19 year old Nigerian student dies at UK university school hall due to 'Helium Leak' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 25 April 2015

19 year old Nigerian student dies at UK university school hall due to 'Helium Leak'

A Nigerian student named Alexander Ukwu, 19, died on Thursday April 23rd at the University of Southampton Hartley Grove Halls due to a 'Helium Leak'. Alex, who was an alumni of Loyola Jesuit College Class of 2012, was a first year student at the UK university studying MEng Electrical and Electronic Engineering. 

He was found dead around 11.26am on Thursday morning inside a student halls of residence room filled with helium, according to a statement released by the university. A team of chemical experts had been called in to make sure it was safe for students who lived at the hall to go inside the building due to a large amount of helium gas inside. But when they discovered Alex's room was locked, they broke it down and discovered his body.

The halls were then cordoned off until at least 3pm. Alex's death is not being treated as suspicious, though no-one else was injured or treated at the scene.

In a statement to Alexander’s fellow students, Neil White, head of the electronics and computer science department, said:
“I am writing to you in my capacity as Head of ECS, and with great sadness, to notify you of the death yesterday of Alexander Ukwu who was a first year student studying MEng Electrical and Electronic Engineering. 
 Alexander will be sadly missed and we are in contact with his family to send our condolences and sympathy to them at this difficult time.
"I understand that you may be very upset by this news, there are a number of different ways you can access support, if you feel you would like to.”

91 comments:

Really sad, RIP.

OMG!

I pray God grant d family d fortitude to bear their loss. RIP.

Sad.... RIP :(

Rip

RIP handsome

nooooooooo! whhy?! he is too cute to die!'..he wan b like hausa pesn shaa

Rip. Sad.. lindaobserve

Chai, such handsome boy. Rest in Peace Perfect.

OMG! Very sad..Ooh! May his soul Rip & may God comfort,console & strengthen his family especially his mom & siblings..*DeepSigh*

My condolences to the family of the dead

Pretty wife caught cheating on her husband with the houseboy

Nadia Buari caught in a Hotel with a prophet

See What this Man is Busy Doing with a Lady in an Uncompleted Building

Crazy Things Uniport Babes Do in their Room when they ‘re Bored.

Omg! So young! R.I.P! I wonder what could have been the cause of the leakage!

So painful... such a vibrant boy...

RIP handsome.

My god!!such a handsome lad,may his fine soul rest in peace,Lord have mercy

A very handsome and intelligent young man. May he rest in peace.

RIP dearieeeeee kia he ws a fyn young man.

So sad! His parents have spent so much to train him in the best schools, death why? May God console his family. May his soul RIP!

E ya, rip

Sad

E ya, rip

And again it has to be a Nigerian. Na wa o! May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

A bright Dude caught in his prime.
RIP.

May his soul RIP....

Chai! May his soul rest in peace.

Rip

Wow this is sad

Na wa
May his soul RIP

ola said...

Sad news #restinpeaceAlex

Is not being treated as suspicious? !
And he was the only casualty.
Hmmmmm.....RIP Alexander

Her Xlnc

Dis is sad,dis cute boy die for nothing!R.I.P

Rip. Too sad. What a loss

May GOD comfort his parents.Amin

Busayo Adams said...

R.I.P oo
Need More News, Informations, Gists, Entertainment, Inspirations, Stories, and Lots More, "CLICK HERE"

Nomso said...

chai!!! which kine thing ehn

Omg...what a painful death to the family @ age 19...RIP

Gbaby said...

Damn! May his soul rest in perfect peace.

Eyyya RIP

Shari said...

Rest in peace brother. Till we meet again, but this time to part no more.

This is sad!

But why is he the only one affected na? Boy this fine?? May his soul RIP

God save us frm tragic accident, and untimely death.

Gone too soon, Rip dude

check his organs ooo, all dse mysterious death and d use of black men oragans abroad.... dey shld check well biko

What tragic incident. Such a fine lad. RIP

destinysweet said...

Tragic!

Auntylindagoddaughter

Noooooooooooooooo

Marshall Matters said...

RIP hansome, #royal priesthood Same exact words and sentences. You dey copy and paste comment ni at least this one make sense sha.

Kai! Such a handsome boi. RIP

Rip bro....GOD loves u more...he was my junior n pine crest...

All these kids dying abroad, it is getting too much!

God knows best

I went to school with him. He was a good friend. May his soul rest in peace.

Very sad news indeed... Can't stop imagining what his family is going through..

Nky said...

