Over 1,000 Nigerians without residency permit being held in a warehouse in Saudi Arabia | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 21 November 2013

Over 1,000 Nigerians without residency permit being held in a warehouse in Saudi Arabia

Is the Nigerian government aware of this?

93 comments:

P. Gee said...

The right question to ask is "Does the Nigerian Govt care abt this?"

Oh nigerians are suffering oo. God help .them

Abeg they should plz comeback home,there's a revolution going on in the Nigerian agricultural sector,requiring huge manpower. they should comeback and contribute their own quota.

So sad!!!!

Nigeria too dey fall hand joor both d weak ass looting government and d citizens. Aren't there proper nigerian imigrants in Saudi that can speak for dem nd defend dem or help dem, can't dey help each other

Its such a pity and a huge slap on the Nigerian government. If things are rightly placed here, our youth wouldn't have been caged in saudi just for a quest for better life. Too Bad.

Chai...wetin our ppl go find for dat kind country sef...???....lol.....buh seriously its not funny.its unfair! y shuld we b treated like animals.Jona;shey u dey see o...mtcheew. (ROI)

Ask them this question again and again

linda u funny o...9ja Govt no send anybody o, its a shame and a big disgrace because ur citizens are the future of the country...,hey sista make u show my comment dis time o.

Na wa o, warehouse? Let the Nigerian govt do something about it o

carter said...

Why would any dignified person go to another man's land without a permit and then expect to be treated with respect?

so how did they tell BBC.If it's true our government needs to do something FAST

My question is what are they looking for? Why can't we respect ourselves.

even me wey be Irish/Nigerian still count for dis Europe,we get pps number wey dem dey use identify us.....who know me for 9ja system,my name sef no dey....biko I tire o

Totally dısrespectful!..of all places a warehouse?,please Sır(Mr Presıdent),yhu shuu do somfın bouh dz Asap! #Mz_NenyeH

what do u mean,why cant we respect ourselves...man must survive nah, dem comot country for a better life

See wat Nigerians r doin 2demselves.a pauper in one's own country is beta dan a prince in a foreign land.There's no place lik home

Chris said...

Abeg make them stay there! Chance is they will join boko if they are allowed to return

ejikebiggerdick said...

Ever since u started commenting on dis blog....this is first time I find ur comment meaningful.
And yes! They shuld come bck or better still be deported ASAP!....
While nigerians re being caged over seas, some nigerian folks still find joy in claiming to be citizenry in over seas where they find no peace

Laugh wan kill me!, Mr President should do something!, We still dey expect am to do something for the neglected ones resident here in Nigeria. Make them dey warehouse dey wait!

The fact is that the nigerian govt does not value it's citizens , here in Nigeria or abroad. The green passport is a show of shame. Imagine 1000 nigerian citizens. That's like declaring war on a country. Now imagine holding 1 British. American , Canadian citizen. The political implication will be too much. That is how much these countries value their citizen. That is what is called power. These poor humans are at the mercy of the Saudis.

Abi se 9ja govt care sef...issokay

Nigeria govt do something ke. They re beta in dat warehouse there. They will put thenm in a dumpsite here. All they care abt is stealing money

Na govt send them go there? Abeg free govt joooor haba everything govt, them tell govt b4 them go there?

I hope d nigerian govt will do something abt it,bcos this tells something abt US.God bless 9ja

Ware kini?

Chineke m eeh... Over 1,000 people in a warehouse? This is absurd.

I'm sure they are all ibos. Its in their nature... Arabs are not accomodating like the yoruba people. Pack your load...

Ware house better Sef.NA public toilet dem for lock them put.why won't Nigerians just stay back in their own country and work their ass?why are they scattered like stones in Nations that don't want to see their Jonathan looking faces...........mummy Greg.

Why always put immigration problem on government? Did they tell the government when they were leaving for that country...if they can't make it their why didn't they come home!...better be a boss in your country than a slave in another man's land...most times we don't like to take our own fault and that is the problem

kunle said...

They are powerless.

Nawa for this country o , them nor go fit try this nonsense to America citizens o !

We always put all the blame on our Government. You are staying illegally in another country, what do you expect? Allow them because they are Nigerians? We know the rules but we always like to break them. This is what you get to face when caught in the middle.

