Funmi Iyanda finally talks about how NTA shut down her show for interviewing a gay man | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 30 October 2013

Funmi Iyanda finally talks about how NTA shut down her show for interviewing a gay man

Exceptionally brilliant TV talk show host Funmi Iyanda has finally opened up about how Nigerian Television Authority (NTA) shut down her live shows after she interviewed openly gay Nigerian man, Bisi Alimi, on her popular breakfast show, New Dawn, in 2004.

I remember this story pretty well. After Bisi Alimi appeared on that show his life changed forever. He couldn't even return to UNILAG where he was a student at the time. He was forced to go into hiding and eventually relocated abroad. Read Funmi's story after the cut...

It’s a good thing my meddling mum took Musibau off his alcoholic dad just before that wretch of a father was sent to jail for raping a minor. My mother went missing a year later so I never saw Musibau again but that’s another story.

He was 15 but he looked 12, l was seven but l looked 10. People generally looked weird in my neighbourhood, but nobody thought anyone one weird – odd maybe but life was odd wasn’t it?

Musibau was the first to run into Miss John who spoke Queen’s English and walked like a girl. Everybody called him Miss John, I have no idea why. But we were interested in him because we needed to walk through his garden to climb into Baba Olugbo’s compound for the agbalumo tree.

Nobody dared walked through Baba Olugbo’s compound to get to that tree. He was a wealthy molue bus entrepreneur with seven wives, a distended, shirtless stomach, marijuana thickened growl and a fast horsewhip for clueless kids.

I had four older sisters and two younger brothers but I felt closest to Musibau perhaps because we had a shared tendency to get into trouble and a common dislike of Nureni. Nureni was crippled by childhood polio and so dragged himself around on his muscular torso except when he went to school wearing his leg braces and crutches, which made him vulnerable.

We did not like Nureni; he had a caustic tongue, a reptilian ability to wrestle you down then strangle you and was genius at maths. He was faster moving dragging himself than he was on his crutches. He hated those crutches but he really liked Mulika.

Mulika was one of the two daughters of Alhaji Abara whose two wives wore hijabs so you couldn’t tell one from the other. I of course could; Mulika’s mother was the one with the two PelĂ© on her cheeks, right above her haughty cheekbones. A stunning woman. I knew because I saw them in the women’s quarters every time I went to play with Mulika, who had inherited her mother’s looks.

We all loved Alhaji Abara because he had the best spread for breaking fasts at Ramadan. It didn’t matter whether you were Christian, Animist or Muslim. You could come break the fast on divine akara, even if you didn’t fast. He used to say only Allah sees the good heart. We all attended Koran classes because it was fun and then went to church on Sunday because of the music and dancing.

My mother didn’t mind us going to church and Koran classes, in fact she supplemented all that with occasional visits to seers and herbalists who read our signs and cleansed our aura. Everyone did that, even that nasty priggish Catholic Mama Uche who acted like she was the pope’s first cousin.

Miss John always pretended not to see us sneaking through his garden and jumping over Baba Olugbo’s fence to pluck some agbalumo. A few times, Baba Olugbo would see us and come running belly first, whip flaying but we always out ran him, Nureni in front and Mulika, scarf flapping, at the back.

We never got caught until the day Nureni came on those damn crutches that made him slow. Baba Olugbo caught Mulika by her scarf and I tripped over Nureni’s crutches.

We knew we were in hot soup because once Baba Olugbo finished whipping us, he’d hand us over to our respective parents each of whom would apply equal supplementary punishment. That meant my tough mother’s hour-long frog jumps, Alhaji’s half day Koran writing and Nureni’s aunty’s numbing, monotonous curses.

We didn’t mind the whipping so much, a few lashes, a couple of pain killers and we’d be back trying to get more agbalumo’s off that tree. Once you’ve been whipped, you don’t get whipped again on the same day for the same offence – even the adults had some sense.

So it was I laid on my back staring at Baba Olugbo’s protruding belly button, Nureni’s fast breathing in my ear, dreading the inevitable – when suddenly Miss John walked up.

Perhaps it was his Queen’s English or our lucky day but he gently took the whip off Baba Olugbo’s clenched wrist and laughingly told him he had asked us to get some of the ripe agablumo for him seeing as it was abundant.

Baba Olugbo did not want to look like a mingy old fart; he was after all a rich man with political ambition. He grudgingly let us go, and I swore to Nureni and Musibau later that I saw Miss John wink out of a kohl-lined eye.

I remembered this story recently when I was asked why I, as a straight celebrity, a word I dislike, I support Bisi Alimi and LGBT rights.

Nigeria of today seems completely homophobic, xenophobic and religiously polarized as though that is the way we always were.

This would be an incomplete narrative. The way we are today is a result of the political and economic breakdown of our country, a topic for another day. However the ensuing widening income gaps, extreme poverty, illiteracy and crime has encouraged distrust and exclusion at every level.

My sense of justice, fairness and rationality supersede any latent sense of social propriety. Gay rights, civil rights, religious rights, gender rights, child rights are human rights. Justice, equity and fairness are my idea of morality.

I was a little girl who grew up in the same neighbourhood as gay Miss John, Muslim cleric Alhaji Abara, disabled Nureni, Mulika in her headscarves and pious Catholic Igbo Mama Uche.

I saw differences in ethnicity; religion, gender, class and sexuality but these differences did not carry judgement. We lived together mostly harmoniously; any lack of harmony was on account of individual bad behaviour not genetic differences or lifestyle choices.

I miss that Nigeria. I guess in a way l still live in that Nigeria in my head.

And that was why in 2004 I risked my career to put Bisi on my sofa and conduct Nigeria’s first interview of an openly gay man on national television.

Bisi and I did pay a hefty price for that action, he more than myself.