OMG. RIP bro

Omg! RIP boy

May his Soul rest in perfect peace.AMEN.So sad

Ozioma nti oke

So sad RIP

candymoni said...

So sad RIP

So sad, my condolence to the family. RIP. Ms. Ukwu

Rip

RIP Alex. Ur mum is crying her soul out.

Strange o. Murder or attack via juju from home? Handsome young man RIP.

May his soul rest in peace

Trending. Young Nigerian students are being innocently sentenced to d gas chamber all over Europe.
Nigerian authorities please investigate.
I make bold to say these young students are locked in and d room gassed or d room is gassed when they are asleep by Hitler's descendants.

Innocentia Annie said...

Its a pity

Innocentia Annie said...

Its a pity

I would like to thank you all on behalf of my family for your prayers and well wishes.

All these naija students death from gas in foreign universities are really suspicious, the other day 4 vibrant guys and now this. Questions need to be asked. Btw, what's the life of an average naija worth? Foreign affairs office should answer. KYLA

Too bad! Who will consol this family? May we not bury our children in Jesus name. Amen!

May the almighty God comfort the family he left behind. My heart bleeds! God please pardon this little boy and grant him eternal rest. Amen.

D A N I L O U said...

RIP with the risen Lord! Amen.

CHIOMA said...

I STILL CAN NOT BELIEVE THIS... may God console your mother and siblings.. this is just too sad...
RIP MY DEAR

Bode Ayo said...

Can everyone shut up and reason for once,ur all saying rest in peace when u don't know if he is being flogged for his deeds or he is being welcomed for his deeds....only if hd dead where allowed to come bck in a moment,dey would have flogged a lot of people like u.......all u ought to be saying right now is praying dat God shows him grace in his sight to enter his kingdom and also praying for d divine mercy of God over d family.......This wouldn't have happened if he was a bit close to God...ur saying he is handsome,but what favour will d beauty now do for. Him now.....fight for d heavenly beauty and not dat of dis worthless world.....bible says if ur way is okay with God,he shall make u and ur enemy to live together in peace.....so be ready,we don't know whose time it is now,it might be u or me,so make a worth of u for God when alive....

Bode Ayo said...

Can everyone shut up and reason for once,ur all saying rest in peace when u don't know if he is being flogged for his deeds or he is being welcomed for his deeds....only if hd dead where allowed to come bck in a moment,dey would have flogged a lot of people like u.......all u ought to be saying right now is praying dat God shows him grace in his sight to enter his kingdom and also praying for d divine mercy of God over d family.......This wouldn't have happened if he was a bit close to God...ur saying he is handsome,but what favour will d beauty now do for. Him now.....fight for d heavenly beauty and not dat of dis worthless world.....bible says if ur way is okay with God,he shall make u and ur enemy to live together in peace.....so be ready,we don't know whose time it is now,it might be u or me,so make a worth of u for God when alive....

I remember this young man from Loyola. It is always sad when a young and promising life like this one is lost..only God can console the family especially the mother..May God Almighty comfort you all...My prayers this morning..Oh God please have mercy on Nigerian Parents and our young children that are all out there trying to get education and a good life, for most parents its not like the money is there, we are all just struggling to make sure that our children have better life than us, dear God have mercy on us and keep these children safe for us wherever they are. Rest in peace Alex.

Bobson said...

I knew Alex. I was in school then. He was really a tech genius. May his soul rest in perfect peace. And @IsraelAyomide, this is the death of a 19-year-old. Watch your mouth

albertontario said...

its really sad news .
all student must be careful about
any accident .
best wishes for all . . . .

All inclusive student accommodation in Huddersfield | Cheap student accommodation in Huddersfield

He was a lot close to God so don't say what you don't know. If you knew him like I did you would be the one shutting up

He was a lot close to God so don't say what you don't know. If you knew him like I did you would be d one one shutting up

I miss him, BA staff do as well...still feels weird

OMG, may the Lord console his parents

He was in my brother's set.
my bro was so sad.
May his soul rest in peace

I still CANT BELIEVE he's dead 😪.
I didn't know him like that, but I heard he's a good person. May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace Amen 🙏, and may God lead and guide his family. God has a reason for everything. #RipAlex

Alex! May your soul rest in peace. Oh ukwu! LA may the lord console you on the loss of your son.

He has been buried!

ashley said...

its been months and his death still creeps into my thoughts now and then. i grew up with him, one of my best friends and he will be impossible to forget. love you Lex. :*