Yaya Toure wins Glo/CAF African Footballer of the Year 2013 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 9 January 2014

Yaya Toure wins Glo/CAF African Footballer of the Year 2013

Cote D'ivore/Manchester City player Yaya Toure has been named Glo/CAF African Player of Year 2013, beating Super Eagles and Chelsea midfielder John Mikel Obi & Didier Drogba of Cote D'ivore. Congrats to him. Was really rooting for Mikel...

Super Eagles coach, Stephen Keshi, won African Coach of the Year. Congrats to all the winners...

312 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 312 of 312
nekkyville said...

Me too linda rily wnted mikel to win afta d fuel he wasted to come down n d hype..nyways his our STAR,n we LOVE him!!!!

Wat did yaya toure achieve in 2013 that Mikel did ʼn✽†̥̥ achieve

So after mikel dn suffer score dm no gve am d award...hehe,Mourinho better run b4 mikel rch London cus na slap,u go gve am d energy e use tk score...lol,cngrats yaya! (•_•)

There's politics on this blog...I check out genuinely abeg..

Bold Kid said...

King Yaya!!!!! Well deserved!

Nwa Aba said...

Yaya deserves it

Tested said...

No trophy but yet an award . It shows Ronaldo is the world footballer ..

It honestly was a clear cut victory...he was the best dis last year n truly deserved it

Oh pls.... Yaya toure ko. Yaya toure ni.. What has he achieved in african competions the previous year to warrant the title??? Nothing.. All the look @ is goals scored in international level... Stupid method of judging! I wonder why players in african leagues hardly make it to the list.... Hmmmm maybe the award should be renamed ( THE MOST SUCCESSFUL AFRICAN PLAYER ABROAD) #justmatot#

Blame it on GEJ. The lost of CAF
Player of the Year award by Mikel
Obi was blamed on Jonathan by
APC. Lie Muhammad stated this
evening that it was because of
clueless of Jonathan that made
Mikel loose the award. Meanwhile
Boko Haram have claimed
responsibilty and threatened
more if Mikel do not convert to
Isl**. Junaid muhammad however
when approached by our reporter
explain that blood would flow if
such a thing repeats itself. Nasir
Hell-Rufai have also voiced his
own option, attributing it to
Jonathan's lack of fighting
corruption. He stated that
Nigerians demands to know wat
happened to votes cast in favour
of mikel. He however raised alarm
that the voting system might have
been hijacked and rigged by PDP.

Keshi rightly deserved d award, it couldn't be otherwise. And so does our own dear Mikel. U won d football of d year award of all of our hearts, cheers u did marvellously super our own Dear Mikel!!!

Well deserved. Congratulations

I rooted for mikel too, but fam, this is Yaya Toure. #NoComplains

~~Success Has No Limitation~~

Well deserved Yaya Toure.

What is "wayo"? What do you know about football? It is called an individual award... If u watch the highlight of each of the three players,u will found out that Mikel had boring and uninteresting season apart from winning trophies.. Yaya is a beast-can dribble,tackle,pass,assist and score goals.. Mikel can only tackle..
-Yemoh..

Yaya has all what it takes to win the award.. He can score,dribble,attack,tackle and assist... Besides,he plays first eleven not Mikel plays from bench at times... Mikel should work harder cos Yaya Toure is a beast!
-Yemoh.

It is an individual accolade not a team award
Yaya Toure is by far the best African player

Ojoro things
Sallysmart

congrat yaya toure but i wish mikel should have won it

Sentiments apart this guy play ball last year sha, no be Mikel wey we beg con play for AFCON sef and con win......Yaya all the way jaree....Cassysmallz say so....

Mtschew!

I would hv luvd mikel to win sha o bt im a ManU fan so nthn spoil

I always knew Yaya would win it again dis year

S/O to him...he deserved it.

See ur mouth like wayo mikel na ur boi friend or u dey die 4 am

Phaeton Phoenix said...

Congrats toure and keshi.

It was expected. Tho, we had hoped dat our own Mikel wins it, i neva ruled out Yaya. Congrats Yaya.

Shut Up dere,mikel should work more on his scoring confidence,keshi should stop crying like a baby and work assidously in taking us to the world cup before running adenuga down.
GRINGO

Sad abt Yaya winning it this time around,after we won the Africa Cup of Nation where Mikel was outstanding.Mtcheeew.

Congrats Yaya,U deserve it by far..

