23-man shortlist for World Footballer of the Year unveiled | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 29 October 2013

23-man shortlist for World Footballer of the Year unveiled

Will Lionel Messi be crowned World's Best Footballer for the 5th time in a row or will Christiano Ronaldo get it...for the second time? Or maybe there's someone else who deserves it instead? The 2013 Ballon D'or shortlist for World's Best Player and Coach of the Year has been unveiled. See the nominees below...

(1) Gareth Bale (Real Madrid/Wales)
(2) Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich/Germany)
(3) Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich/Germany)
(4) Manuel Neuer (B ayern Munich/Germany)
(5) Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich/Germany)
(6) Mesut Ozil (Arsenal/Germany)
(7) Robin van Persie (Man United/Netherlands)
(8) Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich/Netherlands)
(9) Edinson Cavani (PSG/Uruguay)
(10) Luis Suarez (Liverpool/Uruguay)
See the rest after the cut...

(11) Andres Iniesta (Barcelona/Spain)
(12) Xavi (Barcelona/Spain)
(13) Neymar (Barcelona/Brazil)
(14) Thiago Silva (PSG/Brazil)
(15) Radamel Falcao (Monaco/Colombia)
(16) Andrea Pirlo (Juventus/Italy)
(17) Frank Ribery (Bayern Munich/France)
(18) Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal)
(19) Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Belgium)
(20) Zlatan Ibrahimovic (PSG/ Sweden)
(21) Robert Lewandowski (Dortmund/Poland)
(22) Lionel Messi (Barcelona/ Argentina)
(23) Yaya Toure (Manchester City/Ivory Coast)

Coach of the Year
(1) Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid)
(2) Rafael Benitez (Napoli)
(3) Antonio Conte (Juventus)
(4) Vicente Del Bosque (Spain)
(5) Sir Alex Ferguson (ex-Manchester United)
(6) Jupp Heynckes (ex-Bayern Munich)
(7) Jurgen Klopp (Borussia Dortmund)
(8) Jose Mourinho (Chelsea)
(9) Luiz Felipe Scolari (Brazil)
(10) Arsene Wenger (Arsenal)

94 comments:

Wa'eva mhen!

Hapyyy first to comment. Chilling at Bruce view lekki

Rough Diamond said...

And Coach of the year goes to:
Sir Alex Ferguson (ex manchester united)
Manultd 4life!

So.no Nigeria abi.????aunty linda go slip abeg....i no want make ur eye bag cum big tumaro
p:s first tu commend.

.yaayi

Too many names..... Frank Ribery and Jupp Heynckes are.....

Linda, thank heavens you are now dwelling on football news too, nice one!
I think Ribery will win it this time around, he deserves it, he won the treble last season, but it would surely be a close one between Ribery and Messi because Messi broke records that no other football had ever achieved last season.
As for coach of the year, its gotta go to Jupp Heynckes (ex-Bayern Munich) he won everything for his club last season.

That's just my objective opinion, I forever remain a gunner, Arsenal for life till we meet in heaven!

Too many names..... Frank Ribery and Jupp Heynckes....

₪☹ guardiola?????

www.9jahub.com said...

lets wait and see

Only one Chelsea player?....smh! what happened to Mata and Oscar who lit up Europe last yr?

Watch Lady gaga's performance as she strips totally naked in a gay club in London...Watch the video HERE

Well Ronaldo deserves it more this yr followed by Messi then Ribery

Nigerian Raunchy Queen Maheeda explains why she shares naked photos on instagram and what gives her the energy...Watch the video HERE

Robin Van Persie!

Messi fit still carry am oooo

What is my concern. I'm just an ordinary FAN club nothing more. They should chose anyone they loved. All is well, afterall this world befor u can see something with ur Eyes its was already been done. Ehehehe.Lol. Isn't?

D1 said...

Ronaldo all the way.first to comment

Bayern Munich full everywhere!

Ameriestyle said...

Ronaldo should win

I think Van Persie deserves it

saheed badmus Santoma said...

Best player: Lewandowski and best coach rtd Alex ferguson Oº°˚˚°Âº ..

