2 British Nigerian women assaulted & detained in China for 2 months | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 26 August 2013

2 British Nigerian women assaulted & detained in China for 2 months

Two British Nigerian woman have been detained in China for more than two months after their dream holiday turned to nightmare.

Modupe Idowu, 59, and her friend Esther Jubril Badmos, 48, were arrested after becoming embroiled in a dispute at a shoe shop in the city of Guangzhou.

They were locked up in 'hell-like' conditions at a detention centre for 38 days and although they have now been released, the two women remain trapped in the country as their visas have expired and authorities refuse to issue them new ones.

Mrs Idowu's desperate family said the two women's ordeal began Ms Badmos asked the shop to amend an order she had lodged earlier in the trip.

She was then assaulted by two members of staff before both women went to a police station.
Mrs Idowu, from Islington, North London witnessed a vicious attack on her friend.

Daughter Sarah Murray said: 'Although Esther tried to defend herself, she was pushed to the floor, kicked and beaten - and handfuls of her hair were ripped out.

'A security guard locked them in a room and another man, who we think is the shop owner's brother, came to the room and punched Esther.'

When they arrived at the police station their passports were seized and they were pressurised into signing paperwork they didn't understand, before being flung into a cell overnight without food and moved to a detention centre the next day.

Ms Idowu, who is known as Mary, was put in a cell with six other women - forced to sleep on a wooden plank and go to the toilet in front of the other prisoners.

Her friend was taken to the centre's hospital where she was treated for her injuries.
Meanwhile Mrs Idowu's five children have struggled to find out any information about their mother - despite paying lawyers in China around £4,000 to find out - and two of them flew to the country to track her down at the end of July.

Both women were released on July 29 but since then have been met with an onslaught of demands including a £20,000 claim for damages from the shop owner, which was eventually settled with £4,500.
But their visas have now expired and they cannot be issued with new ones until police provide paperwork to show the charges had been dropped.
Despite endless visits to the police station, officers refuse to tell them when, and if, the documentation will be provided.

Mrs Murray said she barely recognised her mum when she saw her come out of prison.
'When I saw her, I thought she looked like an old woman. She could not walk properly. She was so frail and so skinny as she had lost a couple of stone as she barely ate.'

Mrs Murray, who returned from China last week, added: 'I can't really put this experience into words. We are totally confused. It's like watching a horror film.'
Her sister, Julie Idowu, 26 said: 'Our pain is very real. I have been crying every day. I have taken a lot of time off work as I'm so worried about my mum.
'Her health and mental state is a big concern as well as the fact that she has missed her operation.
'It's an injustice that my mum has been held for all this time for witnessing an assault on her friend.

Her other sister, Elizabeth Idowu, criticised lawyers, saying: 'People are exploiting our despair. They are making money out of our continued suffering.'
A Foreign and Commonwealth Office spokeswoman said they were aware of the situation and were providing assistance, but could not comment further and said it was a matter for the Chinese.

Culled from Daily Mail UK

77 comments:

ki lon wa kiri? (wetin dem dey find?

Linda wen did u turn to Wizkid?

awwww! I hope they get deserved justice.

How appalling! Our foreign affairs and diplomatic affairs strength is on zero level! Our missions and embassies abroad have to wake up!

i cant understand this injustice! u go to a foreign country for holidays where u spend your hard earned money there and u are treated like this?! pls what is our foreign mission in china doing about this? i don't even like chinese people sef; most are dubious!

Hope they have not practice naija way at the shop

All these heartless chinese peeps eh,tufiakwa. Thank God they didn't eat them alive o. God pls come to their rescue.

Ohk... They shld come back to 9ja... There's enough spaace...

Mich said...

Eeerrr,don't you lot know?
Chinese are mostly racists...
There was this one time in China town where one midget Chinese numb nut called my buddie a f:!+@&• nigga.
I hope the women get their lives back,sad tale!

*POSH TEE* said...