Hmmm. The way the second guy is looking at the guy at the extreme left tho'. SMH. Seriously, Mikel wld have appreciated the award more.

This francophone countries have succeeded personalizin this award abi?God dey.

Congrat

Which yeye mikel, e play ball reach yaya, bone say e win nations cup. Congratulations yaya.

Igor said...

It would have been a miracle if Mikel had won the award.Yaya Toure truly deserved the award.This guy is rated the best box to box midfielder in the world.Week in and out,he defends,he attacks,he assists he scores.What else does one want in a player.Even BBC went out of their way to give the award to give the award to Yaya, a Francophole player.

Mikel for where? The most scared footballer ever Africa has ever produced. Even when he scores for Chelsea coaches laugh while talking about him. Not fit representing Naija, is just a simple chicken. God give us a good representative to carry our image. Gosh to afraiding too much on his face tooooo much. Chaiiiii. Ogadimma na aha Jesus

u dserve it bro 9ice 1

Mikel u are the best for me.

Shame on you !

Congrate yaya, Mikel should continue doing what he is doing, I believe he will win it next year

Awon olojoro. Mikel deserves it pass dis one. Wetin yaya won last year...
MtcheeEeeew*angrlywalksaway*
#adefunke#

Adadavid said...

Its nt wayo o. Yaya deserved it bt I wntd mikel to win it sha

Emmy oly said...

Yaya merit am wella bt our Boy 4 kari am

Sentiment apart, Yaya Toure and Mikel Obi are not on the same level. They are miles apart, both on the past and current form. Chelsea can perform and do away with Mikel, but Yaya is d engine room of Man. City. Mikel himself knows that, Yaya is far far better than him. Chelsea fans can say whatever they like, but the facts are there, we all watch premiership every weekend.

Jade said...

I am not a football fan,but if d tall dude is Yaya,then he deserves the award. He is flipping HAWT!

Manymen said...

Thought Mikel would win, anyway congrats to yay a toure. The third time. He' s definetly on the roll.

abeg.....

Dis is y I hate Glo. If nah MTN, nah mikel dem for give..to be sincere mikel really deserves it

How many goal can Mikel boast of. Mikel is good but Yaya is better.

lol

any football fan worth their stuff will swallow his/her sentiments and be truthful 2 themselves. Yaya toure is arguablu the best midfielder in the EPL... That says a lot! He's the backbone of his club... I hope Mikel can step up wiv his performances tho, bt I was never under any illusions...
Sketch.

Ann Marie said...

congrats to him

Shoutozone said...

Congrats Yaya... He's well deserving of it, sentiments apart

yusuf said...

What it takes for bloggers not to post someone comment?

i knew da dis french speakin pple wil giv da award 2 yaya. S mikel obi da deserve d award cuz he won african nation' cup, european champion leaque, europa cup n he s playin regulaly 4 his club. I alwayz knw da issa aiyatu(caf president) no lik nigeria bt God dey.

In all ramification, Yaya deserves it. On what basis did u expect Mikel to win it apart from sentiments and Chelsea's fans opinion. Or was it based on Nations Cup. How many matches were played. What is the contribution of Mikel to Chelsea successes or otherwise. What is the contribution of Yaya to Man. City successes or otherwise.

adegoke pamilerin said...

Mikel deserves the award...congratulations to all the winners

Dis one na pure pasha nw,de don cari sumtin wey belong to mikel go giv dat stupid boy btw ASUP stil dey strike o

Congrats to Yaya Toure, for winning the Glo/CAF FOTY.I like him alot, but I would have preferred my Mikel Obi to be the winner.

Well mikel you also deserve it bt best of luck in d nxt glo caf award, well done toure kip it real

GOod judgement yAya 1st, drogba 2nd, mikel 3rd. Good one

Seriously CAF should make up its mind on how it awards the CAN. Years ago after his astounding exploits in Europe, single handedly taking a relegation team to a club record 8th position, scoring amazing goals enroute; two of which were amongst the goals of the season. J,J Okocha lost the CAF award to Kanoute because his country won the CAN tourney! That was the argument then and rustled Nigeria feathers were forced to calm down and relax.
Years later Mikel Obi wins the CAN, UCL, Europa and Yaya Toure gets picked ahead of him! FYI Man City did not win anything last season! Knocked out in the UCL group stage, defeated in the FA cup final by Wigan, trumped to the EPL trophy by neighbors Man United.
So with what criteria did Yaya Toure trump Mikel Obi to the 'African footballer' award in a Cup of Nation year?!!!
Isn't the award about a players exploits on the continent? Didn't Mikel and his mates play in the confederation cup and impress? Since the Nation's cup Nigeria hasn't lost a match with Mikel in it. So how did Mikel lose?
All of you saying that Yaya won because he alone carried Man City need to have your head checked. Didn't Okocha carry Bolton?!
How can CAF continue to shun Nigeria for awards it has deservedly earned? Hilary Obiorah

