'My ordeal in the hands of kidnappers' - Mike Ozekhome recounts | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 13 September 2013

'My ordeal in the hands of kidnappers' - Mike Ozekhome recounts

The human rights lawyer (pictured above with his wife after his release) who said he will never forget his experience in the hands of his abductors, narrated his ordeal to journalists in his home in Lagos.

Ozekhome, who had grown a beard, said he was driven on a rough road for about four hours to a jungle far removed from civilisation blindfolded, after he was captured close to Benin City about 3pm on August 23, 2013.

According to Ozekhome, the abductors took him to an uncompleted building in the bush while a colony of mosquitos descended and fed on him and other hostages like barbeque in the camp.

According to him, from the moment of his abduction on August 23, he and 12 other victims were blindfolded by the gang in the camp. Continue...

Ozekhome also said any time they wanted to speak to their abductors, they must face the ground, as looking at them (kidnappers) could hand the offender instant death sentence.

“Every 24 hours of the day, we had death sentence hanging on our head. When any of the kidnappers wanted to speak to us, we must face the wall or the ground. They treated me gently because they said they had discovered I’m on the side of the masses, that I have been fighting for the masses.

Speaking further, he explained that his psychological and physical trauma was compounded when his son, Barrister Ilugbekhai and one of his juniors in chambers, Barrister Dominic Ezerioha, were lured and eventually detained with him in the camp.

He described his abductors as highly organised and well educated, which, according to him, made it difficult for security operatives to track them down.

He said: “Even when making phone calls to the families of the victims, they travelled across four or five states so that where they make the calls was different from where their victims were kept. They discussed national issues with high intellect.

“These are graduates of various disciplines, I believe. They understand philosophy, history, political science and, as I said, they have their medical team. One of them said he had graduated for six years without a job and they argued that only 1 per cent of Nigerians have fraudulently cornered the nation’s wealth; so they raise argument to justify their actions.”

“They vowed that, in 2015, they will move against the politicians who they accused of being in the habit of using and dumping them. I asked them, what is the way out? They requested that the federal government should also grant them amnesty and that they are ready to lay down their arms if they are given amnesty just like the Niger Delta militants.

“They said they are ready to come out of the jungle to remove their masks and join the roundtable talk if there is assurance that they will not be arrested by the government.”

According to Ozekhome, the kidnappers have several units and cells across the nation. “For example, they mentioned several notable Nigerians who had been kidnapped in the past in the north, east and west, which they claimed were through their network.”

Contrary to the general belief that the kidnappers usually conduct background information about their victims, Ozekhome said his abductors told him that they just operate randomly and that they don’t profile anybody before they are captured.

“For example, they said they did not know me. They searched through my pocket. They collected everything including my card. So when they asked for my name and I told them, they said yes it is true.”

Moving forward, Ozekhome urged the federal government to declare a state of emergency on insecurity. According to him, a situation where none of us is safe on the road, in the air, on the water, in the day time or at night is a serious and monumental problem and we cannot continue to fold our hands.

He linked the problem of insecurity fundamentally to the massive youth unemployment in the country which he described as complex and gargantuan.

Consequently, he called on the government to declare a state of emergency on youth unemployment as any further delay may spell doom for the nation. He described youth unemployment as the father of Boko Haram, militancy, kidnapping and robbery.

Source: Leadership

134 comments:

Praise God.....first to comment...at last

End time tins#######

Summarily, government is the cause of all these! no jobs, employment rate zero, price of goods and commodities..high! what do you want people to do?? people are angry, people are hungry! men have families, no job to take care of them nor send their kids to schools. it translates.

I repeat! people are getting deperate! our politicians are enriching themselves forgetting the masses put them where they are.

WAKE UP NIGERIAN GOVERNMENT!!!!!!!!

or else????? I don't see this kidnapping menace coming to an end any time soon.

too bad!

johnnie said...

Well said,but the way out is not kidnaping innocent people.Johnathan Governement should do something.

Mich said...

I hope the kidnappers keep to their promise of turning on corrupt politicians come 2015.
You know its a major problem when criminal acts become organised with subordinate units scattered across the country.
Change...when would it come?
A true leader...has he been born?
Nigeria...Smh!

Unemploment is not an excuse for any crime committed. Some pple are just lazy and want to be rich today and die tomorrow.

