"James Ibori gave me $15million as bribe in 2007" - Nuhu Ribadu | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 20 September 2013

"James Ibori gave me $15million as bribe in 2007" - Nuhu Ribadu

Desperate to halt a probe into his finances, governor James Ibori tried to bribe former anti-corruption boss Nuhu Ribadu in 2007 with $15 million in cash in a bag so heavy one man alone could not lift it, Ribadu told a London court on Thursday.

Ribadu said he pretended to take the bribe because he wanted the cash as evidence to use against Ibori in a prosecution, but rather than keep the money for himself he had it taken straight to the Central Bank of Nigeria to be kept safe in a vault. Continue..

Ribadu told the court that about $1 billion flowed from federal government accounts into Delta State coffers during Ibori’s eight years in power, and he estimated Ibori had stolen or wasted more than half of that amount.

The charges to which Ibori pleaded guilty amount to the theft of about $80 million, but British prosecutors say that was only part of his total booty, which was kept hidden via a complex web of shell companies, offshore accounts and front men.

Ribadu, who was chairman of  Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) from April 2003 to December 2007, was giving evidence at a confiscation hearing in which prosecutors are seeking court orders to have Ibori’s assets seized.

Under Nigeria’s constitution, state governors enjoy immunity from prosecution but are limited to two terms in office. With the end of his second term looming in April 2007, Ibori was worried the EFCC were planning to prosecute him, Ribadu said.

“He was very desperate to terminate the investigation,” he told the court.
In late April 2007, a meeting was arranged between the two men at a “neutral place”, the house of Andy Uba, a close associate of former President Olusegun Obasanjo.

Ibori arrived at the house with several members of his staff and a very large black sack containing $15 million in cash. Ribadu said he watched as two of Ibori’s men lifted the heavy sack and handed it over to his own EFCC staff. “It was a bag that an individual could not carry alone,” he said.

The EFCC men drove the bag to the central bank where the money was counted and boxed into smaller containers. The court was shown photographs of the boxes of cash.

“I have given you money Nuhu, just give me my clearance,” Ribadu quoted Ibori as telling him after those events.

Instead, the EFCC continued to investigate Ibori’s affairs and had him arrested on corruption charges on December 12, 2007.

It will be recalled that the Delta state government had approached the court asking that the money belonged to the state government and should therefore be returned to the state. The EFCC are however opposed to the return of the money to the state.

The EFCC says that “that the said sum of $15 Million cannot be traced to any account owned or being operated by the Delta State Government or any of its agencies and officials”.

Source: Channels TV

129 comments:

Ribadu y u no talk since....flips hair walks away...1st to comment

owk I suggest they give the money to ASUU.

So, where is the money?

Na wa o..wetin only 1 man wan use almost $1b do?

Na wa ooo.. James Ibori is a criminal..

This just goes to show you how our politicians have impeded the progress of this country.
While Nigeria may have an almost unparalleled capacity to create clear-cut chances for success and better living for its citizens, but our avarice filled politicians have an equally astonishing ability to impede these chances because of their personal interests.

Bribe oshi! These men be chopping money! Well i pity an sha>>>

CLICK HERE! To see The brother killed by his brother in Onitsha

This is the man Nigeria said he is not guilty oh. Ha Naija!

ms k said...

How is dis news? Ibori stole but yet worked , are there no bigger thieves roaming d streets freely? Pls Ribadu should take several seats behind.

Jion us in the 2 Side Model Grand Finale
http://mfentertainment.blogspot.com/2013/09/2-side-grande-finale-2013-beauty-brains.html

1ders they say shall never end. Our dubious leaders !!

Mich said...

Yet,while he was governor,there were people in Delta state who couldn't afford three square meals nor had access to clean drinkable water and other basic amenities.
My heart bleeds for my country,no one man should be this greedy.
We all know Mr.Ribadu is on a vengeful course against Ibori and the PDP,he didn't have to testify in a British court.
The so-called British prosecutors seeking to confisticate Ibori's assets are going too far with this,by confisticating his assets they mean keeping it for themselves yeah?
In the end,it serves Mr.Ibori right...the tears of the masses didn't go under the bridge.

shut up joor why did u say dis then ...wat use is d news nw ..naija politician

Ona Twins said...

