Borno govt planning to demolish 20 churches & Christian schools in the state | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 September 2013

Borno govt planning to demolish 20 churches & Christian schools in the state

The Borno State government is planning to demolish at least 20 churches and christian schools in Maiduguri after acquiring land they say they want to use for a 1000-unit housing estate.

Demolition notice has been served to the present occupants of the acquired land, which includes owners of farmlands and several churches and schools built by churches. The state government have already dispatched a notice to the leadership of the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) and the Pentecostal Fellowship of Nigeria (PFN)

Some people feel like the government isn't really planning to build any housing estate, just looking for an excuse to destroy the churches and private schools, with the alleged grand plan of gradually islamising the state as part of an alleged wider plan to Islamise the northern part of Nigeria.

An information leaflet on the acquisition plan from the State Ministry of Lands and Survey has been released. Find it after the cut...

The leaflet, entitled Notice of Acquisition and assessment/valuation of structures on proposed site for 1000 Housing Units along Gubio Road Highway,  reads:
"I am directed to refer to you farmers and holders of structures on the proposed site for caption matter above and regret to inform you that the Executive Governor has on the power conferred on him by Section (2)b of the Land Use Act 1978 has directed through high powered committee on Construction Ref. no: HPCC/2500/HE/S/TEC/1 to notify you of his intention to acquire your farm lands and assessment/valuation of the structures on the proposed site situated along Gubio Road, Maiduguri.
"The acquisition is necessary in view of requirements of the land by the state government for overriding public interest to construct Housing Estate. The affected farmers and holders of structures are to take note and appear on site for the above exercise, please.”

Meanwhile the General Secretary of CAN , Dr. Musa Asake, has reacted to the planned demolition. He said:
“We have seen the  eviction notice from the Borno State Government. We are all Nigerians and there are other places where the State Government can develop. The areas being earmarked for demolition are already developed with churches and schools.

“We have enough problems at hand and we don’t want to add another problem. Christians have suffered enough in Borno State. If the State Government wants to destroy churches and build any Housing Estate, no Christian will see it as a sign of progress.

“As soon as we authenticate the source of that letter, we are going to reach out to the State Government to make sure that Christians don’t lose their churches and lands there. But we have no reason to doubt the source of that letter. We have suffered enough in Borno State and enough of all these things which are coming in another disguise.

“Borno State Government should reconsider that decision to demolish Churches and their properties because in Borno State, there are many vast lands. They should do that instead of going to these areas where Christians have settled for long. We are asking the Borno State Government not to try it.” Asake said.

133 comments:

Evil people

this religion issue tho....

Janelicious said...

so they want to demolish the few churches the is remaining in that dat.

well its their land and they are entitled to do with it what ever they want.this shows that the division has already started.

Hmmm.. You all can see the shit been dished out to the northern christians? And you still say Nigeria is one? Hmm..

Folarin Akin said...

No man or state government can fight with God...Borno state Government is not and can never be half of what Babylon was, But when Nebuchadnezzar tried God, He went insane and later n Babylon was destroyed.

I will never understand why muslims are so EVIL!!!

Is this a joke? I will just wanna watch them go ahead with this first and see.

Rough Diamond said...

Y jst christains?
Evil pple!
#Racistthem

prince d preacher said...

can dey divide dis country so dat we all go

Linda abeg delete @anon 2:41pm
Meanwhile may God help us all amen!
Abeg Muslim ppl shud try and accommodate Christians in their communities. Let us reach out to them pls

Am sure no musilm will go heaven

D1 heritage said...

A religion that allows a 70 year old man to sleep with a 10 yr old girl,what wouldn't u expect from such practice ...

The governor is A̶̲̥̅ real BOko Haram man. Very senseless people.

Hmmmmmmmmmmm, end times

Nigerians dnt forget dat some one will still sit n eat dis money generated,religion no money ooo

God help them

Chris said...

So now we see that Boko haram doesn't just have a face and sponsor, the Governor has decided to "assist" them in their plan. If this is true that means that Governor can't hide his hatred for Chistians who have showed that despite all d prosecution, they are prospering and flourishing in geometric progression. Since the Goverment has decided to be used by the Devil, so be it.

SUNSHINE said...