Welcome back sir! Honestly,our leaders need to do something abt this Unemployment issue!Pls ooooo!

U don't say! (Snaps finger)
1st to comment

sdk's first lady said...

Government whr una dey??una still dey sleep??abeg i hope say una open ur eyes nd ears sha..instead of u pple 2focus on d increasing crime rate ure jst embezzling money anyhow,God is watching u pple o.

Thank God for ur life

ME&E said...

He should better close his mouth...n do what ever he has in mind quietly,coz 4rm wat he said these guys r educated n smooth opertors

huyi said...

omg!!!serious matter...

lucky dude

How revealing!! To some degree most people who engage in kidnapping may be driven to it as a result of unemployment but then they are still millions making a legal living despite the harsh Nigerian polity, our securities operatives just need to be abreast of the latest tactics used by these criminals to check mate them.

How revealing!! To some degree most people who engage in kidnapping may be driven to it as a result of unemployment but then they are still millions making a legal living despite the harsh Nigerian polity, our security operatives just need to be abreast of the latest tactics used by these criminals to check mate them.

Flector said...

It all still balls down to our messed up Govt. No jobs, no light, no water, no good road, nothing for the masses, but some assholes can be re shuffling ministers, changing sick plate numbers and shit! Is that the way forward in this God forsaking country ??? May God Help Us.

God help us.Amen

Thank God that you are safe now...

Whew!!!!! The corruption in this country is annoying sha!!! I swear down... It is well!!!

@Bobo_Edo

Jewel said...

True talk sir, Youth unemployment is d father of all dis heinous crimes.. I met a course-mate of mine of recent driving Danfo(commercial bus); an MBA holder.. Whaooo, I felt it to my bone.. If such person becomes so frustrated and someone invites him to just one deal of kidnap that will fetch millions, what do u think will happen? May D Mighty God come to d rescue of our Nation. Amen

If everybody start to demand for amnesty ,we all need amnesty too,we all agree that 1% out of over 170 million people have cornered the nation wealth to themselves but this issue did not start today,it is a decade of rot in the sytem,today IBB and Abacha family are still walking free after several atrocities they committed.Two wrongs can never make a right.

The SAN is very wrong, Is amnesty the new employment program for the youths or another way of encouraging criminality then let drug traffickers, yahoo yahoo be granted amnesty as well. the solution to this nation crime is personal reorientation, in every little position u find urself lead by example. our leaders are thieves what do u expect the followers to do? even the bible says be ye imitators of Christ. pls let live and lead by example fellow Nigerians.

Janelicious said...

I quit agree with u sir,cos the state of unemployment in nigeria in on highest rate.what our govt cares abt is their own pocket and their children's children.

So much joy and luv in those two pictures, its a good thing he got his freedom, no be only kidnappers need amnesty, phcn need am, Asuu sef need am infact everybody for the country need amnesty as for Boko haram kill them all

I dunno where this country will be in 2015.@ the moment,The govt are only concerned abt their parties and how they will loot money and spend it on Politics in 2015.Its soo sad Our nation is drowning and we the citizens are watching it sink.We are the only ones that can help ourselves God will not come down to help us if that's what we are thinking.This Politicians have ridiculed us enough now yet we are still folding our arms for them to do more.Is it until when they sell we the citizens that we will start rising against them.Well I don't blame them when they know that the Average Nigerian Does not know His right.

Then wan buy dem own private jet na . Mtcheeew

Amnesty 4 who...? That terminology is becoming a joke in this country

the sexy one said...

I smell exaggerations and lies, if dey α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲ smart enough to do the 'calculated' kidnap, they should use that head to start business, evrybody cannot work for the government, and z dis mike guy now saying dat kidnapping z pardonable wit amnesty? Na wa 4 Nigeria o!....I pray this gang is arrested and dealt with seriously, if they do not run checks on their victims, how were they so lucky in catching high profiled individuals?...abegii, some incomplete lie brewing.....next gist joo....ASUU preferably

I don't even know wht to say, my mouth is just left agape after reading through.

fly guy said...

everyone now wants amnesty, whenever this stupid govt officials take decisions, they never think of d future

PRINCE LAZY said...

No comment o. Uwa emebi go

chyko said...