Hmmmmm.

So what is going to happen to the money? Wil it be used or burnt?
Beautiful Monster

NO COMMENT

Nuhu Na turn by Turn ur turn wnt pass u..Na u good pass?

hehe...me yaaay.. all d way from pjs7/2

Big thief! Small thief!

cool...

the first la..all d way from pjs7/2

jimsking said...

curuption in high places imagine the bag is so heavy that 1 person cannot carry it lol

Ibori ....,..na small small odas them they carry am u don over do ur own.

nawao... these same leaders would be the ones to preach against corruption. just waiting for our oga at the top to finish his tenure

rotimee said...

Na fire go burn all these people!!

@Valdonclint said...

Chaaai! I wish I was Ribadu, i 4 carry dat money dissapear 4 life. See money oooo. Poverty na bastard

And Andy Uba wants to rule us in Anambra State. Mbanu! U can't empty our coffers.

If he says $15m, then it must have been more like $30m. I don't trust any Naija policeman.

Why is he coming out now. He should keep quiet.

I hope its true

AND WHAT HAPPENED TO THE MONEY AFTER IT GOT TO CENTRAL BANK???????

anu solanke said...

most times the bigger thieves join in executing judgement on the smaller thieves...
though thief na thief but dem still plenty for our country.
ibori needs to serve as deterrent to others.

Nigeria political leaders una go suffer for hell oo,serious suffer awaits you.So,he go better for una make u carry the money along when u die,make u dey bride for hell too. Ashiwere

etochi21 said...

So who gets the money????????

It shall be well with 9ja..........Linda post my comment oooo

Joyan said...

This is serious! Someone else'll fall into this trap. Nigerian Govt. *Smh*

More problem for ibori

anu solanke said...

he will surely serve as deterrent to others.

Ibori!!! Well Ribadu u try sha, with such amount of money u didn't sell ur conscience!!!

Ribadu strikes me as the kind of man that should lead Nigeria. Not the "one" who says he is afraid of mentioning names of corrupt individuals. I'm happy i voted for Ribadu in the last election. Perhaps when its time for the next election, my dear fellow Nigerians would know that it takes more than the lack of shoes to be a decent president. Perhaps then we can have some decent progress and leave or current apology of a ruler behind. The world has left naija behind . Lets move forward abeg.

SO IF THE MONEY CAN NOT BE TRACED TO ANY ACCOUNT OF THE STATE GOVERNMENT, IS IT THEN TRACED TO IBORI'S PERSONAL ACCOUNT. I BEG THEY SHOULD RETURN THE MONEY TO THE STATE GOVERNMENT. NUHU REALLY WANTS TO EAT THE MONEY AND NOT DO THE JOB. IF YOU DON'T LOVE CORRUPTION, DO NOT TAKE BENEFIT FROM THE PROCEED OF CORRUPTION. I DON'T BLAME THE NORTHERNERS, OUR SOUTHERNERS ARE BIG TIME FOOLS, LOW LIFE THIEVES WITH NO GOOD KNOW HOW.

Smh! Who knws wa d nxt 1 wud b

shilli said...

Happy birthday linda ikeji,m ur faTtest Fan all d way 4rm Namibia, 4 all uv done in my country,May d gods be u,may u marry d man u sed u wan marry,u will marry that marry,and children many childs in africa,I loves you

IkwerreBoy said...

Is James Ibori the only one? Don't just be a Victim in Nigeria else the grievances they've swallowed from others will be placed on your shoulders. Is Nuhu Ribadu a saint is he corruption free? Which Nigerian Politician hasn't moved money abroad? both past and present? I wish they can mess more politicans up just the same way they are doing Ibori.

Ibori really duded delta St. He deserves his present punishment.

Wow,a staggering $15M,worse still,in cash,all his loot can never be retrieved......Trust GEJ would rather grant this idiot amnesty rather than have him tried. Too much money in the south-south,yet,no development. Cursed country-Nigeria.
Herqeen

This Ribadu man is d only Nigerian dead or alive that I trust not to be corrupt and really for anti-corruption. My view

DannYchukS said...

Hmmmm! That's a large sum of money o as a bribe and also a good evidence..

