Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 01/27/2013 - 02/03/2013

Thursday 7 February 2013

'El-Rufai’s book is a collection of fiction' - Atiku Abubakar

Former FCT minister Mallam El-Rufai wrote a memoir titled The Accidental Public Servant which was unveiled in Abuja today, and in the book he criticized a few politicians...one of them former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar. In the book, El-Rufai described Atiku as a corrupt power hungry politician and alleged that he (El-Rufai) had almost resigned as the former Director General of the Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE) because of persistent pressure and interference by Atiku, who was then the Chairman of the National Council on Privatization

Atiku has reacted to the content of the book, calling it a collection of fiction and exaggeration.
It amazes me that El Rufai can pass off fiction for self-gratification at the expense of truth as a book. El-Rufai's attack on my person is to say the least not surprising considering that this is the same man who has notoriety for disparaging religions and their icons, including lately Jesus Christ.

If he could go to such irreverent extent to disparage religious icons, who is an ordinary mortal like me? It is my belief that any man that can cross the boundary of reason and decency deserves prayers rather than anger.”

I wish to state that the book is as a collection of fiction, half truths, exaggeration and reflection of selective memory.

‘From Jumia with love’ - shop this Valentine

So it is valentine’s day again and the craze for where to find the most exquisite, romantic, sexy gifts for your valentine looms, with jam packed stores and little assortment to select from.  Jumia.com.ng, Nigeria’s number one online retailer, brings to you 2 valentine packages that will see ‘very happy’ valentines shoppers. 

www.jumia.com.ng, introduces its valentine store, where online shoppers will get a 10% discount instantly on the selected items. 

Stephanie Okereke Linus: Spot the difference

There are a few of them...can you spot them?

Actor Chris Attoh and video vixen Venita 'Vee Zee' Akpofure spotted..

Now officially looking for a couple hotter than these two.

Rapper AP.9 claims he had unprotected sex with Ice T's wife, Coco

Upcoming rapper AP.9 is back, and this time he's claiming he had unprotected sex with Ice T's wife, Coco Austin. AP.9 and Coco were involved in a scandal in December 2012 after suggestive photos of the two hit the internet. Coco claimed at the time that AP.9 was just a fan, but the rapper said there was more. Now he's claiming that he had unprotected sex with Coco. Below is what he told Star magazine.
“I first met Coco at Surrender Nightclub. She invited me to her table; I had a couple of drinks; we exchanged numbers. I could tell we had a physical attraction. She asked me, ‘What are you doing after the club?’ I said, ‘I’m probably just going to get a room and stay right here.’ She said, ‘Well, I’m going with you.’
We had sex. I don’t know who made the first move. It wasn’t making love; it was just sex. We had sex unprotected. I really hope she isn’t pregnant!
See more after the cut...

P-Square popcorn not from P-Square o! Lol

Peter kia kia issue disclaimer. Lol. Naija!!!

Ugonna, Toke, & Seyi Shay cover February edition of Mode Men mag

Designer Ugonna Umeruo, OAP Toke Makinwa, and singer Seyi Shay on the cover of Valentine edition of Mode Men magazine. Hot chicks!!!

Chris Okotie ban journalist from attending his church over story

The journalist is Biodun Kupoluyi, the publisher of E24/7 Magazine. He is alleging that the senior pastor of Household of God, Chris Okotie, has barred him from attending his church after he wrote a story alleging that Rev Okotie is dating an undergraduate named Miss Naomi Hoffman. (See the story above) Biodun is an off/on member of Household of God.

He granted an interview to Encomium magazine this week, telling his side of the story. See it below...
I received the news from a man claiming he's representing the church that he has been directed by the pastor of the church and members of Household of God church that I should not come and worship with them. His reason, he said, was premised on E24-7 magazine's expose - pastor Chris finds new love, says I will not get married again, but may opt for surrogacy soon. I found it shocking that a day after the publication hit the streets, his media department sent a release out and it confirmed our story. He actually made those statements and we reported it. I think he did not think anybody could have known about his romance with the girl, Naomi. He was caught off guard..but as a journalist, I owe our teeming readers that responsibility. I feel fulfilled, though I will miss his theatrics, his stage performances and verbosity.

Meet America's longest married couple. 80 years and counting...

John (101) and Ann Betar (97) of Fairfield, Connecticut, tied the knot on Nov. 25, 1932. They've been happily married for over 80 years now. Together they have five children, 14 grandchildren and 16 great-grandchildren. They have been named the longest married couple in the U.S.

