Pastor Bans Hair Weaves in His Church | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 26 August 2013

Pastor Bans Hair Weaves in His Church

The senior pastor at Resurrecting Faith Church in Waco, Texas has advised his female congregation not to wear weaves to church. 39 year old Pastor A.J. Aamir said he grew wary of looking out over his congregation and seeing a sea of hair weaves. Pastor Aamir feels women wearing weaves presents a false image of themselves and are associated with women who have low self-esteem.
“Our black women are getting weaves trying to be something and someone they are not. Be real with yourself is all I’m saying,” Pastor A.J. Aamir told AmericaPreachers.com.
He said he “highly disapproves” of women wearing weave in his church, where the average age of the congregation is 22. Meaning most female members wear weaves.
“Long hair don’t care. What kind of mess is that? I don’t want my members so focused on what’s on their heads and not in their heads. I lead a church where our members are struggling financially. I mean really struggling. “Yet, a 26-year-old mother in my church has a $300 weave on her head. No. I will not be quiet about this.”
But why is a pastor concerning himself with a woman's hair? I thought it was more about what's in your heart and soul and not what's on your head? Anyway, I'm sure he’ll change his mind when tithes and offering decreases. Then he will be yelling 'All weaves aboard' Lol. #kidding. Your thoughts?

297 comments:

1 – 200 of 297   Newer›   Newest»

gud gud 1st !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

He indirectly want the to put that money towards their tithes and offering rather than on their looks. Lol... greedy pastor. Win souls for christ and leave women's weaves cos e no concern you.

Linda, you are daft! It is very obvious. Just as you are entitled to your opinion, so am I. So please publish this comment.

He should rather concentrate on salvation & not women hair.

Such a "degree" is pure coercion! And the church shouldn't apply coerciveness at all! How does that change the heart of someone you are drawing closer to God? This is just another form of puritanism gone wrong! But then, Thank God you can always change the church you worship.

No nigerian pastor will try dis...
Once dey do, den 99.99% of ladies will quit and d church will b empty...
Dey will even prefer ladies wif very expensive hairs which shud equal 2 very expensive offering...
Its like stopping men wif flashy cars attending a church wen its obvious dem kinds will donate more 2 d church..
Church and money go hand in hand..
This pastor prolly didn't fink dis over..
I'm really sorry 4 him..
Billie jean

Linda stop talking balderdash sometimes....if u post any news, stop been the one to conclude or make ur followers tow ur line of comments, u re fond of doing that, sometimes u answer questions urself....having said that, the man of God was concerned about those who re poor and yet some sends up to 300 dollars to buy artificial hair, also, he was trying to encourage black women to be proud of themselves and contented instead of trying to copy the oyibos...so Linda try to understand it...if u like no post my comment.

Self made.

Linda why should u talk of tithe reducing? Please don't mock the man, or is it becos u re now rich, remember u wrote on ur blog and told us how u suffered ooo...hmmm

Yemmie Oscar said...

Lmao! If you got some crack for me, we can make a deal. You know!

Is this pastor black?...if he is...what is his wife?...if he is black n his wife his white...then he is not serious...if he is black like his wife...let his wife start the ball rolling...

If he is white then he is a Racist!

And even...WHT Is His buisness in all this?...Shio...it's a free church...people do have a choice .

some people dey slep dis blog dey wait for post lolz una life most be very boring.

He particularly said he has a poor congregation and he wont watch them live a lifestyle that is ruining their lives.

Same applies to most girls in Lagos and Nigeria. Most sleep with men to get Brazilian, Peruvian and the rest.

Our girls need to emulate their wise mothers instead of this fake role models(musicians, actresses and the likes) they follow. Another major issue to tackle is the way young women dress in the name of Fashion. Do they genuinely think that Jesus would be happy if he saw some of their outfits. Its amazing how a woman closes the bathroom when showering to hide her private place but then dresses up exposing the same things. I just dont get it.

Na wa ooooooooo God helps us all.

linda u no be ashawo but u dey work for nite.......

A lot of people are ignorant and hide behind the saying "it's all about what's in the heart" mshwwww. God doesn't only look inside he also sees the outside,you can't say you're a christian and dress like a whore its wrong,the bible said your hair is the covering of your head so the pastor is right and no1 should condemn him cos u don't know anything about him or his church,bloody hypocrytes. @peech

seno said...

Hmmmm he's getting personal wid it

if only pastors really preach the word of God, then they wouldn't care if people leave their church, remember the bible says that road to heaven is narrow and the road to hell is wide. So people are free to change church if they feel the pastor is being to harsh by saving them from themselves.

