Michelle Obama cites these shorts as her biggest fashion regret | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 21 November 2013

Michelle Obama cites these shorts as her biggest fashion regret

When asked what her biggest fashion regret was during an interview with BET's "106 and Park" this week, US First Lady Michelle Obama said the shorts (pictured above) which she wore as she exited  Air Force One with her daughters during a family vacation in Arizona was her biggest fashion regret.

Mrs Obama said she regretted wearing it back in 2009 because of the backlash she received from people who felt it was inappropriate for a First Lady to dress like that.

She told BET,
"Because people were like, 'she's wearing shorts getting off of Air Force One. Sometimes I forget I'm the first lady and I'm running around in shorts."
Michelle said she won't wear shorts on Air Force One or out in public again. But what's wrong with wearing shorts tho?

118 comments:

Notin oh !Linda.

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Greatest woman alive.

Being a first lady comes wit some prize

Nothing's wrong but she's d 1st lady so it ain't appropriate 4 public view!!
~~TRACY~~

She looks cool wth it la.

Looking so sexy plus nice shape.

she knows she is a model for young girls to follow thanks ma.

Mich said...

What's wrong with the first lady wearing shorts and getting off of Air Force Once you ask,Miss Blogger?
Imagine Patience wearing shorts and exiting the presidential jet...yeah that's what's wrong with it!

Who dictates all these rules sef?
Living your life according to what society dictates sucks.
She was on a family vacation, was she meant to wear a full skirt suit with six inch heels? come on now..
ifeomanwawe.blogspot.com

Princess Chinasa Ukaegbu said...

She's just trying to please the white racist americans that don't believe that a blackman should rule americans. If I were her I will even wear THONGS boarding and alighting from the airforce one. They never see anything. Rubbish!

Oya patience jolantern go n wear shorts n start singing umblerra songs

Oh plz!..ı dont wanna blee that..She just could'nt fıgure out any occasıon apart frm that whıch she wore shorts..Wearıng shorts z lyka common fashıon trend dere,so?..ahbegıe,let ollof dose pıpu dhat complaıned shatap! #Mz_NenyeH

Because she is a 'The Queen' of America (till 2016). I believe American mums are still by default somewhat very conservative, at least subconsciously.

Wats wrong in wearin shorts? Imagine patience jonathan wearin one n exitin presidential aircraft! Hehehe

Yeah its kinda wrong... She's the first lady so she needs to dress appropriately!

APPLELIPX said...

HYPOCRITES!!!

ITS AITE FOR A CELEB TO POSE NUDE AND INAPPROPRIATE 4 A 1st LADY TO FEEL FREE ON SHORTS

SHE DINT FUCKIN WEAR IT TO AN OFFICIAL APPEARANCE

#BTW KANYE WANS HER ON BIKINI
SHE'S JUST TOO MODEST!!!

Daz u ....nd. Me like it 2 ....

bitchplis said...

I'l love to see patience jonathan wearing something like dat

Na vacation dem call am o, even president dey fold his sleeves enter Air Force 1. Notng do u Michelle, but its ok to respect people's opinion tho.

Bad belle people sha, it wasn't like she was doing anything official when she was dressed like that

the question is not what is wrong with wearing shorts tho,the question should be, what is wrong with the first lady wearing shorts around like every other average person on the street,, she is no longer just an average person on the street, she is a person of importance,,her ways should be different from the rest..

OMG!WOMAN said...

Nawa o! Is it about wearing shorts or the shorts itself, cos I see nothing wrong with that.

Nothing Bad! I guess She is just trying to bare the Virtuous woman in her.

The americans just lk d British monarch believe dt their 1st lady must be d epitome of womanhood nd dt includes dressing properly. See she regretted her actions bt tell our 1st dt u dnt cme down 4rm flight b4 ur husband or walk in front of hm nd d nx day she does same

If its inappropriate for her to wear it..then white women should take a hint from that and stop going around naked biko...

Michelle you are my sweetheart. i love you on shorts pls.

Is not a big deal Linda.

Nothing is wrong but she is a role model

She meant to be a role model to all wearing shots aint apropraite

Americans (white people) are so damn jealous. Just because those old saggy first ladies before her couldn't pull off shorts with their wrinkled legs and veins. Mtchewwww

She look's great in them to me.

I wondr o Linda, whats wrong with it? she was on vacation and not on official duty. Anyways, we no mind madam Patient in shorts , hehehehe

Michelle evn if u wear buba ppl must talk.so do wat pleases ur soul

Short aren't bad, but I think she's right it aren't appropriate for a 1st lady. It is good she is open to critisms it makes u better. Hope our leaders cam emulate her and listen to positive critisms

I see absolutely notin wrong in wearing shorts, but when ‎​Ʊ occupy some certain position like the one she occupies, all eyes and mouths are on ‎​Ʊ. ‎​Ʊ either adjust or ignore, but for her she chooses to adjust.

fathie. said...