John and Ann Betar told ABC News that they considered themselves "blessed."
"We are very fortunate. It can be repeated and repeated," Ann, 97, said "It is unconditional love and understanding. We have had that. We consider it a blessing."
They said their secret to so many happy years together is simple: compromise and don't hold a grudge.

Francis and IB Nwodu. Happy Married Life!

Top model Francis 'Chinko' Nwodu and IB Lawson got married at the Ikoyi registry this morning. Happy married life to them!

Win An Exceptional Valentine Experience With Durex

It’s February, the love season, the gifts are rolling in, proposals are being made and it seems just everybody is in the mood for some good loving. Well don’t be left out, just in case you have nothing planned yet for your valentine, here’s something to spice up your February. 

Durex brand is giving you and your partner the opportunity to have an exceptional valentine experience. Was it the moment when he went down on his kneels to propose in front of all your friends? Or the time he threw you a surprise party for your birthday? Share a romantic photo of you and your partner with us and you both might be the lucky winners of a romantic dinner for 2 at a 5-star restaurant + 2 tickets to “The Maxwell Valentine’s Concert”.  The first and second runners up also get an exotic dinner at a 5 star restaurant.

Controversy trails expulsion of 28 Redeemers University students

Culled from The Nation
The expulsion of 28 students by Redeemer University for allegedly failing drug tests has sparked a big row.  The tests were conducted last November for 42 students, who were asked to go for “routine tests”.
After resumption this year, some of them were told that they “tested positive” and last Friday, some of those who “tested positive” got expulsion letters; others got theirs on Monday.

Happy 35th birthday to Omotola Jalade Ekeinde

Omotola is a year older. Awwwwwww! Wishing her many more sexy, successful and blessed years ahead. Happy happy birthday, Omotola!

Cafe Jade - Valentine’s Day

In celebration of Valentine’s Day, Café Jade will serve the following prix-fixe dinner menu beginning at 6 p.m. from Thursday, February 14 - Sunday, February 17. Make your valentine feel special and be welcomed with a bottle of sparkling pink bubbly on arrival then enjoy our delicious 4 course valentine menu.

Cost is N20,000 per couple. The café is now taking bookings and is booking up rather fast. Please make reservations by calling 08150605233. As a confirmation of your reservation, you may choose to add a beautiful selection of fresh flowers sent to your valentine for N4,000.

Sellers of pornographic materials arrested by Lagos state taskforce

The Lagos State Taskforce on Environmental and Special Offences (Enforcement) Unit has begun clampdown on distributors and sellers of pornographic materials across Lagos, Southwest Nigeria.

Four distributors of pornographic materials were arrested at Cele Bus Stop on Oshodi-Apapa Expressway on Tuesday by the taskforce after the police raided the area. Those arrested will be arraigned before the Special Offences Court at the taskforce yard and prosecuted for selling obscene materials.

The sellers of the materials arrested are Yinka Dada, 25 years; Udoh Nne, 29 years; Sylvester Obodoe, 18 years and Poopola Bamidele, 18 years. (pictured above)

Photos: Rihanna accompanies Chris Brown to court hearing

Rihanna accompanied her man Chris Brown to his court hearing yesterday Wednesday February 6th. Chris Brown's ongoing probation case stems from assaulting Rihanna in 2009. Yesterday was his progress report hearing, where he faced allegations that he lied about completing his community service. Rihanna blew Chris a kiss before the proceedings got underway and left arm in arm with him after the hearing. See the video after the cut...

Ailing Enugu state governor Sulivan Chime finally back in Nigeria

Heard he came into Nigeria last night and is in Abuja at the moment. They say he will be in Enugu on Friday. Governor Chime has been away for over for months battling an undisclosed ailment. And oh, you probably read it here first! *wink*

Actress Ebube Nwagbo shows off hot bod!

Nice!

Ladies watch this! Singer Miguel having sex on stage at a concert

Reminds me of the good ol days. Choi! Need to get back in the game! LMAO. Miguel will not kill somebody. Meanwhile still can't decide if he's straight or not! He's giving it to a booty, which could be either a man or woman...Hehe! Watch...

Top model Francis 'Chinko' Nwodu to wed today

Francis is one of the top male models in Nigeria. He's popularly called Chinko in the modeling industry. He used to be one of my models before I quit the modeling industry to start gossiping. Hehe.