This doesn't justify their action,i ustd der pains but my candid advise is that you should never kill your conscience cos of your present condition. God will surely visit Naija soonest.

I WILL SAY THAT OUR GOVT SHOULD DO SOMETHING FAST.

Crazy I must say. May God help us all. May we never see evil in our days. Amen

So to them the way out is kidnapping right? Well till the day they are shot they will know what they are doing...idiots

Y kidnap random peeps? Y wait til 2015? They had better start kidnapin d politicians now.

@Mich,with the simplest words yet u construct very striking comments with good points. I like u.

Mumu

KSmith said...

Thank and praise God he is free. Click to view my Art works

Docia said...

Very pathetic. So all that I see in the Nigerian movies about kidnapping is true. Very rare in Ghana but, may God intervene for Naija

I hope FG listen to him, Mike was kidnapped and he was made to feel the agony of the Nigerian Youths, thousand of our youths are out there jobless and our useless politicians are getting fat on our money daily. 2015 is here and we'll cast out d corrupt politicians with our votes, political party or not, we want credible leaders

DEAR GOD PLIZ PROTECT MY LOVED ONES IN NIGERIA! THIS IS TERRIBLY SAD!

Notin justifies d act of kidnapping...dats wat we all will say...but is there anytin dat justifies us celebrating our corrupt and professional money laundering politicians and leader,they are d 1s 2 blame 4 all dis rubbish,d politicians aint taking dis kidnapping serious yet,until they start kidnapping more of dem,by 2013 wen politicians wil be plying dis roads frequently dat time they wil wish they had down somtin abt dis...God Save 9ja...@get2nnamdi

i do not believe the amnesty comment.

Hmmm..I thank God for Mike Ozekhome's life, I am happy for his wife and children. Please dear kidnappers, You should face the politicians and leave the common man alone! Politicians are the cause of all our problems!

Is this dude not Farouk Lawan's lawyer?

Thank u Lord.. My former lecturer is Back.. Well said!! rate of unemployment since GEJ is absolutely devasting

He's rly lucky

i see a revolution in this Nation. Time shall tell.

So what if u are the first to comment. Is that what makes u sleep at night? Mtcheee

I think the problem is our leader they are egocentric, belief me there are no jobs, have applied for jobs on the internet, writing applications still yet no way, I have good grade from the school, am not physically challenged
Everything now is Man know man, the available jobs are contracts, and casual jobs imagine access bank recruiting graduate for two months jobs with highly profile guarrantors, am ashame of my country, fuck govt,

Sane Mind said...

What bothers me everytime i read this story is the poor security men that lost their lives during the kidnap,,they shuld also remember that they have loving wives and kids that awaited a warm embrace from them*sobs*

Do u know any tin more than end time tins? Get focus whoever u r

Mr. Ozekhome, while rejoicing with your family, pleae spare a word for the families of the 2 policemen who died while trying to prevent your abduction.

I remember when we sang 'parents listen to your children, we are the leaders of tomorrow' that was donkey years ago. Apparently Nigeria does not understand the concept of 'tomorrow'. For more than 40 years it's being the same people ruling Nigeria, either in military regalia or civilian. Whether as president or as senator, they are all the same people. Having seen that joke where a teacher asks a boy: Nigeria will be better tomorrow. What type of sentence is that? And the boy replies: Future Impossible tense. Exactly. When you continue to use a particular formula 4 a problem and get d same result, change your approach abi? For Nigeria? Pfft!!! The same people have been running in circles 4 40yrs. FYI this amnesty thing will come to chew our ass one day. 1st militants, then BH, then kidnappers, may rapists, murderers soon.

God help nd protect us

Govt should do something about job creation,starting from restoring electricity,putting our refinaries in order as well as building infrastructures that will enhance development,this is going to give ample opportunities for industries to sprang up as well as reducing the cost of production of goods and services.with this cost of living will be low and all these issues of arm robbery,kidnappng,boko haram will be a thing of the past.

my own be say make dem kidnap jonathan oooo ..... I go really happy so dat dem go use blade mark e body esp his butt so dat wen he comes out he will have sense yl sitting on that sit

Tnk God u were released

doris said...

Indeed! it all boils down to our corrupt government who we the masses elected to protect our rights but are busy enriching themselves and their generations. These kidnappers should also go after the government officials and let the innocent citzens be.

