Ijaw group asks GEJ to grant Presidential pardon to James Ibori before he leaves Aso Rock | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 20 April 2015

Ijaw group asks GEJ to grant Presidential pardon to James Ibori before he leaves Aso Rock

An Ijaw group called the Ijaw People’s Development Initiative, IPDI, in Delta State, over the weekend asked President Jonathan to grant presidential pardon to former governor of Delta state, James Ibori, before he leaves as president of Nigeria on May 29th.
"Ibori should be freed. Hundreds of persons, who looted heavily from government coffers are walking freely in the streets. The continuous incarceration of one corrupt man among a million other corrupt citizens cannot change the menace of high level corruption in the country. Ibori’s imprisonment could be seen as a witch-hunt and such is highly barbaric and provocative and the Nigerian government must quickly do something about his matter. Despite the ordeals Ibori is passing through, Deltans hold him in high esteem and his great achievements while in office cannot be discountenanced.
There should be no sacred cow among political office holders. Ibori’s case is not different, he is a victim of circumstances. Release him and let him breathe fresh air and let other corrupt public office holders be tried as well.” National President the group, Mr. Austin Ozobo, in interactive with newsmen, said (Vanguard)

135 comments:

K

I pray he listens.....

Dreamers

I am a Deltan, i dont hold him in high esteem.

Bcuz they know buhari wouldn't. Lindaobserve

www.glowyshoe.com said...

Lets wait for what the president action will do

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

To err is human n to forgive is divine

I reason with what he said...a lot of corrupt leaders are still out there and nobody petition them on how they are spending government money

Pretty wife caught cheating on her husband with the houseboy

Nadia Buari caught in a Hotel with a prophet

See What this Man is Busy Doing with a Lady in an Uncompleted Building

Crazy Things Uniport Babes Do in their Room when they ‘re Bored.

Infact dis Ibori don really suffer,chai! I pity him sha

Niyi Daramola said...

Help!! I Mistakenly Said YES

please I need serious advice...
I and this guy are close friends, like over close they worry us sef. So on this fateful day oh, I, him and some of our other friends went out to different places to have fun.

Just for this guy to indirectly shoot me... not this shoot me as per gun shooting o, he proposed to me, that I should marry him. Like play like pity I said YES.

I didn't say yes because I love or want to marry him but because...

Continue...

Na una sabi..no politicians can be trusted

ASHANKA said...

WHICH KIND USELESS TALK BE THAT

B Ud said...

What a plea and flimsy excuse...because there are a few of your folks walking free mean you should be free to walk too?. Nah...you were caught and you should be punished for your crimes.

udieblessing@yahoo.com

Wow. Amazing people.

They're not serious.
After all he stole?
This will only label gej the worse president to support corruption

Kayode Odusanya said...

Imagine what these people are asking for...this is ludicrous. So, because there some looters walking about freely, all looters should be let go without punishment? Which kind of reasoning is that? They should have just gone to see Jonathan privately and asked him for this, instead of making this letter public.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

Dave Mide said...

Yes ... they should give him national honor too and even give him some money to recover ...oh yee daft. when will you install some functioning brain in your medulla

Ibori........A god in Delta........He shud be pardon jare....he has served time enough

The man has suffered enough.
Besides, he's not the only politician
with such crime.

kiki said...

I think he should remain there while others are tried and later join him. This wil be a deterrent to people who see political offices as goldmine.

For wht?

Let's see what the president has to say and would do concerning this! Might be a tight one for him here. Luke 2:52

I don't see dis taking place except GEJ has a special interests thereof in dis case.

PARENTAL ADVISORY!!!

Interesting

Can only happen in Nigeria. Ain't surprise.

So because thieves are walking around free,, this thief should equally be freed. Are they insinuating that stealing is okay.?. Correcting the system will of course start with one person.. It would be a grave mistake if GEJ should grant their request but perhaps I'm wrong. ----C21

Switch said...

Can these people who make the IPDI just pause and listen to their foolish selves? Their justification for pardoning a criminal makes me cringe in shame for them.

Cool story

Pls do oooooo

Ehyaaa ,,,,looking so warnout

Nky said...

Next

Some people need to re-read what they type, ensure it makes at least a little sense before broadcasting.This is crap! Presidential pardon my foot. Am sure GEJ wont want to take his place in chains.

This people are shameless and out of touch with real world.Anyway people will reap what they sow.

Cant wait to see Daziani Madueke in handcuffs like this and the remaining thieves. Hahahahaha

True he should, Tinubu nko?

Very true, many governors has done worse, let them free him jor, he has tried.

Why release him and try others? Punishment starts from someone...this is the dumbest logic I ever heard! Is he using jazz? Lol

Shameless Nigerians...all we deltans pray now is that Uduaghan is jailed too

Ethel said...

