Ondo mystery disease: FG, WHO confirm methanol as cause of disease | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 20 April 2015

Ondo mystery disease: FG, WHO confirm methanol as cause of disease

The Federal Ministry of Health and World Health Organization, WHO, say that the consumption of contaminated alcohol (gin) is believed to be responsible for the outbreak of the strange disease that has claimed at least 18 lives in Ondo state. At a joint press conference today, the Minister of State for Health, Mr Fidelis Nwankwo said the disease is not in anyway related to Ebola virus disease as was earlier speculated.
"Preliminary laboratory investigations indicates that the outbreak cannot be attributed to any infectious organism, bacterial or viral. The outbreak is also clearly not due to Ebola virus disease as feared by many at first. Epidemiological findings indicate a strong linkage of the outbreak to a consumption of a local gin that had been contaminated with methanol, a poisonous material. At this stage the particular poisonous substance is being ascertained. The results of this very detailed investigation currently been conducted by the government and our partners are still been awaited and will be made public as soon as possible"he said.

59 comments:

Oghene bikoooo

Liars...Ifa killed them..abi wetin be the name of that deity

Akiko! Na their juju de kill dem one by one...God pls forgive them...

www.glowyshoes.com said...

They should come out with something concrete nau..

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

CHERRY said...

Hmmm gin kwa? Ok o!

Flakkietaurus said...

This people just dey disturb themselves...ondo people don agree say na spiritual something...wetin come be una own nah

I thought it was due to the whole shrine desecration thingy..lmao Superstitions ehh ----C21

These people have 99 problems.

Hmmmmm.

Bad market for the Chief priest waiting for goats and yams needed to appease the gods.

Good to know d cause of the disease. Bt am kinda confused a little bit, cause one certain traditional ruler in dat part of d country said dat it's because of some youth dat wanted to get rich quick dat cause d disease . Well, whatever, d good thing is d root cause been identified.

I Hope a cure is found soon.

Van Persie set to feature for Man Utd Under-21s

Hummmmmmmm.....so its not the deity that's purnishing the youths who tried to steal from its shrine for quick riches. Whatever it is, let them get to the root cause so as to profer solutions.

Ok good

Trust africans 2relate whatever they don't understand as an act of the 'gods' that's y western are way ahead of us in all sphere of life. Imagine what life would be right now if they left the 'seemingly unexplainable' as acts of gods

May God help us!

Joy C said...

And they were busy watering idol. My people perish.......
Knowledge is indeed 'power'.

ALIAS
Ekpetesheri!
Kai Kai!
Push me I push you!
Holy water!
Ogogoro!
Ete etem!
Wash mouth!
Shine ya eyes!
etc

The danger in local distilleries

yumyum said...

now im adding holy water and prayer broom!lol!IgboBorn!

Copy

Thank God the cause has been ascertained. A solution should now be brought to the table

Dem loss

COLLIN said...

Hehe...so dey tot it wz ebola...tHis village pple tho

So those people that were claiming it's from the gods or whatever can now sit down.

Looking for your next signature outfit? We've got you covered!

aurabytiti.blogspot.com

What's the solution please before it kills more let the antidote be found abeg make stop all this long preaching.#just saying

biijay said...

Hmnnnnn!

miracle ona edor said...

I love buhari gap tooth,lilin post my comment ooooh

I guessed as much than the rumors spreading around.

I am Coonett

D'ANGELS said...

Chai! Na PAARAGAA?

Don't know about ebola, Don't know about contamination, don't know about methanol, I choose to stick with the shrine story and if anybody especially WHO and Fed Min of health thinks there is no black magic, we can select 5 of them to go turn a few calabash in the shrine upside down without drinking contaminated gin and lets see the aftermath

Different stories

See, una don jam first class ignorance!

-PHILEO

THI IS A SACRILEGE THE SO CALLED WHO WE SAY ANY THING THE WANT THE HAVE INFILTRATED THERE LAND SO THE HAVE TO CLEANCE IT.

Lindodo. ...thought they said it was repercussion.....#sipping my dry gin#

Make dem investigate wella abeg

Rip to the dead.
L
I
N
D
A
Observe

Too bad

Cure?? Can't u read!

All this locally made alcohol. They added a higher percentage by weight of methanol compared to the ethanol content. Smh. I bet it's cuz methanol is cheaper at the chemical market. Alcohol fuel is wat they were drinking. Smh. The local bar should state where they bought that particular litres of drink that day

I volunteer to be one of those five.

MR NI'I said...

you are what you eat people...stay healthy

Thank God for insight to the issue. Please Linda, kindly proof read your article before it is published. Been should not be used in place of being. Abeg make those who don't know any better learn the correct use of tenses.

This is beginning to seem super natural. First they said it was some chemical, now contaminated drinks?

I don't believe in this our nigerian doctors, they should bring int'l consultants biko

Honestly, Linda's blog is a mirror of Nigerian society. It reflects how intellectually poor and ignorant most Nigerians are. Reading dumb comments of Maxwell Akalaonu,Subomi and the likes puzzles one. Please, education is not learning to read and write. It is enlightenment to the mind, the power of reason.

Abi o! See as Govt pipo wan spoil market for Palice Shief o. Hmmm! Abeg make dem let the guy hammer small nah.

Some youth that want to get rich sold out a particular deity.the repercussion is what's happening,although all the women in that community were asked by to appease the gods.

They initial statement from their local chiefs was that it was caused by their deity cos some youths that are not meant to enter were it resides broke in, without any recourse to medical exam. Africa, grow up. We are in the 21st century.

It's clearly not juju. . Nigerians are very vulnerable to things like juju. .just say juju to anything you can't explain. .very stupid mentality

We Africans are intellectually lazy. On a one to one basis, it is probably possible to reason with us. But as a groups, (hausa, ijaw, igbo, yoruba, zulu etc) it is almost impossible. Overzealous emphasis on culture, fanatical religion (fuelled by fear and superstition) and ethnic bigotry is holding us back. We are all guilty of it and are as bad as each other, even though some of us like to believe we are better. In the UK, for example, everyone goes to the London to look for success (Scots, Welsh, irish, Yorkshireman, Africans, Asians etc). They hustle and contribute to the London economy. Everyone regards them as Londoners. No one tells anyone to go back to Glasgow or Leeds. That is why London is currently the financial capital of the world. I believe that Lagos is being held back from achieving it's full potential by misguided elders who are misleading the youths and are guided by bigotry. If lagos is being held back, then Nigeria will continue to be held back until another economic city hub rises with a different approach and view on its inhabitants. I understand the concerns of the major tribe located in that zone (Yorubas) and I understand that it is ok for a people to reject "international city status" in favour of culture, tradition and identity. Just remember, that common taunt of "if you don't like it go and develop your own", might one day come true. Remember, Nigeria has gone past that military era when it was possible to hold regions or states back. Have a look at places like Uyo and just imagine if the pace of development is sustained for another 20 or 30 yrs.

Jazz, pesticides, methanol....wch one we go believe?

Africans! And dey said its one god like dat that's killing dem. Na wa o! Linda take note!

Now to the cure pls.

Na orisirisi we go dey hear now.

Who shd we blv now, d ondo pple or WHO? God wl help u

Nawa o

Suddenly we are now hearing the Minister if State for Health talking when the mystery has already been solved. Wher has this useless Federal Government been since. Before, before, when it looked like something spiraling out of control, like a new Ebola, we were only being informed by the Ondo State Commissioner Of a health. Now they have pushed him out of the picture. USURPERS of glory. Thieves!!!