Destroy everything.
mosques inclusive.
Religion is a big nightmare. the sooner people wake up from their useless slumber, the better.

only God knws best...

only God will help us frm dis evil muslims

Silly reasons... Prolly y the boko haram crew luv d state

I pity all those igbo people dat goes to yoruba hausa land to build houses cos all dis lazy daft dirty yorubas and hausa will collect evrytin u own in their place wen war start if na me I rather destroy d house I built dere dan allow dirty stinking lazy hausas and yorubas collect my hard earn money or house

@Anon 2:41pm how has what you just said solve any issue? You are part of the problems of these Nation. You are no better than the evil boko haram you all condemn. Control your tongue.

Janelicious said...

wicked and evil set of people, this is not the maiduguri i use to know.

As if boko haram hasn't done enough damage.The executive there are really delirious and can only drag that state towards a point of complete break down of law and order.....even an old person with senile dementia can see the polarization along religious lines happening here#pierre

Queen Trendy said...

Gosh! This people are mad! What?

Owells said...

Very unfortunate,don't no why our leaders just wake up and tink of how to make life easy for just themsselv only ... We don't leaders , may God help us ooooooo ,Linda .. God blesss for the info ... Doing my sis

even if he likes let him chase all d christains in his state,we dat take him 2 heaven.everytyn ends in dis world.i pity dat governor bcos he thnks he wl liv in dis world 4eva.vanity upon vanity.

Dey rnt entiled to do wat dey want bcz der r indigenies of borno state who r christians who own houses, skuls and also worship in churches within d area marked out for demolition.

You can say northerners are evil and animals but not muslims. There is a difference between religion and ethnic gruop. Please mind your language and stop posting what you formulated yourself @anonymous.

Nigeria ooo i weep for my mothers land

Jerome Etim said...

if dem born am well make him try am... i wud tk dis news has jus rumour. how abt d mosques & arabic schs in d south? #because if such happens definately, dey wud b repercussion and retaliations from the south...

OMG, the person who issued this statement cannot construct English properly. What sort of country is this? Worsening is the fact that the Governor is purportedly excersing his powers under section 2 of the Land Use Act arbitrarily. The excercise of that power to demolish structures is not in the public interest. it is bias and overrides completely the religious rights of people in the location. i recall, they say they can marry any girl of any age because their religion permit them and it is a constitutional right to practice a religion of your choice but here on the other side, they are trampling on other peoples' right to their religion by destroying their churches and schools. They come down here to the south to practice Islam but no one can freely practice Christianity in their states. God help us all.

ify ogwude said...

Its not "their" land. The north isn't totally muslim like people tend to believe. At least it definitely isn't predominantly muslim. This is just stupid. And as always I hope its a hoax.
But bauchi is a useless place. Why is anyone still there? No vex oh...bauchi lovers...

End time tins..

It is not their land to do as they please wen there are miles and miles of virgin lands waiting to be developed and turned into estates. Well maybe they should just go ahead to Islamize the north and see the wide gap they would have from the South.
When they need visa to enter the South, their eyes go clear...

ANYA IKENGA said...

OUR STUPID GOVERNORS WILL NOT ACQUIRE LAND WHERE THEY HAVE MOSQUES. FEAR FEAR PEOPLE.

If only these Muslims can see what they are turning their religion into: A disease! They have refused to leave the medieval ages, and won't let any other group/religion progress. They blow themselves up as well as others at the slightest perceived provocation, take up arms in a flash and even gas themselves up (see Syria and Iraq before). More than half of the world's conflicts were either initiated or are being propagated by Muslims. A religion where the majority of its female adherents are treated like dirt..Their very actions contradict their mantra: "Islam is a peaceful religion". The Christians should endeavor to reason with the Borno State Govt no matter how impossible that may seem in order to avoid their blood being shed.

Hw is it dia lands?..or why didn't the Plateau state government collect lands that are occupied by muslims...lets face d facts,,christians r naturally peace lovin n diz wicked pple r takin us 4 granted..

It is not their land to do as they please wen there are miles and miles of virgin lands waiting to be developed and turned into estates. Well maybe they should just go ahead to Islamize the north and see the wide gap they would have from the South.
When they need visa to enter the South, their eyes go clear...

issorite let the war being,useless pple

is all this necessary..kmt..this people just want to steer up unnecessary religious complications. they sholud deal with the BH rather do more harm

kiki said...

Mosque should be demolished too.