Smh!!!! Dis man na thief sha!!! !! Left delta soo undeveloped!e desrves wats happenin 2 him nw!! Mtvhw!!! Oda corrupt officials shud learn frm his experience!! Shame on nigeria's judiciary! *ONYX GODWIN*

Na now ribadu wan confess abi?-_-

Sorry man "Dike Anaaaaa!!!

prince d preacher said...

@ Nuhu and Efcc i disagree wit u guys. Since d money was taken by deir former Gov, it shld be returned dere. Abi una don chop am?

See as dem dey call money... Na wa ooo

adorable jewel said...

So why is did dis issue resurface again????? We all know dat ibori is a criminal to d core****even d devil himself marvels @ his acts

Yemmie Oscar said...

This man ehn. Choi!

Yemmie Oscar said...

This man ehn. Choi!

Cweamy said...

So what's EFFC going to do with the money since they won't give it back to the state. All I'm waiting for is for that useless horned Uduagan tenure to end because the foolish idiot is just spending the state money on him and his family, the state is looking like is still in the 20's. No good roads or anything good to write about, sorry Ibori is going through all this right now but he's way better than the yeye short Uduagan 100times even thou he stole our money.

Make quick cash from home, open the link below
http://MegaStoon.Com/?share=33628

http://sms.megastoon.com/sms.php?share=33628

Damochedxb said...

THE MONEY CANNOT BE TRACED TO ANY DELTA STATE GOVERNMENT ACCOUNT INDEED. I AM ALSO SURE WE ALSO CANNOT TRACE IT TO THE CENTRAL BANK WHERE IT WAS ALLEGEDLY TAKEN TO. THIEVES!!! YOU ARE ALL THIEVES.

that's small money compared to others he stole. this same Ibori gave my friend's girl thousands of pounds in London, Ibori so spent money on her that she never came back to my friend. so many other things he did with people's girlfriends. ibori likes peoples girlfriends he is never satisfied with the ones given to him. men with power. pit of HELL is your destiny including your household.

Ribadu must be one Special Nigerian. Believe me if I was in his position I may have done otherwise ie carry the sack of money on my head n head home! He is truly a man of integrity

BUT WHY? WHY ARE OUR LEADERS SQUANDERING ALL THIS MONEY?? HOW ABOUT THE POOR? WHY ALL THIS WASTE AND NOT ONE THING IN PARTICULAR IS PERFECT OR WORKING IN OUR COUNTRY? WHY NIGERIA? WHY?!

O ga oo...oga ibori this ur case na only God go free u o..DQ

wooooow!

nawoooooooooooo,naija gov i dey salute

Nawo!oooo can u imagine d kind ☺f̶̲̥̅̊ money they are mentioning $ some people are seeking for jst one sequel meal 2 eat! Wђã†̥ shall it profit a man 2 hav again all d whole world $ lose his soul@ Ibori Vanity upon vanity!

Jeff said...

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!

This pple call figurs like is rice and stew

Is wahooooooo,person dy jail dem still dy draw robe,make dem just poison am nahhhh#long mtcheeeeeew#

Naija babe said...

Hmmmm........... Odikwa very risky. See d kinda money these ppl are bribing demselves with.
Welldone Nuhu, Very few Nigerians will do what u have done.
After now, Oga Badluck Jona will say the masses are corrupt. See corruption staring him in d face, but of course he wont do anything about it. Cursed shoeless fellow.

Bloody thieves.

-Blunt Ibo boy-

BlackLight said...

Like seriously, you don't have to "try" to bribe me with $15M ..you will succeed

I give it to Nuhu Ribadu, he's strong willed.

BlackLight said...

Like seriously, you don't have to "try" to bribe me with $15M ..you will succeed

I give it to Nuhu Ribadu, he's strong willed.

TangoTangoAlpha said...

Just imagine the conversion - 2 Billion, 4 Hundred million naira. Linda, lets go join politics oh, else dem go finish the nations wealth while we are here joking with each other.......

What has now happened to the money...... 1st 2 comment

Dj Movik said...

From governors house to Uk prison...dat one sef nice.

hmmmmm....

i-bot said...

hmmmm.....

Noms said...

