Babcock University releases school fees for next session. Students protest | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 21 April 2013

Babcock University releases school fees for next session. Students protest

Well, they are not protesting in school or complaining to their school administration...they are protesting via the media. A few students from the school have sent me mails complaining about the exorbitant fees they are being made to pay to get an education. The university just released the school fees for the next session and some of the students feel its outrageous. See it below...
1) Accounting- N1.5million
2) Nursing- N1million
3) Law- N2million
4) Medicine- N3million
5) Others- N860,000
The students are scared to protest in their school because they could get suspended. Babcock is a Christian University and claims to be a non-profit organization, so students don't understand why they have to pay such huge amounts to school there. But here's my thing; complaining about the school fees of a private university is like complaining about the cost of a first class plane ticket. You have other options; business class, premium economy class, economy class. If this is too much for you, move to a federal school, state school or less expensive private schools. Not that I support these fees, I think it's ridiculous. You pay N3million a session to become a doctor and when you eventually get a job, you make less than N200 thousand a month...doesn't make much sense to me...but that's the way the school wants to operate. You either take it or leave it! What do you guys think?

But meanwhile, is there anything the federal government can do for these students? Like, make their University bring down the fees?

438 comments:

1 – 200 of 438   Newer›   Newest»
princess otito said...

If u guys complain or protest in school,shows ur serzness dan social media

Rubbish!

Last to comment!

damn 3million!!!!

Y will dey go to a private uni wen their pocket is nt boyant! Abeg linda tell them all dat na formality!!

As they say..."Different strokes for different folks"

Private universities are money making ventures.

Na wa o, dis skul too cost o, bt sha na for d rich cos poor man no go even tink go dat side. Abeg mak dem reduce d fees e too much

One Gud Chick said...

This is total nonsense isn't it a christian? all this pastor sef thunder fire them!!!

Neff said...

Leave the Federal government out of this abeg. Secondary schools pay close to this in Lagos already so they should take several seats! If their parents cannot afford it they should move over to The University of Lagos, UNAD, OSU,FUTA or even my alma matter The Premier University- University of Ibadan. The school has a standard to keep up and to be able to meet up with the cost of running that kind of school in Nigeria, paying lecturers,diesel and such like,you are going to have to pay through your nostrils. So live with it.

Amaogechukwu said...

Linda, you have a point. It's a private university and they dictate what they want. If you can't afford it move to other schools.the fees are ridiculous sha, haba. Instead of paying N3mlln to read medicine, I'll go to a university outside the country. It might not be as expensive.#my opinion

They av oda options,didn't their parents know the school was expensive when they put them there

Foolish bastard babcock VC. A skull of hypocrazy where pastord wld preach in church and fuck student still . Oloshi pple. Tank God av graduated sha ...... Babcock is the skull where u wld enter a virgin and graduate aborting 5 times .... What a skull . Am angry I even went there .... Linda pls I beg u posy my comment . Lol

Thieves

Without wanting to sound vindictive, a first class ticket, you pay for once with an expectation of how much it will cost ahead.

How do you explain getting to 200L and have your fees skyrocket without any justification

That doesn't sound like a first class ticket to me, sounds more like a bunch of profiteering lunatics hiding behind the cloak of religion......

Do you suggest 200L, 300L, 400L and 500L students restart in a public uni?

If most parents knew these cost implications, they might as well send their KIDS abroad

The worse part is after paying all these as fees you still come out to be scorned at by folks who believe you didnt attend a PROPER university (with good reason). Imagine paying all these milla milla for glorified secondary schools SMH.

Linda, federal, state school isn't an option, it's not easy getting an admission in those school even with high jamb or post ume scores, u still need connections.

Huh??? They are stupidly daft! What d hell?? Why won't d someone that can afford it just travel to a developed country to study rather than waste yrs in all these Nigerian mediocre universities!

--Teeteelahyo--

1stlady said...

Nawaooooo u better come 2 uniport n pay less than 500k 4rm year 1 to yr4. U wan go private skool haaaaaaahaaaahaaaa

Na force to go private school, mmtcchheeww, but seriously dis fees are outrageous

Amaogechukwu said...

Wow, is it that bad, why do they keep quiet?

Linda, how are these universities supposed to operate and function without the necessary funds? Are these universities supposed to rely solely on donations? What happens when these donations dry up? I totally agree with you comments. It's sad but mine is required to get things done. In as much as these church universities would love to provide free education to all, truth is, it isn't feasible unless you have a multi-billionaire sponsor, which these universities don't. These private universities offer relatively better educational opportunities to students (at least in comparison with government unis) so it goes without saying that the fees will be higher! P.s- are these universities registered as NGO's? I don't know about Babcock but Reedemers University is a separate entity from RCCG church, the university is run by the church but it isn't a registered charity.

D ppl sayin its fair r rily stupid who's fault is it ur parents cld only send u to university of ibadan do u knw hw many kids dis parents hv or hw dey struggle to kip up life isn't always rosy and no other private university is paying dis much dey collect money for practically evrytin nd dis increment is insane I hope dey see dis blog nd reason

They are stupid!!!! Even my school *American university of Nigeria won't even try such nonses 2mil-3mil for what and we got more standard than this trashy school

let them go abroad its better, they can still work while in school,get scholarships as well as go to better recognized schools.That is if their waec papers are ok, or they actually have brains for school.I dare them to go to Ghana and write their exams. conslusion the standard of eduscation in nigeria has fallen and we are not doing anything about it.

What the hell are they teaching them? Medicine in my school (OAU) is 14,300 (bank charges inclusive)!

Their choice anyway! Jamb didn't post them there. They CHOSE to go there.

I beg to differ Linda. Also in response to your comment. This is a to be a missionary school that's supposed to help students not increase the pain of their parents. You and I know how bad the economy is. It is just shameful a school designed to help students in the way of God is demanding much. Very shameful

Oluwadamilola said...

What thaaa? I dey maddtt? Why I go pay 2million for schl fee, whn I'm not paying up to 50k in Unilag.. What are they even teaching them there? Babcock? They are nt supposed to be taking medicine as a course in that schl,dem never reach. wetin dem dey teach them? Advance secondary schl.. Baba oshi.

Oluwadamilola said...

Osu mi oo, why una no kuku go yankee or Jand go study? Rubbisssh! For babcunnnt? Hahah! If I hear..