Glo shud stop sponsoring dat nonsense CAF awards n its shudn't be hosted in Nigeria again since dey can't give african best to a Nigerian#angry#

really nice

really really nice

Flavour put up d best performance for d nyt.

Congrats 2 him.

was also rooting for Mikel too. eh ya. well he is still my bestie. he will get there Mikey, even to world best player

ejike capable said...

Na waa dem don rob Mikel.

Lily am feeling frustrated u don't post my comments at all. Even after commending u for ur timeliness and punctuality. Honestly if this continues I may decided not to visit ur blog again.

Congrats yaya, ma able coach & to all d winners! Is a well deserved for ma coach (Keshi) & Yaya Toure. Happy for u guyz. @SHoK

Fank God sey na YaYa get am.......mikel ma ass

Y not Mikel nahhhhhhhhh...........

Ojoro....

Yaya toure all d way.....he deserve d crown

Classgist said...

Congratonobia

what did yaya achieved in2013?

Pls make we hear word, how is it wayo? Nobody worths that title more in africa than Yaya at the moment. The guy is simply the best.

How do you judge the best in a class and or determine the better of two players? Is it by failure or achievements/results? Employers,Organisations (etc) hire staff , promote or honour them based on results and there was no justifiable basis for declaring Yaya best player in Africa when he achieved nothing in 2013.
If it is by achievement then Mikel deserve to be named Africa's best as:
-He won the Europa Cup with Chelsea and African Nations cup with Nigeria
- Yaya lost the only final (FA Cup) to lowly rated Wigan
-Chelsea beat Mancity in the premier league
-Nigeria with Mikel beat Cote D'Ivoire with Yayaat the QF of the last nations cup that Nigeria won( if he was so influencial, then he ought to have won!!).
-If it was by goals scored,then Emenike that made the Africa XI scored more goals than the paltry return of 9goals in 32 appearance by Yaya for ManCity (or is it because we dont watch the league where he plays?).
Yaya is an offensive midfielder while Mikel is a defensive midfielder,so we cannot compare then on the basis of goals scored as they have both excelled in their team role but we can compare them on what they each achieved.
The result announced by CAF is an insult on the collective intelligence of we the lovers of the great sport.
For starters, what is the basis for naming Drogba as the 3rd best player in Africa when he achieved nothing. Curiously, the so called third best player in Africa did NOT even make the AFRICA XI chosen by CAF. It is laughable that Sunday Mba that single handedly won the nations cup for Nigeria was overlooked for Abdultreka in the best African based player.
In summary, if Nigeria was the best Nation winning 6 of the 11 awards, then we deserve the best player award. What happened yesterday was a rape of football by Isa Hayaoutu and his gang of thieves. In our heart we know the true winner (Mikel) Thank you!!!

I am a Nigerian & a Chelsea fan.In all honesty, it wuld a shame to Africa football if mikel won that award.A player who scored his 1st premiere league goal after 8 yrs in chelsea late last year.A player who jst recently started getting 1st team berth coz Mourinho decided 2 change d team playin style by chocking D midfield since d strikers were not scoring.A player who does not lay forward passes.A plyer who cannot win games 4 D club.A player who does not create gloals coz in this modern game of attacking play.Accroding to some nigerians d@ coz Mikel is a standing 4.Not only standing 4 it's seating 4.On D contrary, Yaya has all dis qualities.It was clear during D ceremony, Mikel Had no high lights.It's a shame.Pls, if u Luv mikel kindly tell him 2 step up his game.Calebsy said so.

They broke my heart jooor....I wanted mikel 2win

sa hayatou!… Wat a bastard… Xo he did during d time of okocha nd Eto.. Wen okocha deserve it now again itsz mikel nd yaya toure for god sake itsz very glaring who d award belongsz too… Even d psquare were suprise nd perfrmance shocked yesterdai… Let d politicsz goes on,wat I know is dat God will judge… Nd caf president will leave by shame soonest..congrats 2 all d winners.