Good 4 ha,am imagining patience jonathan on those shorts#runs away.........

I so love this first Lady...so simple and adorable. I was so stunned when I saw her on a very big occasion without a necklace and a wrist watch..simple! N she still looked amazing. Wish our first ladies, we girls cld emulate her. Love Michelle! Lili, better post ma comment.

Well notin is wrng rily! BUT,she is d 1st Lady of 1 of d most powerful country in d world,check am na,or Ʊ wan imagine our 1st lady 4 short?? ℓoℓş
Amicable

Well, at least Michelle Obama has a very good figure, far more than I can say for most black and African-American women!

This shorts looks ok and decent to me

It looks good on her BUT she's got to respect her status as the First Lady also. I think our first lady should try it also…

wemimo said...

I don't see anytin bad in it..patience dey were Pata inside naija force 1.. lolz

wemimo said...

I don't see anytin bad in it..patience dey were Pata inside naija force 1.. lolz

Tiana said...

Madam give me ur position, I promise never to 4get who I am! Or better still share some wit me wit all d love I have 4 u I will accept!

Igor said...

America's laissez-faire.Wetin concern me

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Mitchell is so cute in those shorts...
I will divorce her if she dares remove it!!
She should lose her authenticity to opinion of haters, right?
Shake My FUCKING Head...

whitefalcon said...

Nothing wrong with wearing shorts but that's the spirit of remorse.

If it were to be a Nigerian celebrity that was tongue-lashed,I trust them to have fired back.Trust 9jia!! We no dey carry last.

Nofin ooo linda....its kool...nd bsides she is on vacation.....abeg make dem shatap....save dis pix nd using it on my bbm!!

''But what's wrong with wearing shorts tho" that's a wrong English Linda #ThankMeLater

For crying out loud she was on vaccation! Wat do people want ha 2 wear, an evening gown? Give ha a break!

This really is somehow for a first lady but cool on the other side.

The American first family love the American people and so if You and I say something is not bad and their people say otherwise they listen to the Americans. Nigerians mean absolutely nothing to our rulers. They dont give a damn about our feelings.

Such a humble woman,i admire her alot. I like this part "sometimes i forget am the first lady" you can imagine such humility.

oltalks said...

Send in your relationship stories as anonymous on http://oltalks.blogspot.com/ for advice and helpful comments.......It is all about love, relationship, sex and all.....it is all about you!

The obamas appreciate that they owe their tenancy of the white house to the Americans. So they do want their people want. Here our rulers do not give a damn about us.

linda everything. I mean, Everything.

Na wah o, I can imagine patience jonathan in this outfit !!!!!!!!!

Nothing. Just like there is nothing wrong with queen Elizabeth wearing shorts.#linda post my comment ooo

moh said...

What's wrong with wearing shorts? She just freaking said it! She is the first lady!!

whateer u do pple must talk.celebrities dey suffer sha.

Blog diva said...

I wonder too o. Watz wrong with wearing shots?. Besides she looks good in it.

Very easy going first lady.,.simplicty..See D’banj Doing Bad Things To a Girl On Stage, slaps her ass and goes in on her..really crazy..watch here

Maybe its the first lady thing aside that it looks good and simple on her,U̶̲̥̅̊ dress casual once in awhile

She's gud in it! But she should remember she's the first lady of the united states!

i just love this lady..hope Patience learns...Watch 40 yr Old Kate Henshaw Dance To Skelewu Like A Teenager, throwing off her shoes and going crazy...Watch the video HERE

PAVOUR said...

Fine woman

Mumu. How can compare the both of them.

Petite Diva said...

She is first of all a mother enjoying a family vacation before a first lady. What is wrong with the shorts ehen? The shorts was of a perfect length and she looked fit and very good. They should all take a seat and live their lives the way they want, they should not over criticize someone for living a normal life.

journalofapetitediva.blogspot.com

Hiihaa cool coool _____a question for Mrs first lady
are a sister to ADAMS OSHOMOLE?? U LOOK CUTE LIKE HIM''' Lol

Nice nice

Nofin bad tho!people just attached a lot to the unnecessary,society rules sha!

I c notin wrong in dat!!!!!!!

Wande said...

1st of all don't compare Patience wit Michelle. Our cultures are different.
2ndly its Air Force One...
3rdly, u've not told us wat's wrong wit it.

pwitie B said...