3 million! Dats outrageous!

taju said...

Linda u are koret

After payin dos millions U̶̲̥̅̊ still graduate lookn 4 job I regret goin 2 a private uni mtweeeeeew

God this is too too expensive.

This is really crazy....3million naira..??? How won't they buy private jets evrytime?...I think sm1 shuld pls help the students and parents..-imagine sm1 who has 4 kids all studying professional courses dat r more expensive dan d others...I really think it shuld be looked into...fabZ

Na wa ooooo dat moni culd feed a vilage of hungry old men nd women! Wat r they even teaching there abi subsidy enter d price of d skul??

Ohkay this is the most unreasonable thin ever 3million naira to study medicine in a nigerian uni?anywais I think why they r that xpensve is cos they are affiliated with john hopkins university!!bt hey cut me some slack,that's way too expensive na,for naija again?ordinary accountin 1.5million?Law 2million??roger that!!total fuckery it is!

We get the fact that its a private uni and pple have oda options (but honestly,do dey?)After writing jamb/post jamb like 5 times all u want 2 do is jst go 2 school,so d next best thing is a private uni.I'm sure dere is a commission/body dat can @ least regulate private uni fees in Nigeria,it would make things beTter cos dis fees r jst ridiculous.its robbery

I am a student of babcock university(mass communication).i am going to 200lvl nxt semester and my school fees amts to #747300 as opposed to #584000.Babcock university is nt a uni,it is a family business.We hav d VC,VCs wife is director of ventures,VCs brother is director of transport...so wat are we saying???Last semester 10 tear rubber prado jeeps were bought for some of de staff.With whose money?If Makinde starts fallin sick unnecessarily he shd noe dat it is as a result of "epe";curses from students and parents.its not funny na...Am scared to tell my dad seff.and dey call demselves a xtian schl!Chhristian school oshi wo?The name shd be changed to Makinde and Family ventures...Thunder fire dem

ibuzz said...

This is ridiculous i must say. Nonprofit indeed

Do de pay dis much?..#faints# this really really outrageous!..wtf!..#wakesupandpickrace#.. Una no fit catch me abeg!..

Xclusive said...

I'd rada pay such fees in Ghana than in Nigeria..datz 2much..

Oluwadamilola said...

For the rich yea? See, that schl is still an underG schl compared to federal schls like, Unilag,OAU, Ibadan, and some others..infact, when did they start taking medicine sef, schl wey no get level..See, you ppl should stop wasting time, come to medilag or lasuite, abi travel out.. You go still kneel down ontop the 3milla sef.. Buhahah! Baba oshi!

God punish them,d ques is after paying al ds huge amt U̶̲̥̅̊ stil com out suffering luking 4 a job!...arrant nonsence indeed.mschewwwwwww.

If ur parent can afford it no problem if dey can,t, am sure u ve heard of ambrose alli university
Law 60k
English 35k
Nursing 56k
Accounting 50k
Zoology 15k

So they can protest lolololololol! I tot they are so tush and boxed updey don't need protesting.Una jus start. Better go learn from Lasuites how to protest! Lol

joy said...

So true, my colleague graduated from there, she lost her virginity, did abortions, sorted lecturers cos most of d time she was in lag with her friends 4 runs nd misseD classes nd exams, each time she tells us about d school nd her experience, it marvels us, thang God she is chamged

Vivian Maduekeh said...

linda,itznt easy getn admns into ds federal universities...establishment of private unis z d best tin dt hs eva apened to tertiary education in nigeria...bt d tin z dt..d founders of ds private schs esp d church skols shld pls sit dwn nd think...aw many of their church members who constantly pray 4 d skol nd contribute to the skol cn afford the fees? ...ds z nt fair at all...dey shld borrow a leaf frm d missionaries who came to nigeria in dose dys....

Better come 2 better by far unilorin n pay 16k.....ife 32e90bcc

@jazmine_89 said...

Linda, fine its ur opinion but how many Federal schools operate without riot? In d process making a 4yr course last for 6! Depending on wt d last school fees was like, they shld protest via their parents/guardians/sponsors. How many students do they want to suspend? All these Christian Universities na for mouth. May God guide them cos I don't think the govt can and/or are willing to do anything!

Oluwadamilola said...

3million is not too much, but I cannot pay that amount for a secondary schl oh! sorry university like baccunnt! Lol

Woah! I schooled in a private school outside the country and my fees including accommodation was N800K

Oladokun olawale said...

They have to bear the BRUNT.Unless NUC intervenes;but they didnt intervene in LASU's own!

You dare not protest in Babcock Uni, u'd be suspended or expelled, it's like dat and it's nt easy 2 leave as well because u started already. The advantage of being a babcock stdnt is much actually because u hav security, 24hrs electricity among other things. I'm nt in support of the increase though I'm a final year stdnt and I'm glad I finished b4 dis crazy increase. Another cruise is dah u knw d date u're convocating on ur matric day...no strikes

LOOOOL. I finished from OAU. Comp Engr (5yrs course). My total school fees (part 1-5) including 2years accommodation fees = #66,360. (Sixty-six thousand, three hundred and sixty naira).

ihuoma said...

Warevs biko. Nobdy forced thm, nethn thy see they shd take it like tht.

honest barbie said...

Anon 11:12 you are a fool. Am very sure you didn't graduate. The lectures don't force you to sleep with them do they. Ode. Am sure you didn't go to BU and if you did am sure you among those dirty things that sleep with lectures and think they will give you mark but they don't and you start bad mouthing the lectures because of your extra extra years. Am a graduate of BU and no matter what I am proud of my school. Fine the school fee is outreageous and something has to be done. But the sad thing is that, its some parents that allow BU get away with most things. And I feel such parents should take their kids abroad. Am so happy all my cousins and sis are graduating this june. Thank you father

mewhoknowsyousowell said...

You seem to forget that the Federal Government massively subsidizes education in its State-Owned Uni's.

Yes oo, glorified secondary schl..

All of u saying who sent dem to babcock wen u resume skewl ur fee is bou 550k n all of a sudden it skyrockets to 1milla dd any of dem expect da much increase..n linda sayn dey shud move to fed uni..v u thought bou d ones in final year goin to start agen...plus u whu sed d cost to run d skewl is high,how do u noe cos last I chkd d food is rubbish no steady power supply,no internet connections n d likes so wot r dey paying 3milla for??

