Severed head of Brazilian footballer discovered in a bag on his front doorstep | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 30 October 2013

Severed head of Brazilian footballer discovered in a bag on his front doorstep

Police in Brazil have launched a manhunt after the severed head of a former professional footballer was left on the doorstep of his home. The horrified wife of Joao Rodrigo Silva Santos, 35, made the gruesome discovery as she left the house in Rio de Janeiro for work early yesterday morning.

The player's eyes and tongue had been cut out and his head placed inside one of his own rucksacks, police said. Mr Santos retired from football two years ago after a successful career playing for several teams in Rio de Janeiro, as well as for clubs in Sweden and Honduras.

He had recently set up his own business selling health foods and dietary supplements. Continue...

Police said today that Mr Santos is believed to have been snatched from outside the shop he had opened in the Realengo district of Rio as he closed up at around 7.45pm on Monday.

Witnesses said they saw several men bundling him into his car, a Hyundai i30, and speeding off just before midnight, a spokesman said. He was reported missing by his wife at 9pm on Monday.

Mr Santos' brother-in-law, who didn't want to be named, told Brazil's Globo G1 website that the player's wife, Geisa Silva, 31, stayed up all night after her husband failed to arrive home.
He said: 'Every time a car passed by she would go to see.
'She was getting ready to go to work at around 5.30am when she heard a noise, opened the front door and saw his rucksack. 

'When she opened it she discovered it contained his head. 
'I did not want to look but the people who saw it said they had gouged out his eyes and cut off his tongue,' said the horrified relative.
Neighbours living close to the crime scene reported hearing a woman screaming: 'My God, it's Joao! It’s Joao’s head.'
From what I know, he didn't have any enemies and neither did his wife,' the relative added.In a statement Mr Santos' widow said the couple had not been subjected to any threats. 

Lead murder investigator Rafael Rangel from the 14th Military Police Battalion (BPM) in Rio, said witnesses saw armed men kidnap the businessman. 'We believe that the people who took him knew the family’s routine,' said Rangel.

Investigators are working on the hypothesis that Mr Santos could have been murdered by a drugs gang because of Mrs Silva's work at a military police base in a local slum.
The Police Pacification Unit in the Morro do Sao Carlos is one of dozens set up in Rio's favelas to retake control of the city's slums from violent drug traffickers.

However, according to police chief Rafael Rangel, Mrs Silva worked as a social worker in the base and didn't patrol the streets or make arrests like other police officers.
He told Brazil's O Dia newspaper the motives of the murder are still unclear.
He said: 'Mrs Silva has no idea who would have done this. Neither she, her husband or any other member of the family have suffered any type of threat as far as she knows.
'There is nothing that would justify such a barbarous crime.'
Santos did not have a police record.

Later today Brazilian police said body parts dumped beside a city river were believed to be those of Mr Santos.
The player's brother-in-law told Brazil's Globo G1 website that family members had positively identified a torso found next to the Guandu river in Queimados, greater Rio de Janeiro, by a birth mark on Mr Santos' stomach.
A police spokesman said other body parts had also been found in the area and were being DNA tested.

He said the murder bears the hallmarks of an execution by drug gangsters, but stressed that "every line of investigation" is still open.

The couple had been together for 11 years and were described as ‘lovely’ by neighbours.
'They were a happy, quiet couple,' said a neighbour, who asked not to be identified. 'But you never know what may have motivated a crime as stupid and as senseless as this.'
Mr Santos’ played as a professional footballer between 1996 and 2005 - during which he scored 33 goals in 103 matches as a striker.  Nicknamed Humble Hero, he was signed to a number of second division teams. He also played abroad for Swedish Club Oster Vaxjo  and Olimpia in Honduras.  
A recent United Nations report into drug trafficking-related crime in Brazil found that more than half of the homicides, robberies and thefts have a direct or indirect link with this criminal activity.
Culled from UK Daily Mail

63 comments:

Gory! Na wa o. May he RIP, Amen

ewwwwww! what a beastly act.
I pray those who killed him are caught and made to face the law.

Rough Diamond said...

Jesu!!!
Endtime tinz!
God forbid!

Ostrong

So terrible....wicked humans

May God console his Family and Friends and Relatives!!!And Brazil is Hosting the 2014 FIFA World Cup..That scares the HELL out of me...

So sad.things that happen in this world now make to often ask my self where this world is heading to.

If nah Naija now, we for talk say dem use am do money rituals, pple are wicked, the wicked can get u anywhere, once u're available.

wemimo said...

Heya may he RIP.n d wife granted grace to bear d loss..

The heart of man is really wicked!!!!!God grant his family d strength to bear d loss

Bastardidos!!!RIP Santos...their sin shall find them out...they shall die Violent deaths as well..what Goes around................meanwhile FIFA should consider relocating this month long competition to either Europe or North America..Brazil has been in the News for the wrong reasons Lately...##THINKDIFFERENTLY##

WTF... Its bad enuf d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ killed him bt brngin his head home is α no no..pure wickedness.. May his soul RIP.

Lynnajade said...

OMG! God please protect us all

Abeg, abeg, abeg!!!! Shuo!!!

ihe na eme! Lord take control.Am i the second to last to comment?