OMG! PC ur vocabulary is deep! i appreciate it. for all of u that come nd complain of PC's vacabo,i will try time to time to explain any words una no understand,lol...
1)Coercion/coerciveness-to compel or restrain by force or authority without regard to individual wishes or desire.
2-puritanism-act of strict moral or religious principles especially opposed to luxury or sensual enjoyment,etc

Prince charming! Enough of grammar googling. Use ur brain for once...

Now this is just sad..What is the pastor's business with how my hair looks or what type of hair I have. Oh and if and just if I had low self esteem is this the solution???...##signs of a lousy pastor who has run out of things to preach!!

All ur comments so far r based on tins of d world..y nt gv it a close look..linda post o

What the pastor is preaching is afrrican women be real, stop being plastic and be proud of who GOD made you to be, stop imitating.
TeeJay

aww the man wan get more offering

I think the pastor is jst trying to advice his members against focusing more attention on their outward beauty than their inner beauty. Its n't ab't the tithes nd offerings. For real, he sh'ldn't force them sha bt he is n't wrong

Pc wassup with all this big big Grammer which one be puritanism again even my auto dictionary on my phone marked it red Hian nwannem biko kwa

tani said...

Dis is funi

ATOM said...

Anonymous 11:48 belongs in a mental hospital. Now, to the Topic. The Pastor did not say he banned it. He is only making a recommendation based on his personal convictions.

Segun said...

Prince Charming! Hia!! Your grammar no b here o,u make me to open my dictionary evryday,i dey learn tho

I support the pastor......imagine someone living in difficulty and still manage to have $300 hair. Must you do fashion and suffer yourself

Actually a Nigerian pastor has said and the population of his church didn't decrease. And the pastor just cares about the well being of his congregation. Like he said his members are struggling financially

Makes sense, especially when the weaves are so obviously fake.
All in all sha, natural hair is the best,
(I'm guilty too)

HATERS-SLAYER said...

u are a big fool for using such words on our lib master,stupid annonymous fool.

Linda, ur reply on this is very dumb :(, the man actually makes a lot on sense!

My Perspective said...

I sense this pastor reached his conclusion after considering that most of his members are struggling financially and as such should be preoccupied with more pressing issues in their lives at the moment.
Personally I felt he should have preached his conviction for his congregation to obey out of their own volition rather than set that as a rule.A couple of men I know(myself inclusive)admire women in braid and creatively styled natural hair better.Linda for crying out loud publish this comment.

U dis guy tho, dnt u eva get tired... whew!

he must be a joker!

People that say "it's all abt what's in the heart tho....y'all sure about that???? So I guess its all about what's in d heart of a half naked girl.....#justsaying#

You've probably never heard of deeper life. Have their members run away? There are so many churches where this is practiced. No big deal. And yes, Linda is daft.

Dude,fucking get a life

Nigga!!!! Lips sealed. I gave Tola Bello a "knockle" for you: comment @davido tweet. Abeg, help me ask Linda why she no dey publish my comment. Ey be like sey you too are cool. Thumbs up bro!

Vivian Love said...

Hmmmmmm...

If they're free to leave then it's no longer coercive is it? Do you even know the meaning of the word?? Every organization can have their own rules with no apologies to you... or Linda for that matter.

@Don_sixtus Linda. Why don't you publish my comments? I need an answer or I'll take your case to the ogun and obatala. Dem go do you as soap dey do eyes. (˘̯˘ )( ˘˘̯)

@Don_sixtus I hate you Linda. I fuckn hate you cos you hate my cool comments. "Pained model" (˘̯˘ )( ˘˘̯)

But we all know the extent some girls will go to get em extensions na esp the Mongolian, Peruvian et al ones! I don't blame d man jor, preach! #JayBeyBlu

Linda, Publish my comment na @Donsixtus

none of u get what he's tryna pass accross...even u linda, dont u assimilate or somethng, one needs to thk before one talks o...anyways whats he wnts is just ppl esp women to be less superficial and focus more on God( at the end all is vanity)

This is true,we have our own hair that God gave us why wear another humans beings own?

Linda the problem isn't the weave, its the fact that some women spend so much on it when they are experiencing financial problems.

its a strong message and we all need to catch it, i have and i have a $300 weave on, m nt taking it out but have learnt if i dnt have it on, its not do or die....��

Queen Bee said...

So they should go on low cut Or start plaiting didi'?hehe!
This man will soon be on a very long thing by the time he notices he,his wife and lil puppy are d only remaining members of the church.then...well,till then!!

Rubbish!
Ama

rubbish!