Princess Dee said...

Kidnappers should please kidnap corrupt politicians n their families n leave innocent Nigerians alone.The situation in the country is really pathetic.You struggle to excel in the university n find it difficult to get a job....its really sad.There's no way u'll go to college in America n be jobless.

SIXTH TO COMMENT,PLS DEAR KIDNAPPERS KEEP UR PROMISE AND FACE THE SO CALLED POLITICIANS MILKING THIS COUNTRY,HUNT THEM DOWN SO THAT THEY WILL CLEAN UP THEIR ACTS AND RESTORE THE GLORY OF THE YOUTHS.IT IS HIGH TIME THEY GET A TASTE OF THEIR OWN MEDICINE.I DON'T SUPPORT EVIL O

His wife is short, fat and ugly! How are we sure he didn't organise this kidnapping of a thing just to get away from her - haha.

Ok. Bad joke. I'm glad he is home safely. It's a real pity that our graduates have to resort to such riidculously low levels to be heard. There are truly no jobs at all in this country. Everybody trades. Buy and sell. No manufacaturing. No jobs. And they keep reducing the number of banks in the country thus increasing the number of unemployed persons.

Advice to our young graduates. It is not by force to work in a bank to telco. Go and start something small and grow your own business and employ our future graduates Abeg! No more drug trafficking, kidnapping and travelling abroad for greener pastures.

A true leader was born probably in d last millennia. Unfortunately poverty probably killed him

Lord Denning said...

Stealing, looting & encouragement of other social vices would keep grinding our faces in d mud. We must either collectively change for d better, else we all wld be damned together.

Yet we still dey hear say dem go buy i phone worth 635million naira hmmmm, I pity d masses

otosyne said...

So kidnappers too nw want amnesty? Okay! it haf kuku baje finish!! Even our skool kids wud soon carry guns nd take to d street requesting amnesty! Afterall, ASUU has made dem idle naaa

Well talk federal Government shld do sumtin.many graduate evry day no job.

Tiana said...

Good one lovly dir group thou!

michelle said...

Hmmmm....thins re jez gettin anticlimactical in ds cz.only God knows what ds cz is turning to?kidnappin here n there,unmeployment,lack of security,poverty n so on.what exactly are d governments doing?*confused*

Thank God for ur life
www.blogsvila.blogspot.com

Kidnapping innocent people can never be justified, Nigeria is not the only country where things are tough but Nigerians will always find a reason to justify their bad deeds. I guess its also the lack of youth unemployment that is causing Nigerian youths in USA, UK, Malaysia, Singapore, Ukraine, Spain etc to be doing fraud and crime. It's such a shame because these kidnappers will never be arrested. Everybody wants quick money and no one wants to work, the system is rotten, Nigerians cant handle a democratic setting. We as a people are so lawless and wayward

bloglord i go wit u,all u mentioned is d order of d day in dis country,u spend more dan u get in a day,i fink gov shld do sumfin bf every dick and harry wil b at risk of kidnap chizzy

That's the point. insecurity everywhere,armed robbery attacks here and there, unemployment is now an order. The govt really needs to do something about this.

may god help us ooo

Somewhere now these guys are chilling counting the dough they collected with absolutely no rumourse for the lives they took during their operation. We are at war and we don't even know it

Make dem go kidnap d so called politicians

I see....guyz are getting deperate..must we all depend on government????

Prudent

I tot they r told not to speak on their ordeal or they wld be harmed again. Well, glad to know he's safe. I'm really scared of travelling, especially now that I know that they kidnap randomly!!

Nigerian is nt jus getting any better. Hw else kan youths solve dis problem. Dts y de go into kidnapping.God in heaven wen wil all dis stop.

deliliah said...

Exactly if they can kidnap the politicians instead of innocent pple,then there will be a change.

worried citizen said...

No Jobs in ds country, c me n my 2 brodas dat graduated wt 2nd class upper, we ve no jobs. We ve bn at home ever since. I'm so broke to d extent dat if I c #500 in a week I ll b very happy, I don't even ve a single penny in account. Ds real world is hard, if u don't ve connections or frm wealthy home. Anyways God dey, I m even luking for who ll borrow me 30k to start a small business now. I don't knw wat else to do.

oro di hun said...