PC,Nigerian embassies just exist for the fun of it,they do nothing,here in the UK as a Nigerian you cant even go there for help

I know dis ladies dey r very gentle and nice ladies dat cannot even hurt a fly bully to d Chinese people wit their smelly country

U are a big moron!!ori e lon wa kiri,malu!if u dnt av anytn reasonable to say,wnt u sharapp

Dats u can't speak simple correct english.ur brain is backward,which stupid naija way r u talkin bout?eranko!

Opeedo said...

what do you mean. . they need to survive na?

click HERE for more gist

You are calling Naija embassy...are they not british...UK govt nko

Chinko peeps r jst useless second hand human beings naija mst get justice all d china peeps in naija shud taste kirikiri nd see aw it feels 2 b punished I anoda man,s land

My thots exactly! Ki lon wa kiri!! No be only British Nigerian, u ll soon see British Yoruba.That z wat ur eyes see wen u go frm one place to d oda. If u don't understand their language stay away frm them, b4 they cuff u into a bad situationa. Olorun a ko yin yo

This people were treated like that because they were not recognised as British both by the British authority and Chinese authority but as Nigerians. This is time for us to repair our home.No foreign passport can save anyone from been a Nigerian..embarasement.Nigeria..Jaga-jaga.

Yemmie Oscar said...

They both look innocent. I hope justice prevails

Big fool... U won't read Ode oshi.. I feel like going on but I don't ve d time

O~Intuition! said...

That is how the Chineses traders go wild at times...

I had an near-experience once. We paid for the goods we wanted and told the China shop owner to deliver to the warehouse 4 days after.
On the 4th day while waiting for the delivery at the warehouse we decided to call the chinese guy about the delay in arrival of our goods. next thing he says was the day we came , his laptop got missing and that we stole it. In the bid to go back, the Nigerian shippers in china advised us Not to try it. That when we get their the shop[ owner will call a mob on us. and trust me they will file all allegations other than robbery on you...keeping in view their is a language barrier..

And in China there is a saying that goes.."do not respect chinese police FEAR THEM!"

I can only imagine the inhuman treatment these women would have been through.,

its really really SAD!

abeg what r u guys saying? im sure they traveled with British passports, in which case, they better off with the UK fighting for them. abeg stop abusing naija in this. for this purpose they r 'British'

BONARIOS BABY said...

Bonario where v u been? I miss ur comment, lol

BONARIOS BABY said...

Taaa mechionu gi kita,ebot @pc #t

Unless is more than the story I just read here now.........maybe they went about it the very wrong way, but no matter what.......well you know say naija get mouth.

shin chon chin wan

They are British - Nigerian remember? Let the Queen fight for them. I'm sorry tho

wat do u mean Naija way? am sure dis women re old enough to b ur mum or Aunty. y nt ve pity for a fellow human.

You know we should not be to quick to judge. We were not there, there are two sides to a story. I live in los angeles, and majority of my friends are chinese and japanese. They are not racist!!! Please we should stop the labeling and be a little tolerant.

Injustice,Hatred $ disunity bcos they're nt chinese. Laidae

There are plenty chinco pple in my office, they should come and pack dem oo...I will beat one tomorrow....

No freaking way I am visiting any lawless country! Living in Nigeria is enough nightmare.
I pray for God's guidance at all times and watch my tongue more than anything.

Ehya...

ebira babe said...

I really do hate it wen one is labelled British Nigerian etc,suppose it was a US citizen with Nigerian background that was attacked,wht name tag do we attach?American Nigerian?Pls let's tone it down,de re either British or Nigerian...the tag is just a sympathy thing and am tired of falling for such...and yeah am sorry it happened to them.

My tot too! If they are British nigerians , British consolate shold help out , but you see loads of pple hold Brit passprt they can't xplain nd wen thr are issues like DS they simply won't want to go near d Brits consolate !!
As for the Chinese ,I hate u pple with a passion cos I know ure big time racist .