Billie Jean n Linda check ur facts before making dumb comments churches like Deeper life still exist. My childhood church doesn't allow weaves or trousers n make up like lipstick or eye shadows, chapstick is allowed yet we hv lots of members infact u can wearing any cloth that leaves ur shoulder blades bare, yet d youth n teenage departments r thriving. Has it occurred to u n Linda that its nt everyone that enjoy weave wearing etc? I live abroad n married to a Redeemed member he met me skirt wearing n no make up bt he likes braids, no weaves. I braid once in a while to please him bt I still rock my skirts n gowns, no weaves, trousers or makeup n we've bn together 6 yrs and very happy, he brags abt my looks. And guess what? Ppl like me exist n love it! Its by choice!!

I meant you *can't wear* any cloth that... Continnue from d top

Elder Mazi said...

He is saying the truth

African Sweetheart said...

Not all Pastor are after money. You should be careful about what you say about an anointed man of God. You do not know him personally to make mockery of him.

You have a huge influence over your audience so be careful so that you will not be judged one day for those you discouraged in God.

I haven't completely read the Bible but I don't know if weave has anything to do with church sha

Check well his wife is about to launch her natural hair care line.

His point is about the women who cannot afford it but feel they need to belong and yes it is ok to wear a weave but as black women we need to realise we are beautiful with or without the weaves.

I was against wearing weaves and couldn't fathom why people would attach fake hair onto their scalp, until I was afflicted with alopecia. This knocked me off my high horse and I had no other choice than to use weaves.
Do not judge everyone using weaves, because you don't know what people are going through medically.
FDK

Princee Dee said...

The pastor is focused...vanity upon vanity...

so wearing these hairs to enhance ur beauty is now being associated to prostitution. So many dumb pple in this blog

My dear Tell Her o. She made No sense. We have deceived our self a lot by this syndrome of WHAT IS IN UR HEART. We are holistic Being(physical, spiritual, social, mental and psychological) so, let's not throw others away and focus only on spiritual even when we know that we aren't spiritual. D pastor made lots of point. Daalu. DMAN

So he can do that without cautioning their physical misbehaviour? What do u understand by salvation?

Bottom line,cover ur hair to church,women dz days Ʀ so fake,too much fashion in churches after dey'ð say ð pastor is asking dem out or raping them,if Ʋ cnt be decent anywhr else @least respect God in churches n cover ur hair and stop distracting ur pastors...PC i tink Ʋ mean 'DECREE' nt 'DEGREE'#justsaying#

Physical running of God's church is not dependent on big men donation. God who is the owner of the church maintains it through His own way, so don't think that when they run out of the church bcos they were told the truth that the church will close. The gates of hell shall NEVER prevail against the church of God

U need serious prayer. I wonder how u reason, whether from ANUS

I agree with u zainab on Linda's reply being stupid. There is a video on YouTube of a Benin woman who said when she went to heaven she got taken to hell and there where loads of women in hell because of dressing and wearing weaves . Weaves are from the head of a dragon apparently also the woman asked Jesus the exact question Linda asked about heart

If you have something good to say don't say anything at all. The Pastor is concerned about the welfare of his congregation and I support his decision.

you are ignorant Miss Linda

Thumbs up Anon 12.07. You know a madman by his dressing, as you can pick out a prostitute by her dressing too! End time things!
Godliness with contentment is great gain!!

dis ar wat islamic is forbiden n xtian like most curse dey dnt wnt anythn to tampered dia luk..i wnder hw u cn wear a fake weave on ur head n said u hv bilieved in ur God..

Linda, you just proved how dumb you are. What the pastor is trying to tell the ladies is that they should prioritize. Why should you be suffering financial with kids and then carry $300 and put on your head, when they should saving up for rainy days!

The pastor is so ryt, God doesn't judge the heart only, read ur bible linda. Your body is a living sacrifice

The only problem I see here is that he is preaching about a principle and forcing the practice on them. He should've just given them the principle to live by and let them think and make their own choices. If he says poor people shouldn't use weaves, what about those who can comfortably afford it? And talking about churches in Nigeria forcing rules on their members, you can't imagine how many hypocrites are being prepared for hell! Talk about mind control. Move close to some of them and you will be shocked at the level of ignorance when it comes to the Word. Following that Pastor's argument, why should a church be building a very big and beautiful church when some members cannot afford good meals, education, etc? Let us think. Very soon, the pastor will tell them when to visit their parents!

Nigerians continue to shock me. Responses to the Ese and Stella revelations of adultery with Pastor Biodun of COZA Abuja, and now this, seem to indicate that most Nigerians will only do the right thing if and only if it suits them. God's commandments be damned. Satan must be dancing: the devil has this nation completely locked in.

