25 year old DJ shot dead in surulere | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 24 April 2013

25 year old DJ shot dead in surulere

I hear there's been a few gang related killings among young men who live in the Shitta, Akerele, Bank Olemoh area of Surulere. One was killed on Sunday at Block 28 opposite Shitta Primary School. Another one, a DJ, was shot dead yesterday. See the Punch report below
The residents of Bank Olemoh Street, Surulere, Lagos, were terrified on Monday when two gunmen shot dead Olamide George (pictured above), a 25-year-old deejay.
According to eyewitnesses, the assassination was carried out at about 2pm while George was with friends under a tree, popularly known as Abe Igi.
When Punch Metro visited Bank Olemoh Street on Tuesday, police vehicles were seen patrolling the street.

Two residents, who pleaded anonymity, said the deceased was an ‘internet businessman’. One of them said the likely motivation for his assassination was a N2 million deal he just concluded.
They added George just rented and furnished an apartment at Apapa Road.

It was learnt that just before his murder, George reportedly answered a phone call, and the caller requested to know where he was. George answered that he was at Abe Igi.

George’s father, Mr. Gbolahan George, said, “I was told that the assassins were four and were in Keke Maruwa (tricycle). They parked at the entrance of the street; two got down and walked to where Olamide was sitting with his friends. The one with the gun did not know him, so the other person who accompanied him pointed at Olamide.

“Immediately Olamide was identified, he was shot in the head and the chest.”
“I was called around 2:30pm and was told that my son’s body was at the morgue in Lagos University Teaching Hospital. He was declared dead on arrival at the hospital. I reported the case at Area C Police Command.”
Gbolahan George said his son was not of a dubious character.
“He is a DJ, and not a scammer. And he is very gentle and pleasant. He wanted to write JAMB and get into Lagos State University.
“Olamide was also about to wed his girlfriend, Yetunde Adeyeri, who is five months pregnant before his untimely death. And that was why I gave him N500,000 to rent a one-room self-contained apartment at Apapa Road.”

Our correspondent saw family members cleaning blood stains from Olamide’s Golf Volkswagen car with number plate, LND 879 AG.

The Chairman of CDA, Bank Olemoh Street, Mr. Wilson Ojei, said, “I know Lamide as an easy young man trying to survive. Nobody had any complaints about him except for the occasional youthful exuberance, which is common among other young men in the community. From indications, the attack was not from within the community; the assassins were outsiders.

“We have been instructed by the police to cut the tree at Abe Igi.
The police spokesperson, Lagos State, Ms. Ngozi Braide confirmed the incident.
She said, “The case was reported to Area C Police Command. We are investigating the killing and I can assure you that reasonable arrest has been made.”

70 comments:

Eya Ayambem said...

So Sad, May his soul rest in peace. May the almighty protect and provide for his wife and unborn baby.
btw, to see step by step pictorials on How to make puff puff at home, Go to:
www.wivestownhallconnection.com

How sad! May he R.I.P

Awwwwwhhhh!.. Who knw wat really transpired!.. And trust 9ja, dts where de story will end,.. May God accept his soul and console his family!

Miss bimbel said...

He's such a cool fellow,may his soul RIP

Linda, check laduns blog, they have just hacked it. my advice for you is to stop using Mozilla Firefox because it retains password and ur info. FROM there hacked can use softwares to retrieve ur password and hack ur account.

Linda nnem Ladun's blog has been hacked o,yeeeepa by archangels!!! Please report this is serious

What the Fu&k does cutting the tree solve???? WTF

May his soul rest in peace and may his unborn child see better days.. Amen!

May his soul rest in perfect peace lagos is. No longer safe God help us

Nawahoooo. They just wasted this poor guy,he shd v been spared no matter wat. May his soul rest in peace.

zubby said...

Quite a pity! May God console d family. 2 d livin, dis shuld serv as a warnin 2 us. Be upright in al u do. Dnt drag uneseccary attn towards urself

sherylicious said...

wats all dis rubbish nw. the kind of mind ppl hav u wonder if dey eat salt and pepper like normal ppl

“We have been instructed by the police to cut the
tree at Abe Igi.” Nigeria Police Force though. Incompetent as Fvck!!!