How I wish most of the commentators here do reason like you the blogger. Dumb, silly Nigerians who always want free things. Make una go complain to BA on why first class ticket cost naa? Better still enlighten dem more on how mush it costs to read medicine in the states.

Yes! because those are the universities in Nigeria, all these glorified secondary schl no be schl na..

As in..even Unilag, you wnt pay up to 300k, and na better schl.. Iranu

Most of this people attended missionary schools for free, but now thiers are the most expensive.... "Christain Universities" indeed

Abeggi, they are glorified secondary schl..

As in..even Unilag, you wnt pay up to 300k, and na better schl.. Iranu

Yes oo, glorified secondary schl..

Oluwadamilola said...

3million is not too much, but I cannot pay that amount for a secondary schl oh! sorry university like baccunnt! Lol

POPOOLA ADEBIMPE said...

To start wif,I am a graduate of OAU linda and u need to see and know wat I n my mates went tru, shld I start 4rm d enlongating a 4yr course to a 6yr course, d lecturer dat comes 2 class n say "A" is 4 God n "B" is 4 him, so even wen u get an E u c ursef as a genius??? N u fenk God @least u passed d course bcos a repeat wld give u d minimum of 1 extra session??? N u av to start looking for job 4 yrs n if fortunately u get one u wld be paid less dan a 100quid, like seriously wat is happening to our nation?N dis is nt only in OAU but all dese so Called federal n state universities. Back 2 d private UNIS,I tot n felt d idea was to help d less priviledge #Correct me if am wrong# dese fees are outrageous and shld not be condoned, I fink d govt shld intervene and regulate dese fees.....as am priviledged to skul presently in one of d unis in d UK , I come out bold to say the system of education in NIGERIA is 0.01 out of 10 compared to skuls here in d UK.Y am I saying dis? If ur father can afford 850K,I advice he fix u up outside Nigeria rather than invest on a no interest in Naija.
P.S- all I av said is my opinion n nuffing to brag about here,so please do keep ur insults to ursef in advance.tnx.

Most of this people attended missionary schools for free, but now thiers are the most expensive.... "Christain Universities" indeed

We can see real transformation AGENDA of GEJ..Pastors making money,Militant and Bokoharam..All transformation .Dr even look for job than any other discipline.

Hope they also pay the appropriate tax to the govt.I'm sure they are been operated under Non profit making venture and buying Jets.

Some of us just watch the movie from outside.

I beg second base jare Ros.

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

Its just so funny how much they pay, its really nt deir fault, the educational system we have is poor....

Linda who's feeding you with all these?? There's an increase but its not as much as the figures you put up.

mewhoknowsyousowell said...

I'm an ex-student, so I might be partial. If you ask anybody in the administration of a State-Owned University, you'll realize that, give or take, without government help, that would almost be the cost of education in Nigeria. Nigeria's economy is imploding. Cost of normal goods are skyrocketing. Its simple economics. And the person who talked about ABTI, you seem to forget who owns the school. A Sugar-Daddy who's been the VP of Nigeria. While these schools might be non profit orgs, they are also not for loss organisations. My only grouse is this. If you read the terms and conditions you sign while accepting to be a student, there's a clause that fixes a 6% increase in school fees per annum if need be. Are these increases actually just 6%?

Protesting is not an option unless u wanna get suspended...someone nids to tlk for dis students ts getting too much!!!

Let the truth be told that should be about the cost of a University education.My kids in primary school pay about Nim a year per head. The sooner University fees are aligned to reality the better for everybody . Meanwhile you see this students with telephones that even I a worker and top manager cannot afford.

Makinde ooo!!!pity our parents na.babcock is naw 4d rich.*sighs

Why would you pay 1 million to study nursing . How???

kidodo said...

U jos hit d nail on d head aunty Linda. Y complain wey u Ave other options.

Kels said...

I'm a super lioness...
And dis was my school fees history...
1st yr-#30,100
2nd yr-#22,800
3rd yr-#26,850
4th yr-#18,500...
And I have sense..lol..
So,y wud I throw away such an amount? Ndi ala!

Wow....... Make den study abroad den... N does dat can\'t afford it shud move ?????????? poly,state or federal uni or evn study n a cheaper private uni....

^^Princess Jobless?

Mary said...

Y pay dt amount wen u can go abroad and get better education.I can help you get up to 50% scholarship at London School of Business and Finance (LSBF)in London,Manchester,Birmingham and Canada. Send an email to:menabulele@LSBF.org.uk

Veron said...

I guess they dont av students union buh they shd b a kinda PTA. The parents can collectively fight this exploitation without any victimisation. Grownups av a way of resolving issues amicably

Silly Nigeria! Why on earth will I give those thives such an amount? When in the end,no jobs in nigeria. Christain school my feet. Private school my arse! Compare a student studying in a western college not even a university abroad and a student in the university here in nigeria, you will see the difference.
So why waste money to produce unproductive members of the society that ends up begging for a job of 30k after grad!

Nigeria is a joke!

busola said...

As for u guys that re sayin that if we had d money we shld nt complain wat of covenant re dey nt a private uni nd dey pay less dan us soo pls u hav no point

Wich yeye american university dt has not been accredited.No b all d drop outs of Unilag,osu,lasu dey go dere. Abeg park well jor,wich yeye standard

Most pple don't go to private universities cos dey want to.dey go cos dey have spent years trying to get into federal and state universities without success.I gotta say.dis school fees is so expensive.I think ppple ll start going abroad rather dan go to the school.dis is sad.I just pity those dat have gone far in their studies in such schools.this is why most Pastors can buy private jets

Quality speaks volume,the school feels if they can pay huge sums abroad to acquire same thing,why not here....
Its for the elites though....

dollie said...

This is outrageous.......the VC increases the schoolfees each semester....it wasn't happening before...the guy is a thief jare.Increment of over 200k per session is damn wrong.sum parents sent their children to these private universities cos of the way some Federal Universities operate..d chances of graduating with a good grade is higher in private dan Federal Universities...so,sum parents make sacrifices to send dier children dere....