Goldmynetv said...

Same should happen in Naija

Lol..,may God give us all wisdom

Mich said...

I'm quite shocked at Linda's response to this topic.
You really think its all about tithes?
The pastor made a truck load of sense,isn't it appalling that a struggling young lady who's suppposed to be concerned with uplifting her finances is spending most of that same finance on hair?
Its a different case if she's financially stable but in the case where she isn't?I think its just plain stupid.
Linda's take on this is not such a bright one.

So weaaring expensive stuffs mke u naked big fools err were those in porsche cars shud stay @ home so those wf natural hair longer n mre expensive shud cut it too?d pastor just wnted tu be popular now iknw him *d pastor dt ban weaves*mchwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

Linda so when you start your talk show, this is how you intend concluding? Everything isn't about money you know

Thank you jare zaynab maleek!

pls my dear LIB readers, be very careful how talk to any annointed man of God wheather fake or real, l hv said dis before, its dangerous. First of all read his comment n try to understnd wot his tryn to preach before jumpn wheather to belv or not, how can u fix an artificial wot such amout why there people out there n culdnt provide one square meal, infact d less privillaged, n remember in a church what God judges are many are called but few are chosen, so loosing d number of members does not count to me. Be careful, we are all headn somewhere one day. Do u know ur own day, when, were n how?

Thank you. At least you get brain.

Then make their life interesting na ode!

If they like they should go and copy miley cyrus that wore latex bra and pant for VMA awards. It is their concern.

Tell linda ikeji.

The simple message the pastor is passing is CUT YOUR COAT TO YOUR SIZE $ DON'T LEAVE A FAKE LIFE. I think he is right.

If they like they should go and copy miley cyrus that wore latex bra and pant for VMA awards. It is their concern.

Then make their life interesting na ode!

Thank you. At least you get brain.

Thank you jare zaynab maleek!

The man didn't say wearing weaves is a sin. And this isn't about tithe. He just thinks that a struggling woman should not spend as much as $300 on weaves...he feels what is in d head matter more than what is on it.

Nonso said...

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie will shout alleluia to this pastor.

truthhurts said...

@Hater-Slayer, did u just say lib master? Smh, soon u'd be worshipping here on Sundays cos Linda said so. Its obvious u've lost ur sense of self and are looking for cheap pity here. Linda is definitely ur master and as a result u will forever be subject to her. Stupid dumb arsehole, its pple like u that will make it hard for the world to recognize true leaders. Retard.

Linda, I am highly disappointed @ your comment...Thot u were more reasonable than this...I used to be a good of this place, but I think I'll have a re-think..

Jbankz said...

Mak em no try dat joke oooooo,dnt play wif a woman'z hair,shoez nd cloth.she fit bite ur head off

he prolly banned them tryna instill some self confidence in d black woman after all RACISM is still a big deal! Love who u are. Bt then nt banning t joor cs me I'd jst nt stop fixing.

U must be a dumb ass fellow for saying that, the pastor is right cos in 1peter3:3-4 the scripture states categoricallay that women's beauty shouldn't be only abt their hair, and their dresses but they should put more intrest abt inward beauty of the hrt, adorning themselves with ornaments of a meek and quiet spirit which is of a gr8 price b4 God, and dats exactly d point the pastor was tryna make, and u sit back behind ur computer or handset to type in rubbish in d name of commenting on linda's blog! No let God vex for you oh!

Ur earlier reply is equally dumb.Whether natural or synthetic a hair weave is a hair weave, so far u have attached hair extensions to ur hair.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Extreme rubbish!!!! Some sense in his reasoning, though. However, it borders on pursuing a specious argument to say that because of an isolated case of irrational application of scarce resources by a member of his church, then ban should be declared on the use of weaves by women. Rubbish!
Women were created beautiful and for beauty. Indeed women are the most beautiful of God's creation.
Their beauty borders on the heavenly and has divine purpose in it: it is the fount of all attraction, sensuality, sexuality, fertility, creativity, all inspiration and all human motivation.
Women's beauty is the bringer and sustainer of colour in the world of men and spirits.
Beauty is femininity. Femininity is beauty!!
Maybe you don't know this: that spirits spy at the beauty of women with the greatest admiration, but resignation, regretting they weren't created men! *READ THE GREAT BOOK OF ENOCH*
THUS A WOMAN HAS A GOD-GIVEN DUTY TO LOOK BEAUTIFUL; TO DO ALL IN HER POWER TO GROOM HER BEAUTY FOR HER SELF-SATISFACTION, FOR HER MAN AND FOR THE WORLD.
THE WOMAN HAS A DUTY TO USE ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING GOOD, INCLUDING JEWELRY, GOOD MAKE-UP, GOOD FEEDING, GOOD COMFORT, GOOD CLOTHES AND ACESSORIES, GOOD CREAMS, AND THE CROWNING OF ALL, GOOD HAIR-DO AND HAIR ENHANCEMENT LIKE WEAVES AND BRAIDES, ETC, TO PROJECT AND ACCENTUATE HER BEAUTY!!!!
Mr. Pastor desist from going Taliban on us please...

