Fully loaded petrol tanker explodes in Apapa, killing several people | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 8 January 2014

Fully loaded petrol tanker explodes in Apapa, killing several people

A fully loaded petrol tanker was involved in a horrible accident last night that took the lives of atleast 10 people, destroyed several cars and a few buildings.

According to eyewitnesses, the tanker, carrying 33,000 litres of fuel, lost its brake, somersaulted and exploded around Berger Suya Bus-Stop on the Apapa Expressway around 11pm yesterday. About 10 people were said to have roasted in the inferno that ensued, while several cars parked in the area were razed. A few houses, including a bank branch, were also razed .

Over 8 fire service trucks including two from Julius berger and one from Capital Oil and Gas came to the scene to put the fire out. See more photos after...

131 comments:

Oh my God. Thisnew year? God pls nigeria should not xperience any form of national mourning againn. May there souls RIP. #diplomate#

hayjay said...

Yeeepa!!! God pls help us to stop all this disasters in the country

moses said...

God help us, amen. *sigh

Which way Nigeria, when will all this stop. I dey see other tankers for Europe here wey dey drive tanker full of fuel with no hassle . Why must it be us.

Yes ooooo.head d news ystrdy.so heart broken.
Comfort to d bereaved

Hmm, is a terrible one, I passed there today, meanwhile, the bank is not starling not skybank.

#SKALER# said...

God have mercy,may dea souls RIP.

#skaler#

Lord have mercy

God pls we don't all this,this year #bright bravo#

Teekay said...

God av mercy on us ooooo....

Father heal our land of all these atrocities and may d souls of the departed find eternal rest,amen.
*ajokeade*

Sad news."Roast" not a word I wana hear

God help us...all we ask for is MERCY

Really patetic,may d souls of the deased rest in perfect peace.Amen

Chidimma said...

Naawaa ooooo! Which kin tragedy be this?

obianuju said...

sterling bank, not skye bank and d ppl dat wia mostly affected wia d spare parts traders. I just pity sm of dem dat'll will come bk from holidayd to meet dia trgedy.

Jaah save ur people

Capitol oil, Lindz.

Jasmine said...

Linda it was sterling bank that was burnt not skye bank. It happened close to my house. Thank God for Capital Oil and Gas

JESUS pls help us oooo....so so sad news.

omenah said...

This is really sad!may the souls of the departed rest in perfect peace...amen!

Amarachukwu said...

God! Protect us oOo

gosh! what a tragedy.
may the souls of the dead rest in peace.

FAMMIE said...

May the souls of departed rest in peace

Over 80 people died. 3 danfo buses loaded with passengers, 3 security men from the bank, mallams gambling, mallams selling suya & you know how this hausa people usually gather?

Jasmine said...

Two commercial buses with passengers all burnt. Even a pregnant woman dies too and her baby came out of her womb. The site was just too horrible to see. D explosion was caused by d flame from the aboki roasting suya by the road where the tanker fell while trying to take a U turn. And the commercial buses collided into each other and got burnt too. Some stupid nigerians were trying to break the atm @ the bank. Thank God faleti hospital was close by. The security officer @ the bank got burnt too but was rescued by a young boy and d fire burnt the boy's leg. A police woman got burnt too. This life na wa

Jasmine said...

Linda it was sterling bank that was burnt not skye bank. It happened close to my house. Thank God for Capital Oil and Gas

seyiclassic said...

i pray for the people that loose there soul at the scene.that there soul rest in peace

God pls accept der precious souls nd continue 2 protect us!AMEN

Too bad.

Lost its brake, not break Linda

Dis is tragedy,May GOD help us in dis our country

This is so sad. God pls have mercy on us.

Yes oo linda, twas arund ma area. Wen it fel, it drw d lit of a suyaman closeby wich roastd him nd a woman selin oranges close 2 him wit oda vehicle comin b4 nd afta him nd bulidins wich included ma neighbours shop. Tnk God it wasnt in d daytym cos d death rate wud av bin much.

Lord hv mercy, my their souls rest in peace.

God help us.

D bank dat was involve in d fire is not skybank as indicated but stering bank branch. It was a horrible accident indeed.may d souls of dose dat lost deir lives RIP.

Zenki brown said...

Ooooooo God!! Save Us A̶̲̥̅ll dis 2014.

This is wear house bustop

Wtf....dis just d 8th day of this year n all dis ar happenin,God av mercy on us.Rip 2 d dead ones.

May GOD help us..... And lead our foot steps

May d soul of d departed rest in peace wit d Lord. @SHoK

Lyndodo, dis happened ard my office. Its a very sorry sight cos lots of life nd properties were lost. Nd its sterling bank not sky bank. Do we really av state govt or local govt in dis country. D state of dat road is so bad nd come to think of it pple who av business ard there ar also not helping d condition of d road. They move heavy duty trucks in dat area nd don't even deem it fit 2 give back 2 d society by just joining hands 2geda to repair d bad spots all dey ar concerned abt it making money. I pray d soul of d departed RIP. so so sad

It ΐś well so sad RIP

Lost its brakes not break

smooth said...

name************** said...