Bona u re crazy! Lol!

Na everytin we go call 9ja govt name put? Hu send dem msg go Saudi Arabia? If u investigate d mata u go c say dem b pilgrimz wen run, make una leav govt alone joo

if we talk too much, Govt will say it's APC, it's opposition....this Govt is retarding!!!...Nigerians suffer abroad a lot!

nawa oh...we all leave Nigeria expecting to have better lives elsewhere and then it turns out being even worse

9ja una too much. Coffee way i dey drink commot from my nose as i read this.

Carter, tnk u very much. That's my question too. You decide to disobey the laws of anoda land and then expect ur govt to come running and save you, come on ppl. A4

My dear if you are in a country other than yours, and want to be treated as a human being, then please obey the rules and regulations. Why are you living in The UAE without a resident permit? Nigerians should themselves the truth, it's not all countries that tolerate disregard for rules and regulations like Nigeria does!!! If you can't get a resident permit, sit your ass back in Nigeria, and o by the way in case you don't know your government who are supposed to don't give a shit!!!!

This is when I miss the former Minister of Foreign Affairs. Gbenga Ashiru

I wish der was a like button, i wonda hw they think, y wld u go 2 anoda country illegally n expect dem 2treat u ryt, stay in ur country no mata wat, haba, dey wil b searchin for greener pastures d wrong way, if only saudi govt was as corrupt as nija govt, wld dey develop deir country

Mimiz said...

Very good question there, just becos our own govt. allows people to stay in its land without permit doesn't mean other govt would do same, wetin send them go there, is it a must to live in another country? Everytime something like this happens, people are quick to say govt, abegi, if they don't want them in their country, they should send them back, as simple as that.

Nigerians luv 2 disrespect demselves too much, why on earth wld u go 2 saudi witout resident permit & expect dem 2 treat u well, dey fink every country is lik nigeria wher all forms of corruption & irregularities are allowed, good for dem, nxt tym dey shld learn 2 do fins d ryt way,

ASUU on Strike, Govt stealing Billions, No light, + 1000 Nigerians locked up in a wharehouse. God heal our land. Speechless

jaybeyblu said...

Rotfl them never start! They are lucky they didnt slaughter them like ram. Any hole them go enter sigh

OMG!WOMAN said...

The Nigerian embassy should do something, they can provide a substitute for the RP if its too costly.

The Nigerian Government should wade into this and ensure that its citizens are treated with due dignity whilst going through any judicial process for their immigration infringement. Those calling for the heads of the people who have found themselves in this situation are most probably not exposed nor very educated. As an example the UK government will continually seek to help its citizens even when they have committed heinous crimes like drug pushing in other lands; as humans we are all prone to errors at some point in our lifetime.Seeking for greener pasteurs is a normal human trait, from time immemorial, despite the racist, fascist and imperialist attitude of some nations..it would not stop. I expect that the Jonathan government would get it right diplomatically with this issue, by ensuring that our countrymen are treated with dignity even in the embarassing situation they are currently embroiled in.

Exactly! Not that I don't feel sorry for them. But these are people who happen to go for umrah or hajj and then refuse to come back. Some of the women prostitute and u find them begging for alms. Honestly, as a Nigerian in Saudi, one feels very embarrassed and sad. They live in the msoques/streets. Instead of them to come home and live in better conditions, they'd rather be in Saudi. The same mentality that make our citizens go abroad to wash dead bodies. Sad!! Smdh

Can they do the same to American or the likes? It's our govtmt faults.I wish them well coz help is on the way.

i really do not understand why Nigerians travel abroad ignore/break the rules of the host country and then complain and wine when they get arrested or deported.

Some of you people contributing in here I guess are still young lad and ladies with little or no responsibilities.. If your mature to extend to fend for yourself couple with responsibilities abound one you would really understand that Nigeria is difficult and people are massively suffering just to eat 3 square meals and also settle some required bills. Our govt. Hs neglected us to own peril. People are travelling out of dis country everyday by different means not blcs is funny to do that nor risk ones life but they can't help it. They need to hussle to take care of aged parents, pay siblings school fees and provide food and shelter. Nigerians over here believe that everythn over seas are all green. Though is more far better than here. But some prefer to just enter there by any means afterwards seek for legal residential and other permits. I think their should be a wide sensitization and re orientation of Nigeria youths towards the effect and causes of entering illegally in any country and most especially Govt. Should monitor the activities of most of these Agents blcs the contributed more to these ugly mess. God help Nigerians suffering over seas.