Government can do little to nothing about it,trust me

Its very unfortunate that fees have turned out to be the way they are in babcock.Reasonable dialog with the school can change things but mind you there are some private secondary schools in lagos that collect over 1.5m so what are we saying? Also lets face the main point and stop talking abt sm1 being a virgin at entry and aborting several times.was the person raped?didn't she open her legs for them.So pls...I graduated from babcock and am proud of it,am working and doing well. To God be d glory

Wetin sef,Na only 'BabaAdiye-Baba oshi be private uni'?
You people should not waste ur time....Come to Landmark University,Kwara State.
The highest sch fees 500k.

JimCaddy's Blog said...

Well Linda like you rightly said, there are other options. There is absolutely nothing the Federal Government can do to these schools because if not because of the neglect of Federal Universities, private christian universities won't spring up like this. The private universities have a point. They claim the infrastructures put in place there costs so much, which I won't dispute, but there needs to be a limit.. The Federal Government doesn't seem to care.. The Ministry of Education seems helpless.. Let's just be watching events as they unfold.. Fine if I have the money, I would send my kids there, but if I don't have money, nothing do UNILAG!!!

Now I'm convinced the school is really..anon11:12AM can't even construct simple English and he/she graduated from there...SMH

Dnt hate on the skul, the fact dat u can't afford it doeant make it a rubbish skul or below standard okay! Though the skul fees is ridiculous bt u dnt ve to beef it! So be reasonable

busola said...

Pls jst stop sayin rubbish our parents don't wnt us to go to a federal uni for reasons dey want us to be safe don't kno abt u bt I tink we hav a rite to complain so pls don't be so critical

lets our parents and guardians do something too after all they are the ones paying and its not formality people don't fancy spending 11 years in uni due to strike ans all what not c'mon students are already struggling with the current school fees why d increase and its not as if they're doing anything tangible for the school

True point....it's like buying the ticket and when the plane done dey airborne them come announce ticket increase, when ppl done already begin fly..

Mehn!I love my alma mater,Obafemi Awolowo University,Ile-Ife,d cheapest uni in Nigeria,I paid 30k or dia abt as sch fees 4rm pt 1 to 4.Abegi,wetin dem dy learn in dose exhorbitant private unis o,I dnt knw self.Accountn is even more exp dan Nursin,buhahahaha,it's well o.Proudly OAU alumnus

boluwatife said...

I am a student of babcock university,a 200lvl computer science student...personally I think this string makinde is pulling is stupid,,,in queen esther hall we pay 150k per semester,,,just 4 accomodation,,,haba makinde fear God,,,u have a chopper in your name,u have a yatch,a glass house in abj and you are still in debt,,,wetin happen? Ne we kill helen.G.white ni?abi we be aliko dangote pikinz?our lectures are not of standard..@all babcock student abi una no know miss ochulur ni?english lecturer wey no sabi...our hostels are weak,leaking,,you building then in such a rush,sub-standard materials,,,and your stupid wife...you won't reap the fruit of you labour IJN

Everything still boils down to corruption. Is Nigerian not rich/blessed enough to establish standard universities with little or no tuition fees? But, those bastards have not stopped syphoning public funds. If there are well equipped and big capacity public instutions that can take care of Nigeria population, why the rush into private universities? Besides, our visionless and selfish goverments supposed to have better programmes that would lessen concentration on university certificates. Must everybody go to university before they succeed in Nigeria? It's not done like that even in the advanced countries.

JimCaddy's Blog said...

LOL!!!!!!! But seriously the fees are getting outrageous

Linda please tell them to read and pass jamb,Nnamdi Azikiwe school fees is #20,100(twenty thousand,one hundred naira,only).

soso said...

1.5m for accounting? Arant nonsense. I read a better course in a better school with good standard for just N7,700 a session. Msheeewwww, if I hear. #GREATEST UNIBEN!

mo2nde said...

Oga JU, all tjose in concern e pele ooo.olorun a pese

Useless people and dey claim dey know God!!!

It's a private school hence a profit making business no matter what they say.if u choose to go to a private school of all the schools in Nigeria then be ready to pay for it. You go to a university as an adult so if you getin as a virgin and graduate aborting 5times it's ur stupidity, u chose to sleep with however asked.I graduated frm BU too and aborting 5times or becoming a slut is not part of BU's courses. Hypocracy is everywhere and BU is full of humans and no angels so u don't expect them to be any different frm ppl u see outside no matter what they tell you. Yea! The fees are outrageous but again nobody is forced into it and there is always options to tansfer to another school if it gets too much to anybody.

My take on this issue Is, those school fees are ridiculous,even if ur parents can afford it,u would even have more respect if u get a degree outside this country with such an amount!so pls save ur breath and leave the school,becos protesting won't solve the problem, this is nigeria, forget the fact that its a christain school, they won't care, they have obviously weighed their odds properly.

U just made d best comment so far!

Omosetan Omogbeja said...

You pay 3million and still fail, you hardly finish from Babcock in 4yrs, if not 5 or 6yrs u'll finish as a summer graduate. Suspension promo!! Try rubbish and go home. Insurbodination and Truancy, ur friend sleep on ur bed; Parallel Accomodation, u sell recharge card; Gross Merchandize of prohibited goods. u dub assignment and u go home, u get D for course, u retake it. You drink CocaCola, they charge you for drugs. God help BU students..... It was a hectic journey for me.

I Yarb my younger broda over dis all the time.I keep telling him he should have read hard for federal School Post-ume exams. He schools in Babcock. I finished from a federal University. The highest I paid for a session was 10,000 naira. Naw that their school fee's been increased, Na for our garri drinking to also increase. God dey.

"If u can't stand the heat...get out of the kitchen".

I refuse 2 accept their complain,this is a private bizness & the owner was given right by a govt of corrupt personels 2 do what he deems like.Funny,the govt most failed us 4 past 2 administration.This bcos its the only time we r having lecturers as National Presidents whom much was xpctd on educational sector.SHAME......Come to thnk of it;BABCOCK was the result of worshippers fund,are yu telling me that these worshippers affords these ripleys beieve it or not fund?..Hmm God over to yu---Umannah P

deedee said...

I am gonna sit on d fence here. Wat did d students xpect wen it was so easy 2get d admission.private universities just give pple admission without evn chcking if d students passed d waec n jamb requirements and d students demselves carry demselves 2d skool knowing fully well dat private university is xpensive. Nobody forced dem 2go a private university wen we hav government universities.d truth is if it is as rgards to deir skool fees, dey can't protest becos it is a private university. If dat is d case, wat abt private secondary schools dat pay up to 2million as skool fees? If u can't afford sumtin, dnt bother goin.me I went 2 a govt skool coz I cudnt afford private

pexxie said...