OmG!!! Y can't day move wen ery1 has retire for d day,is beta dat way,d roads ll b free.......pls day sud make a law concerning dis.it ll save lots of innocent souls*smh*

Really sooo sad... But Linda its Sterling bank o

God save us

Lord have MERCY on us ur children, Amen.

Ann Marie said...

most of the tankers don't have breaks, they control their tankers with wood in traffic. they pass policemen and road safety officials on the road who collect tips from them and look the other way. I hope none of their family members were involved in the accident cos karma is a bitch for sure

Nne na Sterling Bank not Skye Bank. D scene was heart wrecking dis morning. Come n see pple's bones roasted on d road! Cheiiiiii! God have mercy!

babyflakky4real said...

May der soul rest in peace linda post my comment ooo

Lord Jesus!may their souls rest in peace

This is such a disaster, all des tankers nd accidents.

Stephen Ikiyei said...

Tankers and accident... And thier drivers are never cautious on the high way

This is one disaster too many!
Lord, have mercy.
May the souls of those who died in the inferno rest in peace. Amen.

Lord hv Mercy!!!

#That happy sister!

So sad. Rip to the deceased.
Measures have to be taken to curb this manace that these huge trucks and their drivers pose to the public.

I heard about that earlier dis morning 08-01-14 so bad this happened R.I.P to those who died a miserable untimely death

God av mercy

Lord have mercy.......

Abt 20 people died not 10

"According to eyewitnesses, the tanker, carrying 33,000 litres of fuel, lost its break..."
should rather be "According to eyewitnesses, the tanker, carrying 33,000 litres of fuel, lost its brakes,"

sheila sapphire said...

Lord have mercy! May their souls rest in peace! Aman

star gurl said...

Lindodo more than 50 pple died o, cos dis 1 happen 4 my backyard and I was there till about 1.am dis murnin. And d tanker didn't fail break o, it fell down.more than 3 mini buses burnt 2 ashes.

Nawa oo . Naija which way nah

Sterling bank not skye..

Omg! so sad. I just hate all these trucks!

These trailers have been killing innocents for years now! It's about time gov't seriously think about making a special way for them or create a special timetable. Hilary Obiorah.

Lord have mercy... So sad

Linda, na Sterling Bank, not SkyeBank. Saw everything with my 2 korokoro eyes.
It is well.

Linda it was over 10 people, more dan 30 people, 3 fully loaded commercial bus were burnt to ashes wit d passengers, driver inside it, all d mallams sellin suya by d road side, including those buyin and those tasting suya were burnt to ashes, passer by were burnt, it was over 30pple, including those that rushed into d sterling bank to steal money, d unlucky ones could come out again were burnt to ashes, even their bones were still burning till 2am d nxt morng. Shops, houses, cars, goods worth millions of naira, even cash were all burnt. It wasn't a sky bank, its a sterling bank. Also it started about 9pm yday not 11pm. Get ur facts right.

bbm pin 23491053 said...

Nawa, that's almost where my dads are. God keep showing ur grace. Engr E

MISSPERFECT said...

Very terrible,r.I.p to d unfortunate victims

Hmmnnnn... Lord have mercy!

I heard it was around 10pm,we A̶̲̥̅̊я̲̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ sick and tired of all these tankers and containers everyday in Apapa wharf,pple A̶̲̥̅̊я̲̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ dying of accident there on a daily basis.Traffic has become a daily routine on d road.May God help we the residents staying in that area.

Lord have mercy,,we that work in Oil. Companies,God save us.

Really tragic.....may their souls RIP

So bad 2 hear dis

wemimo said...

Awww may deir souls rest in peace @ anon 11:14 u re a clown..i actually laffed at ur comment 'dose tasting suya'... hmmm God help ur children..

Who u wan make e be? If u dnt know wah 2 say bera sharaaaaaaaap!!!!!!! May their souls rest in peace. Oh Lord pls help us. (Witty lady)

Close to ur house? Hmmmm! Na em u de here de correct linda? U no go go thanks giving say e no affect u and ur people? (Witty lady)

Onye nkuzi ode akpu! We dnt need ur dumb ass correction buh prayers 4 d lost souls. Common geroutta here. (Witty lady)

Tragic not tragedy

Ibiakwakwa ozo? Miss brake mr break......pulizzzz give us a break! (Witty lady)

Not just 2014 buh for the rest of our lives. AMEN!!!!!! (Witty lady)

Ur so jobless! Onye nkuzi ode akpu!