IkwerreBoy said...

They ask me why I study the way I do this is the answer men... I don't want to run after people I want people to look for me for what I can offer.

Thank God for social media. Nigerians are really making good use of it especially does of us in disposal to depict or communicate to the world how they are bn treated over there. Imagine what would have bn their fate had it bn their no social media.. Now is left to our authorities to react and tak appropriate step to settle the rift or better still tak them back home.

Bonario, pls where is d revolution in d agricultural sector taking place cos i'm interested.u can send ur reply to emmigirl10@yahoo.com

THE boy/girl that wrote about yorubas been accommodating is a big fool! cant waste my time scrolling to check ur Anon time or stupid tribal name. ASSHOLE

Bia nwannem nwanyi, where is my komment. i just insulted one yoruba goat

Who send dem go b4, arab money things, lol see gobe!

They are even lucky to be in a warehouse, saudi pps na wicked beings. I hope dey no go transfer them go dungeon or cave.

Wat do u know, disturbed teenager like u, b4 u know it, u wld kill yasef, olodo oshi,

nnomskKy said...

They went to tap Saudi gold. Our Kano gold no do them. I hope they come back alive.

If they are finally freed from the horrible ware house, they please report home and do something better 4themselves than living in bondage of bcus of illegal stay. Nigeria is a country where u live n face no such as this rubbish or nonsense assault, let our youths learn to work hard in there home land they can make up there needs than going to such country for greener pasture. We ve ever necessary thing here in Nigeria to survive with Arab Countries are not d last hope for survivor. *Liz Finedropz*

Bluedolls said...

Dumb fuck!! Must you bring up tribe shit here... btw, saudi is not a place you can just go to. It's either your Muslim or your coming for work related stuff.. so most of those 1000 naij folks are Muslims.. last I checked there r more yorubas dat a Muslims than igbos.

You r just saying rubish Nigeria must do somethings for dear citizens, don't you na foget we are one 9ja.

Nigerians are always been treated like Garbage and that's because of our reckless leaders..Obasanjo,during his regime was informed that a Nigerian was about to be killed by singaporian authorities for drug trafficking and he didn't even write or call to ask for details of what happened!!! they think govt is all about looting and selling crude oil!!

Lets ive credence to the fact that they are illegally residing in Saudi Arabia, but holding them in a whare house against their will is even more illegal. The appropriate thing will be to hand them over to immigration officers and depot them!!!

JIM said...

who send them there. What is the govt own business. Shey they aint happy with their own country. HHAHAHA

Post my comment sweet Linda!

am glad dey did, went to hajj dis yr was so dissappointed by wat our nigerian citizens do. i'd rather stay in nigeria and fry akara dan be an illegal citizen.

OKUNRIN3 said...

Linda I think the right question tyo ask is "does the Nigerian Government care about this?"

DadMatilda said...

I can realize from comments here that they are all based on social background and ethnicity. but please can we honestly answer some few questions.
1. why would a man leave his country to go hustle in another man's country?
2. the term "seeking greener pastures", does it apply to people in the developed country?
3. how cheap is education in Nigeria for a Gardner earning just #20000 to see a child out of school less children?
4. how can we rate an average man's cost of living in Nigeria, high, low or moderate.(some of you may have to visit agege, ijora, oshodi, mushin for a case study)
5. How many graduates get good jobs without a sacrifice or connection in our dear Nigeria or how long does it take a graduate to get a good job? (pls visit wahum steel, motor parks and okada parks)
6. finally, who are those benefiting from Nigeria's massive wealth, a. nigerians or b. special nigerians?
I.e before you attack me as some of you are fond of, you have to know I am not an enemy of GEJ's administration but I still can't rate him average when it comes to positive transformation which he preaches.

Ibo fools... I wonder wetin dey pursue u comot for ur land. I'm sure these fools are definitely in syria selling... Substandard products

nah by force to live abroad?.. but seriously the government should do something about this.

