1-in-4 Nigerians at risk of hypertension- University of Edinburgh study | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 13 November 2014

1-in-4 Nigerians at risk of hypertension- University of Edinburgh study

A research carried out in Nigeria by scientists from the University of Edinburgh, England, revealed that one in every four Nigerian is at risk of being diagnosed with high blood pressure.

High blood pressure - also known as hypertension - which can cause stroke, heart disease and kidney disease, is twice as high in Nigeria compared with other East African countries and very few are aware that they have the condition. 

The study also revealed that the figure will sharply rise as more Nigerians continue to live like westerners lives until drastic measures are put in place. 

There were more than 20 million cases of hypertension in Nigeria in 2010, affecting one-in-three men and one-in-four women and researchers predict a rise in figure to 39 million cases by 2030.

Their findings have been published in the “Journal of Hypertension” and it is the first up-to-date nationwide estimate showing how hypertension affects Nigerians at an alarming rate.

45 comments:

Next pls

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Scare of it,God will protect his children

Uche Emma said...

This is serious oo

Tee said...

NO DOUBT!!! EVERY NIGERIANS HAVE HYPERTENSION. HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE! THE SITUATION IN THE COUNTRY ALONE IS ENOUGH TO HAVE THESE CONDITION. BESIDES YOUNG MEN THESE DAYS FROM THE AGE 18-40 WANTS TO MAKE IT BY ALL MEANS...

That's why its advisable for us to always run medical checkup from time to time. Not all stoke(s) are being caused by witches! Go for your checkup today and live healthy. It is well matt 26:41. BishopDammy#

All thanks to boko haram....

you know the stress of being a Nigerian in Nigeria? E nor easy. AT ALL!!

We are not situated in Eastern Africa.

My question is 1. Who send them? 2. Which pple were dis research carried out on? Cos can't remember seeing any scientist in my houx...rubbish

Barbara said...

True o, I don't even need to carry out an research to know that this is true.
I know a lot of pple, even youngsters that already hypertensive

U shldn't be scare if u blieve in God

University of Edinburgh is in Scotland tho.

Not surprised.

hmmm! man need to be careful oo

The way abisco is goin, I won't be suprise if he wins linda giveaway! #magicFingers...Largeness

I wecontinue to livelike westerners.... thats include new trends like rampant divorce , expensive cars, swagger things and if we one day accept gay.

Dis dooms day, nay sayers have come again..... Always on the lookout for negative things about Nigeria ... We will not separate by 2015 and we will not die of hypertension..... Ndi a for njor

banny said...

Asi ocha

D gist na real abeg, d research result correct die..

Jeez, this shit scares me mehn.. so so much infact.

The stress we undergo in this country alone is enough
Sad video/Pics: Girl undresses while dancing in da club & allows men touch her all over (BBM only).. Click this link now from your phone's native browser, join the bbm channel, msg us for the exclusive video n pics & get it instantly

Don't be ignorant why do you think people just normally collapse and die..or you missed those reported on this same blog..to do even the simplest of things wears you down in 9ja..and going tbrough that same stress everyday eventually wears you down slowly. .and the body can't take it anymore.

Obviously this is more of an issue for those in the big cities..unlike the smaller cities and villages. .

Thank you! Not every time copy and paste Linda, you need to verify things.

Serious issue

DIETARY SALT IS THE MAIN CULPRIT FROM NIGERIAN STUDIES. WE MUST REDUCE OUR SALT INTAKE! ANY OTHER CAUSATIVE FACTOR MUST BE EVIDENCE-BASED.

Cynthia Iyede said...

God forbid! That's their own opinion. @ ed Dreamz, ur head dey there jare

Just last week I met a friend who's hypertensive at the general hospital in port harcourt, he's 36 years old.

People can think all they want about this research but it's spot on and a lot of folks are dying in ignorance.

Why don't you go to the hospitals and verify things also

nigeria condition is enough to get one hypertensive

SCOTLAND NOT ENGLAND. Or better still say UK to make it general. You no know where Edinburgh dey abi?

Scientist can carry out all the research in the world and come up wit whatever facts which are not always true #onelovefromSnow#

Breanna Blogs Life said...

I tire lol

Breanna Blogs Life said...

Linda... Come let me ask you.. When did they move Edinburgh to England? I should be worried since I live in Aberdeen. Maybe I'm in England too lol

Barbara said...

Very correct! D situation in dis country is very tensed,if na only to get job alone ee reach to make one get Hypertension

Paschal said...

That's why you need OMRON Blood Pressure Monitor to help check your blood pressure anytime, anywhere, anyday. Check www.newheightspharma.com for more info.
Thank me later.

This is absolutely true, because I have friends under 40 that have died of hypertension a.k.a silent killer or hypertension. Moreover, I have been diagnosed of it as well but I have been on medication and change my diet and life-style. You might have it but you won't know until you check your high-blood pressure weekly over 6-12 months for you to be classified as being hypertensive.

If you haven’t done so, please get your self checked for the

“silent killer” i.e. High Blood pressure so that you can beat the killer

condition before its too late.

Facts about the silent killer – High Blood Pressure

- The only way to tell if you have high blood

pressure is to get it measured by your Doctor.

· - It has been dubbed the “silent killer” because

it often has few, if any symptoms until it are too late. It rarely makes people

feel ill, so it goes undetected.

- The silent threat can increase chances of having a heart attack or stroke.

- It is blighting the lives of at least one in

three adults, roughly a billion people around the globe.

- In Britain alone, at least 16 million victims

have been diagnosed, putting them at higher risk of heart disease, stroke and

kidney failure.

- Early detection is clearly far expensive than heart surgery, stroke care, dialysis and other interventions that may be needed

if high blood pressure is left uncontrolled.

- As many as Five million people in the UK are

walking around with undiagnosed high blood pressure.

- High blood pressure is diagnosed with a simple

test which measures the pressure of blood in the arteries. If it is high, then it means the heart has to

work harder.
- A range of drugs can be used to treat it but there is no cure
- Heart diseases and stroke are the main causes of

premature death and disability in Britain.

- High blood pressure causes 60 per cent of

strokes and 40 per cent of heart attacks.

- It kills more people than those who die from the

combined effects of alcohol and smoking
Roughly 14.7 per-cent of men and 10 per-cent of

women have the condition without knowing it.

To cure or cut the chances of developing

the killer or deadly condition.

- Lifestyle changes can really make a

difference. Five simple lifestyle changes could beat high blood pressure and

save millions of lives every year

1. Keeping active

2. Slashing salt intake

3. Eating a healthy diet with plenty of fruit and

vegetables

4. Cutting down on alcohol

5. Quitting smoking

More information on the silent killer

http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/Blood-pressure-%28high%29/Pages/Introduction.aspx

http://www.bhf.org.uk/heart-health/conditions/high-blood-pressure.aspx

not surprised at all!!

1. University of Edinburgh is in Scotland.
2. Nigeria is not in East Africa.
3. Etc....

University of Edinburgh is in SCOTLAND

The research was done by wrong people because they will never say the truth about us. In my own research as a Nigerian and as some body who is suffering from high blood pressure, I tell you; it is one out of every two Nigerians or more. Some are suffering but undiagnosed. Please my people buy blood pressure machine and continuously check your self, it is important.

Miss P said...

Aunty Linda, University of Edinburgh i in Scotland, not England.

thisisnotmyname said...

LIBers need to improve their reading skills seriously.

HBP kills. So get checked regularly.