Ok we yav heard.....miss backyard! Oke azu uno.....

Ur eyes really resemble korokoro..... Cockroach infact

Clap for urself miss or mister anonymous! U've passed d essay! Kai! U get time shaa writing d whole story.....na award we go give u? Mtchew! (Witty lady)

Ur dads????? Huh? How many papa u get sef?

Nigerians should stop wishing away things with religiousity. Bad things will continue to happen unless we start taking precautions and utmost care in everything we do.to start,that area is too crowded.mishaps like that will continue to claim lives.Nigeria needs a structural and mental change

And when Fashiola decides no more street hawking especially on Apapa bcos of the narrowness of the roads, it's danger to life & properties, the people will start saying he is removing food from their tables& deliberately punishing the masses. Now tell me, wouldn't more than half the victims be saved if there was no suya man alive& no orange sellers?? These are unavoidable deaths with common sense & caution.. Since Fashiola stopped Okada on the express roads & the busy areas of Lagos, the number of daily casualties arriving Lagos Orthopaedic hospital, Igbobi, has drastically reduced. He is indirectly saving lives.
We need to have a refocus on avoidable deaths in Nigeria. For instance, Maternal mortality is reducing in most countries, in Nigeria it's still on the increase, unlike 2-3yrs ago. These are avoidable deaths !! And wn it happens, Nigerians ll conclude God gives& God takes.. NOOO!!!! It could be avoided, just like the Havoc-wrecking Okada accidents. Sorry for my long epistle!! The pharmacist Rx(UK)

jvc said...

OMG!Lord hav mercy on Nigerians,hav mercy on Abians,hav mercy on my fellow LIBers.l pray:NO road ll eva see or suck our blood dis year IJN AMEN......................nwa lbeku

'God!God!'That's all we know how to call in this wretched country.its inevitable that such accidents will happen.you have a maliciously ignorant and possibly stoned driver driving a. tanker that has probably never been serviced in ages carrying 33000 litres of fuel on a road filled with potholes with those who should enforce safety looking the other way...WHAT do you expect?in fact we should be thanking God this tragedy is not happening more often.I was almost crushed when a truck lost brake infront of me.Thank God!

Rose Pearl said...

Lord Have Mercy

swit poraro said...

OMG, accept dir souls LORD and give dir families d heart to bear d loss

God pls save us

udeh sandra said...

So so pathetic...may their soul RIP Amen

What do you expect when the tanker drivers association is stronger than the government, touch them they will go on strike

This so unfortunate wouldn't even wish an enemy such. May their soul rest in perfect peace.

*Sighs* @ Jasmine, thanks for d info, it is well in Jesus name, pple re very funny, robbing atm machine @ d point of death, God saves our souls. My condolence to d bereaved, may d Lord console them all! We need intensive prayers in dis country o! Toyin Kakulu

May their soul rest in peace...

GOD help us in dis country JOHNSON SAY SO

Emmyace said...

Some people got rich through d scene tho... God's knows best...

HMMMM, THIS NEW YEAR? GOD PLEASE PUT A STOP TO ALL THIS.

Na wa oh...lord av mercy

Jasmine said...

Stop spreading false news abeg? Which 50 people died liar oshi. It was about 15 to 20 people that dies madam. I saw it

REXOVIC said...

MAY GOD HELP US IN THIS COUNTRY ....MAY WE NEVER WALK IN THE WRONG PATH IJN

Jasmine said...

Stop up plz...it started by 11pm not 9pm. And houses were not burnt oloshi. Just sterling bank, few cars and some shops not many. Get your facts right too. The commercial buses were not full oga. Stop spreading false news abeg

Jasmine said...

Stop spreading false news abeg? Which 50 people died liar oshi. It was about 15 to 20 people that dies madam. I saw it

When will all these stop. Funny though, I saw a tanker driver eating and driving @ d same time.i jus froze on d spot jus looking @ him. It doesn't make sense.

THEM SAY PEOPLE DIE, AND ALL MOST OF YOU KNOW HOW TO DO IS TO CORRECT LINDA'S ENGLISH? OLODO AS IF U PASSED IN SCHOOL SELF? MTCHHHWWWW RIP TO THOSE INVOLVED#

What a sad news.......God be wit us

Professor , he/she is right

Are you awake at 1am to pick on people on LIB?? U sure do not ve a job

Oh Lord!!! Have mercy

Stop picking on people unnecessarily & get out of here with ur wittiness

Edith said...

May God have mercy on us and may the souls of those who lost their lives rest in perfect peace. Amen!

God av mercy on us ooooo

God plss help us n may their souls RIP....~ chidinma

Peter said...

i tink all these petro pdts shld be transported by train and not roads. RIP to d dead.

Why our country nigeria, God please help us.

Help us God

whizzev said...

OMG!