Was it worth it? I’m afraid l have never had the luxury of absolute self-congratulations or flagellation. What I do know is, at that moment, it felt right. And every moment since then, it has felt right.

I do what feels right by a conscience conditioned by my justice-minded, meddling mother, a childhood experiencing the beauty of diversity and a belief in our common humanity.

Perhaps the childhood I speak about was a dream. If that is the case then that dream is my vision of the future to come for Nigeria.

160 comments:

Hmmm.. Me Speechless.

Lady G said...

I don't know what country she was referring to but the Nigeria I have always known, and my parents have always known has always been homophobic. Its very sad and unfortunate that the guy has to go through all this, i feel sad for him but the fact is he was fully aware of the country and their moral views when he decided to grant that interview. It was his choice and sadly he has to live with the unfair consequences.

am speechless too

Nigeria is starting to open their eyes!

Quite heart-rendering story.
We and our government show so much pragmatism when it comes to issues which have little or no direct significant to the development of our country,and we always endup throwing away the baby with the bath water.
wished the energy and interest with which we attacked gay right proponents and their apologists could be used in approaching national issues such as corruption in high places,ASUU strike and the high rate of unemployment in our country.
Trust me not to judge gays just like the holy father said "who am I to judge them"

causes of women infertility said...

hmmmm..... no chance for homo in Nigeria... dont be annoyed.

And how does this her long story affect the price of fish?? Next Please

lade said...

Nyc write-up but the truth is that homosexuality will never be accepted in Nigeria

She shld be a full time writer. The way she wrote reminds me of Chimamanda Adichie s style of writing. I wanted the story to go on!

mamamax said...

Long story which can actually be developed into a novel

It would never be accepted in this part of the world today,tomorrow and even in the future.

seunLondon said...

Bisi ALimi is now doing very well in the UK, that i can confirm, http://www.bisialimi.com/about/ Funmi, you did a wonderful job back then in 2004, am sure most of your closeted gay bosses pushed for the cancellation of your show,,,bunch of hypocrites,,,,,may they rot in hell.....#SeunLondon

I remember watching that episode live on TV and i said ''wow this young man is in trouble and Funmi will be in greater trouble'' its such a shame for that boy had to eventually seek assylum outside Nigeria while Funmi lost what little she had on the NTA. I know she is a fantastic journalist and media person and i hope people see that too and perhaps someday she gets another shot at the media lime light if she so desires. lots of love you guys. I am not asking anyone to love gays or imbibe their character all i'm saying is LIVE AND LET LIVE.

miss Iyanda ur dream Nigeria should be better roads, good and efficient hospitals, steady electricity, security, good education, stop confusing yourself we have enough ethnicity to deal with, we don't need people's sexual orientation to deal with God made Adam and Eve not Adam and Adam or Eve and Eve.

One question we should ask ourselves is; What is God's take on this and other issues that are confusing? Then we'll knw wt 2 say or do concerning issues like ds.

And you accept the fact dat Nigerians as homophobic as incontrovertible? Would u say d narrow minded moral views have been d best for national development? The fact dat u are condone d treatment his treatment only validates dat we as Nigerians will continue thinking like d prior generations and expect a different result.

I don't understand this gay stuff, how can you not like a woman as a man? How can you desire a fellow man?

may b later i will know what to say but now am soooo speechless

Hypocritical Nigerians!

Naughtybunny said...

Wow... To each its own! May the Lord forgive us all.

Too long

Oh please!!!

Yea u surport lady G

Fumi I miss u so much pls start another talk show.I won't forget rushing my chores just to watch your show.u have a heart of gold n u r a very strong woman..bounce back my role model nta is not your God.love u

SLEEKREEK said...

@Lady G...well said ..... ur kind environment should go a long way in determining ur lifestyle and once u are doing things against the moral beliefs of people around u,,,then i think u shouldnt spell it out anyhow to avoid been condemned by people...

What Nigeria is she referring to pls?duh!

Sir' Shaki said...

I remember watching this interview when it aired so many yrs ago. I think it was couragious nd heroic of Miss Iyanda to have commissioned it, given the crude nature of the country's homophobia.

Sad tho that mr. Alimi had to go through the hell unleashed after that fateful appearance. I'm not homophobic, I don't hate gay people. I just don't understand it. However still, its a reality nd we all have to accept it as it is. There's a gay person in every family, society, country nd social gathering. Its so sickening that after all this years, we as straight can't show them love.

Personally, I don't know how or why I'm attracted to women. I didn't consciously choose to be straight. So why should I judge someone who didn't choose to have attraction for same sex person?

Gay is a reality. We can't wish it away. It will always be here nd they will always be gay people. Better we accept it as one of nature's wonders nd get on with more important issues.

Mistr Tee said...

Serves her right.....NONESENSE

He deserved whar he got

Well written! Nigerians need to change the way they think and how they reason. Thank you Funmi Iyanda for this! God bless you abundantly.

diamond said...

Hmm in d spirit of speechlessness I am also speechless

@ Lady G

Change has never ever been effected by people who sit down and accept the status quo.

Martin Luther King, Rosa Parks and others knew the America they lived in when they decided that exposing the dangers of denying black people their civil rights were more important than their safety.

Abolitionists in the United States had to contend with people who believed that black people needed to be enslaved. After all, the Bible you Nigerians quote to justify inhumanity has been used to justify slavery and is now used to justify homophobia. Look it up. Look how missionaries have used Bible passages to tell slaves to honour their masters.

CHANGE and people who were willing to fight for it, ended that status quo.

In my own small part, I will defend the rights of gay people to exist peacefully in this country. What happens between consenting adults is none of my business as long as they are not harming others. I will never think it OK, EVER to discriminate, hate, beat, prejudge people for a state of sexuality they did not choose.