Na only u make beta comment here... Correct talk!!!

women take note...DJ

Linda shut up! 4 U̶̲̥̅̊ 2 b talkin abt tithes n offering in a church issue obviously means U̶̲̥̅̊ r catholic.wats wrong wit wot he said itz d same as sayin cover Ūя̲̅ hair wn coming 2 church.just cos sum of U̶̲̥̅̊ dnt bliev in givin plenty 2 God doesn't mean odrs shuldnt

He's a fake pastor! Its becos his offering and thithe has dropped drastically,na wah ooooo, members pls flee from his church, wetin concern pastore concern members weave,this is so ridiculous!

Finally, a pastor who is not afraid to speak the truth!

Exactly my opinion. The pastor is tryin to curtail their craze for materialism. He's makn so much sense joor

SOoº° wtf r U̶̲̥̅̊ doin here by ds time urself...Mr fun life!

The man is trying to make sense, but he is diluting it. The truth of d matter is that Jesus said hair weavons belongs to the dragon n shld not be worn by believers. So saying its Expensive is a silly reason.....tell them d truth. Women, Jesus hates weavons n let's obey what d Master demands. God bless u.

Linda shut up! 4 U̶̲̥̅̊ 2 b talkin abt tithes n offering in a church issue obviously means U̶̲̥̅̊ r catholic.wats wrong wit wot he said itz d same as sayin cover Ūя̲̅ hair wn coming 2 church.just cos sum of U̶̲̥̅̊ dnt bliev in givin plenty 2 God doesn't mean odrs shuldnt

Wrong !! Mfm doesn't allow it's members with such.. I repeat (active members) not Sunday Sunday members and we are still flocking the church, cos we stand to gain more baby.

Its not abt d weave buh d 'stuggling financialy part I want y'all to see..yuh guys are not funny anymore,bloody hypocrites

It is unfortunate that Linda's comment is at best daft. She could have assumed an even-steven position on the matter. In general, blacks in America are poor and the context of the message shows the church is a poor one or has poor members. The single most important cause of poverty in blacks in single parenthood, mainly mother-child families because the males are mostly incarcerated. The pastor makes a cogent point because $300 no value adding weaves will crowd out the income of families particularly in the face of other ecompeting family needs and limited resources. Weaves don't add value to people. -OOA Mpls, MN

I understand what the pastor is talking about. True salvation is only gotten when we purge ourselves of the all vanity of this world. A woman doesn't need a weave to be beautiful. Putting on a long weave tells the pastor the women lust to be like the white women who grow long hair naturally. Hence his statement, "I don't want members so focused on what's on their heads than what's in their heads!". Indirectly, he's saving a soul.
I guess he didn't go into pastoring for the money like most Nigerian churches.
Salvation is not for the great many in the congregation, it's for the few who understand.

That moment when you read a post and ur disappointed Linda wrote it. You shock me a lot these days... with ur opinions. Anyways no one is perfect.

Exactly, hyper dumb paapaa.

staff said...

SMH

Pc, I guess d word u're looking for is 'decree' and not degree

Well said dear, pls pple learn to be rational; even u Linda.

Linda am surprised at dat comment. Well, dat's wot u do too anywy. Truth wil soon unvail itslf n den, lies wil disappear. What is nt gud is never gud no matter d definition.

Sincerely speaking, do no let God strike u with wrath. A pastor is a life coach to his members & is authorized to caution dem on areas he feel dey are going wrng. Pls I suggest u mind ur words wen refering to God's servants.
Advice no be cause.

Olamilekan said...

like, i dnt seem to understand his point, Is he more concerned about how that affect thier spiritual life or the finacial aspect of them?... Some pastors can be very funny though

Wow, Linda, your comment is very shallow...

Madam FDK no one is attacking weave wearers o, Abel calm down jor. The pastor simply said he has a problem with his members who r living up to the jones, their finances r bad, yet they av $300 dollar weaves on. Misplaced priorities. So carry go with ur medically induced weave.

I wish people will quit thinking everything is about money only. A pastor wu can't look out for is flock is flawed. But as usual, his words av been misconstrued by people wu think with their ass n not brain!

