do they pay or get permission from musicians for using their works in their movies as soundtrack and/for party scenes?If the answer to the above is yes,then they have every moral right,anything to the contrary means they are also on the wrong side of such fights.
I kinda agree with Ozor Obiora. But I also feel the infrastructure is already in place but pride is the only thing keeping them from exploring them! How did the music industry conquer piracy? They went into business with the pirates, the pirates became their distributors. And I think movie makers can either completely wipe out the menace of Alaba or go into distribution business with them. They should also clog the holes in their network cos these movies are leaked by people who they are in cohorts with. Cinema workers, award review boards etc. Set up distribution outfits in Alaba and see piracy disappear in Nigeria. But our movie makers want to chop the movie by themselves and na their ne bad! Movie making is a big business and should be treated thus, employing your family and friends to cut cost will continue to see all these leakages.
THIS GUYS FAILED WHEN KUNLE MADE IT AN IGBO ISSUE INSTEAD OF A CRIMINAL ISSUE THAT IT IS. AGAIN LOOK AT THE LINE UP, ALL YOU SEE IS SEGREGATION. I TELL YOU, THESE GUYS WILL DO WHAT SOUTH AFRICA IS DOING.
When DSTV pays peanuts for a movie but milks it to the last drop, repeating it ad nauseam for years on their channels, what is that? Something worse than piracy of course. Nigerians dey work South Africa dey chop. How come no Nigerian can give us our very own equivalent of DSTV. Till this strangulating monopoly is broken, forget justice in this sector. The fish is rotten from the head.
Christie that wasn't good,you just have to show compassion because they are fighting for a noble cause...@anonymous show some respect and mind the kind of language you use please
Mtchewwwwwe dnt worry u guys will lose some pounds. I mean Luk at d pple matching, where re d pillars of nollywood? U think it's a moi moi case? E go over u o. Anyways I think they only want some settlement from alausa. Piracy is a worldwide virus! Abi u ve not seen game of thrones season 6 episodes 2 to 4? How u take get am? U just b planning haphazardly and keep falling hand for Africa. Is piracy a lagos thing? How many ppl outside lagos can recognise u guys? Y can't u let d new administration come in and u unanimously present ur case to d right authority. Always rushing! Soaked bread like u
76 comments:
Lawless country
Wish them luck. Lindaobserve
Wish them luck
Ay started with it! It is actually so disheartening.. only God knows how it can be stopped. It actually bad for their income too. Gal 6:19
That's legendary
NOTED
Longest hiss ever!
No be only walk against na talk against.
So he knew he can call on his brothers to walk against it but chose to vomit nonsense frm his smelly mouth first, mtchew! Keep wasting ur time!
Good of them. But they should do more than walking, they should put infrastructure in place to stop piracy.
GUDLUCK TO DEM....TOMJERRYSWIT
All the best to dem with their march. Linda take note!
May God help them
It's so bad, I saw a pirated copy of October 1 at a friends place, she didn't know it was a pirated copy until she got home, tho we both watched d movie but we felt really bad that we were watching a pirated copy. If u cuss me, back to sender
Definitely d end of dis is close by d grace of God. Eating up another man sweat.
KK OH
I pray something is done about this piracy tin
www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com
Why do u always type 'linda take note' are u a beggar?
dem never start to walk!!.....#They should go str8 to Alaba Market!...yeye dey smell
Piracy seriously reduces their income, their frustration is understandable
walk this walk that, anything that comes to Nigeria will turn to another thing.
Wishing dem a successful walkout... BT dey need a whole lot dan dat
Kunle talk to Okoroji/Mayo/Oritz,Pman/major players in the music and Nollywood for proper walk against piracy,this your initial plan is not well planned,talk and involve every one with intellectual property,after the walk hold a world press confrence ,special letters to senators and major politicians in APC Government ,I feel your pain ,i have been hit by piracy too - Sia
Let dem come 2 mile 12 - ikorodu, dey wl arrest enof pple
Bad feeler.saint ADETUTU or better still Angel ADETUTU.
they should take their march to alaba i dare them to.
its easy to come online and become a critic but 90% of Nigerians cant afford going to the cinema should that stop them from seeing the latest and best movies, the answer is No we are all part takers in piracy all of us from watching a tv series from an unauthorized websites to downloading movies i remember a few days ago Game of thrones was leaked i can bet you 90% of everyone coming here to say shit downloaded it, the truth is if really want o curb piracy they should create better infrastructure and make movies on the cinema cheaper else this trend will continue
If they like make dem waka reach abuja e no concern me. Den go use 30mins advertise in d beginning of a film 20minutes in d middle nd 15minutes after d film finishes, Linda observe aw many minutes film den do.if d film cum make sense e no go too pain u,mtchew if they like make dem use dere waka waka reach zamfara.
Piracy, na today?
Piracy is a worldwide problem.Nollywood cannot fight it alone. We the consumers should simply just refuse to buy fake films. Nollywood can have designated shops around , or sell online. the artists must be involved in advocacy, adverts must continue to be placed on TV radio and the Internet, If we the consumers simply refuse to buy pirated copies all these rouges will soon be out of business .
sorry.....una never start walk.....
