Angry judge sends Okotie’s former keyboardist to jail over FB posts | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 31 May 2013

Angry judge sends Okotie’s former keyboardist to jail over FB posts

An upset magistrate at the Ikeja Magistrate Court, Lagos, yesterday Thursday dispatched a former keyboardist of the Household of God Church, Dafiaghor Okiotor, to prison for contempt of court.

The magistrate, Mrs Oshodi Makanjuola, while accusing Mr. Okiotor of flouting her directives to desist from posting the court proceedings on social media; also announced that she is withdrawing from the case.

“I have two publications here,” Mrs. Makanjuola said, brandishing two pieces of paper.
“One is saying: Countdown to Reverend Okotie suit, let us find out if Okotie is too big to come to court. The other says: Hallelujah! Okotie Chris gets a dubious judgment…,” the magistrate read from the papers. “You even had the effrontery to publish my picture on a Sahara Reporters newspaper

Ms. Makanjuola called in the police to take Mr. Okiotor out of the court despite the defendant’s plea that she hears his own side of the story.

“I don’t want to hear anything from you. A matter that is still subjudice before me,” said the furious magistrate.

“I hereby disengage myself from the case. The case file should be sent to the chief magistrate for re-assignment to another magistrate,” she added.

Mr. Okiotor, 40, is facing a three count charge including threatening and preventing Mr. Okotie, the General Overseer of the church, from preaching to his congregation as well as conducting himself in a manner capable of breaching public peace.

At previous sittings, Kola Dopamu, counsel to Mr. Okotie, had consistently sought to draw magistrate’s attention to media publications and Facebook posts on Mr. Okiotor’s wall.
At the last sitting, Mr. Dopamu raised the same “concerns” but the magistrate described it as mere “hearsay.”

“I’m not aware of anything being written by anybody,” Ms. Makanjuola had said.
Also, an earlier effort by Mr. Okiotor’s lawyer, Robert Igbinedion, to get the court to issue witness summons on Mr. Okotie was turned down by the magistrate.

Mr. Igbinedion had tried to convince the court to invite Mr. Okotie to come and present the church’s CCTV recordings on July 10 and 15, 2012, the days the defendant was accused of assaulting the “man of God.”

Culled from Premium Times

57 comments:

Na dem sabi jare. We have more pressing issues to attend to.

MAXIMUS™ said...

*yawns*

*files nails*

And this is news because?

*still yawning*

*dies yawning*

This is blantant rubbish. Absolutely nonsensical nonsense. Like i care less

abuse of power....

His accusation of contempt of court is incontrovertible, so its justice served!

JimCaddy's Blog said...

The issue before the magistrate was to issue a summon on Reverend Okotie to defend the claim that his former keyboardist assaulted him.. I feel the magistrate should not put personal sentiments ahead of a case.. The case should be viewed so as to give both parties a fair hearing. Thank God she is off the case..

http://jimcaddy.blogspot.com

BIG FISH * said...

The Magistrate hve the right to do what she did... Pls if u re a fool and don't understand criminal code don't say anything.....when a case is still in court u hve no right to make rubbish statement, he may win d case but cause of mouth problem he's spoiling it...I support the Magistrate...
"STILL WATCHING FROM MY OCEAN

How does that affect N1400 iguobazuwa garri? Abegee

Fearless! said...

If she was unaware of any posting,what directives is she refering to then?

She is a public officer and if the defendant had infact published her picture on sahara,I don't see that as contempt,infact,legally,its not contempt.

The only contemptuous issue here is the insinuation that Okotie got a dubious judgment!

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

The question is what is a jail? Is he a criminal? Why then was he sent to jail? I think this man is so fucking clueless. He shouldn't be called a pastor.

Okotie and his ilk are not men of God but men of gods. I can't fathom how anyone can allow these kind of charlatans to even lay a hand on their head. They command more evil than good. I've said my own piece.

Why will the jurist herself violate the constitutional right of Audi Alteram Partem of the defendant himself. What a jungle justice

yup said...

As much as we know naijas love to do "big man" and play the whole "do you know who I am" card, when a judge orders that a court is closed proceedings or certain info is not allowed to be shared, the plaintiffs and defendants in the case should adhere. That is why the judge was elected in the first place. His or her rules supercede all others as long as it is not a jury trial. Shame on the painist

GOBE

Them don pay her. Mschewww

Power corrupts, absolute power corrupts absolutely. That's all.

interesting! that judge dey vex o

Okotie has bribed the judge very very well. LOL.

kingzkid said...

He's got what he desrves....serves him right.

Methinks said...

What a judge! What a Pastor! Hian! Make una fear God o! After all is said and done, The rich man will be begging Lazarus for water...!

r u serious?? nigeria is f*cked!

I doubt you even make any sense to yourself right now.

***Twizzy***

Hmmm... " incontrovertible" .. See English! See my life! I had to get my Oxford dictionary and thesaurus both for this one, and this was me thinking I had a law degree.. Lol! Mr Aristotle..err sorry mr prince charming! Take it easy .. Some of us had 2nd class, we don't know this "1st class grammars " hehehe...