Borno State Govt....why persecutest thou me???...Your Maker

James said...

Can't say I can expect anything less from the so-called "Religion of Peace"

nzubeizuu said...

Demolition or no demolition, D Church will continue to march on and the gates of hell shall never prevail against it.

Religious matter

Nigeria Islamic state of Sharia,

Icant wait for that country to split

Ndi ara...lekwa ha

wat do u mean by its der land? Nigeria is 4 evri 1 n evri 1 has a say

cj said...

boko haram,people that hate christianity.they want to rule this country...evil people...

No matter the situation Christians find themselves, they still grow on like them that remine static. We don't fight for our God but what they don't know that our God will fight for us. The God that we service does not sleep or slobber.

so if its nt dat churchs an skuls de will nt develop borno abi lias de should opun up say dat de dont wan christian in dia state so dat we will knw dis is 1 of de ting dat mek me hate muslims bcurs in our state de are gvin fredom to do wat so eva de wan or like bt in dia state na hatred fighting, bombing, killing an so on de should divide dis country so dat i will knw wer i am enof of all dis mes

Enemies of peace....always luking for a way to heat d country up.Dey seem to 4get dere re muslims n mosques in oda states too...mtchw

Miss Bee said...

One by one, the God fathers and sponsors of Boko Haram will start showing their faces.....I aint saying nothing!!

God will judge..evil pple dey will die soon IJN

Linda wetin I do u na...y u no dey post my comment huh?

May d lord arrest ur heart!

teewhy izzy said...

Christaina sef leave there make una come demolish their mosques

Well,,, He has mental Problems!!! God will build His church and the gate of hell will not prevail!!! So He can't do nothing...

@Bobo_Edo

Land does not belong to religion,it belongs to people
There is no govt even in Nigeria that decides to demolish an already developed area to build estates,they use virgin lands.
U are clearly one of them let God have mercy on your soul

so what is can trying to say now

Woah! What a wicked souls.

My dear this is not the start.
From d senstor that sent them money and said he sent it to them for sallah ram,I already knew.
When they run out of christians to kill they will turn on themselves,its already happening and is in full swing in some Arab countries

pwitie B said...

No oda place 2 build bt on lands which christains have occupied ad developed*pathetic muslims

God will certainly expose all the sponsor of BOKO HARAM

Dis is jst anoda islamic disguise,wit all d land in dat state

lol @ housing estate. For whom abeg.

So shall God demolish his generation

. . . Benue state governor planning 2 demolish all d mosque in benue state,how's dat OLODO OSHI! Idioit try am nau,na God go punish u....linda post my comment or..................

didabliz said...

...'I WILL BUILD MY CHURCH N D GATES OF HELL SHALL NOT PREVAIL AGAINST IT'!!!...NOBODY CAN FIGHT GOD; TRY N C D CONSEQUENCES!...

Boko Haram members, Evil ppl God is watching u all.

Patience God we serve!!!! Lord av mercy on them.

I am a firm believer that Nigeria remains a strong nation as a united entity and that is a fact but the way things are getting out of control each passing day leaves me no choice than to start to evaluate our Unity as a nation, if balkanization of the Entity called Nigeria may not necessarily solve our problems but has the ability to reduce the problems to a manageable state then i think it is best we start to consider it. We cannot continue to co exist in this manner and all the glory is just termed at how we are perceived outside but back home things continue to fall apart. It is not as if we will all die if we split. We will still have problems in our respective Republic of Northern Nigeria and Republic of Southern Nigeria but it will be greatly reduced to a manageable level.

pixiedust said...

U guys are dumb...how many mosque do d muslims have in the east...u pple never sell ur land to d northerners but u are always quick to criticise... its their land and that is what they plan to achieve...PS..u have so much hate for dem but no be all of dem bad, just like its not all eastern n western pple dat are prostitutes and arm robbers. and yes am a christain.

Oloriburuku

Evil....

Janelicious u r a consistent poster like it...kip it up

Even as they show their faces, what's repercussion or punishment are they receiving? None!

You people will break this country the way you are all going. And you know who the losers are, all of you. When there is war, even internet becomes luxury.

We need to build a free society, one where everyone respects everyone's rights and I do not try to harm you in order to glorify myself or anything I believe in. Unless we build a free society, one day it is the christians that would be oppressing themselves (like the Catholics did against the Protestants in the middle-ages).