Hehehehehehe this man shud be freed jor....wen people like obj n tinubu re walking around freely n still looting!

YOM YOM said...

Mk en free am oo mk buhRI nor cum do am strng thing oo..
jread0642@gmail.com

Adafi 97 said...

I agree with them they should pardon him.
My wife is from Agbor in Delta state and they all love him in the area.
My in laws make me to understand that no regime is better than Ibori's regime in Delta state so they should go after the likes of Ibrahim Idris of Kogi state with 8 years of no achievement

Their claims that millions of looters are walking scot-free on the street is flimsy n that's because they have probably not heard of the word "scapegoat". Our president embraces corruption n agrees stealing isn't corruption so I won't be surprised if presidential pardon is being given to ibori. cos GEJ govt is also an embodiment of corruption. I hope the incoming govt would strengthen our institutions to prosecute any corrupt official henceforth.

What a shameful request. That some corrupt persons are walking the streets of Nigeria does not mean that those that have been brought to justice should be pardoned. If fact, why should he be pardoned? Was he wrongfully imprisoned....did he loot Delta State's treasury...was he not a convicted criminal from the UK? Does who wish well for our dear nation will be careful with the sort of request that make.

Nigerians need Jesus!!

Thats the problem we nigeria...we see something wrong. , but then we ignore it cause everybody is doing it...I weep for my country

He should be freed, alot of our governors are thieves.
Tinubu their chief thief. Wonder y they r just comin out.

Taa Presidential fire!!! For what?! Stealing public funds!!!! What message do we want to send to other would be thieves? Geraway you!!!

Thats the problem with nigerians...we see something wrong. , but then we ignore it cause everybody is doing it...I weep for my country

These guys must think this country belongs to looters and criminals wallahi.What do they take us for? Cant blame them.Gej set the pace by granting amnesty to a renowned thief like Alams,

ISDI.....IJAW STUPIDITY DEVELOPMENT INITIATIVE .THEY ARE CRAY HE SHOULD BE LEFT THERE !

Choi...how corruption has eaten deep into our system that we now celebrate it. Why grant Pesidential pardon to a convicted thief. Other corrupt individuals got away with their loot because they are here. If it were in other country in Europe, they would pay for their sins, just like Ibori. If GEJ listens to them, then posterity will never forgive him.

Ibori! Such a disgrace to d Niger deltians,
I hope our presido will do sumtin abt it.

But thr alot of corrupt politicians out thr.

Tinubu stole!

He should pay for his crime..... He should not be freed because other corrupt politicians have not been caught...... When they are caught, they will also be tried....

Tinubu stole!

businessanswers said...

I think this is our problem. we want impunity just to favour our own. I think when we punish people who make wrong, will make people to be transparent when an opportunity present itself.

Hahaha. Their effrontery though!

He wouldn't dare do that! How more do you people want to mislead this man? If his administration which has been termed most corrupt already, what do u think releasing this thieve would mean?.

EveryMan reaps what he sows...

Yes o He shuld be freed
Tinubu is a free man so shuld Ibori.

This group is not serious. They should please leave GEJ alone to hand over quietly. What is all this! You people have complained incessantly about this man and now that he is leaving, people will still not let him have peace.

yumyum said...

No comments.Igboborn!

Is he guilty or not?

WhEn u(linda) will cum on here 2 celebrate sum past corrupt Nigerianz,y wud dz shameless group nt cum out 2 say dz.

I think govt. Should arrest this man Mr. Austin Ozobo now... With this kinda of people alive, we will never move forward as a nation

Bastards, didn't knw delta people r this senseless....tufikakwa

Imagine! Nonsense! Who asked him to steal.

Its not possible. Are they sick? Why always them

but he is serving his prison term in the UK not Nigeria, even if he gets a presidential pardon, he still wont be released by the UK government

IS A LESSON FOR HIM..TOMJERRYSWIT

idiots...is it not an indictment on their brother jonathan who is extremely corrupt and works in collusion with other criminals in pdp???? Asking for criminal pardon for a criminal from a criminal ....ok!!! All these nd people know how to do is celebrate criminals so long they are from their place!!!

Iju or Ijaw whatever they called themselves should shut-up, let ibori face the criminal law, that's how you people destroyed Nigeria name in outside country

Kponskii said...

These folks should hush up jor. This is one major reason corruption will continue to thrive. Such lame excuse...if he's granted pardon, then how can we combat corruption among politicians?

So because others are walking freely, he should be spared too. I can only agree to presidential pardon over his numerous crimes.

Appears that the NDs lack values. Alams came back after escaping jail in Uk and they celebrated him. shame

Iju or Ijaw whatever they called themselves should shut the fuck up , let ibori face the criminal law, that's how you people destroyed Nigeria name in outside country, foolish moron people

No way....He should serve his punishment,

ASAMPOKOTO said...