Nuhu Ribadu, na only Ibori give you bribe abi? If the money can't be traced to any account so what your proof of him stealing the said amount from my state account? Ibori theif but nor be him theif pass. Let him serve his term,what your point,that his jail term be elongated? if you were so good at your job why are so many ex-governors walking free in naija? I am not in support of government officials stealing public funds,all am saying is let them all be brought to book. This Ibori sef,ogidigborigbo 1 of Africa, how e be now? May God help you. You tried for our state no doubt, but. . .

Sane Mind said...

I dont give a flying fuck bout any of your stories because all you politicians are corrupt,,okay what happened to all the money you recovered as EFCC chairman?,,see Nigerians are wiser now we see through you guys,i dont suport you nor Ibori your whole drama is like the kettle calling pot black...Since 2015 is around the corner you all want to sway us with hollier than thou attitude,,to hell with all you failed leaders and politicians..God bless my beloved country(NIGERIA)

icejoself said...

since 2007, wen water don almost finish under brigde, where all dis dey wen dem discharge?

80 million dollars? Jus for one human being in naija? To wat end? He wil com bak frm jail one day n wil end up in de national assembly. Lets watch!

Dis man don finish ibori.

kunle said...

wow this is good. This is the kind of person who should spearhead this country from corruption and other indiscipline.Real Secrets to weightloss and healthy eating

Chiek said...

Choi! Just give me half of the dough! PLssss

Criminals

Someone_special said...

What happened to the $15million?

Na now u wan talk abi,y u no talk since..smhhhh

Dolly P said...

Truth is in Nigeria only small amount of people can be trusted and politicians cant be trusted Nuhu u also cnt be trusted. that been said, I think Ibori was a very greedy bastard. How much of the country's wealth can you syphone. The UK is still investigating more n more of this idiot's assets acquired by sheer stealing of the country's resources. They ll all pay the price

oya take the money to charity. Mumu people

(twitter/instagram)

Hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda you dey see monumental corruption for this nation so Ribadu rejected 15 million dollars o boy na wa o dat guy try sha becos if na me i no sure say i fit refuse oo truly ribadu,s tenure in efcc was the best.
To think that the foolish Andy Uba arranged the corruption meeting s shows how corrupt Andy uba is and he wants to rule Anambra bloody criminal.
If ibori could bribe with 15million dolls only God knows how much he stole thiefi thiefi jankoliko how are u shame

Na wa ooo dey hv dis huge amount of moni and dey can't pay ASU der moni.... Na wa for dis country

bbm pin 23491053 said...

Nuhu or mumu please stop being wise here. You are more corrupt than ibori. You gave cbn the money because you heard that the money will be a setup. Listen and listen carefully, that money belongs to delta state and not for kano or nigeria. Efcc my ass. Cheers. Engr Emy.

Jennykiss said...

And now the Truth is revealed...EVER SHAMELESS GREEDY DEVILS!!

All of them na d same if they were in his shoes dey would do same but am not supporting it sha just saying

If efcc won't return d cash sayin it's untraceable to delta state so what is ribadu's point?y is he a witness?wat govt did Ibori steal d money from,na from Ogun?idiots n crooks!

so where is the money currently????

son church said...

the last paragraph quotes the EFCC saying that the money could not be traced to any account owned or operated by the delta state govt , that means the money belongs to Ibori , since they cant prove other wise so therefore they should give the money back to him and secondly why was the money not shown live in court as evidence , pictures can be deceptive

Prince,I really want to no what's on ur picture display,I hav tried zooming,it aint clear,I am curious

Stale news

Hehehe.......na man u be. Engr Ngzee.

If EFCC says the money cannot be traced to any Delta state's government account or agency, then the money should not be said to have been laundered from the Delta state's government.
Ibori should be freed or charged on a different ground.

Swear down! @funkiedipsy

Shattap yeye man y didn't you talk since Ibori is better than you atleast he won't use the money to sponsor Jihad

Yawn

sQo said...