Let's all be realistic here, we shouldn't say because they chose to study in a private school, we should forsake them! The fact still remains, that the fees are too outrageous, absurb and insane, for an acclaimed "private university" which is also a "christain school" which by nature is meant to be a "NON-Profit" making entity! They should review the fees abeg!

My son is in nsukka reading medicine,na one million I use do d runs and m proud to say he is among the best top students in his class.now dose piple shud use deir money judiciously.as for d school dey av evry ryt to increase deir fees,were u der wen dey took bank loan to build.

American University of Nigeria????? Where dt one dy abeg o.

B.U is a stupid skool oooo I havnt paid up to 20k from year 1-3 @ OAU nd here dey r talking of millions ...so sad money making machines go ahead nd skool der...FOOLS!!!

That doesn't mean they shld extort so.. Much from parents... How many of these lecturers and staffs can pay as much as parents do at the end of the day they get to be failed my their lectuers... Abeg leave story oooo... Most student enter these schools paying very low and at the end pay outrageously high when the are almost done...

Did u say better opportunities. I am an employer of labour and I pride myself in dat and I can assure u dat if a student of babcock and a unilag student both with d same qualifications apply to my organization for a job,I wud consider d unilag student first.I also just did a little research with about 5 of my friends who manage Hr in their respective companies and dey also agreed with me....so sir/ma,three million on school fees per annum is a total waste!

Anon 11:12 am, ur stupidity is unquestionable,u went to babcock to have abortions, was it part of the courses u were supposed to study? Ur mates were attending classes and u were shagging every willy within sight! Small wonder your tenses are so poor, ur parents wasted money on you, pity. Pls re-enroll yourself in another uni, this time focus on ur studies and not sleeping around.

mccoy said...

Quite dense isn't it? You lead a care free life while in school and then blame the school for it? Seriously?

LWKMD....hehehehehehehehehe make dem pay na...abi who send dem?? Linda abeg talk better tin...

mccoy said...

Quite dense isn't it? You lead a care free life while in school and then blame the school for it? Seriously?

It really surprises me at how Nigerians derive joy in taking out or fighting their fellow citizens and so called brothers without considering the system as av seen in some comments on dis issue, yet our national anthem ends with 'unity'. A lot of these students are in these unis cos of the inadequacies and short comings we face in our public skools and the terrible entrance examination called JAMB...Its outrageous that students should pay such as tuition fee and deres no guarantee that they'll even get the money's worth based on the country's low standard of education.To be frank, a lot is just wrong in the society and Its just sad that we hardly hear any positive news coming from home and Lin, Ur judgement shouldn't be based on the 'first class ticket' thing.

Babcock won't kill sumbody....am jut happy am leaving dis dead sch finally in less than 3days.to 300l goin to 400l u av to finish nooni bt 200l n 100l abeg biko make u take transfer form its nt too late.dis sch z jut d worst thing dt eva happened to me.TG sha am out.SMH

if you protest here you are gone

Opelenge said...

Exactly! When u think of an institition that takes you on merit, and is "strike-free", private universities provide all that.
Buh 3million! For a session to study medicine... My 5years in Covenant University(engineering) wasn't up to that...

Were are we going 2 , how do they expect. Parents 2pay such amount just 4 sch fees , at †ђξ end of their service year no job 4 them they will even recive †ђξ same salary with those 4 UNN,UNLAG,FUTO & etc so what †ђξ difference than

Dis is horrible... D skul don turn business center

Well.. Firstly, let’s get one thing straight here Babcock University isn’t a non-profit organization, its an institution with standards and opportunities, and of course recognized value among its contemporaries.

Secondly, the fees are based on the expenses spent on major developments to improve academic excellence in each department.
For instance:
Medicine & Nursing has the Ben Carson Medical Centre, a private health facility where the students can learn and practice what they’ve been taught on a daily basis instead of the arduous and trivial effort of transporting the students every working day to another public health centre shared with other universities to do this.

Accounting students have the opportunity to get exposed to professional courses that would give them an edge out there and graduate as Chartered Accountants.

The New Horizon Computing Program, this is an advantageous platform that Babcock University have add to the curriculum as a compulsory course aligning to the structure of each department where the students can gain indepth knowledge of computing programs.
Few mentioned yet many pros this great university is providing..

Thirdly, the students are not FORCED to do anything. A university with class and status have an image and reputation to protect, how do they intend to do this by setting rules and regulations which EVERY students agreed to before upon the ACCEPTING the offering of admission by the University and the SIGNING OF THE THREE YELLOW PAPERS BY YOUR REFEREES and a FREE student handbook to remind you of the dos and don’ts.

In addition, Babcock University IS a CHRISTIAN UNIVERSITY in fact most alumni, though some may live in denial, would agree that this University have encouraged them to get closer to GOD than ever or heightened their commitments in His work and encouraged their growth spiritually.

˘̶̀/ ̯˘̶́ Enough said, let’s come to a compromise that YES the fees are “outrageous” of course it should be premium products aren’t sold at a cheap rate, anyone who can’t afford it should stay in their financial lane.

Comparing Harvard and Babcock University.. (ò.̯Ó)
Hmm.. You know they pay N7,481,250 and above for their undergraduate level right??!
But wouldn’t mind if Babcock University is the next Harvard..

HARVARD UNIVERSITY has made a name for its self in fact has a permanent residence among the best universities in the world and rated most times as number 1.

Please Babcock University Students and Alumni, let’s save face on the flaws of OUR UNIVERSITY running a University isn’t an easy task and getting to that level of perfection doesn’t start in one day.
If you don’t feel comfortable with anything ASK questions from the authority that’s why there’s a platform for that called THURSDAY@ 8.

Let’s build, protect and celebrate our University wherever we go, whether you’ve graduated or still in the system.

DON’T BE THE ONE TO BRING DOWN YOUR OWN UNIVERSITY, LET’S ENCOURAGE THE VISION AND KEEP IT AFLAME.

This is extremely ridiculous!
The student should all request for a transfer to another cheaper school & see if they won't reduce d fees. I remember during my internship in Aiico insurance one of there student can't even use MS excel & I had to take her through it for 2 weeks.

Chidozie Mario said...

