Ex-minister’s relation accused of killing live-in lover | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 29 May 2013

Ex-minister’s relation accused of killing live-in lover

Culled from  Punch
A relation of a former Minister of Interior, Capt. Emmanuel Iheanacho (retd.), has been accused of killing his live-in lover.
The suspect, George Iheanacho, allegedly killed his 32-year-old partner, Regina James (pictured above), the mother of his three children – two boys and a girl.
George was said to have killed Regina in their residence at 3, Calvary Street, Iyana Isasi, Lagos-Badagry Expressway in late April, 2013.
PUNCH Metro learnt that the accused, who worked in the ex-minister’s company, Genesis Worldwide Shipping Company, Apapa, on the fateful day, accused Regina, who had lived with him for six years, of unfaithfulness.

It was further learnt that subsequent argument over the accusation led to the suspect beating up Regina and in the process, she fell into a coma.

A source, who craved anonymity, said before Regina, believed to be from Afia-Nsit Urua Nko, in Nsit Ibom Local Government Area of Akwa Ibom State, could be rushed to the hospital, she had given up the ghost.

“George, sensing that Regina had died, wanted to escape, but he was apprehended,” the source said.
National President, Akwa Cross Indigenes Association, Chief Etubom Samson, said his association received a distress call from a concerned citizen that “our sister, Regina has been killed by her lover.”
Samson, who said the deceased was their daughter and member of the association, said, “George and Regina have been living together for six years. Since that time, he (George) has not deemed it necessary to go for their traditional marriage. The marriage has produced three children; two boys and a girl.

“We have always heard complaints of the two fighting. We did not know it would result into our sister’s death.”

Samson, who said Regina’s corpse had been deposited at the Island Maternity morgue, said her remains would not be interred until the deceased had been properly married.
Meanwhile, counsel for ACIA, Onwu Ekowa, Udo and Co., has written a petition to the police, calling for the prosecution of the accused immediately.

In a letter signed by the Managing Partner of the law chamber, Mr. Silas Udoh, the group also demanded N50m compensation for the family.

The letter, which was also copied to the Managing Director, Genesis Worldwide Shipping Company Limited, read in part, “We are aware that George Iheanacho, who cohabited with Regina James and who is now in your custody, did beat up Regina to death even when he was never married to her legally.

“We hereby demand the immediate prosecution of the accused in court, and in addition to pay compensation to the family within 24 hours of the receipt of the letter, or else we shall petition the  National Human Rights Commission and address a press conference on the issue.”
But in reaction, counsel for GWSCL, McPherson, said there was no nexus between the corporate entity Genesis Worldwide Shipping Company Limited and George.

The lawyers said, “I am assured you are apprised of the word ‘corporate legal personality’ and what it portends. More germane is that George Iheanacho is not in the employ of our client.
“Per adventure that George Iheanacho is in their employ, the particular case of murder (which is alleged) was not committed by our client.”

The Police Public Relations Officer of the state command, DSP Ngozi Braide, confirmed the incident.

She said, “We registered George as Nkem Iheanacho in our files, while Regina also answered Nkem’s surname although they were not married.

“The police are treating it as a case of murder although the man denied that he killed her. The wife’s younger sister, however, insisted that she was there when the man was beating his wife. We have taken the corpse for autopsy, which will tell us what actually happened. For now, the case is under

71 comments:

Ada Igbo said...

Too bad,r.I.p

lord have mercy

share your US visa experience here
usimmigrationdiary.blogspot.sg

"ex minister's relation accused of killing lover"
so if not for the minister, punch newspaper wouldn't have carried the news. still a longway to go as it pertains news reporting in Nigeria.
btw may her soul rest in peace.

Under ur bed sheet...mbok what has d ex minister got 2 do wt dis story. I hate such head lines. Abeg linda go n threat urself of ur illment rather than gv stupid head line

Let the autopsy come out then, so we wouldn't be raising temperament over an issue that's not been authenticated yet.

Serves d man well.as for all d men dat beat up der wives n girlfriends,nemesis will soon catch up wit una

When will Violence against Women ever end?He shouldn't go scort free ooo!#IRKED#

Dr pAs said...

Which kind stupid act be dis #sad I do pray dis won't tarnish Capt. Emma Iheanacho's political ambition come 2015 #ourgovernor

Hi, I've been reading the weblog a couple of days and merely wanted to say that the way with words is top notch. All the best.

"her remains will not be intered until she is properly married..."you had to wait until she had had three children then murdered for you to force them to marry,R:I P LADY i hope justice is served

Wonders shall never end. That beast in form of a man should be made to face the law. I wonder how a man can raise his hand on a woman. He should marry the corpse and then face the law. He is such a big fool

justlikeme@live.com said...

Not to sound tribalist or sumhn but did y'all check that name! It is Igbo name oo not yoruba this time!