Miss linda why you no post something wen some1 hasnt sleep na. Owk see also this stuff
dbanj pictured performing sexual acts on stage too badt

Messi is gettin it again whther they like it or nt,thumbs up to all barca fans on block lol

F*ck FIFA I 8 Sep Blatter dem 4 pack all d whole Barca ayers put ni,even dat 1 wey jus stat international Football got enlisted.#PurePolitics

Frank Ribery deserves it better

One day will be one day for nigerian football.....hot sport news and celeb gossip HERE

Please what is Arsene Wenger doing on that list??? It should go to Sir Alex Ferguson and for footballer of the year should be Cristiano Ronaldo the dude deserves it this time!!

Fresh Kid said...

I'm a Die Hard Barcelona Fan & I also admire Ronaldo a lot buh if I'm gonna vote I'll definately vote 4 Ribery coz dis is his only chance of winning the Prize now coz he rilly worked 4 it buh if he doesn't get it nw I dnt think he'll ever get it again....#Team Barcelona# 223A3871

It's going to be between Neymar and Levandowski. Why no Nigerian? We will show them in Brazil

C,ronaldo or frank ribery. If anyy oda peson wins it den we hv to stop watchin football.

Stephen Keshi deserves a mention!

I know cristiano ronaldo is a savior on pitch but he's not christ - iano as u first wrote linda. It will be anoda big cheat surprise to see messi collect it again.it shld be btw cristiano ronaldo and frank ribery.

Blatter had already made a sentimental statement 'one stays in d hairsalon more dan d oda' nd dis statement is already causing uproars. If Messi should get it again den people even me will sense bias. I think a Bayern player will get it dis tym. Thou i wish it will be Lewandoski

This oyibo people sef, I love how they regard Mesut Ozil as a German but if he was a thug, they go remind the world that he's actually a Turk or refer to him as a terrorist lol. Na the same style they take when they refer to Zidane as a French when in reality, he's an African man (Algerian to be precise). Anyway sha, everyone on the list is deserving but I hope one of the underdogs will win... i.e. no Messi, Ronaldo or anyone who don snag the title or similar accolade before.

I will give it to somebody from Bayern Muich. They had an exceptional year, last season. Both player and coach will come from Munich

Messi all d way

TWITS said...

No! Messi shdnt..not dis time. He remains my very best, tho. But not dis year. Thr r many others who outperformed him dis time. 1 of those shd get it.

TKokO said...

Messi doesn't worth it dis time around,it should b between Ribery or C boi,d rest stil need2grow up. And as d coach,I tink I wl Go4mourinho...********#

D award shuld go to ronaldo...

FRANK RIBBERY..WILL BE CROWNED..WHILE JUPP HEYNCKES OR KLOPP JURGEN DESERVE THE BEST COACH

Apostle ben okoye said...

Its frank ribery's year he deserves to win and I will give the former bayern coach jupp heymckes coach of the year

arsene wenger? mehn this is so wrong,

I am d first to comment hehehehehe

Where z Arturo Vidal??
just one player 4rm dortmund?
*smh*

tnx said...

Am d first to comment hehehehehe

Emmanuel John said...

¤wow¤ i prefer ronaldo then messi for the world footballer of the year or frank ribery¤coach of the year¤jupp heynckes[ex beyern munich]coach

messi all the way, for the coach heynckes

Nazzy said...

Pls what's the latest on ASUU strike....mk dem choose any1 amog them watin concern nazzy concern them....infact its mikel obi da is gon b d best ftb of d year#jst passin

Fifa president proved that they favour messi over Ronaldo,because he openly support messi and criticized Ronaldo,so it shows who will win it with such powerful backing,we all know sneider was denied the when clearly it shows by winning champions league and Italian serie A,iniesta by winning European championship and world cup,on both occasions messi won nothing.

If Messi gets dis title again, I'll lick my nose

Gareth Bale tops the list, then Christian Chukwu should be on the coach list also... #JustSaying

bhallz said...

i'm loving this

abeg make messi go rest,jose all the way best coach.

Ribery and Klopp..mark it

Ozil and Mourinho Gbam!
Fine lady says sooo

Credible list I must say! They are all awesome players and hard working coaches.

nifty said...

MESSI desrves it coz he has proven dat he's the best player dat eva existed on dis planet..ronaldo is a better player buh not a match 4 MESSI,Ribery is a gud player and had quite an achievement last season buh if dis crown is 2 b awarded on d basis of individual play on the field den LIONEL MESSI has it.

â„“̊ predict my OZIL will get it, but 4 d coach â„“̊ go 4 sir alex......
~ALATISHE say so~

aalukis said...