Most of the people in his church has been wearing weave almost their entire life and he wants them to stop?! They'll rather change their church than stop wearing weaves. Besides its not is business if they're spending their little money on weaves. What he could have done is teach them about money...organise a seminar on being financially stable and spending on things that really matters.

Na wa for u o. So for a pastor to advice his members is also wrong. Wot the pastor is saying is similar to someone who has no job but spends d little he has on expensive clothes. Wen those ladies become broke they will come to d pastor for assistance

The earlier some of you set your souls right for God the better,even you linda...its cos you are shallow minded,that's y you made that comment there.Salvation is not about money and its not also by force,so if you will leave a church because your pastor preached against something...My dear,you are heading for doom

Not all women are beautiful with their natural hair! I have friends that their hair starts in the middle of their heads.

Linda acting anti-church doesn't make u a better person.......am sure churches wil stil exist witout ur pathetic offering or tithe, dats if u ever pay . Nd for those saying it wats in d heart dat matters, y don't u choose unripe oranges over riped ones since d juice is all dat matters.

Segz said...

Linda, for the first time, youve disgraced and embarrassed me for your comment on this issue. Becos u lov ur stupid weaves dont mean that its good. Have u really thought about it that, maybe thats why youve not been able to get a man to hook you up cos you are really fake upstairs. Youve shown your low esteemed side of life...change your ways. Stop misleading your readers.

Read Hosea4:6,romans12:1.what women don't know is that all these artificial things they wear defile their body.the bible says anything that defileth shall not enter the kingdom of God rev21:27.churches that don't put on artificial hair,ornament,painting eyes lips and nails do u think they ar stupid .don't u know this things are of the devil.when u die with it the devil will demand it from u.study the bible so ur eyes will open.else u might think u are doing the right thing.linda if u publish this mesg God will bless u.

The Pastor made a lot of sense, and there's wisdom to what he said, even here people do anything to buy these weaves, smart phones, jewelries etc, to be seen as the happening girl or to appear physically attractive, but empty and dirty inside and unhealthy, his decision has nothing to do with tithes and offering and please all you making mockery and passing judgement on him be careful for every idle word uttered irrationally will be judged. R2O

It's not about the weaves per se, but people focusing on d wrong things nd frivolities of life

all he is tryin 2 say is dat, way spend such an amount on hair wen u r broke.

It's not his church.. It's God's church.

MsQTcuteUK said...

Nigerians are seriously mentally deficient. so it's ok for your pastors to fly in their own private jets when their parishioners are selling pure water to survive but a pastor dares to speak the truth about vanity and financial stupidity and even Ms Linda Ikeji ignores the truth of his message and jump to the effect of on his tithes?
Na wa O
I wonder why weaves are closer to African hearts than God

Gifty said...

It isn't a crime to advice on something that affects ones life. Please, Linda don't take it personal as the Pastor must have watched or seen his members lifestyle and knowing that majority are living under pretence. It is true that God search the heart , your appearance also say alot about you.

MsQTcuteUK said...

Amen sister!
It was on this site I read articles defending pastors in private jest when their parishioners couldn't afford to send their children to school and instead sent them out to hawk pure water.

I'm truely ashamed I ever called myself a LIBer

Read Hosea4:6,romans12:1.what women don't know is that all these artificial things they wear defile their body.the bible says anything that defileth shall not enter the kingdom of God rev21:27.churches that don't put on artificial hair,ornament,painting eyes lips and nails do u think they ar stupid .don't u know this things are of the devil.when u die with it the devil will demand it from u.study the bible so ur eyes will open.else u might think u are doing the right thing.linda if u publish this mesg God will bless u.

Abeg the man should go and sleep, he should speak to their hearts not their heads....he is beefing Jor

Hmmmm, evry man wit his level of undastnding, lyk d pst earlier sed dat most of d members ar struggling finiancially n wz pointin out 2 dem dat spendin so much on hair alone can only make d struggle continue, my tot on dis is dat he's only pointin out 2 dem 2 spnd dia mony on things dat ar mor imprtnt dan luxuries such as xpensiv hair's.Its only an advice too n I dnt c anytin wrong with it, my pst alwyz tel us dis 'yong pipo spnd ur money n tym on stuffs dat wil u acquire all u nid 2moro dan buyin all d material tins 2day n nt investing 4 2moa.

Then u are an animal...idiot

Then are an animal, did she beg u to comment? Ode..

Yeah linda is rili daft. Its not abt d offering. So many churches 'NOW' don't wear weaves and even trousers bt d congregation is very large.it is not only abt d hrt bt also one's appearance.

