The theme of a greener future for the Nigerian youth through
education echoed again in Lagos as Seven-Up Bottling Company Plc announced the
recipient of this year’s 7Up Harvard Business School MBA Scholarship.
Instituted in 2010 as part of the 50th anniversary celebration of the
company to provide young Nigerians with the opportunity to acquire skills that
will equip them to become global leaders, Miss Mayowa Kuyoro, a young
Mechanical Engineer, was unveiled at a media briefing in Lagos as the recipient
of the 7Up HBS Scholarship for this year. She joined two previous 7Up HBS
Scholars: Miss Misan Rewane and Mr. Olujimi Williams.
Speaking at the event, the Executive Director, Human
Resources, Seven-Up Bottling Company Plc, Mr. Femi Mokikan, said that the
country would benefit from young, energetic Nigerians who are capable of
transformational leadership by virtue of their education and exposure.
He listed some of the criteria for the scholarship selection to
include: a valid admission letter from Harvard Business School, residency in
Nigeria, relevant post-graduation self-application proposal to contribute to
National development and the critical needs criterion – financial need to fund
the scholarship.
He said the recipients of the scholarship are not bonded to
work for Seven-Up Bottling Company on graduation as the sole aim of the company
is to build a pool of future leaders who can cause positive disruptions for
Nigeria’s economic growth. Misan Rewane, the first recipient of the 7up Harvard
Business School scholarship, graduated this year. In line with the objective of
the scheme, she is already providing leadership by establishing the West Africa
Vocational Education (WAVE) to train approximately 25,000 young Nigerians and
other West Africans annually to equip them with the necessary skills for jobs
in the hotel and hospitality industry.
Highlighting other initiatives of Seven-Up Bottling Company
Plc, Head of Marketing, Mr. Norden Thurston said the organisation is always
looking for ways to engage and empower its consumers.
Mr. Thurston said the 21 year old Pepsi Football Academy,
which has produced the likes of John Mikel Obi, Osaze Odemwingie, Elderson
Echejile (to name just a few) stands out among these initiatives along with the
sponsorship of Nigerian Idol (a music talent Show that enables Nigerians to
Voice their Dream) and Felabration (a music festival to celebrate the life and
music of Fela Kuti, the Afrobeat icon). He went on to say that the company
supports many community, school and University initiatives across the country.
Miss Kuyoro, from Ijebu-Ode, Ogun State, who will soon be
jetting out to Harvard Business School in the United States to start her
programme, thanked Seven-Up for helping her realise her dream of acquiring a
world class education. She said her focus after graduation will be to use her
skills gained at Harvard to help small Nigerian businesses grow through
training and to further make an impact through the NGO she started, which aims
to eradicate illiteracy, poverty and disease among young Nigerians.
29 comments:
Queens College old girl '03 set repping. Great QC.....Pass on the torch!
Lucky fella.
Good to know there are still big commpanies that are ready to invest in education.
On a second thought,founder of Spanx didn't go to any business school yet she's a billionaire today.
Its often more about innovative ideas than it is about college degress,diplomas and what have you.
Jimi Kings College Old Boy! Big Up... Congrats, Intellectual development and deployment is what will move Nigeria forward in the longrun
I guess we all should be glad when corporate bodies, that earn their revenue off Nigerian purchases, feel that the way to carry out their CSR/promo is to expend over a $100k in sponsoring a single individual. While boosting the economy of the US and Harvard's account. Whereas most tertiary institutions in the nation is lying comatose from dearth of infrastructure. $100k spent on procuring good lab equipment will favour a large amount of youths, while spreading the CSR benefit to several schools, if done for different institutions every year. Just saying, but then what do I know.
Congrant to mayowa,am happy for you & also thank God for ur life,to witness these.
Lord, this girl's just gotten my dream. God pls help me to actualise mine, amen.
I know her. She was in QC set 03, z arm. Congrats girl. All the best abroad.
What's up with picking children from rich/popular families for the scholarship?...Why not children of the less privileged?...i really do not get it.
Dats ma name sake... Congrats!!!!!!
Mayowa is such a bright star! Big congratulations and God's bountiful blessings.
Third to comment
Let dem organise something like dis for communication/media students na..its eida music or dance..congratulations to her sha.greater fit in ur career..ann#
Only 14 comments? How disappointing. A big congrats to Mayowa. Keep shining
Warwick alumni repping.....kudos Mayowa
Just an observation #na only a particular tribe dey win am?
Congrats Mayowa.....QC girls 03 set are proud of you....esp Zee girls! Always knew you where destined for great things! keep the torch still brightly gleaming babe!
Pple dat alwys comment wil not comment on dis ooo if na genevive mata or rubbish una go comment
congrats!! am looking at the names of the previous winners?
I dont think its based on merit
Dear lord..wer r u in my lyf wen ppl win dis big fin..abi u dint put me in d big picture ni..issokay #flips hair nd slams door
Yoruba peeps alwys representin!
God bless her more
Congratulations Miss Mayowa. Wishing you best of luck.
Proud QCOG #pass on the torch
This isn't one tribe. Misan is an Itsekiri name, Itskeri is a tribe in Delta state. Congrats to Mayowa
Congrats Mayowa! Warwick Alumni repping!
One thing i couldnt help but notice is that all three scholars have international education. Is it safe to say that they could already afford the school fees?...why cant 7up award this scholarship to someone who knows what poverty and is passionate about eradicating it.