Chei!!! So sad may his soul r.i.p!

Sweet sixteen.

So sowie for d loss,may his soul rest in perfect peace

Its such a pity! Anytime i hear of deaths like dis, i cant help but wonda whr his/her final destination is! Its †Ñ’ξ only tin i fear concerning death! May his soul rest in peace! One cant imagine his fiancee

meshy said...

"And we can assure you that reasonable arrest has been made" oloriburuku olopa. Why did they waste ther time reporting to police . They should just bury thhere dead and pray for his soul.RIP DJ Olamide.

too bad. Wat a sad story. May his soul rest i?????n????? peace.

RIP. Nawa O°˚˚˚ , God ∂E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ sha.

What a tragedy! RIP Olamide.. *LibHead*

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Iraq >>>> Nigeria. FACT.

may his soul rest in peace.

RIP bro, but "eyes rolling" @ been instructed to cut the tree

na wa ooo dis world iz really wicked c as dem wst dis young lyf...r.i.p

Dey shld jst arrest his last caller he know sometin about it, by d way wat does cuttin down d tree gat to do with d murder??

May his soul rest in perfect peace (Amen)

sayo said...

wt ll cuttn of d tree acheive?? So sad n sorry for Yetunde n her unborn baby,may his soul rip.

May his soul rest in perfect peace (AMEN)..

WHat a sad news
God wil giv ur family a hrt 2bear dis pain especially ur wife
May ur gentlesoul RIP...

WHat a sad news
God wil giv ur family a hrt 2bear dis pain especially ur wife
May ur gentlesoul RIP...

Abeg nah tree shoot person?which one bi too cut tree nigerian police sha..may God rest his soul.

Really sad (tears drop)lamide rest in peace* sigh*

What has d tree got to do with the issues? RIP bro.

OMG!Wat is dis world turning into?I pity his wife to be ooooooo and d unborn baby

wenger02 said...

check am wella he blong.

Adanna said...

R.I.P george
Buh i pity d gf o 1 of d demerits of sex b4 marriage n gettin preggy outta wedlock na she begin struggle all alone wiv d pikin(illegitimate child)

What does cutting the tree down have to do with anything?!? May his soul RIP!

Lynnajade said...

God help us please

Lynnajade said...

God help us please

Sad tale..instead of talking forensic science investigation to catch the bad guys, they're talking about cutting down a tree that has been there for ages... Why do we have morons in the law enforcement. So sorry for the family, I hope justice is served.

This killing is getting out of hand in this area ooooo!God console his family nd d wife to be.

Where have u being? Guess lib readers have really being scolding you lil boy

Anyone can kill anybody now cos of our leaders popular weak slogan "d culprits wil be brought to book" I Thank Jehova for my life and I pray our leaders receive wisdom from Him, but if the legions of demons in dem continue resist, well.... May they be drowned like pharoah in d red sea. Amin. Linda nwanem post this o. Lol

Tree cutting is Soooooooo bad for the environment

I feel very sad hearing this tragic tale from my neighbourhood. Though, I've lived in the USA since 1994, and have been home regularly(as recently as January), I still have the "area" blood flowing in me. Sports was our outlet and "Abe Igi" was popular for its soccer battles that produced the likes of Teslim Fatusi of the 1996 gold medal Olympic Dream team. The legendary Hakeem Olajuwon, the retired NBA star of the Houston Rockets grew up in Shitta, and left from there for the USA. The great Sonny Okosuns was also raised not too far from there(off Fujah Street).OJB Jezreel, music producer par excellence is another name from there. I'm a lawyer both in Nigeria and the USA, and I can go on to mention countless professionals both home and abroad who were raised in the Akerele-Shitta-Randle-Benson-Gbaja axis. That the neighbourhood has gone to the dogs can be traced to several things chief among which is the erosion of the original values by new residents who purchased the government quarters from the original allottees and owners. The infiltration brought in people who had little in common with the culture and history of the area. Neighbours used to watch others children, and you were conscious of keeping your family name clean. Alas, those days are gone...