So brazilians behaves like Nigerians too.... Nawa ooo

Barbaric! How sad that we are now killing one another like chickens! That's the degraded state of our humanity!

...sad#

Ebere said...

This is rather sad!God please console the poor lady.Amen

Such a sad story.. rest in peace bro!...

Lagos Big Runz girl confesses and explains what ledher into being a runs girl (a Must watc Video) Click to watch

What a terrible death, such waste of precious lyf. May d soul of d humble hero rest in peace, Amen. Imelda.

Linda,call me if you are cuming 2mrw..okay? Thanks,love.

TBH,,, Brazilians aren't happy about the world cup... They say, their govt shudda spend d money to improve/provide social amenities for them rather than waste it on world cup... The crime rate there is very high! They're hardly ever educated.. Nigeria's better than Brazil!

@Bobo_Edo

R.I.P

May his soul rest in peace

They should investigate the wife abd broker inlaw something is not right abt this story

Living in Brazil is hell, especially the slum areas. Those guys are not smiling! Even those in mexico. It's brutal

This Same tin happend in Benin last Week Tuesday. The body of A man was found dead At Ewa Rd junction, With his head nd man hood cut off, I saw it nd was so Sceard to Even Look at it twice, the Bad side of it is dat the people or Person Who killed the Guy kept him on the Road for cars to start Matching him, My prayer for U All my friends Even to U Linda, Blood thirsty Demons will nt see us in The Remaining two months of This Year, 2013 will nt see our End, we shall all live to see its End IJN, in this Season of Celebration we Shall hav All Course to Celebrate IJN, Our friends family, nd Love once are Covered with the Blood of JESUS IJN Amen, Via Mz pee

Dis is barbaric!may God console hs family

Nawaoohhh, una c am say no b only nija wey cutting of head, tongue,eye dey exist, kai but dis people wicked pass boko haram....RIP man

caleb's said...

The heart of a man is wicked#

caleb's said...

The heart of a man is wicked#

May God save us from unknown enemies

Lady Stelusy said...

So terrifying, it is indeed a wicked world dat we live in. God pls take control& let there be love & peace in dis sinful world. I feel pity for the wife.

Don't be silly,wickedness knows no RACE#AskHitler#

Wat a sad stori nd diz nt gud fr brazil @al

People get mind sha Lord protect us frm our enemies o

OMG ds is man's inhumanity 2 fellow man.it means d guy was cut in2 several pieces.He must hav died a very painful death.may God giv his family d fortitude 2 bear d loss n may his soul RIP

Thats so sad, Dis life sef.....Linda i sent u a message on your gmail account concerning on how to run my promo here, pls read and get back to me.

Strange!!!!! I don't wants to believe dat dis is hw d mother Earth will allow her children suffer violent in d hands of wicked
No peace for d wicked is d phrase dat consoles me and may his soul RIPP Amen

Wat kinda gruesome murder is dis? To shred his bdy parts n dispose em at diff locations.Dis beasts dservs a place worse dan hell....

God have mercy.

Linda,Pa Kasumu haff die oo..biko let us know what happened..sobs

Too bad a way for a humble hero to fall rest in peace man

To bad a way for a humble hero to fall rest in peace player

Nawaoooh! May his soul rest in peace....d killers will neva go free...God pls console his wife and give her strength to bear d loss. AMEN!

Hell ofcourse!

Ow du I watch videos on dis blog av clikd evrywhr and am usin bold5,pls lib readers

Yu no get her no 2 send am text ni Odeee call yu ko fuck yu nI

Mehn...dis is some scarry shiiiit....what gruesome murder..RIP to him n I pray for God's consolatn for d wife...LORD..keep my own..amen!

@Anon October 31, 2013 at 12:19 AM, Is it not the same black people of predominantly NIGERIAN descent that are in Brazil? Are they not still practising babaric Voodoo culture in their backward area of brazil (all in the name of culture) while their follow Brazillians from other parts are powering on? You can take the heathen out of Africa, but you can't take the Africa out of the heathen!!

God have mercy on ur children!

Any body that knows anything about your dead will not go score free

OHIO ERANKO said...

THE NIGERIAN THINK THAT, NIGERIA IS THE ONLY DEADLY PLACE IN THE WORLD, BUT I WOULD LIKE TO TELL YOU THAT , ALL THOSE WHITE COUNTRIES ARE MORE DEADLY THAN AFRICA, BECAUSE THE WHITE DO NOT WANT ANY SLAVE TO BE FREE , THEY PRETEND TO FREE YOU FROM SLAVERY, BUT IN THEIR MIND , THEY DO NOT WANT YOU TO DO WHAT THEY ARE DOING , SO THEY ARE ALL RACIST IN SECRET, PEOPLE NEED TO BE VERY CAREFUL PLEASE DO NOT TRUST THEM JUST BECAUSE THEY SMILE.

BARRY9ICE said...

eya may the Almighty God grant his wife & family fortify heart to bear the loss. RIP. SANTOS

Oh my goodness. So horrible. May his soul rest in peace

Mafia. the case will soon get swept under the rug

Oluwadamilola said...

Wickedness at its peak.....Dem be carnibals abi na serial killer?

Hmmmmmm wat a world!!! barbarous crime.

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Amen

Brazil is one truly sick country. Wonder how the football World Cup would go when they host.