Moral of the comment: A bad person is a bad person, the tribe or religion has nothing to do with the person being bad!

Naija una too much, coffee wey i dey drink hia comot my nose as i see dis

Its Nigeria and apparently the police isnt going to do much.. For cheaper registration for TOEFL, GRE GMAT and SEVIS payment, Contact US at ttlmsolutions@yahoo.com.

King Wizzy said...

any man who lays hez handz on a woman either married or not shud b locked up in d zoo.violence is never a solution

So unfortunate,'Funky'my guy,may God help u..Hector frm Abj.

nija women,may god help them,marriage in nija is by force by fire,even when the man want kill them they go still stay till they meet there death.l hope my stupid senior sis read this,and walk out of that hell called marriage.l cant stand my hubby yelling at me not to talk of beating me up,no way.l go call police,divorce him and make sure he goes to jail period.thank god l they live for EU were fear non they let nigeria men behave like animals.SO my hubby na perfect gentleman

Igbo people (joni joni) people that eat human beings. God help una

Blackberry said...

Igbo kwezuenu ooooo

McPromise said...

They are not married but they have 3 kids together and have been staying together for 6 years. Stupid girls, when you sell yourself cheap then people buy you at a cheap price. Just pity d kids u left behind.

ifusky said...

It is well. May her Soul RIP. Live in lovers, born 1,2 then 3 still u can't pay her bride price. Ladies learn a lesson frm dis

Aisha said...

wats dis world turning into? There is no single day dat will pass by dat 1 would not hear 1 bad news or d oda. God help us ooooo!

Since u've refused 2 marry her while she was alive,I hope u r ready 2 marry her corpse now?then after d marriage,u bury her.

dr.Who said...

Hmmmmmm!. An ex minister has a company???

Buttercup said...

Is wa o! Guys be killing their wives and lovers anyhow this days. Check well now na him dey cheat on her.

For now the case is under. Under where? Biko linda, you go steal news you no steal am finish. Get well soon . So u can face ur blogging

When will all thz violence against women stop. A man will play around for all he wants without any persecution but just a phone call frm a woman's "uncle" it will attract her a beating of her life.

Akwa ibom women with live-in-lover relationship and later being married in death! Wat a life.

tyffany said...

Jesus! How mean can people be?! With all d things they av heard... Some men still beat their wives! To d point of death sef! I pray Justice prevails... RIP to d lady...

Wat a wicked world. God of women deliver us from d hands of wicked men.

Another beautiful soul lost to domestic violence. Women, please get real with your situations. Better to be single than married dead. Lets learn from these stories. Worse still, he might get away scot free.

What a wicked world! God help us in this country.
Sweetner!

WTF do they mean by "did beat up Regina to death even when he was never married to her legally"

That it would have been okay to beat her to death if they were married ???

All these half baked lawyers and the way they carry out briefs. How could you petition the police to prosecute the suspect immediately without asking firstly, that the circumstances surrounding her death be investigated? Secondly, why ask the police to pay you N50m compensation? Has the police anything to do with her death? If you want to pursue monetary claims, why not wait for the suspect to be prosecuted first and then, if found guilty, proceed with the civil remedy of compensation?

Finally, as rightly stated by the company's lawyer, the company has nothing to do with her death, hence, has no liability whatsoever, even if the suspect was in its employ. If the suspect was an employee of the company, you have to prove that he committed the offence while carrying out his official duties. But nothing in this story suggests that.

Dis lady's family is d worst family on earth, u people are aware dat she's going tru domestic violence but u leave her there. Now she's death u want compensation, so u are waiting for her to be beat to death so u can claim money. Her family is a big thief, so they want to use her to make money now, best advice for the man's family they should use the money to buy shares for the 3 children the woman left, cox dis barbarian will squander all d money and won't take good care of the children. Family osi

kele said...

African men can u really stop a woman from being unfaithful by beating her up. My heart goes out to their kids who are practically orphans now

Y r Ibo men so wicked!!!always killing odas n afta dem go carry deir own marry.I pray he is asked 2 marry d dead body.n if he has God he suld pray hard cos him own don finish 2.y kill ha afta 3 kids.

Bad man!u can't pay her bride price but u can beat her up to death,dat serves him right,love in jungle

Agadi Tony Nduka said...

Like someone said, lets wait till the autospy result is out...
"her remains will not be intered until she is properly married..."
so, does the family mean a marriage ceremony will still be perfomed even now that she's no more..?
Aunty Linda, please keep a close eye on this case and let us know as the case proceeds...
May her soul rest in peace... Amen!

Bros -"threat urself"??? Mbok what kind of English is this?

for a man to beat a woman is not normal! PLEASE PEOPLE REMEMBER THAT! When a woman takes ONE beating it only gets worse and darker...he will either kill u if u dont get out on time or scare you for life! anyone who goes thru this pls spk out and get out! dont wait for the murder!