The kidnapper's thought process and actions is a little plausible. The govt has never cared about the masses from the get go, so kidnapping every day individuals that are trying to make a living does not make the govt or politicians lose sleep. When kidnappers start kidnapping the law makers themselves or their kids, then they will make it a national and urgent issue to curb youth unemployment and all the basic amenities that are not available.... Please note I am totally against kidnapping but I just know our politicians from day one, have been all about "me, myself, I and maybe my family"... so it wont phaze nor move them when ordinary every day naijas are stolen... MY 2KOBO

tank God he z released!!!,let d govt do sth abt dis unemployment ish...

ray diuto said...

My first comment since i got addicted to this blog. It is unfortunate that we can't solve evil with evil, even as much as i want to support there 2015 action. Amnesty the usual cry for doing wrong, it is not an excuse to continue in shit. It is also unfortunate our environment doesn't encourage creativity towards a positive angel, that is why the youth is involved... our hope our future...i pray everyday that we all would realize our goal of making Nigeria habitable for each other... and at least cut down on materialism, that obsession that destroys us

Am really Happy for him

Kidnappers don humble dis arrogant man....life

whiteshadows said...

°˚˚˚°ºh Nigeria, Ɯατ̲ Ɯǝ̩̩̩̥
're experiencing is notin Compared †o Ɯατ̲'ll hit us Next. WS

First and foremost, Oga "human right fighter" I thank God for your life. Let God be the judge!!!

Amnesty indeed!this country is a joke so kidnappers are now asking/wishing for amnesty?is it not same country we all struggling and hustling on our own?if everyone start telling there stories it's always rough,it's lazy people that choose to do kidnapping ,harm robbing blah blah.....they should continue to live their lives inside the bush everyday is for thief one day is for the owner

Rosie Said....... This is exactly my point,that those people and their families who has had the experience of kidnapping should form a pressure group and demand an end to this dangerous situation. If kidnappers can be organized and carry out their evil activities with military precision how much more a government.The government of Jonathan should be ashamed of themselves.Instead going to River's state to show how powerful he is,let him use that show of power to crush kidnappers,armed robbery,boko haram,tackle bribery and corrucption,mend our roads,uninterrupted power supply, portable water,education,the list goes on and on,sometimes i just wonder if we will ever get it togeather as nation.

More doom to come untill Government provide job for the youth and stop this discrimination between HND holders and B.SC. After establishing Polytechnic and collecting school fees now government Ȋ̝̊̅§ saying ₪☺ job opportunity for HND holder. Last time Federal Civil Service recruit there Wα̲̅ڪ ₪☺ space for HND now Immigration Ȋ̝̊̅§ recruiting still ₪☺ space for HND and Ȋ̝̊̅§ the same government that established the institution. Linda pls help to tell the Federal Government (all those in power) as they are playing the music, they should be ready to dance to the tune of the music.

Ode

How does the random kidnapping of innocent Nigerians address the issue at hand? Intellectual indeed!

Ozekhome tell mr president! he is there chasing after Ameachi.

God bless u,

JONATHAN MUST DO SOMETHING OR GO.

I wish they go for those politicians that are eating our money and causing havoc in dis nation, instead of the innocent ones that are suffering it.

Linda you are ‎​​​so late to deliver this news.pls be prompt.

Thank God 4 his safe relaese!its only God that can touch d hrts of our leaders 2 do d rit tin 4dis contry cos deir hrts are in lutin 4 dire unborn generatns

Story, story.....

Hairess™ Human Hair said...

Wow! Thank God

What ever reason giving is not justify for some to use crime as excuse. In this same Nigeria a lot of young men and women are growing from zero to hero. The population of this country an advantage to us. All one needs to do is to identify a need and profer solution and he/she starts making money. These needs is everywhere if only we can think

Mike Ozekhome does nt deserve such treatment at all. He $ the likes of Olisa Agbakoba almost gave up their lives 4 d democracy we enjoy today. He sure deserves better.thank God 4 his release anyway.