I'm glad Bisi Alimi did not keep quiet. And I'm glad Funmi Iyanda gave him a platform. Slowly I hope Nigerians realize that homosexuals are their brothers, sisters, friends, neighbors, cousins, colleagues and then realize that better or worse, they are humans as you and I, with their flaws as you and I have. That we've always had homosexuals and always will.

Equal rights and justice doesn't necessarily mean that we forget what is right in the sight of God. If we all did what was comfortable for us then some of us wouldn't work but steal to Make ends meet... Why? Because that's what we are comfortable with. If he knows being gay was the right choice he should have gone back to uni Lag to face the consequences of what he believes in. Debee

Story story. So much embelishment. I get the point shez tryna make but I felt like I was reading a children's novel instead of an article. Kinda distracts people from getting the point shez tryna make.

Mark said...

I don't get this, is she in full support of Homosexualism? Or did she just interview the said Gay man just to hear what he has to say? Because I believe Sodomizing is a psycological problem, and any1 who claims to be Gay in Nigeria should be sent to Aro, cos its totally wrong. Africans shouldn't embrace everything those retarded white people do, The white people started this nonsense and d black people ova there embraced it. I am sure wen God is ready to destroy earth, he ll start from Countries that support Homosexualism,Just like He destroyed Sodom and Gomorah back in d days Lesbianism is still preferable, not in anyway saying its good, but Faggots are so wrong.

The issues about being gay in nigeria is so sensitive! When you try not to sound harsh; you are in support and when you give a sharp answer; you are homophobic. I kinda tend to keep off it when it comes around.

Chicadimples said...

Hmmm wat I can say....

Nkechi J said...

Sorry Ms Iyanda, but I strongly believe the Nigeria you talk about is in your head, may be you thought Miss John didn't have his struggles for his choice of lifestyle, but you can never say, your knowledge of him was from a child's point of view... The Nigeria I know and have always known was more homophobic then, and more liberal now, more so due to new age religions teaching of tolerance along with migration... Seriously, how can you forget the Nigeria where sex was never mentioned, not to talk of discussed so openly? People did things no doubt but then you never talked about them. People need not confuse Nigeria with the west, we have always been a very conservative country, even to the point of low religious and tribal tolerances, lets not forget this is the same country that had Biafra war, if we were so tolerant, then what was that war for and why did the Igbo's loss? Like someone already said, both of you knew the consequence of that interview its terrible he had to go through whatever he went through, but he can't honestly tell me he expected anything different after such national interview. His neighborhood might tolerate it, his family and friends can ignore it but can the nation do the same? I think as a people we need to realize that what feels good is not always the right thing to do...

Nkechi J

The write up is terrible. Unnecessary digressions that makes one lose focus of what she is writing about.

I also grew up in that Nigeria that she talks about, where people were not judgemental and everyone was accepted the way they were, where there was no pretense and we all felt free to be whoever or whatever.The thing is we know we have gay people around us but we would rather they keep it to themselves and not openly talk about it.

Oluwabobby said...

Can't read this thing.It is too long!Habaa!
Na JAMB person wan do?

Victor said...

Funmi was doing her job as a journalist in interviewing a gay man. That doesnt mean she is endorsing the lifestyle. I watched that show. It was aired on 8th October 2004. And I didnt see any hint of endorsement in that interview.
Its like many people didnt bother to watch the show before they began to send death threats to Bisi Alimi and send Funmi to the electric chair.
Yet we have gay people everywhere. They are not "leprous", they are doctors, bankers, teachers, priests and fathers--yes husbands.
People are forced to live secret disgusting lives when the whole society is full of haters and inquisitors, ready to burn people at the stake for being "weird".
Oprah has interviewed Michael Aquino, the founder of the grand Satanist Temple of Set. Can anyone then say she is "endorsing" satanism? The naija thinking is still miles away from civilization.
And lest I forget, Bisi received many "love letters" too. SMH.

I have always said that Nigeria is not ready for all this open Gay stuff yet, please let no man or woman think he or she can impose that on us yet. Our culture is very different and we must respect it. If you are into all that shit i will advice you go to Europe or America and be free. Of course we have many gays among us, but do your thing indoors.

souleymon said...

Nigerians and Nigeria isnt in support of Gays..
Its Immoral, and such immoral act isnt a right.
how do you teach them-Kids that its a right when its immoral.. Sick celebrity looking forward western approval as against your culture.
Just wandering which of our cultures the westerners are madly in love with ..
Doing shits like this isnt moral .

If we learn to accept same sex relationship,probably in 50 years time, we will also accept a relationship btw a man and his favorite dog or a woman and her favorite horse and it will be acceptable...it all start dis way,may I not live 2 see such a day

Right behind u funmi,I tink evrybdy av a right 2 b demselves as long as its nt hurtin anybdy,gay,straight,asexual.. It doesn't matter! God av d final say,sum might say-wat of paedophilia?paedophilia hav a lot of negativ effects on d little girl,dats y its very wrong,but homosexuality doesn't!its dier right to freedom as humans,som of yo'll may insult me,but its d truth!gay aint askin 4 marriage right!hellll no!jst askin dier civil right 2b protected n safe regardless of who dey wana shag in dier rooms!!! *ONYX GODWIN*

He knew wht he was gettin into..... Am sorry it would be difficult for him to be free back home again.... But he is very happy whereever he is...

Sorry Lady G.....Funmi Iyanda is a she not a guy, guess u wouldn't really understand as this isn't a story about Kim or any of the fake naija celebs....tongueout*

Cmon now that was 9yrs ago and then even most western countries were not gay friendly let alone Nigeria. I love the story she gave even though am still trying to relate it with the issue on ground and no our forefathers were not better the Nigerians of today in terms of homosexuality tolerance, if anything its a little bit tolerated now.