@ Intuition..Your story gave me goosebumps. OMG! these people really scam innocent traders like this, lying and willingly have them imprisoned? How can anybody be so heartless to travellers in a strange land? Thank God there were Nigerian shippers there to give you some insight into the situation and eventhough you lost your money, you saved your life and dignity.

this is so crazy, the woman assaulted is my Aunty, this China guys are in trouble, anytime i see them, i will surely deal wit them.

Eyah!

Chinese are naturally heartless, I hate them with all the nerves in my body with there short short legs like half tuba of roasted yam, and there flat yash like mai suya signboard..God purnish them oo jare.

Wen their's problem U̶̲̥̅̊ 'll hear british(nigeria),american born (nigeria) wats dat all abt....¶ guess d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ are nt accepting us' we are just forcing ourselves on dem....

I don't buy this story. First if they are nigerian british and has a british passport, then they don't need a visa to travel to china. I have british passport and I have been to china several times and its visa free for british passport holders. So pls check their story well.

how sad, there is no place like home please if you don't need to leave Nigeria please stay there holiday is good but don't go to crazy nations (no offense to China) but its like me saying that right now I want to go to Syria well then RIP to me

It is unfortunate that Nigerians are treated as a second hand citizens all over the world.I think this should be a wake up call for Nigeria Government. Chinese of all countries it is not be their fault, this same people come to Nigeria and our police/Govt protect them as if they are God, and they come to Nigeria and mess up our girls and flood our market with all forms of sub standard products.Too bad. Am sure this case will be swept under the carpet. Hope the minister of foreign affairs is aware but I know he can,t do anything .figure head

Jbankz said...

Una sowi ooooo,mak una manage go back uk 2c d Queen nd report.rememba we nigerianz cnt fight fr u coz u na british

My God! Why do we Nigerians hate our selves so much. No empathy at all. Its beats me though.

Rough Diamond said...

Anu nkita @double goat! Onye nzuzu di ka gi! Looking for attention I guess? Thunder fire u head for always calling on my crush of life @ pc. I wu ewu onitsha pokwum!

So because they are blacks all what the UK Commonwealth is going to say is that they can't comment further? OK NOW!

Dana said...

Can't you read?? They can't leave cause their visas have expired and the Chinese govt doesn't want to issue new ones to them..

I don't know u but from ur comment it is obvious u are a very stupid individual. If the best ur brain could come up with is "wetin them they find", you are very daft. If it was your mother it happened to, would u ask such an idiotic question???

Looooooooooooooool

Their eyes no correct just look the 2 pictures , one must have stolen a shoe there , Chinese are friendly #lollz#^^Letthemjusttelluswhathappened4real^^

What's the job of the nigerian ambassador in China??? Nigerians are taking for granted all over the world and it's very wrong

I second you. The way Nigerians are been treated in foreign countries is just outrageous.

China is a big human rights violator, one needs to be careful when visiting such Countries is it is essential. Hope they get justice, if not from men surely God will deal with the offenders in his own time.

Jay said...

Like prince charles would say "slitty eyed bastards"!!lol

Wow all you ppl putting down china what about nigeria? One person commented that china is a human rights violator, wow when was the last you checked nigeria for violating the rights of it's citizens. Nigerians are so quick to believe anything against them that they feel is unfair. please ppl research before insulting another man's country. Also just because these women are older doesn't make them guilt free. Chinese are nice till you try to swindle them.

Looooooool

The same crude, loud and annoying way these Nigerian women engage shop staff in the UK and get away with when making complaints, they tried in China to their peril.
Nigerians are well known for such behavior in the UK.

