Gov Suntai's letter to Taraba Assembly; Femi Falana demands police investigation | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 28 August 2013

Gov Suntai's letter to Taraba Assembly; Femi Falana demands police investigation

Senior lawyer and political activist, Femi Falana (SAN), yesterday sent a petition to the Inspector General of Police demanding a detailed investigation of the letter purportedly sent to the Taraba State House of Assembly by Governor Danbaba Suntai yesterday indicating he is ready to resume office.

Governor Suntai returned to Nigeria on Sunday after 10 months away receiving treatment and rehabilitation for serious brain injuries he received when an aircraft he was piloting crashed in October 2012.  Reports say he appeared bewildered and uncoordinated as he arrived, needing help and not speaking.

Mr. Falana noted that barely one day after his return, a letter was delivered to the House declaring the governor’s fitness and readiness for work without affording the public a copy of his medical report of mental and physical fitness.

“We therefore urge you in the interest of the people of Taraba State and Nigeria as a whole to use your good offices to cause a detailed investigation to confirm the authenticity of the letter of intention sent by the Governor to the House of Assembly as there are several allegations within and outside Taraba State that the letter of intention may have been forged by the governor’s handlers,” the letter said.

The lawyer indicated he will go to court to compel the IGP to fulfill his constitutional duty if he does not accede to the demand within three days, including yesterday.

Culled from Saharareporters.com

100 comments:

linda gud nyt go sleep kkk

Biko dis man should go n rest oh, it's not easy to hv a brain issue oh, I kn what am seeing with my little boy oh, his wife should pls advice him to step down a beg I feel so sad seeing him now, tears rolling

Mich said...

Doesn't add up.
How can someone with a questionable mental state construct such a letter and in just one day?
I applaud the demands of Mr.Falana,its high time we started demanding transparency and accountability from these leaders.
Instead of focusing on improving his health,the governor or whoever wrote the letter is bothering their heads with politics and power.
Bloody Gashes!

linda u never sleep, see ya tomoro

Well, this is a very sad situation. Although not surprised due to the bastardization of the country's politics and politicians. Am so certain that nothing will be done about this and he will definitely resume office soon.

A very sad and curious of Nigeria's politicians and politics. The whole thing is just upside down and bastardized.

Linda,u go confess o!u nor dey sleep abi.

Wish him speedy recovery

Yinka said...

Trust femi falana. Always on point!

Injustice anywhere is a threat to Justice everywhere.
When Yar'dua was president and it was obvious he was incapacitated those within the corridors of power who were benefitting from his government refused to let the constitution have its way.
Whatever goes around comeback around,then It was only the Imam of Abuja national mosque that was granted aundience with the then president,not even his vice was allowed to see him.
He was smuggled into the country at night with lights at the airport and the airport road out.
Almost the same scenario is playing itself in predominantly christian Taraba state. Who can't stand the deputy a minority muslim assuming officeas their governor.
Where ever sentiment is upheld,mediocrity rules.

kunle said...

That's the wrong mentality to most of our African leaders behold. If a leader is not medically fit and alert for the position, he should solemnly resign because i don't know how he will rule his people properly. Well, it is just guess game. Let the investigation begin. I support Oga Falana.

Real Secrets to weightloss and healthy eating

S.O.J.A said...

Very funny country. D gov shud resign and focus on his health. Brain cells don't recover after damage, he can never be d same again.

Even thou I feel the same way...but femi falana and all these pocket activist should go and sleep...they are all the same looking for money

chilepoda said...

Ooº°˚ ˚°Âºooo

Na wa oh! How are you doing Linda,hope you are good ? just checking...

that man can not govern anymore...he does not look fit obviously,from some news i read a while ago,the report then advised he get relieved of duty.if he is reinstated then no hope for the country

Falana na now u go sabi talk for the matter wey no concern you. When fashola deported IGBOS from lagos state, u did not see anything wrong in it hence u didn't say anything. Bcoz na norther dey involve, u don remember say u go carry d matter go court. Useless man. Na tribalism go finish una for this country, nonsense pple

Linda Ikeji #in Tiwa savage's voice# brain injury he incurred instead of "brain injury he received"

Hmm

He sure looked bewilded though when i saw him on tv,he still needs lots of rest.

hw c a prsn wt brain damage resume office as governor?! 9ja sha. I bet dis has smthn 2 do wit 2015 & d rebel governors. #siddönlook ~Big Daddy~

Ubak said...

From the photo above its so clear that this man has become a vegetable. Let him go and rest jawe. Msheeeeeew

Teflon Don said...

He is not fit to run the government. Naija and power

Funny

uncleval said...

I think its high time we start speaking against this kind of nonsense and foolishness that our useless political class continues to dish out to the Nigerian people. How can a man that claim to be well enough to resume his duty as the executive Governor of a state having returned from a very long medical sojourn abroad ,this same man will not utter a word nor greet his people or even appreciate them for their prayers and good will messages. Infact looking at all the photos from his arrival at Abuja to Jalingo airport, its clear to all that the Governor is in a Vegetative state and should resign effective right away in order to go take care of his health which i think is more important than any office.