My opinion is that I don't support gay rights,the thought of it is sickening..nigerians are that way not because we re not 'updated',if we accepts gay ppl,we re denying our very own existence and also God's word....so enough with the equality talk.

OMG!WOMAN said...

I noticed nothing else except this womans fabulous writting skill.... Mehn I hail thee.

Loisy said...

Y will u interview a gay man on tv in Nigeria and as far back as2004? Palava u dey find, u don get na.

zinwa ogbonna said...

She is a good writer tho, I would buy her books any day interesting. I have never been anti anything, plus living in the UK has made me realise everybody is entitled to be who they want to be. Life is too short to live in fear, unhappiness, uncertainty. If my choices as an adult are wrong in the sight of God, let God be my judge not society and mere human beings. After all they are not hurting nobody. I truly feel for gays especially in Africa. #itsmyopinion

Loisy said...

Y will u interview a gay man on tv in Nigeria and as far back as2004? Palava u dey find, u don get na.

My elder bro is suspecting me of being gay.I never knew he was monitoring me,my friends,their gender and how I relate with them.one hot afternoon..he called me and started all his hard talk/questions.why are u still single(as in no girlfriend) at 24??why is all ur friends boys??are u finding it hard to get a girl friend or what??why do u always hug this particular(my close friend.which I kinda give a friendly hug atimes )?? Are u a homosexual??this are the question my elder bro was puffing out. the last last question really murder my heart.being a single dude at my age is one of the most tormenting aspect of my life.am not happy!am pained. And those questions has really complicated everything...now I hardly go out with friends,I abstain from them as if I never had something with them b4...only for my bro to get answers to all the questions he asked me!its a pity that we are living in an era where every single young man is now a gay suspect.am not homophobic and can never be.I know ah might not be making sense to some people...bet am certain that people with well developed brain understands my plight.

Loisy said...

I am sick and tired of hearing about Nigeria's moral views. What stupid morals do we have? This is a country that promotes corruption even though God is against it, this is a country that supports adultery, especially in men, even though God has called adulterers His enemies. This is a country whose young women have no qualms sleeping with men for money, especially MARRIED MEN, and yet you tell me about your STUPID moral views. Who in this God forsaken country has any moral right to judge a homosexual??? All of you are phucking hypocrites and know that your are not deceiving God o. You will all chop your cane, one by one.

P.S. I am a straight married mother of 2 children, just in case some illiterate wants to call me a homosexual

esosandra said...

Being gay can never be cool no matter how the americans try to package it. I can't even imagine how a man can have sex with another man built like him. Abnormal. very soon its will be legal for man to marry animals as far as it his preference,all this manpleasers.

We have serious issues in Nigeria, and we don't even know it. Ignorance is a terrible disease.

This kine one na wa sha o.to me sha,I'll start encouraging gay rights when a gay couple can produce a child without the help of science,person see hole see stick,you talk say u get stick u come want another stick again.scientifically the risk of stds transmission is just xtremely high in gay pple,its just not right

So socking a news....

coconut head said...

I don't think you are speechless,you are just a dumb ass

It's a case of what you don't know will not kill you.Don't ask Don't tell.

I used to be homophobic, but because it has been proven scientifically that being gay is in the genes..I'm okay wit pple being gay

Its obvious dat pple put pleasure first b4 religion,i will kul dat selfishness.been fully aware dat both religion dat we practice in nigeria does nt encourage bisexualism,so why practice it?even d society does nt encourage it which means its bad.lets do d right thing.

I am also homophobic. Please I don't want to live in a country that sees nothing wrong with one being gay. I shudder when I think of it. Funmi, take heart but I support NTA too.

Yeah that's him alright. He was my next door neighbour in Jaja hall hostel. One day we caught him pants down with another guy, one law student and we gave them a good brushing to remember. Bloody faggots!

Dunno y this gay thing is becoming an issue. We as a society have never accepted the practice of sodomy. It is unnatural, and frankly, in my opinion, irritating. Maybe we should allow paedophiles, rapist n serial killers loose cos they have 'urges' to be like that. Like my cousin says, and I completely agree with him, that the word homophobia to describe ppl against the practice is misleading. anti-sodomy is more like it.

Hmmmmmm, d nigeria I grew up in der was harmony,kids could stay at neighbors places,u can beat anoda person's kid if d child is wrong n d parents will come back n say thank u. We played 2geda,der was no class. I miss dat nigeria too.

Abeg mak I hear joor

I lost myself reading this....interesting read. We all live with the consequences of the choice we make each day. That's why its always ours and ours alone to make.

i agree with you

john said...

How does accepting two men to fuck each other help Nigeria? America can do that because they don't have the problems we are facing!! If she wants to make a mark in history she should risk her show to solve corruption and poverty!! We don't want to know about anyone's kinky dirty sex life Keep it within the sheets and in your room!! Tommorrow they will say its hard drugs they want to legalise! I respect funmi iyanda but I am disappionted!!

I served with Bisi at Akwa Ibom state in 2005 and he never hid the fact that he was a gay.I remember vividly sitting and gisting with us at our copper lodge at Ukanafun how this man or that man was owing him.........................

Funny. I remember serving with Bisi at Akwa Ibom in 2005. He never hid the fact that he was gay. Sitting at the coppers' lodge at Ukanafun when some men passed by he will be like " he is owing me ooo!!!

Isorai, Nigerian politicians will support underage marriage, tantamount to pedophilia, yet to consenting adults of sound mind, probably successful and great contributors to human existence get persecuted. Honestly if the world only belonged to heterosexuals, it would be filled with rapist and prostitutes. The gays are the reasons behind the mass culture and fashion and beauty products you wear. People need a reality check

Abeg go n sit down, ITK, lady G is reffering 2 Alimi, when she uses d he' what's ur stress? She isn't clueless about d topic on ground.