Anyway, he's getting married today at Ikoyi registry to his girlfriend, IB Lawson. IB is the younger sister of Dabota Lawson, former Miss Nigeria UK. Congrats to them!

2face Idibia and Annie Macaulay set to wed March 23rd in Dubai

Annie herself announced the March 23rd wedding date on her Facebook page, but here's a bit more info about the wedding.

Annie visited Dubai recently to look at venues for the wedding. They've found a place but are keeping that info secret until much later. The couple plan to fly a few friends and family members to Dubai for the grand wedding and 2face has booked several rooms in a few hotels in Dubai for their guests, including Burj Al Arab, the world's most luxurious hotel, where he and Annie will spend some time after their wedding. 

Don Jazzy, D'banj, Basketmouth, Banky W, Kenny Ogungbe, Genevieve Nnaji, P-Square, Tonto Dikeh and many other celebrities will storm Dubai for the wedding. More later...

Court strikes out case against 'Facebook lover' accused of attempted rape

A Tinubu Magistrates’ Court in Lagos on Wednesday struck out a case of attempted rape against Arthur Obiora for “want of diligent prosecution”.

Obiora, 26, was arraigned on Nov. 9, 2012, over an alleged attempt to rape one Nkiruka Akabuogu at 1004 Flats, Victoria Island, Lagos.

He faced a three-count charge of threat to life, attempted rape and causing bodily harm to 21-year-old Akabuogu. Obiora, however, pleaded not guilty to the charges.

'TB Joshua proposed to me 45 minutes after we met' - wife opens up

Prophet TB Joshua's wife of 23 years, Evelyn Joshua, granted a rare interview to The Spectator and talked about how she met and married TB Joshua at the age of 17 in 1990 and her role in his ministry. See excerpts below...
I visited a sister somewhere at Ikotun-Egbe and they were all talking about a particular man, a prophet. Half of the people in the room had all met him and they were saying a lot of good things about him. After everything, I asked my sister if she could take me to him. I needed a spiritual guide at the time. A counselor. So we went there but unfortunately didn't meet him at home. Some months later I visited him again alone, that was in 1990. 
TB Joshua proposed to her 45 minutes after they met. Sweet, huh? lol. See the rest after the cut...

The unveiling of the Flagship store called "Shoe Lounge"

This is christmas come early for all ladies, an exclusive shoe store known as "Shoe Lounge" launches it's flagship store on Sunday the 10th of February 2013, from 12 noon to 7pm. Come and be wow'ed as u experience luxury at an affordable price

Shoe Lounge stocks shoes for all occasions and sizes that range from 36-44. There will be a 15% discount on all shoes purchased on the launch date. Shoe lounge is located at Murphies Plaza, 27 Snusi fafunwa street,Victoria island, Lagos. See more after the cut...

Wednesday 6 February 2013

Rapper Ikechukwu and fiancee Sarah Ofili break up

I don't know how I missed this! Damn! lol. If information reaching me is correct, then rapper Ikechukwu and his model/beauty specialist fiancee, beautiful Sarah Ofili have called it quits...again! The couple who got engaged in October 2011 after dating off and on for many years separated late last year. My sources say November/December.

My attention was actually brought to the new development after I posted Ikechukwu's bathroom photo on this blog a few days back and mentioned Sarah Ofili. I got a mail the following day with info about the break up. I've been doing a little digging since then, and the few people I asked confirmed that they've gone their separate ways.

But the thing is, this is not the first time the pair will separate...they always reconcile, so hopefully they will get back together...again!

Sarah hinted at the cause of their break up a few weeks back on her Twitter page. See it after the cut..

3 Nigerian brothers charged in the December kidnapping and rape of 15 year old girl

Three Nigerian-born brothers have been accused of kidnapping and raping a 15-year-old girl in December. The brothers Aziz Animashaun, 22 (left), Isiaka Animashaun, 25 (centre), and Taiwo Animashaun, 26 (right), were charged with aggravated criminal assault and kidnapping in connection with the crime police said happened on Dec. 21.

Prosecutors said during Sunday January 3rd bond court that the men were among a total of five to six attackers, the rest of whom have not been charged.

Dear Artiste Music Business Seminar Season 2!

As a result of the enormous success of the previous seminar, which led to the emergence of the #Dearartiste Website, and the successful mentoring and grooming of various young artistes, we have decided to take this forum to the next level by creating another avenue where young artistes as well as established ones can still learn something.