Na wa, dey came on keke and were able to escape, and am sure dey r police stations arnd dt side oh! Gosh d insecurity level in nigeria is rather sad sad sad

he who lives by gun will surely die by it

Its a pity and sad too,Rip DJ and may God console d family too!

Too bad,I know d wife will give birth to a baby boy..RIP boy...ik1881

Jenny said...

"Cut down the tree"?wot has the tree got to do wif his death...mtcheww nigeria police.

May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace.amen.

Its jst so sad! May his soul rest in peace.

"internet businessman’. One of them said the likely motivation for his assassination was a N2 million deal he just concluded"

What is the definition of 'Internet Business'

Which kain biz DJ dey do wey go reach 2m?

is this not karma?

# Just thinking aloud#

God will not allow the killers to go scott free. May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace.

MY CLASS MATE IN GCL So Sad, May his soul rest in peace.

I'm still baffled o! Do the police think the TREE Had a hand or "branch" in it? Rather pointless. If its that the place would no longer be used as a hang out zone, then what makes them think they Wont hang out elsewhere????
May his soul RIP. Especially sad for the pregnant fiancee and the unborn baby...

Hmm, na wa o,people can be so wicked,i just pray and hope justice will be done,and by the way wat has the tree cutting git to do with the killings&all, abeg they should face facts.May God console his family&fiancee

This is what we are saying. 'Internet businessman'? The father is even hiding the fact the guy is into dubious business. Someone that can afford to drive a car will not be able to rent an apartment?

where has moral gone to in this country? The guy is about to write JAMB yet he can impregnate someone.

The situation is so pathetic oo. May his soul rest in peace. May God be with the unborn child.

The problem with this country is moral lesson is lacking in most homes.

Na wa o,may his soul rest in peace,I pity d girlfriend and his family,so sad,may God give them d strenght to move forward and may d killers be arrested,amen BUT is dis just an innocent death?was Dj olamide really innocent or was he a cultist?and what does cutting down d tree got to do wit d whole wahala?dis useless nigeria police,na olodo plenty pass,so sad#folds legs and watches movie#

"We have been instructed by the police to cut the tree".... LMAO.. The Nigerian Police. *Smh*

Reasonable arrest has been made... Fucked up liars... if i hear they arrest the poo boys killers.. nigeria is jut messed... God Help us tho..

olamide George ....... Mr. Lammy Dezzy....... Boss Boss ...... ma brova from anoda mother..... real hustler.... cool calm n collected dude... i stolen dagrin's picture from ur DP on monday..... hurts to c a broda fallen. But we can only look up to God for respite.
t'was fun knowing u bruh.... jagaban#1..i love u bruh.. i'll miss u.... RIP bruh. one. see you at the #crossroads.

Very stupid comment . What happens if they got married, she got pregnant nd he got killed . Ur reasoning is very low, calling d unborn child illegimate . We knw ur type.... Mtschewww

What goes around comes around.... Many of u know the true story behind d killing . But u shd all remember '' Ye who live by sword, die by sword " Enough said

Very stupid comment . What happens if they got married, she got pregnant nd he got killed . Ur reasoning is very low, calling d unborn child illegimate . We knw ur type.... Mtschewww

“Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it......

missy said...

As in eh??a very stupid move!wats it goin to solve abeg?

Abe igi is a notorious joint for pple with dubious xters. Cutting down dat tree is a wise move.at least it will reduce d num dubious hideouts in dat area. Really sad abt d death bt shd serve as a lesson to d guys and girls in shitta. Yahoo and pregnancy out of wedlock is very common amongst the youths in shitta. Be warned

Very good blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
I'm hoping to start my own blog soon but I'm a little lost on everything.
Would you suggest starting with a free platform like
Wordpress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I'm totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Thanks a lot!

my website :: diet plans for women

My thots exactly!!! Lame Nig police! May his soul rest in peace. So sad

Cutting the tree as stupid as it sounds is a good move , so many bad ish happen under that tree if u really knw d area well