Hahahah. First. To comment

Hmmmmm

I don't think this man is in the right state of mind to govern a state any longer, even if it might not necessarily be the handiwork of his handlers, its a fact that African leaders cling on to power like being in office is an inheritance or something, never wanting to let it go, thank God for legal activists like Femi.

lagbaja said it all! MUMUDOM where mumuism is rife!

Story story. Nigeria please wake up from thy slumber before thy implodes

rotimee said...

I belif that letter must be doctored by his wife.. Please investigate

rotimee said...

I believed that the said letter to the SHA must had been doctored by the wife of suntai. Please investigate...

adedayo adefioye said...

madness..... Arrant madness.

Abegi!na today all ds govs&politicians dey do anyhow?thank God dey re nt in charge of d free air we tk in.left 2 me,9ja politics is a ground where people talk 2 much wtout moving a muscle 2 act in line wt wot dey've said.

Seconded. Thanks to Mr Falana. I do not think that he is fit mentally to govern his home, much more the State.
Another Y'aradua in the making. Someone is going to take undue advantage of the gov's ill health to mis manage the affairs of that State.
What is wrong with allowing his dept to resume full office until further notice?

What have they to lose? Afterall they both belong to the PDP. Or are they also going to display their lack of trusts in themselves even within? As it was the case with late Y'aradua and Jonathan.
Whereby the head will make his deputy redundant and out of place. Or do we then assume that this is the modus operandi with the PDP? Trusts issue! Wata shame!
This man's relatives should better spk up and take control of their own, else they'll push him to his grave like they did Y'aradua.

D same dat happened wen yar'adua died.naija matter don dey tire me

Dan

Dan

Dan

Everything about Nigeria is politics. #SMH#

#Danjay#

Politics, who cares? Not me, so kill urselves for all l care.

blunt said...

No be Naija? If Yar'adua could be sneaked into the country in a vegetative condition and with his handlers insisting he is fit..of course an obviously sick Suntai with a malfunctioning brain will be turned to a puppet by his handlers ..no be for them to hold his hand while he signs cheques to milk the state dry? Useless country where even diseased monkeys can rule with impunity! No conscience

llet them allow him to resumed to his office or is not fit?

They have been waiting to steal money from the pple and now is the opportunity to do just that...... Falana abeg fight well well....oneday I will b SAN kwa...I will fight wit all d lucozed I hve @ my disposal ...gbam okwu

The Governor and his handlers must have watched Scandal and want to try what Olivia Pope and Fitz's wife did. This won't work. It is only in Nigeria that I see that public office holders don't resign even when death is knocking on the door. Sigh!

bbefore they think is dead,bad ppl

This people want to hold on to power @ all cost. Someone has brain injury, he has lost his mind, but his advisers, commisioners, aids,etc still want their salary flowing in as usual. They will be eventually disgraced.

The governor doesnt look like some1 dat can resume. Office, cant even walk by himself.

Nigerian politicians are just power drunk, ten months away and his people fought tooth and nail to keep him in power with their gimmicks. Remember that family picture he took while in Germany? Someone that couldn't get down by his own self from a plane and already they are pushing to have him in the office? Instead of him to go and recuperate properly!

Poor him. But he should speak to his people and not write to them if he is fit.

Poor him but he should speak to his people and not write them if he is fit to go back to work.

Well done Mr Falana. No doubt corrupt opportunist want to loot under pretence. Just like Yaradua's days.

But he stil look sick, how can he cope

let him go anotherperson should take over. Our greedy rulers.

this man no fit, he should give the office to capable pple. A lesson to rulers that steal and waste our money.

zubby said...

D man looks frail. He shuld jst resign b/c in dis conditn, he surely wil crash d state d way he crashd dat aircraft.

Very good intention from Falana,nonsense cannot continue to happen in nigeria just like and peopls won't talk,we demand to know seriously

Is it the Inspector General of Police or the Surgeon General that should investigate his competancy? Does this matter have to do with the police?

Na wa ohhh

Engr. Steve said...

They're trying to do the same thing they did with Yar'Adua....*hisses*

Hia kerry washington in nigeria. Abi na scandal. Nigerians we are always quick to copy the wrong thing. There are parts were governors and presidents resigns too. Atleast pope did it.

Jbankz said...

Wahala de fr ds country,mk dem let d man jare em don broke

molebaba said...

Someone that couldn't even help himself with minor things wants to resume a more stressful and tasking position. make we still they deceive ourselves

Its like this mumu man wants to die on the governors seat.what is with nigerians and power anyways???

This man is still sick for christ sake.How will he inspect projects?cant they see that he is assisted to walk by his aides.why are his benefactor punishing him this way?

He shld take care 0f his health first.

Dr. O said...

Looks like a plot was stolen from scandal

jo jo skilo said...

His wife and her cronies want to loot like late Yar adua's wife

deeshyer said...

I swear d man isn't fit yet 4 d office!Coz on d new(TV) dey had 2 tell him 2wave @pple!!he dint even say nofin!He doesn't luk like sum1 in his rite senses!

jo jo skilo said...