This is ridiculously outrageous. What the govt can do is to upgrade the public schools.
It Is Funny...Isn't It?

Is nahtin!!!!!!!

Ure still contradicting urself.u av many kids,u r not dangote and den u want to send ur kids to babcock.pesin wey send him pikin go dat kain school did he think dat it wil be free.

Well said. Truely the school fee is outrageous but its wrong to say dat when u enter Babcock University a virgin u come out bad or u must av done abortions. Whoever did dat,twas her decision and not d school's fault.
I graduated from dere and to d best of my knowledge they try to instill discipline in students but we still go out of our way to do dis things.

Secondly,don't let us Sin against God. Why not allow God punish d pastors instead of calling dem names? Let's be mindful of what we say.

Above all,they should reduce the school fee so that it will be convenient for parents and like Linda said we don't av to go dere if our parents can't afford it.its better to stay off d school dan doing Runs to pay our sch fee.

@ Damilola c'mon shut up,my skool has levels ,U would be glad if they give u a chance to be here, but u can't afford it so suck it up

Wow, ds much jst 2 produce feeding bottle graduates wt degrees dat are not tendable in most govt parasatal ? Eg Immigrations, some parents sha can like to show off. Let them pay na, or they leave.

I graduated from UNIBEN in 2005 all the years I spent there I don't think I paid up to 150k for school fees, and am working now with over 250k salary, like Linda said above they have options... Apart from strike etc the govt owned Universities teach but not up to standard we all agree, but come to think of it are students not supposed to do their own researches? I don't mean to sound funny here but I don't think I'm using anything I learnt in school in my place of work today, and most of the things I know today I got to know before and Post University sorry to say this but its the truth cos all they did to our brain was pure SATURATION. So in my humble opinion if the private Universities are so expensive let them go to the govt owned Universities save all those crazy monies and go abroad for your Masters to make up for it cos I seriously don't think the govt can do anything for them.

Its simple, its either u buy ur drinks in Mr. Biggs or go to a small shop to get it.....Linda, dis is not suppose to b posted in d first place.....its no news.

People be getting things mixed up here. It aiin about not knowing the fees before entry. Its about d outrageous yearly increase. I graduated from there recently; paid less than 450geez on entry but these fees crept_up till I left the 4 walls to about 850+. You ask why? There is absolutely no answer. Big_buildings - YES! Buh these folks aren't living better lives that when we waz there.

It' very simple, if u can't afford to get a drink @ Mr. Biggs, u can get it in any small shops around.....Linda dis is no news, secondary skools in Ibadan pay more than 3m for a session.

In unn,no department pays more than 50,000,and that 50,000 includes accomodation ooooh!!!! School fees is paid according to depatment and level!!! As u go higher ur school fees decrease...and I would rather be a super lioness than to go to babcock!!! The only private uni I have little respect for is convenant!!! I'd rather pay that money in north america,uk,europe,india or even ghana sef!!! Mtcheeeeew

McQ said...

The question should be "does the quality of educational services offered by the institution commensurate with the new tuition?" if it doesn't, the best way to make dem reduce the fee is to try others that are more affordable and have better services rendered. Worst case scenario is you loose some years but if u can't pay, u don't really have an option now do u. Besides I don't tink Nigeria has a maximum/minimum price legislation.

Tolani said...

Federal unis n state unis are sponsored by the federal governments n state governments respectively. Private universities dnt have the government as thr sponsors. I attend Redeemers University n the government do not sponsor the school, I knew the amount of school fees I would pay but I am still in the school. The cost to maintain a university is very high, talk less of a private university... Am sure the school fees in babcock is so outrageous, but is it best for students in 300/400/500 to leave n go to another school?? No! So the best thing is that the students should inform their parents and the parents n school authorities shld have a meeting. Because thatz d only thing that would change it.

2million for uni, 280k for law school then get paid 15k as lawyers...kmt

University of Ilorin has better standards, stable time table, DISCIPLINE (this is lacking @ BU), Well qualified lecturers, very good infrastructures....what else are u looking for?

Its true that getting in na work tho but I'll rather join Boko Haram than pay that much for education in BABCOCK UNIVERSITY, Ilisan Remo (there's another outside naija)...

I no go chop meat on top o!

The school and student's are so overrated mehnnnn.

Will dey teach dem how to raise the dead? I mean the medical students? Mstcheeewwwww.

Vivian Maduekeh said...

I rather spend such money in a good school abroad with infrastructure and credibility..It is really outrageous having that their degree is not even well recognized in Nigeria.
www.safefoodnaija.blogspot.com

The reason i stopped going to church is simply this. I am beginning to suspect all the churches.

oooo come on...seriously. Just transfer to AUN (American University of Nigeria) for nurses 3 million..come on. You can major in Natural and environmental science here at AUN and then go on into Nursing school...that is what students here are doing, which is very smart because it gives you a broader experience. No lie, seems like David O and his popsi dey run out of money....mcheeeew

Private school is not equivalent to being tush. Ppl jst need to go to skl, a lot of u guyz makin noise abt lag and oda federal uni know hw u got in, runz and all. So cut dem some slack and let's all hope the govt duz sumtin abt ds

This is really unfortunate. A dilemma of some sort. Do u pay N100k to go to Unilag/UI, etc and spend 10 years studying Law and donating your body to some uncultured lecturers for marks? or do you get ripped off by these imposters parading themselves as private providers of learning? What real choices are out there? This is what you get when nobody cares about the education system. I went attended public schools, primary to university, but today I pay N4million per session for my son and daughter who are in junior secondary schools in Lagos. What are the alternatives? They say "if education is expensive, then try ignorance". Nigeria is really at its brinks. Meanwhile, I hope these private schools are not tax exempt. Govt should tax them heavily. I rest my case.

We know there is money in nija but this is outrageous. After schooling here, are there special jobs reserved for them?

Oh! So there's a uni like that sef.. All of una never dey university. Iranu

@ oluwadamilola, you are a retard. I don't expect much from you given that you are a Maulite. Well informed people know that medicine is expensive in every country. In the UK full tuition to study medicine is in excess of 20k ( that's in pounds) you do the maths.
From henceforth never go fully retard on this site ever again. Try concerning yourself with stuff that requires little or no iota of thinking. Dumbo.

Doggy

ejikebiggerdick said...