TKOKO said...

LEVITICUS20:13 says if a man as one does wt a woman,both of dem ve comitted abomination,der ar 2b put2death.D day I wl commit such immorality wt my fellow man,I pray GoD2 take my lyf****#

JJ said...

"After Bisi Alimi appeared on that show his life changed forever. He couldn't even return to UNILAG where he was a student at the time. He was forced to go into hiding and eventually relocated abroad." so now who's lying? How did he serve if he didn't return to unilag n had to eventually relocate abroad? it's either this story is false or u r lying or unilag sympathises with gay ppl n offers them degrees regardless.... Which is it oga?

As a nation and people we will always say NO gay relationships and marriages...come to think of it, it's very disgusting! So who ever don't want to accept our stand as a nation and people that are morally balance, ...go start up own country and do whatever you want and not in our Nigeria...so miss Iyanda i thought you had something reasonable to say? I beg your story no make sense try other route...

chummy lee said...

Hypocrites! Lady Gaga going Naked is weird and madness but being gay is Cool. SMH for anybody who claims to be a christian like Linda but does not have a stand on this gay issue. Oh, gays have right, but Maheeda don't have the right to brandish pictures of HER OWN NAKEDNESS on the internet,for goodness sake HER OWN BODY, and anyone who chooses to appear on TV naked don't have the right. Who is deceiving Who? Come to think of it, WHO IS THE AUTHOR OF RIGHTS? AS in which mortal has the AUTHORITY to determine human right? Somebody said LIVE(heterosexuals) and LET LIVE(homosexual), but remember, the weed you allow to grow with wheat today will destroy the wheat tomorrow. Better Stand for The Truth!!!

Madam go a take a afternoon nap, u re talking thrash.

all u homophobes,keep judging, funny thing is your children and grandchildren will be gay, bisexuals and lesbians..but u will never know..right now ur mum might like women,but she's hidden it for years. ur dad might have done it before but had no choice than to marry ur mum. ur cousins are doing it in hiding. you cannot judge what u don't understand..as long as no one is hurting or harming anyone..people don't choose who they love. religion or no religion.its no ones business..so stfu and don't comment shit..let people be and do what makes them happy.idgaf if u think its wrong,whatever rocks ur boat..

Me too...just wow!!!

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Heya

That's y there must be a separation between church and government

I thought they said he never finished

Me too o! As I was reading her story I was cracking up so hard. Nice story but I still donot support gay or lesbianism. They are unnatural. Though I am not going to condemn or kill anyone but don't condone it. Make una no vex!

Nkechi J said...

Here we go again Nigerians always confiding our stands. True our governance is messed up, true Nigeria can learn a lot (a whole lot) from the west, but people lets be very careful here... Why are we do kin on learning all the wrong things and none of the right ones. Homosexuality has never been post of our culture, I live in United States, they have no culture, America is a melting pot of various culture which is why they have to be tolerant of all cultures. Nigeria as a country, as a people already have enough problem, why should we add more to it all in the name of tolerance? Sorry but once you learn that the idea of anything goes leads to no development but rather derogation, then you will understand that accepting homosexuality is far from the answer to our problems. I mean compare America today with that of the 80's now everything, every show has to have some sort of homosexual content, and exposing your stand makes you homophobic... Lets get real we are Africans people of culture, we might be bad at everything else, but one thing the works know of us is or values and culture, lets not lose it !

Nkechi J

If u read the bible, u will kno that God specifically said man should NOT be with another man, same for women.

What ever u think of homosexuality....it only thrive wen u give it chance and its a signal of natural disorder as far as sexual orientation is concern...pls just get it into ur head that the dreams of homosexual right lingering in ur head will only stay in ur head coz it will not come to reality....televising an interview with a gay man will only plant the wrong seed in the mind of young and flexible minds of this country....in as much as we can accept that this bizarre attitude can something be a manifestation of natural occurrence in some individuals, it is still very wrong to take it to the national Tv.....is as good as encouraging child marriage on the Tv....its even worst....coz some religion tend not to see nothing wrong in child marriage.....either of them is of coz totally wrong.....thank God ur programme was BANNED....mind u....I'm not a religious fellow...I'm a free mind....even a dog will be hostile to a fellow dog and will be homely to a BITCH.

I agree with you.she writes well.

Just barely an hour ago,I saw two young boys kissing at the back seat in the cinema,they left not long after I turned in shock! Now I am a lady and truthfully I am not homophobic,truth be told 95% of girls in Nigeria are lesbians. Yes 95% if not more, I think Nigerians are just myopic and feed off hypocrisy,judging others while they do worse behind closed doors. My point is, while the fact that Nigeria will never agree to allow gay rights fly, the country is doomed with worse plagues. Let people love who they want! Its like denying a child of play,that child will wander in hiding to that playground whether you like it or not. Nigeria lets move forward and focus on better things.

All these hypocritical government officials that refuse to pass the gay bills,the male senators are being fucked in their anus daily,infact they live for that shit! Are you talking about madam Ita-giwa the heterosexual. Fucking young boys and girls respectively. Nigeria will die in mediocrity. God help us all. And no im not gay. Im as straight as they come,but do you know what that your bestfriend,neighbour,son,daughter,priest,pastor prefers?!

hmmm said...

@ Seun London. You said the Bisi Alimis person is now in the UK and doing well? really? but I just read this about him:... In 2004 he was diagnosed with HIV. In the same year he was the first Nigerian to openly declare his sexuality on national television and that event became the turning- point

My dear being gay is no reality it is just a trick by d devil 2 confuse ppl in dis last days. We all hav our issues we struggle wit, but pls let's call a spade a spade

all you people taking shots at him should just be grateful he is open. What if he was undercover and now married one of these "marriage is the ultimate" naija babes and then in turn gives her HIV which she can then give her aristo who will then spread it to more hungry, thirsty girls. At least this one keeps it real

Just read his BIO. although I am impressed by what he has been thru and what he is fighting for but he has HIV. That just scares me. Only God knows the married men that may have messed with him...hmmmmmm

Femiluv said...