Am just not happy dat d best best coach in Africa at d moment is nt on dat list....talkin abt Stephen Keshi

What a shame,not even a nigerian can make it up to da list. SMH

I love to football game and I am always try to update myself for related news of football.
Travel consolidators Melbourne

_Travis_ said...

viva ronaldo!

who else can it b dan messiiii who rules d world talk of dribble he is perfect tacktics unko im head dey dere linda dont predict again.

In as much as i wld av loved Messi to win...to b rational,i tink Ronaldo did well,bt still falls below Messi's ratin...and Ribery did quite BETTER#

Maggie said...

who dey nominate arsene wenger...mcheww

Its frank ribbery and jupp heckynes ..all d way .
I know fifa and uefa are biased neither ronaldo or messi deserve it this time .

McJosephson said...

News is stale babes

Puffinnocentchukz said...

Best player =Ribery/Ronaldo
Best coach=Sir Alex ferguson/hynckes

fly guy said...

individually, messi is still d best player on d planet, buh 5th time in a row? they might wanna give someone else

messi will stl win it..dat one na for sure

C Ronaldo must be d best footballer of the while Jose Mouriho is the best coach of the year.Hala Madrid ...signed by DIZZA

yaya toure?

dey only nid 3 so y list 23 nd wot is yaya toure doing der.

cool list expect 4 yaya toure aldo hez african

Aphrodite said...

And dahs aw my Boo d Merciless Messi, Boy Wonder, Moi Favy player of all tym wee take it 4 d 5th time Yaaaaaay! Ok fyn, I'll say Ozil of Arsenal nd C.Ronaldo deserves it too. And for d coach, with all honesty, I think Sir Alex Ferguson deserves dis mehn.....He shud win!

danzilo said...

Ronaldo and messi again, I believe that both are good in their own ways. But Ronaldo I still believe in for this time, but still got my eyes on neymar.

sunday said...

wow! thats good . lets wait till then

It is BABA RIBERY 4 WORLD BEST

Well na them sabi if them like make them give badluck jonathan... But all i know is that the award can change asuu mind.

N d winner is???????????"Ribery"cos he deserve it more dan cr7 n messi

Lindaooo where comments?dat na d only reason I dey come here to lmao pls release dem bikonu.franca

While comparing the Portugal international to Lionel
Messi, the Swiss said(Fifa president Sepp Blatter) "one spends more time at the
hairdresser's than the other"
Hahahahahah

#team messi# but am tippn Frank Ribery to be crowned as he was spectacular last season alongside his Bayern Munich team mates. Any Bayern Munich player would make me happy seeing them been crowned.

theo said...

It's obviously ribery naw...neymar tho luv dat guy *no homo*

Look ppl, ballon d'or is an idividual award n not a teem award, yes Ribery won treble but, the question is did he do w@t Messi didn't do for barca or Ronaldo didn't do for madrid? Messi scored more goals than Ribery or Ronaldo, Messi's totall assist in all competition, supercides t@t of Ribery n Ronaldo, Messi's ws more accurate than the other two players, his touches n complete passes speaks for him. If Messi misses the award, well it may be an act of injustice cos, Ribery won treble bcos Bayern work together as a team, wt goals frm Mario, Robben, Muller n so on, so fifa best team they (bayern) fit in for it, but best player...no player on earth gave w@t Messi gave tu barca, he scored almost all the goals they had n breaking fantastic records that has stands for years. Messi is the king!

CR7

Good to know u're a gunner, rili love the way u'rew unbiased in ur comments.... Ur fan

please what is bale doing on that list? www.atagone.com

davina said...

Pple jst talk abt football do u watch at all. Messi is gettin it again bcos he had more goals and assit. If he is nt giving den dere is a foul play. C Ronaldo n robbery re gud bt messi is beta.

True talk boo

TWITS said...

My broda, Iniesta isn't complaining...Matter-of-fact,he belivs Messi deserves all. So quit it!

Yea its surely ferguson

bitchplis said...

Which europe did dey light up? Which oda europa cup competitor did u see on d list? Bloody chelshit fan

bitchplis said...

Am a ManUnited fan,but I disagree with u...RVP doesn't deserve to win it.not even top 5

bitchplis said...

Which europe did dey light up? Which oda europa cup competitor did u see on d list? Bloody chelshit fan