Na wa o!!!! But wetin dem go find for sharia region sef???? Dem noo see wetin the northerners dey do to thieves for naija??? What did they expect??? Like Bonario said, they should come home and farm. Saudi Arabia prison no be for them. Na for the Saudis.....mschewwwww

Linda, in Saudi...all non Saudis without legal papers were given seven months to get their papers straight or leave the country without penalty. The 1000 people left behind did not. At the last minute the Saudi Government gave illegals a chance to surrender and be deported. Still, they did not. If you are arrested...you were caught hiding. It is happening to all illegals not just naija people. Why should the government do anything. They gave a probation period and we refused to leave. Abeg do not be one of those that support our rubbish everywhere. These people are trying to clean their country up. Illegals are wrecking the place.

Mtcheeew,dem no serious,saudi kwa,if na london I for they endure am

femicavan said...

our government does not care about Nigerians at home and you want them to care about Nigerians abroad, not this generations of government, even those Nigerians that was wrongly killed all over the world, our government does not care, they only care and very good about stealing our money.

THIS IS EVEN BETTER THAN WHAT NIGERIA ARE FACING IN QATAR ANOTHER ARAB COUNTRY AT LEAST 3000 NIGERIAN WILL BE DEPUTED ON THE 8 OF DECEMBER FROM PRISON.AFTER PAYING 1.2million TO ENTER THE COUNTRY, NO WORK BAD HOUSE JUST LIKE AJEGUNLE AND YOU STILL PAY 100 DOLLAR FOR A MONTH NO GOOD FOOD ASH WEATHER EVEN ANIMALS CANT SURVIVE ONLY CAT U SEE AS ANIMALS. AND ALL THIS USELESS AGENT ARE STILL DECEIVING YOUNG NIGERIAN MEN THAT THERE'S WORK IN QATAR I JUST PITY ANY ONE WHO WANT TO WASTE HIS MONEY AND STILL SUFFER FOR IT

Saudi Arabia,not UAE,these are 2 different countries

Na wa ooooo!

Abeg! Govt should please help interven in this situation they are our brothers n sis. It is a pity that most times this immigration problem has suffered most Nigerians in Diaspora. Govt has to look into the matter!

Shey na by force NI

What has this got to do with the Nigerian government?? Why must u people always look to the government? Have Nigerians still not learned that you do not have a government for the people but a government for a government. Anyway sha, if the Saudis deport these Nigerians, it is well cos at least these Nigerians have a country!

What annoys me is that Nigerians will take themselves and go anywhere! Even to the most inhumane, hostile, racist place they go, why?

It sickens me to see some of the places they are going to live, places where even the local people living there are looking to run away from. Now, Saudi Arabia of all places, a place where only a few years ago slavery was abolished, a place without women's rights, a place where the very word slave also is the name used for Black people.

Let them stay in the warehouse, because freedom in the village in poverty is ten million times better than living as trash in Saudi Arabia. they took themselves and go place in bondage in the land of those that hate them, so let them stay in the nasty warehouse, what they think they were going to get in Saudi Arabia, welcome party, hugs and love?

Nigeria hard, but it is still not the worse.

DownUnder said...

Pls pray against spirit of poverty.

Who tell una say nigerian govt no dey do anytin?......... U pple can like 2 talk sha........ I hate gossip so I always find somethings here very annoying....... Dis is actually my 1st time dropping a comment..... Sometimes wen I read some stuffs pple write ...... I wonder! Pple who r quick 2 judge n quick 2 speak r always very stupid... I don't think nigeria has eva produced a president as good a goodluck .... Sometimes I wonder y all d battle frm all area...even d men in power... I feel he's blocking dem frm sometin or he has 2 potential 2 so dey don't want him... If only pple can b wise

Somebody help me look for PC o...its been a long while since I saw his grammatical comments!...Lindiway pls find dis guy o!

kaychi said...

Gbam

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Islam's holy city!!!!!!

Good for them. Wetin dem dey find up and down sef?

BREEZYLEE said...

Anon 6:22 woteva uae or saudi Arabia they are supposed to have residency permit

Most intelligent comment so far.I'm a graduate and I can categorically tell u dat life in this country is tough.its all abt givin to get.I'll keep up with my business ,sumtyms I feel studying geology or goin to a uni was a waste of tym.hope is all we have

Do what exactly?