I applaud Funmi's courage..

D interview wld v made or 'marred' dem,howeva n un4tunately it 'marred' dem.well,most of dese guys ere actually born dat way,whilst sum was a habit dey inherited which bcame addictiv.ders notin one can do abt it,it has cum 2 stay.I also dnt tink its a curse bt I prefer 2 remain straight.Funmi,9ce piece.

wow said...

Just watched the video of him on youtube. He sounds so much like Denrele! video here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5Ajjmc0bUE

Funmi said...

You reason like an average American. Non-judgemental. Resonable comment

Funmi pls take several seats at the back! Are u a christian at all? What does God say about being gay?

Wish you had a long term foresight like Mo Abudu, you could have been running your own network now. 'des

Incoherent

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Women sha...
Can't understand their seeming kindred empathy for gays...
I'm a very liberal person...
But as per homosexuality, I prefer our society being unwelcoming of it...
Once you decriminalize homosexuality, so many things will follow, including perversions of all sorts: same-sex marriage, transsexualism, et al...
The world is a big place...
If Nigeria and Nigerians are closed against gays, I urge them to port to the UK and other places were they are embraced and pampered like royalty...
SHIKENA!

You are who you are and nobody can change that. All they can do is deal with it or move off.

Beautifulll said...

We all talk as if we own ourselves. In as much as we are imperfect as humans, bt D perfect being has shun dese act let's nt twist it to suit our desires. Be it corruption, paedophiles, gay etc let's call a spade a spade wat s evil s evil. Let's ask God for hs grace to shun all sins n mercies 4 d ones we ve committed instead of tryin to satisfy our desires.

Dprof said...

It's quite a pity that u both went through all that. But interviewing a guy person means that u r trying 2 justify his actions which I think is a moral decadence b4 God and man. Nobody can justify gay practices, its simply absurd.

Nwokem, don't say there's gay person in every family blah, blah, blah.. That's uncool.. I got nothing against gays buh since our culturals norms don't support them, I guess they really have to stick with being anonymous.. Its sad though buh that's just it..

Its very convenient for our nigerian society to hate what we don't understand, why not get to understand gayism and gay ppl instead of hating.... That's how we kill twice for centuries bcos we couldn't understand why two ppl should be born together. Living and let live is a good way to start.

Mumu of the highest order! That's why the country is the way it is. You can't see that people need to change their backward mind-sets to allow a better Nigeria

You have said it all...itz better we accept them and live with it as it is

mocherry said...

D only thing I enjoyed abt Funmi's writng was d story of her growing up. She's talented in writing I must confess. D rest is ish. Till date I still don't av a word to say abt gay people. Let God be d judge

God have mercy.. It is well.. Jesus please come soon oh

Gbemi said...

And how does it fucking concern u? There's a lot more to being gay than fuck. How come when some of u hypocrites analize a straight relationship...u think abt love romance n what nots. But when its a gay relationship u think about the sex. U should turn the dissapointment towards urself! Oh and fyi mr bim-bo! Less than 30percent of gay man actually have anal sex...but as per naija mentality...na only missionary una know.

Am amazed at us Nigerians. When did we lose all sense of morality? How can anyone excuse gay behaviours? Another word for that is sodomy! Very soon, we will also condone beastiality and say it is an act by 2 consenting adults? May God deliver this country. We should all speak up against this despicable act from the pit of hell.

This is how Nigeria is suppose to be, people's choice of living should not be used against them. Moreover, we all are humans and as humans; we have choices and owe no explainations to anybody for the choices we make.

Nigeria as a nation should grow up and understand that people's lifestyle or the choices people make is not the problem here. We are all humans and as humans we have the right to choose the kind of lifestyle we want. Granting interview to a gayman is not enough reason to suspend a reality show. Moreover, its a reality show and homosexual in Nigeria and the world atlarge is a reality.

Fummi i am one of ur biggest fans, i really loved ur show and u inspired me alot, but this gay issue! I dont support u! Am a christian and even God destroyed sodom and gomorah for it, God created man and woman for a purpose, try and read the book of Genesis in ur bible first, and u will understand, man and woman dint just accidentally fall on the Earth, i dont have any thing against gay people, but this our country nigeria, we already have enough problems on our own, to come and add gay to it.

The white people that started it also brought in christianity! The whole political shii was brought in by them too. So blame them not. Blame your forefathers for allowing them in and adapting their way of life. As for being gay, its not just about the sex! Wish y'al ll stop hammering on that and stop judging like the bible advised us not to do. Some pple will quote Leviticus 4me 4getting that wen u keep read'n u'd c some other things listed as sin. Yet! Dey r an everyday occurence. You can't choose which part of d bible that pleases u and den tell me am wrong cos uon like my lifestyle. Take d bkseat y'al. Ur opinion mean no shii 2me and d likes of me.

I cant stop laughing about this post!

To kick of, Funmi's writing is nothing short of divine.

I laugh particularly because of the comments I read; those that protest Nigeria will NEVER embrace whatever lifestyle the western world is propagating... it shows how shallow minded those ppl are and what Nigeria's problem really is: Ignorance, close-mindedness both fuel by a superstitious culture. They look at the surface of whatever they are observing without in-depth understanding and still feel adequate to make judgments that affect the lives of others.

What is truly funny is that the scenario reminds me of when it was a sin for white people to talk to and have relationships with black people. Look today at who the president of the America is… prehistorically one of the most racist country in the world.
The difference between race and sexuality is that sexuality can be hidden, while the western world is propagating the need for honesty, integrity, courage, need for understanding, wisdom etc., some people are too shallow to see all of that.