You are so wrong, minister or not punch wld have still carried this news

Hello Linda do you mean "Ex Minister's" Relative? cause the headline is kinda confusing..or do you mean "relation" as per "relationship? if not please edit the post to "relative".

Tweet from @oadun
@oadun: oadun http://t.co/ZWEbK1LYzi

Check out d update on the Arik crew drug saga

RIP to the lady but her family do not even know where to place their priority, they have not said anything about the woman's kids there are there seeking compensation from the man's relative's company like the guy owns it. What does the company have to do with the girls death, it makes no sense atall. Because they have heard oh ex ministers relative they think they can use the poor girls death to cash in. THEY DON MISS ROAD.

Marriage is not by force especially if it gives more sorrow than joy. If you are not happy leave. So sad that women have to go like this.

So dey want d man who murdered her 2 marry her? She must b turnin in her coffin. RIP lady, God rest ur soul n protect/guide ur kids.

U r a fool,so his political ambition is more important than d possible murder of ds lady?

Soo sad.... but pls oh, what's the 50m for now ehhnn.

Poverty will always find a way of coming out of such a case.... they shld face prosecution and leave money out of it biko..!!!

YUCEE said...

He shld marry her even in death? Well, they shld arrange asho-ebi girls too.

To be a live-in-lover is a choice n not a function of tribe or state of origin. Take note.

My fellow anonymous, u just made my day with ur Comment. Was gonna ask de same question...

When it is ingrained into a man, NEVER to hit a woman, Violate a woman, TO Regard with highest Nobilty, the world would have become a better place.

And until women raise themselves to the level that would instill such high regard in men, we are going nowhere.

since he ws stupid not to marry her alive for six yrs n afta three kids, he must marry d corpse now. Wicked man

Big lie, they will not!

Uc said...

@ Dr Who The ex miniter became a minister is 2010 and owned a company that was running for over 10 years and doing goo too not every one in government are poor

Uc said...

Just spoke with old colleagues and i hear this stuff happened like over a month ago and he is legally married to her as sum of them attended d wedding.................I dont get it wen dey say she was not legally married to him but bears his name .....abeg journalist should try and get their facts straight nd stop misleading people....
E don red 4 Nkem chei dis life eeeee

The Violence Against Women These Dayz Tho. He Beats You Once, He Will Do It Again & Again. Wnt Be Long B4 You Are Battling For Ur Life In An ICU. The Need To Do Somthing Abt This Domestic Violence Cannot Be Over Emphasised. The Deceased's Family Sha....... Will Lik To Know Hw This Playz Out In The End.

kele said...

U musr be the greatesr imbecile on eadth Sinc u started reading this blog how many murder have been attached to an IBO man the one that slit a girl's throat and had sex with her while she bled out was he not a yoruba man what was ur comment asshole

Which kin autopsy, u hear dat they beat her to death ur here blowing nonsense grammar

Too bad.

Domestic violence does no one no good but some women shld learn to shut their buccal cavity most times now d poor man is in deep shit.Waiting for ur insults. #teamabusedmen#

Ok when will ur brain actually start functioning? Ur anus can't be doing d thinking all d time. Mumu u don't mean to b tribalistic yet u are. Okpo brigade.

Pls visit teeteelahyo-amakulor@blogspot.com for awesome discoveries

Mumu u dint see ur brothers that sliced someone's neck in public.. Danburuba!!!

Long foolish comments.... You cannot get all information from one newspaper story.... Am sure the company has refused to cooperate in the persecution of this guy thus the sueing them.... They don't need to give you the plans for those kids on a newspaper report... Gosh people can make stupid comments eeehh

Your a bastard am sure you know that..... No man has an excuse to beat any woman.... If he has not committed adultery then he has a right to be angry cos some bastards think cos they are men they can sleep around but the woman must die.. The bastard should rot in jail cos no matter the offence no man has the right to lay their filthy stupid hands on any woman.....

Akwa ibom pple ennhhh!!! Abasi akan!!! The man have to marry the dead body first b4 ny burial can proceed; le tradisione.....
50m???? Haba!!! Desperadoes, if d hubby was a taxi driver wll d demand for such an amt? I. Fink tis death I sort of a blessin t d union and d family; d wanna gro rich overnyt..... Stp criticising d headlines; its cald news!! If it was put in such a way many of us wouldn't hav read it...... Applelipx

women,1yr after being together u stil cant figure d kind of man he his,mst of these mrg violence is caused by d ladies infidelity bt dat does nt mean d men shld b comiting murder,lets do urself by urself

Ubah Chetachukwu said...

domestic violence must stop!

Cause and effect. Pple shud learn to control themselves. Say no to infidelity.

Good post. I learn something new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon every day.
It's always exciting to read through articles from other authors and practice something from their websites.

Here is my website - トリーバーチ