Mak Nisy Collection's CEO said...

How is Mikel suppose to win it, does he play better that Yaya or Drogba Biko nu? Linda hold it. Mikel is still our brother and a good player plus we love him. but the best man won. Congrats Yaya

Website Design said...

Congrats Yahya! Mikel deserved it as well.

The headies and Caf has lost their credibility's. ( ˘̩˘̯). - #VectorManiac

Yaya is a gud player no doubt about dat, but mikel is a winner wt both club n country. Laurels n trophies are evidence of being a gud player not fancy n sexy futball. Apologies to d gunners.....Oooops!

Sentiments aside Yaya toure is a better player.Even high lights during the ceremony spoke volumes.Mikel shuld understand that he's not just a holding midfielder but supposed 2 be a total footballer in mordern game.It's d duty of all 2 deffend, attack & score.So, don't tell me I am a defensive midfielder, my job is not to attack, create goals or score.D@'s where D@ Dude got it wrong.My advice 2 him is he shuld stop playin boaring football.He shuld step up his game.Congrats to Yaya Toure, he deserved it.mind u I am a Naija.jst being honest.

Yaya is a gud player no doubt, but mikel wc a winner wt both club n country in 2013. Laurels n trophies are evidence of being d best player nt fancy or sexy futball wt notin to show for it. Apologies to d gunners....Ooops!

Big Ojoro!!! Mikal had it fair n square

Mikel is good but yaya deserves the Award this year. congrats YaYa

Yaya Toure deserved it.Mikel shuld understand d@ in mordern football u're supposed 2 be a total footballer.Not my role is deffensive midfielder.No it's d duty of all to join in deffence, attack,create goals & score when d opportunity comes.D@ guy shuld step up his game.He shuld change his mentality toward this game.He shuldnt be a lay back in a team.Naija no dey take last now.Congrats to Yaya.

Ah rily wish mikel had it...Linda,dis nahh actually wayo.

Yes i said it before without been sentiment yaya deserve it more than mikel.........mikel is just coming up to scoring ability and be creative midfielder,tho he has achieved alot with Chelsea fc if he continue this way he will surely win it one day......congrats yaya

Thank God it didnt go to an igbo man hurray, tongue out to all gorilla offsprings

Juliebabe said...

I really wanted John Obi Mikel to win, congratulations to all the winners including Yaya Toure no beefing. Good morning to you aunty lili

Congrats Yaya

Mikel deserves it but yaya worth it

Mehn...mikel for win dis tin ooo..as a nigerian I be...buh we all noe say na yaya go win am...talk true

Mikel deserves it but yaya worth it

ROXIE said...

NOOOOOOOOO!!!!!! *crying* i wanted my love mikel 2 win!!!! this is pure OJORO i nor go gree. After he don fly private jet finish... Damn nt fair

Oh why not my guy, Mikel nah. Well, congrats to yaya toure

Drac said...

Yaya Toure does not deserve the award. Mikel clearly deserves the award, this isn't about me been a Nigerian but because I'm a football fan. My reasons; Mikel Won the Nation Cup in a tournament were he played against Yaya Toure and Cote D'Ivoire a more star studded and complete team. And he (Mikel) owned Yaya Toure in the midfield. Every game involving Chelsea against Man City in the past 1 calender year, Mikel always own Yaya in the midfield, though Man City is the team with most star in EPL. Mikel did well in Brazil in the last confederation Cup. Man City won nothing more than Chelsea in the past 1 calendar year.

We all pray for a better 2014 start ur betterness here withdraw $300 here right away,n life time opportunity http://tasknjob.com/?share=53669

Up yaya, something who dont't watch football, them they hout Mike? When you watch entertainment sports you will agree with me that Yaya deserves it. Linda, I know you have crush on MIkel, you must publish my comment ooooo

Annoying issa mschewwww! Pure ojoro

p square sang nonsense.

wow was really hoping Mikel would win.all the same congrats to yaya toure

whizzev said...

sad one for mikel.

The glo babes who ushered were all outstanding and elegant

U no well...how else do u expect an award night to look like?

when is this baba (yaya toure's right) going to die ?

hes fucking ruining africa's football.

Congrats yaya....well deserved.

#daveydave

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 312 of 312   Newer› Newest»