Shout NEVER all you want! 20! 50! 100! Years from now! Your opinion won’t matter. It doesn’t even matter at this point in time. What is right and true always prevails no matter how long it takes

Its brave people like Funmi and Bisi that make the world a better place. If not for people like them (think of Martin Luther King Jr.) you’ll probably be a slave painfully scrubbing dirt in the western world.

Men in search of knowledge,ds earthly wisdom hv lost their path.as a christian,gayism is a sin,as a literate person,i wd say that one shd learn to live wt its societal norms.we ve culture n we mst retain them.evry man or woman of our world today is born of a man n a woman.smtfinz in life can never be change jst as d ageless shining xter of sun can never change,civilisation or not!

Sodom had nothing to do with gay men, it sad destroyed for sexual immorality.... That is even if there was a Sodom, 2 a God that destroy people who he knew were sinners, by sending angels amongst their mist, who's gender was not mentioned, sounds a bit confused and you who use that to justify hating another human who's destiny you can't fathom, are as confused as the god, who didn't mind killing children, allowed women to be abused and condoned slavery. The world is waking up and you're sitting there shooting end time when in reality you are allowing the hate you disguise as righteousness destroy yours and the lives of others.

I think I watched the show then, I was really disgusted.it seemed to me Funmi was promoting the gay thing and if all presenters were doing that we would have had a lot more gays in town today. whats wrong is wrong its not anything about the way you feel or you feeling right. we are still sane in Africa- so let it be.

Linda plz no more long narratives. Post a video or audio. Maybe I'm just tired.. I have no idea, WTH this is.

Fummi sinned against God when he brought dat demon controlled Bisi on air, nd she got punished for it. She should expect anoda punishment since she is still not sober. The people don talk nd d Govt don talk too we nor want dis madness(gay) for our country. We nor want am mean say we nor want am, abi na sane guy go plug him d**k for place were him fellow guy from dey shit? Wen p***y sweet pass suya and turkey. Abeg make all d gays go look bush. #linda if u nor post my comment I go suspect u.

pwitie B said...

Anon 12:27 u need d light ad I tink ur jst tryin 2b wat ur nt u insult a God u knw notin abt b careful so u wnt get consumed #fool formin an athiest

The devil paints pictures in d minds of people urging you to give into your base desires,then you begin to question"if God made us all straight, y am I having these thoughts?" The only way to rise above these thoughts and not meditate and act on them is to know what the bible says about sodomy and the rest, its only the truth that you know that can set you free. Let's not castigate people with other sexual preferences, let's pray for one another that God gives us the strenth to prevail over the devil and his wiles.

Wow...
Can't you people all see where this is leading?
If you stand for nothing, you can fall for anything.
You can either choose to stay within the old ways, the ways of your parents, the ways the Holy Books we grew up reading and the ways of the religions we studied and practiced taught us,
OR you can embrace this new modernism. You can keep up with the times, and switch your opinions to conform with where the world is going.
She's a beautiful writer, but she writes like a street magician, capturing your attention to where they want it to be, so that you're distracted enough to miss the trick.
I'm sad that a lot of people being looked up to are endorsing all these things religion taught us to be wrong.
But I strongly believe in "live and let live"
We only have one life, nuff said; choose wisely.

q2be said...

Funmi, I remember rushing to finish my house chores and get to the Tv first, so I can manipulate the remote control and watch ur show. My mum and I loved your show. Deep write up...Nigeria of today is so blighted

With eyes filled with tears....I share my passionate story....am a chronic LIBer..I seldom comment bt dis topic toucht me 2 a gr8 extent....am 26 yrs old,alredy outta sch,a medical personnel currently working in one of d states in south south,am GAY.....most ppl fink being gay is all abt decision,or some form of mental derrengement.how many of u hav actually read any book abt sexuality??..mayb wen u do...u strt changing ur mindset a lil...we have pansexuals,transexuals,transverstities,asexuals,bisexuals,bestials as d main sexuality identifiers....dou d 1st 3 r still subgrps of homosexuality.As a child, Icud rememba I was feminine (effeminate),dis is due to medically, I had more female hormones acting on me dan d males,I played like evry normal child,had my hide n seeks nd all wots not. My feminity gav room 4 pedophiles 2 make me a substitute 4 dia grlfrdzz since I was readily available.he wud call me up fondle my dick,force me in2 sucking his cock,wich I did unknwingly.I grew up wif dat mindset dat sex was btw man n man.....2day dis mahn is happily married wif kids nd am left in dis lurch. I can rememba taking a decision 2 b gay,but It jst doned on me wen I grew older....I strtd noticing I wud crave 4 more attention 4rm guys dan gulz, I luvd chatting nd staying with dem dan d female folks.myriads of attempts I made 2 effect a change we're futile.I retracted 4rm life, I became socially withdrawn,leading a life of recluse, wanted 2 venture in2 priesthood as a remedy,all dat dint work out.I equally tried living asexual lifestyle bt dat dint work out,I attempted having a gul in sch nd it was a mess(I forgot 2 even call her on VALs day), now am a human....it toucht me coz I knw my prob...she was thrown in2 pensive mood, passing thru emotional torture all 4 wot I've caused her.decided 2 take a bold step nd call ed it a quit coz we both aint happy.(Most daddies,husbands in nigeria are gay),I've decided 2 b on my own nd pursue my dreams,Albert einstein, isaac newton nd d rest we're all celibates....der I take my refuge.....As 4 d church.....sure u dunt wanna here wot hapnd wen I went 2 d church.gays in nigeria are rilly suffering,deyr passing thru hell.dis ppl r ur brothers,sisters,uncles,friends. Gay guys have exceptionally distinguisht talents nd usually come out d vry best in wot dey do like singing,modelling,styling,designing even in academics,deyr loved by all......but as well hated by ALL.many hav committed suicide,some r still planning 2,I once planned committing suicide but God delivered me.we are not here 2 burden d nation but its just sth we grew up 2 meet.no gay is proud of being 1.....but as a human being wev learnt 2 accept it......No gay wants 2 go all out but atleast a right 2 exist nd be given a sense of belonging isn't 2 much 2 ask....I rest my case....LINDA read carefully nd make sure u post my comment.....