Taking a look at most of the questions asked on our feedback page on the website, Facebook page and questions tweeted at us, we have identified the major areas of confusion for most of these emerging artistes.

Nigeria in the final of AFCON 2013! Yay!

What a match Nigeria gave us this evening. We beat Mali 4-1 to qualify for the final of the Africa Nations Cup. Coach Stephen Keshi left a lot of big names behind and we didn't give the team much chance, but they surprised us all! Go Super Eagles!!! This cup is ours this Sunday!!

10 opposition governors back merger to unseat PDP

10 governors from four different political parties - ACN, APGA, CPC, ANPP met in Lagos yesterday Tuesday 5th February and unanimously endorsed merger plans to unseat the PDP in 2015.

The governors who attended the meeting in Lagos are: Babatunde Fashola (ACN, Lagos), Ibikunle Amosun (ACN, Ogun), Kayode Fayemi (ACN, Ekiti), Abiola Ajumobi (ACN, Oyo), Rauf Aregbesola (ACN, Osun) Rochas Okorocha (APGA, Imo), Umaru Tanko Almakura (CPC, Nasarawa), Abdulaziz Yari (ANPP, Zamfara). Kashim Shettima of Borno and Ibrahim Gaidam of Yobe were represented by Senator Dejere Alkali.

The governors said the reason for the alliance to unseat the PDP is to fix Nigeria:
“We are concerned about the state of the nation and in the interest of our people we deliberated on what can be done to rescue our country. As governors, we fully endorse the merger initiatives already commenced by our various political parties. Nigeria is greater than all of us and we have a duty to make it work for our people and the future.”
Can they do it? Unseat PDP in 2015?

Ghanaian actor Chris Attoh and model/actress VeeZee an item?

People close to the popular model/video vixen tell me that handsome Ghanaian actor Chris Attoh is the new love of her life. I don't know how true this is but they've kinda been flaunting their 'love' on social media. The two were said to have met on the set of a movie...

Awwww, don't they look so cute together? See another photo of the two after the cut...

See Tiwa Savage's engagement ring up close

It's a yellow and white diamond engagement ring. Costs a fortune. I love!!!

New Video: SD - Paparazzi

SD is  a young, fly and proudly Akwa ibom boy who started his music career at a very tender age as a instrumentalist in his local church and later on moved on to do rap battles  and rap for friends. One visible fact about his music is that all his songs are well themed and written by him.

He has worked with producers like Laylow, Puffy T, Samklef and Sagzy. Last year, he dropped his first single ‘Itoro’ featuring singer A.Y.O. who just won the 2012 Project Fame west Africa were he tells a story of struggle, pain and victory. See more after the cut...

Guinness Fly With The Eagles Campaign - The Journey so far

Guinness team and Lagos State officials signing the Jersey
Guinness has justified it's support in cheering the Super Eagles to victory after beating the Elephants of Cote d'ivoire 2-1 in the quarter finals in South Africa. Speaking on activities around the 'Fly With the Eagles Campaign', Marketing and Innovations Manager, Guinness Nigeria Plc, Mr Austing Ufomba remarked that 'This feat is a reflection of the good wished of Nigerians for Super Eagles at the Afcon 2013. He further reinforced the commitment of Guinness to encourage massive support for the Super Eagles.

Tuesday 5 February 2013

It's official! Tiwa Savage and Teebillz get engaged (Photos)

Tiwa's manager/boyfriend Tee Billz proposed to her in front of family and friends at a party celebrating her 33rd this night and she said yes! Big congrats to them. See more photos after the cut...

Pres. Jonathan's CNN electricity claims punctured in Amanpour's Super Bowl follow-up

Please watch this video...oh dear! :-)

Ice Prince, Omawumi star in Yvonne Nelson's movie - House of Gold

The two music stars are currently shooting a movie produced by Ghanaian actress Yvonne Nelson titled House of Gold. This will be Ice Prince's first movie feature and it's about a rich polygamist who has just six weeks to live, and all the craziness that happens when he calls all his children, most of whom were born out of wedlock, back home. The movie also features Majid Michel, Eddie Watson and Mercy Chinwo. See more photos after the cut..

Wizkid's ensemble: someone please explain :-)

Is that a leather skirt or long leather shirt over trousers? What Kanye will cause in this world. :-). That's music video director Moe Musa with Wiz on the right. Another photo after the cut...