The right thing to do if the plan is genuine is to relocate and restore these people you are displacing. Anything short of that is injustice.

Let's stop this hypocrisy and start seeing ourselves as human beings. We all hear of people who've been to hell, do u know anyone who has been to heaven and back?

Muslims are nt accomodating at all, in other state down south east n west we find mosque built dere @ strategic sites even, no one hs ever taught of demolishing it. Islam hs always n will always be a very violent religion. Perverts!!!!!!

Is funny how people rule
like am the head of state
don't care mm... Remember
what goes around comes around
God is watching

Jesus will always fight for his own.....the more you fight Good,the more it blossoms....Rev 5:5----»Children of God weep NO MORE,for the LION OF THE TRIBE OF JUDAH is ABLE!!!

Boko haram

Boko haram

This just shows that the government is part of boko Haram wahala in tha state! Foolish people

Signs of end time

Chigozirim said...

Na only churches and schools owned my churches dey there?? Don't want to make this a religious issue. But seriously o, I am all for One Nigeria but can't all this Christians relocate to the east or at least safer places?? Forget about dying, life isn't worth living in fear jare.

I'm Nigerian and Muslim, and this kind of stupidity really drives me mad! Why are these people so backwards?! This is why Nigerian should just be broken up, if these people want an Islamic state then give them that and tell them to go. Nigeria is NOT a Muslim country!

Wonn ti e to beh! I bet!

Huh? Ori e ti daru! Oponu oshi!

smh said...

I am so sorry but the more that comes out of muslims these days, the more they prove the religion is a violent and evil one. It is so sad. Why in heaven's name would I want to practice a religion that has been preaching nothing but bloodshed, forceful- do- it- my way- or die- way of living and slavery since I was ever able to understand teachings, read and write. Nothing good has ever come out of islam. That is what I have been surrounded by and it is not a perception but a nitemare i am actually living... horribly sad

Makes me appreciate my country South Africa even more we have so many tribes but we are so united that you wouldn't even know,we celebrate one another in terms of culture and religion but looking at Nigeria it's sad how the country is so divided I see it on this blog everyday we all have red blood and no one is superior to another wake up people don't let the white man win lets stand a united front!

Jesus is the only way,truth and life.If the governor owns his life,let him continue....So its only where they have churches and christain schools the mapped out for demolition?What are we fighting for?What religion preaches peace...like they said "Religion of Peace my foot"#TeamJesusIsLordForever#

And it is also not muslims in pakistan, Egypt, iraq and everywhere else there is trouble

Fast n pray n go to court. Jesus the just judge will step in

why are muslims always threatened by Christians. nawa for them o. so insecure in their religion. no one is saying u should not practice your religion sha do it with your selves. you dont need to involve the whole world or oppress the whole world. if everyone starts oppressing everyone how would we move forward. nawa for you people.

Lord Lugard o! y u no just allow dis northerners go their own way in 1914 eh!y r christians still in that place, let them go, nigerians should give them what they want and let them go! but that presidency of 2015...they will nver get there! if they like let them kill d whole nigeria, no northener will sit on that presidency chair! bloody useless people, evil religion! gosh

Whatis wrong with the borno state Governnor,with all the destruction of lives and property caused by boko haram over these years, this is the sorry he's supposed to Say to the citizens For not being able to do the job he plaged to do. If he thinks he can fight christains just like the boko haram did then let's see wat Comes out of this.

best said...

I was expecting our muslim brothers and sisters to coment on this because I want to know their views over this matter. In my state, muslims block the streets every friday for their prayers. We allow them because we love them as our fellow Nigerians. Dividing this country will be easier if the northerns agitate for it so that they can islamise their country.

And they are gradually eating deep.

Religion of peace indeed and @anon 3:14 I think u re a senseless igbo man riff raff like u

The truth is, christians are just too weak to stand up for what they believe. In sudan, christian changed their names and religion to get jobs or gain admissions before their independence because of this lukewarm attitude. I pray it doesn't hapen in nigeria.

Boko Haram's attack on churches has been quiet of recent, so demolishing the churches is a way of finishing what they started.

Fresh hatred 4 islam....FG should arrest dat hermaphrodite cos datz a clear evidenz dat he is a member of boko boko******_HENRY_******

It's times like this I thank God I am not from the north.

2ru talk my brother.