You can insult me all you want but the truth is the destruction of families in Naija is not coming from homosexuals but adulterous men and women, girls who make it their duty to destroy homes and the negative effects of corruption in our society. Deal with these issues first before you start dealing with homosexuals.

Married mother of 2

Funmi and Linda, Thank you ojare. People are so hypocritical. Where's the morality in this society? It's just selective immorality. If a man defiles countless girls, leaves them barren from inept abortions, or even has some of them die from septic abortions, he has the nerve to say that gays are against procreation and family. The world has moved on, for goodness' sake. What's all this backward reasoning? Some people are gay, throughout human history, from Alexander the Great to Leonardo da Vinci, from Ancient Greece to Buganda, gays have existed. Google sexuality in animals. Nature is not exclusively heterosexual. What would be perverse and unnatural would be a totally heterosexual world. Would we even have culture and civilization without gays? No. I salute Bisi for not contracting a sham marriage just to deceive the world. He has shown integrity and courage and so has Funmi. Actually, I was with this hot hunk of a man some time ago and I pitied straight men who are only attracted to women. They miss some good fun.

Funmi, you are great journalist.... Keep up the good. It does not matter who you interview as long as your station policy allows it. In this case, it looked like you ignored the NTA policy and paid for it.

As per gay, it's a choice. And choices av consequences, Alimi got his own as well as a whole lot of others. I don't support gays and will never support gays. I have my believe in Christ Jesus and nothing can change it. If anybody is interested in Christ Jesus, it is FOC.

She is right! This country has no right to judge gay pple. That is not the only problem!!!! This world is a mystery! Nigerians need to change seriously or we will never grow. Let GOD DO THE JUDGING mind your business

EXACTLY

We all seems to forget that d issue of homosexuality has been around since God knows. Take time and do an in depth study of d old testament U will be surprise. There's nothing new under this sun. It is in every family and every sector. Celebs, politicians, doctors etc but that is d least of naija problems.

Shame on you

He also said to love your neighbour as yourself!

Being straight is comfortable for you but might not be for others, does that mean you deserve to be stoned to death? Idiot!

Having sex through the anus is like drinking pepper soup with a fork! It makes absolutely no sense!!

Nkechi J said...

I actually agree with you as regarded to the cause of family value destruction in Nigeria today, by that being said, will you tell a theft, u might as well kill since you're already a theft? I suspect your answer will be no. Nigeria has enough problem of its own, we honestly need not compound it. In the skim of things, it might seen or leaders should be keeping themselves busy with other pursuing matter, but ever thought of the issues and problems brought along by this homosexuality? Nigeria trust me is not ready for abutting like that, not emotionally not financially. We are a people if culture and you must understand that even if the government were to allow such, you will just end up with more killing because you will be giving these homosexuals false hope of security knowing fully well that majority of the society will not abide by that law, lets not forget we are some what a lawless nation, yes we have law but or people and government only abide by those convenient to them... I'll say it again, this lifestyle is not conducive for Nigeria, we have our flaws, lets mitt add to it!

Thank you very much anon 11:44pm. Anon 2:04pm, the bible you are quoting was also brought to Africa by the said 'retarded white people' as you would have it put. Hypocrites! Get your heads out of your backsides!

Maybe you shld just go back to school, that might help too. Thank me later ;)

I find it funny how blind Nigerians can be. We say we should punish the gays because God is against their ways. If God is so angry with them why not let God deal with them by himself? We fight the gays because God hates them yet the murders, fraud stars, paedophiles and corrupt officials amongst us go free. NIGERIAS DO NOT KNOW GOD!!!

How is she talking trash? Bloody hypocrite!!

Rapists, paedophiles and murderers carry things out against their victim's wishes but gay people are consenting adults, ok? Besides, Isn't the country full of these people anyways? Or didn't we just read about a teenager raping a child to death and the police tried to cover it up? But the gay people seem to be your problem instead. Talk about misplaced priorities #smh

The world is degenerating fast, and she played her own evil role by interviewing that fag! God will punish her................

All the fags in this world will burn in hell including those who supports them.

Sadly we live in this nigeria but we will get to that point someday, change starts from one person at a time

I kill any gay I see kapish #didi

Funmi D said...

The only thing i have to say about gayism is"who am i to judge" i only wish we could be this harsh to child molesters,rapists, corrupt leaders and all others who do things to harm others, and leave God to pass judgement on gays.

hi, i just read the write up on funmi Iyanda. It is written in the Bible that in the beginning God made them male and female. If God wanted homosexuals, He would have created just one sex. even in other religions, it is male and female so the idea of gays, lesbians, etc is not right that was partly why God destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah. these are the signs of the end times. don't be deceived and do not follow every trend of modernization and technological advancement. test all spirits so say the Bible. God bless you all for reading and Funmi Iyanda to repent and accept Jesus Christ. use the gift God has given you for His glory.

Hope you will still be cool with it if your daughter tells you she is a lesbian and wants to marry her girlfriend.

Everyone enjoys watching the antics of a mad man but how many people want to be related to one?

Seriously guys,If God has a problem with gay people let him judge them HIMSELF. Our jobs as human is not to judge but to live and let others live!