The guy is obviously not fit to return as a governor cos he is looking disoriented.They want to loot

I so pity dis people! Anoda yar'adua in d making! They can neva learn all in d name of power..don't go nd rest u hear be claiming fit..u don turn nigerians to blind pple! Smh @xclucivexter!

Nigeria is really a hopeless country, how can a man who could not talk or stand or even walk on sunday write to the house on mnday that he ready to assume office are we that daft,its high time people challenge all this rubbish this politicians just do as they like and we buy it n keep quiet, this is really getting out of hand. all these big lawyers and activists it time to act.

a man that was carried out of the plane n wheeled into the car, and they told us he was too tired to talk cos of the long journey all d way from us, so he regained his strength as soon as he got home and wrote d letter that sunday night. they actually think we are fools n that's what we are till we rise and put a stop to all these nonsense

To b governor No by force oh c person wey dem de push lyk barrow wey 1 leg comot so na I'm Wan go bak 2 office! You go try ask yar'adua spirit how e b...cos I c say na him de call you so.tell your wife 2 go rest! Una don geh moni enof...#dolly#

This guy don dey watch Scandal!

Good one Falana (SaN)its obvious that Suntai is a shadow of what he used to be,and looked like a puppet as he was disembarking from the plane....laughing at meaningless things,someone in his condition is not fit to rule a home,not to talk of a state....this is the work of his wife,Jerry Gana and Gov. Jonah Jang,the whole charade was orchestrated by them @lekanemrys on twitter

What
is his bussiness? is He from Taraba state?

If this is some legal letter on behalf of a client, its clearly lacking.
It should have been backed up with constitutional authority and
whatnot.

Queen Bee said...

What kind of country is dis?
Saying a near dead,not speaking man ready to govern?*smdh.
This naija!,no hope!

i watch an interview concernin dis.....this mornin na dem sabi.....man wey dey look like small pikin wey miss road

Must u rule! If U are not fit,u are not fit. African leaders with their insatiable lust for power. Pls go take back seat joor. Mtche #Spencer#

This falana sef. Wetin concern am with taraba state ish. Smh *takingastroll*

You are so so on point!

The remaining part of his brain still knows that power is sweet na. Lol. Only in naija.

Admin said...

yeah that's necessary
CLICK to Get more Gist

Bobby K. said...

Dear Gov,with due respect to your office,pls I advice you resign honourably and go home,let us begin to do things right in this country.

Bobby K. said...

Dear Gov,with due respect to your office,pls I advice you resign honourably and go home,let us begin to do things right in this country.

Haba OGA OGOMINA.............NO BE BY FORCE TO RULE NA.ABI U WA DIE FOR STATE HOUSE NA...BIKO, JOOR, PLEASE GO PARK WELL ,GIVE YOUNG AND FRESH BLOOD LIKE ME ****WINK*** CHANCE

THUDAN said...

Mr bona, I like ur comment. U r always on point.

THUDAN said...

Mr Bona, I like ur comment. U r always on point.

ON POINT! ON POINT! ON POINT! ON POINT!..................

Wetin concern this guy, must he always say something even when its obvious that his opinion does'nt matter in this issue. When the late president was running the affairs of nig for months and we dnt even knw if he was alive or dead, he didn't say anything cuz he was a minister.loud mouth like hime. Banza bakwai!!!

Idiot opemipo, u will go on other blogs to abuse Linda of being stingy yet u will come here to advertise ur stale blogs. Mtscheeeew.

The governor does not have a clue of what is going on around him. From the picture, he is being dragged out of the aircraft . This is wickedness. And to those miscreant asking why Femi Falana petitioned the IG, we don't need people like you in Nigeria. Pls relocate to Togo cos you are obviously brain dead as well. Do you know the meaning of accountability? Google it. ( snacking kulikuli).

nigerian politiciaans r so drunk with power...im sure this man has already stolen enough money to last him and hos generations to come...yet they just want to keep acquiring all d time...give someone elase a chance for goodness sake, u r sick ,go home and rest!

Bobby K. said...

This is the show SCANDAL in reality!!!!

That's a BIG LIE! On d contrary, Falana addressed the issue publicly by quoting all the statutory codes that kick against deportation of citizens from within. Go and google his report before u start to make bias and unfounded assertions. It is pple like u who do not like to read, that misinform pple. Stop being passive, do ur own findings.

we r watchin to c d end this naija movie

Taraba state is jst there oblivious of d seemin tension loomin around d corner...Suntai's return has elicited a lot of controversy nd if kia is not taken can lead 2religious crisis.Methinks security agencies shd be on alert.Judgin frm d verbal xchange of rancour btw xtians n muslims,clandestine mitins,nd unconcealed intentions in d state,I fink Tarabians shd b vry kiaful.In a country as sensitive as Nigeria,issues lik dis shd b taken seriously.Suntai isn't fit 2resume office but d christians nid him in power.The muslims dnt want Suntai in pOwer( not out of sympathy ) coz dey want their own 2remain in power.-Hop u nw undstnd ma fear?