Service? Slobber? Na wao, u better leave linda's blog and go back to school

The gate of hell will never prevail against the Church,go ahead, we shall live to see what becomes of you people not long from now

I dont knw if d churches and schools occupy the land legally and followed due process. If yes, there is no cause for alarm. 'Valuation' was mentioned in d notice given by d state govt: meaning there is going to be settlement/compensation. If d govt is acting in 'good faith', they wld easily av seen dat it is cheaper and saner to develop virgin land. If not...God av mercy. NB: Im all for d northerners except for their perception of 'religion'. Follow Peace with all men...

God bless u real good!!!!

@ sensationalleryne
#WORD#
Anyone who tries the children of God, God will fight them
Heartless fellows @ Northern Muslims (most)

God will help us us in this country. www.eaglesempire.com

Patalex said...

The worse thing that has happened to humans on earth is Islam. That religion is from hell itself. I hate those paedophiles, murders, devils. Nothing good can ever come out of Islam.

Lwkmd!u go fear english-"on Like them".u really need english coaching,mstcheew!

I'm disappointed @ d way d press peddles news. Invariably, you whip up religious sentiments and cause unnecessary suspicion btw muslims nd xtians. D way d news is written clearly points 2 dis. U re obviously on 'one side' seeking to malign d 'other side'..it is hightime we sat down and asked ourselves what we rily want?

@ Pixiedust:de You might not know it but there are Borno indigenous Christians. They don't need to buy the land as they are part owners of the land. The point being made is that there are other places that could be developed that would not affect the fragile peace in the state.

Religion of peace indeed and @anon 3:14 I think u re a senseless igbo man riff raff like u

WHY DO PPL LIKE TANNISHING THE IMAGE OF ISLAM? DO U,THOSE INSULTING ISLAM, REALLY KNOW ISLAM?IT'S A PITY. ISLAM IS D GREATEST GIFT ONE CAN EVER HAVE IN LIFE.READ UOR BIBLE ND GET A COPY OF A TRANSLATED QUR'AN. ONLY THE TRUTH SHALL SET YOU FREE

Every authority that is in rebellion to the Kingdom of God through Jesus Christ must be destroyed and removed

One fool @Anonymous 3.31pm said Bauchi,when the topic is Borno.

Patalex we have also seen how @good@ your own religion is. A religion where pastors sleep with their flock( Pastor of COZA and co.A religion where priests sleep with little boys.(paedophiles abi?)A religion where Pastors rely on demonic powers( T.B. Joshua). A religion where the men marry more than one wife (against their doctrines) and still attend church. A religion of looters, killers( Sgt Rogers was a xtain, Hitler was a xtain), armed robbers( Anini was a xtain).

Go to your own states in the east and south and count how many muslim schools and mosques they are. Will the people there allow them build so many? and you open your stinking mouths to condemn northern states.

U insane,for dis comment

"Anonymous said...
I pity all those igbo people dat goes to yoruba hausa land to build houses cos all dis lazy daft dirty yorubas and hausa will collect evrytin u own in their place wen war start if na me I rather destroy d house I built dere dan allow dirty stinking lazy hausas and yorubas collect my hard earn money or house
September 9, 2013 at 3:14 PM"

Can you tell me what Yoruba has to do with this post? I don't get the hatred for Yoruba people. This is Borno state government and you're referring to Yoruba, and even saying, they are lazy, daft and dirty people? You're mannerless and unreasonable. They are all these things you've mentioned, yet many Ibo's would move to Lagos like sardines. May God help all you tribalist, you're all so pathetic. Jeez! These is why you guys can never progress, so much anger and hatred in your hearts.
Linda, this is why I'm rarely on your blog, so much anger, haters, and tribalist comments. You should really avoid posting some of them. BellaNaija, etc, are not like this.

Knight Ola-lanky said...

nigerians are too tribalistic,low IQ people!!!igboFool!!!borno don turn west for ya papa map abi

sm1 pls tell @pixidust to shut up if he does not want to face the wrath of God's anger,you are clearly an anti Christ. Did u see the name of CAN secretary? The letter(response to the givt) wasn't written by an igbo. May God save your soul tthat has been eaten up by hatred. People let pray for the peace of this nation.

Well, since states in the Western,Eastern and southern parts aren't islamic states, we can as well demolish the mosques for better purposes.