LOOOL yeah

Thot u were gonna fart as usual after flipping ur hair...bitch

U r a FOOL ms K

U follow be Fool...No be only ms K

Michael u be mumu..hav u ever heard anytin called 'Evidence'

U r a FOOL ms K

Na wah! For some of u guys! Dont you watch or read news? Nuhu Ribadu is nt just confessing, dis is old news! He's in court to testify on the fresh updates(move to seize his assets) of course the british govt is looking for reasons to take over.
Hw many people will get that amount in bribe and not take it? U have to give the man credit for being strong willed. U shld even give him more credit that some of you are hearing it here for the first time. Goes to mean he dint refuse the money for show! I am proud i voted him during the last election. He is the man! @Anonymous 8.26pm you are a goat! Shame on ur pea sized brain! Mumu!

Na who be this impoverished idiot? Nuhu get turn for not taking the bribe abi? Animalistic creature!

This matter has always been in the news and Okonjo confirmed the money has since been lodged at the CBN. Are you guys Nigerians? This issue has never been a secret nau, haba!

How did he try for our State ehn?

Emy my ass! Go pick the money at CBN.

Anon 2:24pm, shut ur stinking mouth! Na northerners no be thieves abi? U sound so uninformed, idiot!

milecar said...

This is really nice article for best bankruptcy that i wont to be wanting from sturdy. As Bankruptcy attorney lawyer ar acquainted with all the state rules and laws, they will greatly assist you in resolution your financial problems.

Reading the comments here shows why Nigeria cannot develop. The ignorance and stupidity of the average Nigerian is beyond description. I read people here making fun of Ribadu. No one really appreciates the depth of patriotic zeal that made Ribadu stand up to these looters and reject their bribes. Rather than being honored, several comments vilify Ribadu. People in this country are too idiotic to know a hero when they see one. It is useless trying to work for Nigeria. One is better off looting and supporting the thieves in authority. Standing for the masses is foolhardy. Nigeria: an accursed country with over 160 million morons!

Janelicious said...

This shows hw our nig money is been wasted by our so called leaders,with dis just imagine what oda are doing with nig money.y the poor masses are jobless.

Ribadu is a blood clat thief..

Nigeria is one country entangled in an
overpowering web of corruption and
destructive greed.

When one man steals about half of an
entire state allocation for two years, that
isn't just greed but a destructive one.

Nigerians are the reason why Nigeria will
not make meaningful progress. I believe
there are people who dont want this
country liberated as that will cut them off
from the pot of corruption where they
feed fat.

This same Ibori was celebrated in
absentia on his birthday elaborately. The
turn out of Chiefs and gaily dressed men
was astonishing. And to think the life of a
man who refused to be bribed in the
course of his duty was threatened.... I
wonder what the future holds for the
country.

Do visit Leyejisola.blogspot.com
Its a rights, health and beauty blog

@cweamy, I agree with u. Of all d souther n governors during ibori's time he performed better than them all. He is 100 times better than Uduaghan. Uduaghan has never done any project since he came into power, only commissioning d projects ibori did. Mind u Odili is the greatest thief ever with igbinedion that never even did anything for Edo state when he was in power. Ibori stole but worked too. His only problem was stepping on GEJ toes hence his travail.

Mummy E said...

All these non deltans should just keep dia rotten mouth shut cos u know nothing happening in delta! Ibori stole just as u will steal if placed in his position and he worked just as he stole! Where has dis idiot Ribadu been all dis years, y speak now? He is a fool just as his supporters! Ibori is d best governor delta has ever had, even though he stole. Who doesn't steal? D fact dat u were not caught doesn't spare u. Even d so called Ribadu is a chronic thief! Deltans love Ibori and we pray for his freedom daily! Its our money dat was stolen, we aint complaining, it was d son of d soil dat stole it so Ribadu kiss your ass! Thief n traitor like u

Wow....if this is the mentality our generation has, then we are doomed

I shuddered to think what will happen in our great state come 2015. Violence....it has already begun...

Chiamy N said...

ohk o... neva tot this day will come but i totally support Bonario... Abeg since the money cannot be traced, give it to ASUU let's deal and be done with that issue...

They should give the money to asuu,n use some of the money to repair our road n school,hospital.if the money enter into the hand of government eeh eeh.goodluck n his cabinet will share it as usual

@jecintha uyo or wateva u call urself'u re BIG FOOL of d highest order fuck u big time goat

NA WAH OOOOOOOOOO!!!