Hia! See this pipu oh....govt can't do anything oh.
The earlier y'all qo nd purchase jamb form d better for u.
I see no reason why one shuld pay such huge amt of money in dis sunny and irritating country jst for academic purpose

odunpie said...

If they like they can complain till jesus come, Prof. Makinde will never bring it down instead he will tell them "Babcock is not meant for the poor if u can't afford it den the gate is open for you to leave" and a product of the same babcock, the only prayer is dat God should provide for their parents.

Mtchewwwwwwwww who send una msg?

Stewie said...

Sometimes i wonder the rationale behind parents who send their wards to such schools...Wont it bé a better venture sending that same child abroad instead of wasting it on these schools...Travel by road from lagos to abuja and please tell me the number of private universities you pass on the road....So many of them and i wonder who accredited such school(thats if they have been accredited)its just shocking.Students in that school should not complain...at least its not you paying the bills...Except if there's no money for "pocket-money" after paying such ridiculous amount as fees.

If you have no Idea wat dey teach & u also don't know Y dey r paying so much,SHUT your dirty Mouth & focus on ur own sch work.

Business don finish 4 naija? No be 2 make money carry us go sch? That amount is a death sentence, sucide mission 4 me... Even UK sef go shout whether naija don dey high ? Where are d equipments and infrastructure that would warrant such a ridiculous figure....? Babcock, Hell is real o....

Doctors do not earn less than 200k monthly!!

If u fink education is expensive try ignorance.d fees is expensive no doubt but u staffs need to be paid too u knw. I pray d schl reduce d fees but at d same tym u guys shud stop posting stupid comments abt d schl nd rubish abt abortion.cus nobody force u do runs. D best tyn to do to help ur parents nw is pass well nd nt complain nd still av carry ovas.u all shud knw dt u cnt do anyfyn abt the fees nd d best tyn u cn do is to av good grades plus u re nt paying ur fees ur parents are nd dey aint complaining nd even if dey re ,u re still in schl cus dey knw its worth it.

On top all, dem no go give u better food chop. You'll never taste barbeque chicken with ur 3M till u leave dat hell hole. Don't wear dis, don't drink dat... All lies of hypocrites. Dey scammed church members to build d uni, now dey want parents to do blood money to pay school fees... Rubbish!

kendra said...

Abeg,dey don't have options lindaa... This is not like first class ticket at all. In first class ticket,u know what ur fee is going to be while going to and fro...

How do u explain the fact that u started with 7500k a semester and the next semester,u are expected to pay 1.5million naira,that's outrageous... Even igbenidion and convenant aint taking that much amount of money.. So what are we talking about?

The increase in school fees is what happens in any university but making it outrageous is not fair at all and this sch is more like a family business.. All this schools that are from churches are suppose to be way cheaper,cos people sowed seed(both the poor and old) so there children can get good education but can't send there children there anymore...

I'm glad my parents saved all the money and sent us out to school,cos I can't even pay that much amount in a sch that's in nigeria,when u graduate,u will still seek for job like there's no 2moro while if u sch outside,u get job instantly

90% of the people there will pay, skl of medicine, is called Benjamin Carson Skl of Medcine he will be lecturing the, from next year.. Amongst other surgeons. Moso pe temi, finished wen the fess per year wasn't more than 400. Work sef don dey!
As 4. Oluwadamilola, I'm not trying to diss u or make fun of Unilag, that's a very good skl by the way, but pray that when ur enemy goes for an interview he or she isn't beside a babcock grad. Bcos d person will be screened out.

On top all, dem no go give u better food chop. You'll never taste barbeque chicken with ur 3M till u leave dat hell hole. Don't wear dis, don't drink dat... All lies of hypocrites. Dey scammed church members to build d uni, now dey want parents to do blood money to pay school fees... Rubbish!

Its too much! University education is expensive... This free tuition system that the government schools in nigerian operate on makes it seem cheap but its not. 3million won't get u medicine in a good skool in d US, UK or Canada. But still NUC shld put a sanction on the prices... IUO was once seen as very expensive bt now these damn christian schools just want to out do them. Trying to go to the federal schools to read a course u really want. And u put in ur best in d screening only for them to tell u to study Biology Edu or soil science,after years of tryin. In a country were doctors re not receiving upto 200k wat wld d peeps who teach biology make? NUC makes university education important again... Cos now...na to Hustle na sure pass

odunpie said...

My dear u hv to addapt to it, may God enrich ur parent, am also a graduate of this same babcock (2012)when I was in 300l, 115000 was added to my fees without any explantion my department den Public health help us to talk to d bursa who promise to return the money but maybe it will be return tomorrow only God knws. Dats Babcock 4 u.

Same price or even more expensive than studying abroad.

definitely i agree with you linda. it is a private school, but they have other options. and education is very expensive around the world today, meanwhile there is a surplus of graduates with not many jobs available. it comes down to families, is spending that money worth more than investing in a business? na dem sabi. self-employment all the way.

It's so easy for pple to condem private uni bcos they are not oppotuned to go to one pls ans me will u blame a parent for wnting d best 4 their kid in an environment dt is as bad as nija. Nonsense as if it's dt easy to enter all d so called public uni; even if u luckily enter we all knw wot goes on there en hw it take enternity to study there; en is it automatic to get student visa cos u hv moni ni. I beg babcock plssss oooo ds una fees na die sum middle class parent hv children there tooo ooo.

With this outrageous amount of fees they are paying, I will get a better education abroad. I don't think its fair. Nywez its a private uni.

Ameriestyle said...

Wow, why so expensive? Not like they are even sure of jobs when they graduate.Education is not meant to be this expensive biko.well, if they can't afford it they can check other private unies
www.ameriestyle.com

WWW.WADUP.COM.NG said...

Sometimes I wonder how Linda reasons. I'm a fan of your Blog oh...but please think deeply before you make certain statements Linda. The fees were barely 600k before now, so how do you explain the 300% increase over-night. The State & Federal Universities are pretty messed up, hence their parents enrolling them into the Private ones. Its all about the Nigeria situation. Many of these students risk dropping out due to the crazy increase. Don't always think the parents are rich. Some struggle to pay these fees to give their wards the best education no matter what, so its not as if these students choose their schools themselves afterall they don't pay by themselves, their parents do...so please calm down and reason like you're in their shoes. You don't know what's going on in these so-called Church schools.