I have been to as many countries around the world as any nigeria could mention : UK, USA, FRANCE, SPAIN, GERMANY, ANDORRA, ITALY, GREECE,DUBAI, SOUTH AFRICA, INDIA, TAIWAN, HONGKONG, CHINA (no boasting intended pls), but I will like to say that CHINESE people are the weirdest, self centred,most difficult,most barbaric and most wicked people I have seen or met. (pls do not mistake Taiwanese o, these ones are 110% civilised and not like Chinese at all).infact as a matter of fact, I dread going back to that country for any reasons, thinking about my experiences now, I swear, am tearing up, and it's notTeacher: "who is the minister of education?"
Children: "Mrs Dame Patience Jonathan"

Teacher: "who is CBN governor?"
Children: "Aliko Dangote"

Teacher; "who is the minister for information?".
Children: "Mike Adenuga"

Teacher; "who is the minister for sports.
Children: "Stephen keshi".
Teacher: "Correct!

Teacher: "who composed the national anthem of Nigeria"
Children: "wizkid"
Teacher: "correct"what is 2+5?
Children: "25"
Teacher:- "correct"

Teacher:- "what is the capital of Nigeria?"
Children: "Abia-umuahia "
Teacher:-"correct,

Who is d president of nigeria?".
Children. "General Muhammadu Buhari"
Teacher. "Correct!

Teacher: "Who stopped the killing of twins".
Children: "Psquare"
Teacher: "correct!who is the minister for women affairs"
Children: "Genevieve Nnaji"

Teacher. "Correct, Who is d governor of Anambra state?
Children. "Baba Tunde Fashola"
Teacher. "Correct!"

Teacher:- "Good! Clap for yourselves...
(children claps)

Teacher: It's gonna Remain like that until government increases my salary!!!

DESCRIBE THIS TEACHER IN ONE WORD even a pinch close to these women's experience, GOD SHOULD WIPE THEM OFF... I mean this seriously....

God help us

God help us

Didi said...

Those. Chinese peeps are always so rude!have had an encounter with them before in dubai!!Hope they get justice

What if I start beating Chinese in Niegria for this??

Asians have NO REGARD for human life. They can't be bothered to speak english, the ambassador needs to act o

I empathize, local Chinese ppl can be aggressive I know particularly when they feel u wanna rob them, but there are also nice ones, just don't argue with them when u don't understand their language, but come to think of it, do they really need visa to China as British....I just de ask oooo

LIB readers, well! Some of you need to be exposed and enlightened; exposure here does not mean that because you have visited another country, you are therefore exposed. The UK foreign office is helping these women, which means they travelled with the British passport. They would not be helped if they travelled with the Nigerian passport by the British. Their story is not exactly clear because if they used the British passport, they do not require a visa. So, there is something we are missing here. And please what do you know about foreign affairs that you keep abusing the Nigerian embassy? Figure out how these things work first before pointing fingers. Has any of you who has ever travelled to a foreign country registered your presence with the Nigerian authorities there? Yes, Nigeria is bad and things don't work but try and do your bit for these things to work.

Not sure if DS Lovly ladies are Britsh, they may be living in the Uk though. I once went to Australia nd had a nasty encounter with the immigration, lookin back now I think its cos I am black but none the less they checked my Brits pprt nd thr was nothin wrong with it but I still would not be cleared ! I ask to speak to the Brits foriegn mission there nd within 15 to 20 minutes I was sorted , my Identity was veriefied nd I was cleared.

og said...

Ya but you're only allowed to stay 30 days. They have overstayed so they need some form of documentation

D educated ones u mean?

I don't know when it is wrong for pple to mirgate to other countries n there no universal laws banning morgation.
The truth of d matter is d way our leaders n some Nigeria's behave, we r seen as dubious pple n our government r Nt helpin matters..
Chinese r worse, pple who eat their fetus for delicacies n practice cannibalism, y wldnt dey treat others has trash?

Double portion biko where did you get your hair from? Its stunning

U need a visa to enter china, British or no british. The only thing is that it is easier to apply for and get chinese visa in.the UK if u are british. U do not need visa to enter Hongkong as British. But China mainland u need visa as British

But you are daft oh...so pipul can nt decide to go on vacation again abi? I don't blame u...its obvious u r a broke ass ode oshi!

I will start slapping every Chinese I come across!