Linda na u knw pass shei?y u askin such question even d Americans dat ar mor liberal complained den u as an African see notin wrong wit it I dey bow 4 u oo

What's being a model for youngsters has to do with this dress?did she expose herself?abeg U̶̲̥̅̊ guys A̶̲̥̅̊я̲̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ just critics

Ha ha ha mich you made my day. Well said

Rushel

What's being a model for youngsters has to do with this dress?did she expose herself?abeg U̶̲̥̅̊ guys A̶̲̥̅̊я̲̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ just critics

oyindoubra commander OJB said...

Haba!!!! She looks ok to me.....

Make our own 1st lady wear short 1st. Lol

Lmaoo

Mich said...

*One

@chinasa ur stupidity leaves me in great shock

Its indecent dressing! Where is our moral again? #sreriouslyasking

I totally disagree with you Mich. Your logic of using Patience as an example is so wrong, why? Because Patience wouldn't look appropriate in anything other than being fully clothed. Besides, she was on vacation with her family. Would you ordinarily think a woman on vacation is inappropriately dressed from the pictures above, I would say a big fat NO.

Wht!!!!! Linda no comments???? I mean my comments!!!!!!

Looks like everybody der in the pics is on shorts ___hmm

delicious jules said...

She's a public figure...it comes with a price..*winks*

They go stark raving mad when she steps out in shorts, but applaud Gaga and Rihanna for walking around nude! Shattap

Price

Fast Writer said...

To be a First-Lady of any nation no be beans o. Alot of decorum is expected of you.

eje said...

Infact,ur stupidity is out of dis world

Lol, I know know oh!

I know? Arrh.

Fammie said...

Those are the things that come with being a public figure......

Tough Requirement for new Microsoft CEO

Apart frm being a first lady, wearing shorts in public is a hell no!!!! Those thighs re meant for ur husband's eyes only. #holy girl#

Lmao...some things are forbidden

Na person wear am the shorts i think say na she wear herself mtwwwwwwwww rubbish, yeye first lady. Aunty Linda dont swallow dis one o post it

@Hilary,you're Slow sha...Imagine the people you're comparing her with,so dumb of you...let's even start with this ;Is she Age mates with Rihanna and Lady Gaga? Gosh! Some people can be very stupid though..Plus she's is the first Lady of the Uinted states of America,do you even have an idea what that means? I personally don't see anything wrong with that outfit she had on because she has the body for it,but am just wondering why your Lame Ass would even let you compare such a respectable citizen of America with them Bitches who go around posing nude for mags and dance around naked on the stage to stay relevant. PS:And for the records,Am a fan of RiRi but sometimes you've gatta leave sentiments and just speak the truth#okay bye

PRETTY GIRL

DARREL said...

linda shey ds michell obama na yoruba girl.i knw it naaaa.dts hw they behave.one cud barely distingush them from ANIMALS.Thats how they behave.dirty set of nonentity.

,*sexiest woman ever liveth* LMFAO

Aunty Linda where is my comment me sef i don dey tire for dis ur blog

Missed u babe!

I taya 4 pple oh. They jux won't let u live ur life. She said she was even like "Hey, we were on vacation"

emlsuites.com said...

This is a perfect example of a decent lady. Knows her office, her current status as a wife and what she should stand for, giving up her normal routine and way of life cos she serves as an example to millions. Kudos to her.

She is sooo damn hot in those shorts, she is right though as the first lady of usa she cant run around in public wid shorts, like d common so called celebs!

*facethefact* its not abt the shorts ofcuz she can where it ard her home but its expected a woman of her status shd not been seen ard on short like everyodr woman on the streets. Stars can't be compared to her cuz they stand no chance as much as the role she occupies.

@DARREL U ARE SO POINTLESS & LAME......What does Michelle & yoruba's hv 2do with dis post.
U be proper Mu MU....

Nthing thou but when you are in certein postions u can't be seen doing stuffs that regular people do. Am glad she took it with good faith

Idiot. She's a fool and yet the world knows her. You wey get sense still dey ur forest village. Skelewu like u

"during a family vacation" duhhhh. what do you want her to wear. abeg cut d woman some slack.

Ohhh C'mon...vacation and not some official state visit...White Hypocrites...always looking for every 'seemingly' but misplaced legitimate means to discredit the FIRST BLACK MONARCHY of AMERICA!

whats wrong linda, she's the first lady of THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA not a housewife from atlanta CAPISH

Lukin gd,kiss

I'm so proud of that lady, I would have thought since it looks like it's more traditional in the state's to wear shorts during the summer when it's hot, but for her to be criticized and she felt bad, dates so cool. She really a people person........ who talked of patience wearing shorts??? No be our tradition nahh, and someone said if it were her she would wear thongs, some people are so senseless, I'm rolling o d floor right now.

Just imagine Dame Pat in shorts while holding unblerra hahahahaha!