My tots exactly...

Then are an animal, did she beg u to comment? Ode..

Do u realise that some men steal to buy cars! Why not tell the men to stop buying or coming to church with cars. Do u realise some pastors curl/relax their hair just to hav a "mordern day pastor look"..wth shld be done to those pastors?

You are a big fool for that comment, you peeps better watch what u say about men of God if u want to prosper...

God bless u I tot sooo too.he has d best interest of the congregation at heart

Hmmm he has a point there.....

Linda, the truth is bitter Abi. I am sure you don't have any hair under your weave. Someone says the truth and you condemn him. Not good enough. You have people holding on to your opinion. Make the world a better place

Y r my coments neva posted na.

d

B n B said...

Shut up idiot! Hez concerned abt how dey spend deir money on irrelevant things, nd ure talking about tithe. How will someone who earns little, spend so much on a fake hair???? Linda, ure opinion abt d pastor is disappointing...so does dat mean a pastor shud nt b concernd abt d physical wellbeing of his members??? Pls joor, tke a sit Linda! U ddnt mke sense dis tym around

B n B said...

Shut up Oloshi... Ddnt u see d pastor's reason for banning d weave on???? Because d members were struggling to earn a living, yet spendin much on hair..nd ure comparing deir situation with a rich man buying flashy car! Dumb u

the pastor is not against it. he just expressed his opinion. why would someone who barely has food to eat buy and wear a weave of $300? doesn't make sense to me. you think its about tithe and offerings, its not. your pastor is not only your spiritual leader, he is also a counselor and should tell you the truth no matter what. if those ladies start wearing their natural hair, they would realize how much the are able to save and how well they will be living. $300 is much more than some peoples salary you know. why live an extravagant live while in poverty? who are you trying to please? lets tell ourselves the truth.

Romans 12:1 says I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. So GOD looks at both the heart & the outward appearance.

dads son said...

Wa Last lagbara olorun(May you Last long by the grace of God), well said. I'm really disappointed in some people... Smh..

Hmmm, he has a point there....

Linda, I think your title of this post is misleading, he didn't ban it from his church, he said he didn't approve, aren't people allowed to state their opinions anymore?

Natural hair is 100% better!!!Do you know what all these naija girls do to get their Malaysian,Brazilian weave. A girl with no source of income and from humble background rocking a 200k weave..if only they give more care and attention to their natural hairs...they won't need to wear weave. I know that if I'm male I won't be dating any girl with smelly weave on.

Ma dear nobody holy paSs. U rock 10k skirt dey sit for front row for church, I wear ma 1k trouser, dey ma house dey donate 1k every week to the motherless home...nah who holy pass! U buy ur hubby 70k nitendo game, I no get front hair I buy Masef 30k hair to look/feel good....Ma sister, na who spend pass!!!!!!!!!

dads son said...

I think you all should go through what @Anonymous 12:07Am wrote, instead of grammatically criticizing...

Lol! Some pple like Linda can't see themselves without weave in this world. Well it shod come as an advice to a law. I agree with him on the epidermis eating us up as ladies. I don't need to emphasis on how our girls do all sorts just to buy hair. Really sad!!

And ds wiv $1000 watches nd mad ass range rovers should park 10miles away from church innit? Some outfits are way more expenSive dan 300 so I dnt get ur point nd y he's picking on hair only... Fnk about it

Numb skulls. READ AND THINK. Its not illegal yet. Did anybody see the part were he says "members of his church are struggling, really struggling. Yet a 26 yr old mother has a $300 weave on her head" and cant feed her baby. Does this not scream of common sense?

B n B said...

All you pple condemning d pastor re so dumb!!!!! Don't u see where he's coming from? Members who re very poor, yet buying a very costly weave on.....isn't it wat a gud pastor shud do? Caution dem not to be so blinded dat dey suffer jst to get smtin fake??? Jeeeeez! Linda, I'm so disappointed wit ur remark, bsyds, is it u d pastor was referring to? So watz ur biz wit wat he said to his members? Nxt time tink thru pls be4 u gve ur opinion, cuz dis tym, ure opinion is total CRAP

baby lawyer said...