Me I don't see any reaSon why hardworking nigerians should be kidnapped at random as a result of unemployment by the government. If the kidnappers think the government is the reason why dey are doing what they are doing, then they should kidnapp the peopLe in the government! The ones they think are corrupt!!!! They kidnapped a family friend and after the family paid millions they still haven't released till date! Its over a year now! And they are blaming the government and kidnapping civilians. I really don't unerstand! If they want to leave the jungle they should. No one knows who they are. All they are interested in is money from the fg and in their minds o they are getting justice. We all blame the government for everything but the corruption has eaten to the roots of this nation. Heads of committees down to secondary school level are all chopping money. The fact that the situation in the country is bad doesn't make you as a person lose ones sense of right and wrong!

I don't undestand why those that were in power when I was in primary school are still the ones there now.All I see is old men and old women that does not want to retire.When we av political student that graduate every year without any political appointment or office rather than kidnappers and other criminal acts.It is time for we Youths to wake up and protest against these nonsense going on if only we can come out as one.May God help us.

Fashola wud be there next victim......for rendering d youths of Lagos state jobless......

Why are the waiting until 2015! The kidnappers are just cowards , terrorising innocent citizens, no need to wait until 2015 start the revolution now.

Linda,pls do u award gifts 2 1st comment....dis 1st comment thing is really becoming a fight oooo.some people just say trash inoda 2 become 1st comment.wat av u said nw dat u said 1st comment,lolz.Oga gan oooo

Isi EWU!!!

Awwwwwe.....see the love. PDP fracas is more important to the govt now.stupid ppl

e bonto said...

We thank God dat he came out alive.

ifeanyi said...

They found out you are fighting for the masses and still collected #20 million naira from ur family.SMH.I believe this is a charade.There is more to it than that which meets the eye.#fingers crossed#.

Scobo said...

Na mtn #200 4 1st 2comment? See as dat one dey hapi lyk say e win lottery...Wen will Nigeria be a better country? Some of dis politicans can feed d whole nation yet dey stil steal more.Jeeeeze!

@anonymous 10:53, thanks. Still person dt shouted 1st to comment is just a nuisance

Let the government enjoy their wealth wella. enjoy it till it comes out of your nose. but don't forget...the consequence of your ill gotten wealth.. the cries of the masses and the curses hovering above your head...and that of your families...and unborn generations.. It is not like you care anywayz. I have said my own sha.

Dis story is not coherent first d kidnappers know d rich politicians and dia family y not go for dem secondly it will be madness to just pick people without profile its a waste of time and money and lastly how did he know d hours blind folded

Oboy! Dat kid dat wants to swallow fly means wot? Could it be Imagination or smtin else? World don spoil finish ohhhh

Organised kidnapping- Nigeria is in trouble!!!

Na die we dey ooo...

Can u pls get educated? How is this an intelligent statement? How have u helped or improved anyone's IQ? The rate of your retardation is apalling.

Teeteelahyo

And the way out is to attack helpless citizens as themselves? Tee

Please why is everyone leaving something out here? Mike Ozekhome was Farouks Lawan lawyer in the Otedola bribe scandal and blattantly lying and defending him saying he wasn't the one speaking in the recording. For bribe money, he was ready to defend a thief. Indirectly promoting coruption. Good for U. I hope they slapped you many times for that alone. Next time prosecute ppl like farouk, dont defend them.It'll make dis country better.

You say someone's rate of retardation is appalling and u spell your name "teeteelahyo" oh my!! Who is retarded???

loudmouth said...

Well said don't mind this illitrates that blame there personal loss on everybody,nd everything around them....#workhard,nd stop blaming ur misfortune on others..crime can neva b answer to crime.2wrongs don't make a ryt

................What!!!!!!!!

loudmouth said...

No reason to kidnap innocent people,aint u in d country too...yet urnot planning to kill nytime soon,or are u?

Nigeria government has always be the problem, we are in society where government do not care about what happens to its citizen, how can one go through all the struggles of acquiring a degree in order to get a job on for you for to get out of school after several years to be unemployed. the government sees the little children suffers day by day and they turn a blind eye, we operate a man know man thing, what of those who do not have who to help them? would they continue to wallow in poverty and pain?, I have never head of a corpse buried with money, all the money you stole will be left behind when die,dear government, wake up you have slept for too long!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

sdk's first lady said...

Yea yh its rare in Ghana bcos Ghana is a very small country,d population in lagos alone is far more dan d whole of ya country so definetely God will intervene cuz God loves Naija,Linda pls post my comment

They knew him; who dem dey tell dat one?After killing security agents. They knew him.