So because so many others haven't been caught he should be freed?
I'm almost certain Some nigerians do not want progress

I don't think GEJ wil fall for dis except he took part in d corruption wit him.

If GEJ took part in d loot's wit him then he wil buy into dis.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

PLEASE WHO GIVES THIS IDIOT ACCESS TO TE INTERNET? She needs to be banned from stating her opinion for life. You possibly cannot be this stupid. Have you seen the way his kids are living in England?
Only in Nigeria will someone take what is our right and then idiots will come out and say Oya he has tried let him go.
What about the innocent lives lost due to his stealing. Yesss! As far as I'm concerned, that money was for the poor, healthcare etc etc.
he needs to rot there. Let him suffer.
Thank God he's not even in Naij.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Some NIGERIANS have stone for brains. I don't even undertsnad again

I think govt should arrest this man Mr. Austin Ozobo now... With this kinda of people alive, we will never move forward as a nation

Not a good thing to do

THEY SHOULD FREE HIM JOOR,HE IS NT THE FIRST TO STEAL....WEAK PRESIDENT,U BERRA DO SUMTIN OOOOO

Davidos driver, u hv spoken well, he should be arrested along with Ibori!!!

Listens to what? So because there are others, he should be freed? Let him mention other names naa n provide evidence so they can all become roommates there!

The thing tire me, the way we Africans behave n talk atimes heeen. Smh!

My brother na real thank God, am sure not only would they hv released hi, hel be a senator! They threw him a lavish party on his birthday n all d who is who in Delta went even though d celebrant is in Jail for embezzling money meant for d common man, it's just a shame!

Jonathan is Good at forgiving Criminals so I wont be surprised if he listens to these morons.

Pearls said...

He should not try it o, let him suffer, thief, I hope the rest of his kind would follow suite when buhari resumes, nonsense.

lol......asking a corrupt man to be free...I cant wait for May 29th Mshewww

The money he stole is too much, he should return the money then he will be pardoned

Dat general said...

Such a senseless statement from a group rep......naija my country

so because thieves and looters are walking free they should release the ones they have caught? are they listening to themselves foolish ijaw thieves!!!

Why the noise about ibori? Didn't the clueless one pardon Alamesyia? And even gave him a national award? It's only a case of a criminal pardoning criminals. What's good for the goose is good for the gander jor! Let him continue pardoning treasury looters and giving them national awards.....na hin way abeg.

9ja Parrot said...

I think the plea should be directed to abroad where he was jailed. In addition, the facts that other corrupt people are walking freely is not a good ground to justify Ibori's imprisonment. Rather, you should ask the government to buckle up its anticorruption effort at ensuring others are jailed as well!

Aww chief Onanefe Ibori was best governor dat year,he did so well in warri. It's really sad der is nothing I can do.

Only in Nigeria! tomorrow, we go say our politicians are so corrupt. i dont blame them sha.. wen u set a wrong precedence, u shldnt take offense wen pple take advantage of it.
Infact, i think all d pple in kirikiri prison shld b given presidential pardon cos i hold dem in high esteem... Mtcheeeeew, Nonsense.. abeg do hand ova jare, make all dis rubbish stop.

Linda's sugar daddy said...

Let us kuku release all jailed armed robbers and kidnappers, since there are hundreds of thousands of kidnappers walking the street.

Yeye people...

And for those retards calling Asiwaju Tinubu's name...has the man been convicted? At least we all know that James Onanefe Ibori is a convicted THIEF!!!

K

Mr. True Talk said...

who cares, he was caught in the act. u want to tarnish the image of the presidency because ethnicity filled brain.

Linda's sugar daddy said...

Why won't you pray that kain prayer...daughter of a pervert and corrupt ancestry!

otunba said...

Pardon a thief?
And I thought you had some brains.
Why no go to Kirikiri and release all the prisoners there.
Abi cos they don't have a big name, they're less human?
Smh at people's reasoning

@Asa for once I'm impressed with you. Most. Nigerians are sentimental fools, that's why these politicians keep taking us for a ride. Even in prison, the man has more money than Obama, yet they say we should pity him. Ibori shouldn't worry, he'll get some company after may 29th.

otunba said...

Mere looking at you, one will know that you ain't capable of basic reasoning.

Release a convicted person because another criminal is yet to be convicted. How foolish?!

9ja Parrot said...