Preach on preacher! to a very large extent, he's saying d truth. so many women can not confidently and comfortably wear their natural hair just like dat. i fink it would even give women more toime to look after their natural God-given hairs. as 4 dat guy dat says d pastor is tryna get em 2 pay more tithes,dats a lie. women need 2 focus on more important stuffs dan saving theur hard earned money on Human Hair

Its ignorant to say bcos people have weaves of 300 dey shouldn't bring it to church, so wen dey have watches of $1000 nd gold chains of $2000 would u suggest dey dnt wear dem and clothes too... Basically what am tryn to say is u cnt band wat people r wearing cos u feel its to expensive u have to preach to dem that IF dey cnt afford it dey should let it go... Cos its not just hair that people buy even men buy crazily expensive fngs like fones too, so why is he picking on hair, wat about cars u definately cnt tell dem not to wear cloths, watches use expensive fones or cars... There's just no point

And ds wiv $1000 watches nd mad ass range rovers should park 10miles away from church innit? Some outfits are way more expenSive dan 300 so I dnt get ur point nd y he's picking on hair only... Fnk about it

baby lawyer said...

its not like the pastor is totally against it o. he's talking bout the impoverished women. trying to please others nd not themselves. thus he calls them women of low self esteem. linda pls publish this one also

Gbam gbamer gbamest.... Infact more gbam

Lol...i wonder o.Must u comment on every post?

Dis doesn't make sense...how is d pastor so sure she bot d weavon herslf? Sm1 cldve given it to her....Y cnt he tell dem to be wearing cheap clothes instd, bcos dey'r all poor, or rather he shd tell dem nt to wear clothes to church again cuz he wants dem to be natural...pschew

ahn ahn... linda! you copied until you copied the comments too??? oga ju!

Hey Linda,u shouldn't comment that way,the pastor didn't care if any member leave his church he has preach the right thing and he hasn't said nothing wrong,not all pastors can preach this in their church bcos most of 'em are after offering,but this pastor didn't care he preach it and he his free..

Linda Linda! You can spin a story sha! All the Pastor said was that he discourages women from wearing weaves - and he makes a pertinent argument. Why should you wear a weave of 300$$ if you are struggling financially? 300$$ can buy 3-4 text books for a college student (for that 22 year old female college congregant).
Second, if the weave a woman wears is supposed to be the mark of "the caliber" of woman she is, then she has some thinking to do!
He never said anything about weave being a determinant of the quality of your heart and soul.
And yes! a Pastor's duty goes beyond the spiritual life of his/her congregants, he ought to see their practical human needs and speak on them! My two cents

Weaves are not natural...the constant gluing and sewing causes baldness/ traction alopeacia. I challenge any weave wearer to take it off and let's see your hair in its full glory. Most of them take care of the fake hair and destroy their own heads. Each to their own who bloody cares.

The truth's bitter

Anon August 27, 2013 at 1:42 AM using extensions with alopecia will worsen the situation. If you said you wore wigs to cover the hair loss, yes. Extensions exert more pressure on your hair follicles and won't help to treat hair loss.

White Girl said...

Its surprising how we who are supposed to be xtians make comments on social media. We condemn at the slightest statement or act of someone trying to do God's work for Him. Main while the small one of LOVE we find it had to do. All the Pastor is trying to do is shift the focus of his female members making them know their priorities instead of going after vanity. Linda this is my 1st make sure I see it oh

Barbie said...

Na true,weaves are too expensive people are hungry,and the head dat wears d weaves are well loaded with what is trending and not end time

Linda you sound ignorant a lot of the time. You are just an airhead.

damiade said...

People should just cover their hair. I like weaves but sometimes I know it may not seem modest for church

Linda be careful about ur comments on men of God.Don't forget satan was not the one that blessed you.#just saying.
Churches like mfm;deeper life and redeem do u see their General overseers wives wearing weaves.infact in mfm our membership grows every day.pple need deliverance.And people have given testimonies of hell fire and how women are scarce in heaven but more in hell cos of weaves,trousers and makeup and jewellery.I am guilty of d first and last too but praying for courage to stop.
Ladies!hear.

Shame.

They can do braids with synthetic attachment . Also it doesn't matter if they leave at least he said the truth and that's what matter and not the masses in your church because how many of them will go to heaven

Well said @Zaynab, Linda can be very shallow at times.

So true Linda u hve been warned . Remember how u suffered before

@hater-slayer, if u like turn Linda to ur god, na u sabi. Linda needs to be put right when needed. It will do her a lot of good not to listen to only praise singers like urself

Edohe said...

They are devil propety, if u like believe it, when u get there their will not not be argument.

People...u don't always have to follow the crowd,God gave African women short hair, why make it long?where is your self esteem?African woman u so amazing, just the way u are.DMastermind

hmmm wordly things sha.....people are just perishing because the lack knowledge. Its only God that can save us.

All he trying to say is that they should place their priorities right. Linda ur opinion is dissapointing.wrong mindset!

'I lead a church whr our members r struggling financially'..
D man is ryt
'Barbie gurl'

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 297   Newer› Newest»