Yeah your motherfucking kinsmen r running the racket and thats y u r not bothered bitch!omo ale
Kunle Pls INVOLVE EVERY ONE IN THE INDUSTRY THIS IS NOT YOUR FIGHT ALONE , I MEAN EVERY ONE IF ANY ARTISTE ,PRODUCERS,SOCIETY COSON ,ARTISTE MANAGERS,WRITERS,COMEDIANS,CAMERA MEN,VFX,STUDIO OWNERS,DISTRIBUTORS,BOI,NEXIM,RECORD LABELS,CBN ETC refuse to take part ,let Nigerians Know that they are enemy of progress of our dear Industry ,I'm sure they will respond,set up a site for every one in the industry to post their details, email address ,phone and name for update ,INVOLVE EVERY ONE - SIA
I wonder why linda still publish your stupid comments you lowlife hungry mannerless illiterate.im sure your parents are full of regrets rite now for bringing such useless ass to d world in d first place!
Piracy is multi-faceted and yes,it should and would be fought.However,let us ask our Nollywood practitioners if they also patronise 'Otigba' for softwares for editing their movies and other related stuffs.Secondly,do they pay or get permission from musicians for using their works in their movies as soundtrack and/for party scenes?If the answer to the above is yes,then they have every moral right,anything to the contrary means they are also on the wrong side of such fights.
piracy is a monster that must be confronted by all and sundry
I kinda agree with Ozor Obiora. But I also feel the infrastructure is already in place but pride is the only thing keeping them from exploring them! How did the music industry conquer piracy? They went into business with the pirates, the pirates became their distributors. And I think movie makers can either completely wipe out the menace of Alaba or go into distribution business with them.
They should also clog the holes in their network cos these movies are leaked by people who they are in cohorts with. Cinema workers, award review boards etc.
Set up distribution outfits in Alaba and see piracy disappear in Nigeria.
But our movie makers want to chop the movie by themselves and na their ne bad!
Movie making is a big business and should be treated thus, employing your family and friends to cut cost will continue to see all these leakages.
They should have done this since.
I kinda agree with Ozor Obiora. But I also feel the infrastructure is already in place but pride is the only thing keeping them from exploring them! How did the music industry conquer piracy? They went into business with the pirates, the pirates became their distributors. And I think movie makers can either completely wipe out the menace of Alaba or go into distribution business with them.
They should also clog the holes in their network cos these movies are leaked by people who they are in cohorts with. Cinema workers, award review boards etc.
Set up distribution outfits in Alaba and see piracy disappear in Nigeria.
But our movie makers want to chop the movie by themselves and na their ne bad!
Movie making is a big business and should be treated thus, employing your family and friends to cut cost will continue to see all these leakages.
THIS GUYS FAILED WHEN KUNLE MADE IT AN IGBO ISSUE INSTEAD OF A CRIMINAL ISSUE THAT IT IS. AGAIN LOOK AT THE LINE UP, ALL YOU SEE IS SEGREGATION. I TELL YOU, THESE GUYS WILL DO WHAT SOUTH AFRICA IS DOING.
On point
Can they swear they have never bought fake Alaba Cd or those 15-in-1 collections or never downloaded free series or free mp3?
Akuko.
Now that it's their own sweat, e dey pain
Make them march to GEJ office too. Mtchewwwwwwww
Linda cogitate
Looooooool! Piracy kills? Who?
B like na izakaba and snake gal movies of 1995 u dey watch
his jeans tho, soo freaking dirty
PIRACY KILLS?!
lol.
#smile.
Hlp me ask o.
How would this be stopped? I feel for them producers though. Hustlers must chop also!
After vomiting nonsense. he's looking for a supporter, ode.. they never start
Fuck you
They are not smilling at all.. privacy is a case of monkey they work, baboo's dey chop, so please all of the baboos stop privacy
Onitsha n aba go deal with them now.
liar oshi!
Too bad
Thanks moses. On point
Na now day break una Abi? When Gej don wan go, no more free money lol # sHomi say so
Onitsha n aba go deal with them now.
Better for him
I don't see igbo actresses here na their brothers dey pirate pass they must be dealt with it Lagos no to piracy stop stealing people's work
Christie that wasn't good,you just have to show compassion because they are fighting for a noble cause...@anonymous show some respect and mind the kind of language you use please
As in who piracy kill lmao,but really it has to stop very bad.
and them be throwing subs at Igbos!IgboBorn!
Mtchewwwwwe dnt worry u guys will lose some pounds. I mean Luk at d pple matching, where re d pillars of nollywood? U think it's a moi moi case? E go over u o. Anyways I think they only want some settlement from alausa. Piracy is a worldwide virus! Abi u ve not seen game of thrones season 6 episodes 2 to 4? How u take get am? U just b planning haphazardly and keep falling hand for Africa. Is piracy a lagos thing? How many ppl outside lagos can recognise u guys? Y can't u let d new administration come in and u unanimously present ur case to d right authority. Always rushing! Soaked bread like u
I don't really see this piracy thing ending soon. It's really sad when you work so hard and someone else profits from it. Good luck to them.
Looking for your next signature outfit? We've got you covered!
aurabytiti.blogspot.com
Make dem waka well.
Yeye people
When they had the chance to discuss the industry issues with GEJ, they gather at campaign dinners to collect dollars.
I wish them luck
All the best.
Na igbo people they do piracy. Go & meet them.