By the way I sent you a mail concerning this same topic to enlighten us but you've chosen to ignore. Check your mail and read through.

WWW.WADUP.COM.NG (For the hottest Music/Video downloads)

www.wadupradio.com (Dishing you 6hrs non-stop hits)

@willadebo

This is the result of brainwash we get from these new generation of pastors and their churches. It's by choice anyway

Oluwadamilola I beg no vex I can see u hv serious beef for d skull. God will ease ur pain. But don't blame pple for wnting sumtin gud out of life.

linda, you are wrong< people who go to these schools go there because they think or could afford it, when you increase school fees by over 50% in this cases, how won't you complain. Its not like primary and secondary schools where when you don't like the fees you can go to another school, people who can't afford this will have to go back write jamb again and start afresh after all the school fees and time.

These students came to you asking for your help, instead you used your comment to kill their spirits. I don't know anybody in babcock, but I am a nigerian and I know that times are hard, som of these students would have written jamb numerous times before managing to get money to enter this school

♥Ozone baby♥ Ozone Cakes, Onitsha/Owerri. 08147224581 said...

Lol. I wonder why dem no carry d money go beta country for jand go study. I went to a good Federal Uni but all my schl fees frm yr 1 to final no even reach d least amount these folks have to pay per session.

yeti said...

anonymous 11:15 ua the most sensible person here. even linda is just snseless. wen u enter a skool at 100 level en they pay 500k en 200level the skool fees just goes up wivout any justification, then it is pure nonsense.

Lmao!!!Lasuites no dey carry last for protesting...but reli this is jst unfair and outrageous..why is then called a missionary skool?they r looting parents sayn they payn tuition fees..Wo God is watching u pple ooh cz I'm sure most of d cash is entering their personal account!

Your hatred for Babcock is also exhibiting your ignorance. Your so called Unilag, OAU and UI are living on past glory.
Do you know that graduates of private univerisities like Babcock, Convenant and ABTI Yola are better placed to get employment than graduates from other Nigerian Unis! As an H.R person it's my business to know these things. Graduates from these three unis are more employable than their contemporaries from other Nigerian Unis.

I just wonder why parent that can afford this much cant send their child abroad.... what economic importance has a private school made in Nigeria... please can someone tell me what is their latest discovery in research...(in medicine, science, or art) nothing! oh my God! save this gullible parents, increase their wisdom and give them a better vision in other to provide their children a better future.

this problem is every where ,even in the US.in the usa education has become a great deal of investment for the credit union .you can go through life here as a well paid doctor and not being able to finish paying your student loans ,pathetic ,but the truth remains companies accepts students more from private schools than federal schools anywhere in the world .so going to a private school is risk , a sound investment required for a specific amount of time because you have a chance of getting back the money spent in the days of your youth.in my opinion i feel it is better to invest the resources into your education than the time.time waits for no one.

♥Ozone baby♥ Ozone Cakes, Onitsha/Owerri. 08147224581 said...

Jeeeeez! All in d name of goin to a private uni? Tufiakwa!

Pls don't complain about d skool fees oo, bcos dey can afford it, if der parents can't afford d fee, dey hav d choice to bring dem to Uniben or Unilag

AMMY said...

Well too bad,d last fees I paid in 2003/04 session was abt 300k.Can't imagine if my parents could have affored ds feess now. Ope oh.

NG black said...

Rubbish, wht kind of school is dat,or D school they take person 2 heaven

Thank u very much... d most sensible comment here... odas bin talking bt dem moving tooda skools after paying all dose moni... oga o

Linda stop sounding ignorant. The reason eh most people go to these private unis in the first place is because of how hard it is o get into federal or state unis. Help the kids if you want to but don't condemn them for protesting

Aunty linda,u forgot to add medical laboratory science to the list,we r payin 1.5millla too. I jst thank God I'm in 400 level. 1 more year and I'm gone. If we protest,we wil get suspended for 2years or more,all we cn do is cry inside nd pray dt GOD provides for our parents till we graduate. I started 100level with 560,000 bt now it has sky rocketed. If I had known d school fee wil increase dis much,I wud hv waitin for admission into a good federal uni,so dnt blame us nd call our parents dumb. Seventh day adventist christian uni my foot,even deir fellow church members cnt afford to attend d school. Nna mehn! I tire ooo. Lindi biko post my comment.

Abeg whc church owns babcock uni sef? *Luscious*

Of d greatest Ife!! Just hailing jare... Lol; bur seriously throughout my stay in Ife(5yrs) I didn't pay up to 70k in fairness to God!! I studied Chemical Engineering and I've written both local and international standard exams with excellent results.d fees re quite exorbitant, even masters in d UK ren't dat expensive! To tink dat d so-called religious Universities were built with church funds (@ least I'm sure of Redeemers Uni) we paid offering ehen, both in camp and our local parish. Alas dey don't even give scholarships to members ...bla bla bla. Bottom like : it's ALL abt d Benjamins babe... Lol! God help us

Everybody is just thinking abt der selfish self.just bcos U̶̲̥̅̊ want †̥̥✽ get into a federal skool U̶̲̥̅̊ sit 4 jamb and post jamb close †̥̥✽ 4 yrs God helped U̶̲̥̅̊ if U̶̲̥̅̊ wrote it once and got admission into skool. wasting ur precious and useful tym. U̶̲̥̅̊ find a better means wouldn't U̶̲̥̅̊ G̲̣̣̣̥ 4 it.d problem is dis country is filled up wit selfish people who only do things in der own benefit not minding d negative impact it AV  odas even d S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ called pastors and leaders,and we can never get better if we don't find solution †̥̥✽ Đ‎is

Haleeemarh said...

My gist is dt. Some private secondary schools here in lagos pay close to 2m..n so its no big deal in d uni,and for som sayin is it by force to be in a private uni,if u can't afford to be there better kip shut cos dey r makin public uni less competitive

Like I said in my previous private university post who send them message? When ur mates were reading and passing JAMB what were u doing?
BTW 1m for nursing? That's... #nowordsmehn!

My dear, take several seat abeg. D sch fee can skyrocket anytime cos its a PRIVATE uni, u shld b prepared. Its either ur parents get more money to fund u or u GENTLY move/transfer/drop/reappear/etc into a federal or state university. They r not lunatics, if u can live wit it, then deal wit it OR move out.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 438   Newer› Newest»