Btw, back to the original matter, you are right, the accused was indeed in contemp of court and the judge did act rightly, also right to witness herself from the case to prevent prejudice as she understandably has been drawn into the case on a personal level ( her pictures/ongoingcase on sahara/ social media whatever) Nigeria is not America, where courtroom drama is played on television..
That said... Goodnight 

Think about this before kissing your teeth... If she was paid she would see the case through and make a judgement infavour Of whoever ure assuming- paid her, why would she discharge herself from the case huh?

Sleep well... Shallow minded fellow!

Touch not my annointing and do my prophet no harm,those of u that insult men of God,watch ur tough.I have said my own.

Must you use thw word 'fool' fool.if you want to say something, just do it fool

So much for all the "Forgive and forget" preaching...smh. Action speaks louder dan words.

Shame on the judge!!!

I am,the NoSender. said...

E get as all this be. Will be patient tho as the news behind the real news unfolds.

U're beginning 2 sound boring.

When u do not understand legal principles i dont see the point in commenting on this post....it is standard practise and custom any where in the world not to comment publicly on an ongoing case... Making comments that prejudge or insinuate bias by a judge or the court is just wrong....contempt is contempt whatever the form it takes. The judge may be a public officer ,but putting her picture on a publication raises the issue of security albeit a minor one. Removing herself from the case was however the best decision bearing the fact that she already appears irritated by the keyboardist behaviour. Wonder if y'all will say the next judge is biased too.

You are definitely suicidal

Its either you are hanging yourself or dying in other ways. Your husband had better get you treated.

IYATUBUNMI said...

Anybody dat knw's Mr.Okiotor will knw dat d guy sick nd he his looking for fame.............wat Reverend Okotie has done for dis man,Mr. Okiotor...........his biological parents can not do for him for d rest of his life................................d lesson frm dis is a sneak will always b a sneak nd we shld b careful of d kind of people we draw close to ourselves

#kiss of life#...manage it..though,i av lil blisters on my lips#

When u are dealing with higher authorities in nigeria..esp when drz a massive gap btw u and d higher authority. U jst av to b careful of ur approach..in naija, as far as u are a nobody...U are already GUILTY#..it only takes God's grace to seive u oUT justified#

If u av notin to say#--must u comment?#--

I don't get, was dis suppose 2 be a news Ms linda?

Dan

I don't get, was dis suppose 2 be a news Ms linda? @kingzkid b4 u judge, do u really knw d full story?

Dan

bennysexy love said...

Man of gods#can't attend diz man church#fake preacher#he better repent and preach the truth or he rott in hell#

bootylicious said...

Mmmmmmmm Shaking my butt

chubbytj said...

@ anon 9.04pm, I totally agree with u! Irrespective of wateva, d judge violated d principle of "audi alteram partem"! Dis case has some shady undertones and in my opinion, d judge has been partial so far, stylishly shielding okotie!

what happens to freedom of speech?

first time i'm commenting on this blog tho....ms linda abegge na news be dis? abeg bring us news on femi fani kayode commoting pdp jare

Unfortunately Hun, like some things in life, freedom of speech as you know it also has some limitations .. I.e when a case ( criminal or civil in some cases) is in a closed court.. None of tge parties involved can reveal information about the proceeding!

Secondly, you cannot use figure of speech as an excuse for slander.... I could go On but you see my friend, but I'm guessing u got tge drift already. Good morning!

AA said...

all i see is how much they both look alike abi na only me dey see am?

Big fish!!! U re really a big fish. And what do u know about criminal code??

Ur comment is off the point

We don't practise the 'jury system' in Nigeria. She's a magistrate,call her that and stop tryin to feel like a law graduate. She acted rightly. She made an order, he flaunted it. How did she go aganist the principle of fair hearing?

How? When u don't understand a thing, ask questions. It seem a lot of illiterates are on this blog o.

Big fish!!! U re really a big fish. And what do u know about criminal code??

Thumbs up 4 ur comment. Im proud we can still boast of some1 sensible here. Some persons even decided 2 be abusing the pastor without having an idea or undastanding Linda's write up. I recommend mental state examination for dem.

This your comment gives me an idea of who you are . It's due to TRISOMY 21... I recommend chromosomal analysis 4 u.

Linda,why aren't Ɣ☺ΰ posting ma comments now. Ʋ want †̥♥ see ma oda side?

LawAbidingCitizen said...

Abi o!

May God help us! even me self like the keyboardist, I go go sue all the pastors when i don go their church come sweep for make them come back pay me too. abi na only keyboardist them go back pay? before na god them dey play for, now dem want back pay or no pastor go preach for im church! eeeeek!!!
Heaven will befull of surprises thats for sure.
malicious contents on the media is unacceptable by all means please. especially when its all a pack of lies.
people should get a job and stop all this squabbles.

by the way, the issue here is not Okotie coming to court but Okiotor claiming back pay for keyboard played donkey years ago.
where will the churchget all those millions to pay him?
what applies to one applies to others too.
am keeping a close eye on this case, the min he is paid, i will be suing my previous pastors for church sweeping too lol

Wisdom said...

that serves the fool right, only God nws his beef wt the pastor