I think the plea should be directed to abroad where he was jailed. In addition, the facts that other corrupt people are walking freely is not a good ground to justify Ibori's imprisonment. Rather, you should ask the government to buckle up its anti-corruption effort at ensuring others are jailed as well!

this request must be a joke!!! Free Ibori, because other corrupt people are walking freely.... i would like to believe, this is not the voice of all Ijaw People, but a selected few corrupt individuals that have benefitted from such a corrupt ex-governor. In case they have not noticed, the Cheese has moved. F....K THOSE REQUESTING FOR HIS RELEASE ON SUCH GROUNDS, THEY SHOULD COME UP WITH STH BETTER

Tufiakwa!!a criminal should face his punishment

Anon 10:38....become roommates. Lol

omoh joejoe said...

GEJ don't try it, ibori don't worry, GMB will soon bring new guys(tiefs) may 29th is not far away

Do we need a psychiatric doctor to tell us that this people are out of their already insane minds. Even the mere thought of this idiotic insinuations should be arrested. #IcantBelieveThis

Oskirin said...

in as much as some people tink and talk foolishly like ds,we will neva move 4wod in ds country.are we saying dere are no crimes in usa or oda Europeans countries? NO! wht dey av dere is a punitive measures dt will curb dos excesses of dos wld b thief.
pls ijaw council abi wetin b una name,make una no encourage coruption.if nt,we no go allow una son 2 b president of ds country.

Mr Austin shame on u! Which Deltans hold him in high esteem, tufiakwa. Speak 4 ur self. Let James Ibori rot in jail 4 all I care. Let him be a great example 2 others.

@ Igwe Aabo, GEJ 's government has already been tagged corrupt, way more can be said.

I think Ibori has served enough time in jail, he should be pardoned and the CHANGE we are all screaming should start, he is not the only person with kids living big in England and other foreign countries.

A pardon doesn't make the present government worse than what you all have been claiming, i am deltan, might be partial but it is what it is, the Ijaw tribe/group are trying their luck, there is no harm in trying, and i hope its been granted.

The guy has tried in his own little way, he is not perfect neither are those politicians that have looted our reserves and still looting and will continue to even with the so called "CHANGE", he was witch haunted by some God fathers, caught, and has paid his dues.

@Anonymous 12:33pm, U re so right. GEJ Will be a fool if he succumbs to this because Nigerians are still mad for letting Alamesigha go in d first place. It's only in Naija that sane people can come up with this kind of plea. Mtchhhheeeewww.

The best judgement for these crooks in Nigeria is to convert the amount of money stolen into jail time.The crook can now decide how much he wants to pay back and how much he would like to serve out as jail time.If his friends are so good to him they could also pay off all the money or some and reduce his jail time,and not send out stupid requests for presidential pardon.
Thats part of the reason Jonathan failed woefully-pardoning convicts because of personal interests.

Pardon an internationally acclaimed criminal!!! I'm not surprised though if alameseigha could be pardoned by the president...then why not

Thank you Subomi. Retards! If anything Ibori got off on ALL counts when he was tried in Nigeria. He thought he was untouchable because he was instrumental in getting Yara'dua elected and he used to treat GEJ like shit! It was only after Yara'dua passed that he knew the gig was up and he was going to be extradited that he bailed! Go and find out Jonathan can't stand him! He only had to grit his teeth and go and see him because of politics! Good luck (Pun intended) with getting your man "pardoned".

Don't paint all of us over with one brush. Many of us are equally digusted, if not more so, by Alams and Ibori.

When I say, we get the leaders we deserve, they say I am "cursing" a Nigeria. With a mentality like yours no wonder there is so much impunity! Well, thank God for a nob-nonsense President-Elect. No mas!

Don't forget...dude is even a senator-elect now. Gotta love Nigeria!

Well, I am not surprised if people who got shares in Ibori's loot claim to hold him in high esteem, definitely not all Deltans (I am one). When we try to prevent Criminals from being brought to book, we tend to encourage more crime. Let us leave tribalism out of all these. Let others like Ibori face the consequences of their misdeeds. This Country cannot get better if we continue to hold EVIL in high esteem. Enough is Enough!

FACTS! James has served his time and suffered enough its time for him to come home. He is a saint compaired to Tinubu which u pretenders are hailing today.

God punish them for even asking for such a thing. only south south people spew rubbish. thats's why alameisgha had the effrontery to contest again. yoruba people can never forgive tafa balogun. nigerians think!

What da hell are these chimps saying? Every corrupt politician should be hanged or left to rot in jail. Next time u come here lamenting unemployment, I kill somebody!!!!!

princess dee said...

A lot of public office holders also looted the treasury.It's unfair to jail only Ibori.

For saying such rubbish from your mouth shows how senseless you. Am sure where you come from can never and ever be better than delta state. It not a most to comment on this blog. I take no exception to insulting me because of your lack of proper home training. Get busy am sure in ten years to come you can never be better than the ibori family.

Please if you want to insult the ibori family go ahead but insulting the entire state. i would not take such nonsense from you.@ Christopher fortune