Mint Scandal: N2.1 Billion Worth Of N1,000 Notes Missing | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 7 December 2012

Mint Scandal: N2.1 Billion Worth Of N1,000 Notes Missing

From Leadership
The board of directors of the Nigeria Security Printing and Minting Company (NSPMC) met yesterday over the scandal that rocked the establishment where it was revealed that a whopping N2.1 billion of newly printed N1,000 notes have mysteriously gone missing.
The board meeting, chaired by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) governor, Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, decided to expand the investigation and audit the production of other currency denominations to ascertain the quantity of money that has actually gone missing over the years.
LEADERSHIP had exclusively reported that an acting managing director, Ahmed Bamali, had been appointed to head the Mint company while Ehi Okomoyon, who was the chief executive, was asked to proceed on indefinite leave.

A source with insider knowledge of what transpired at the meeting told LEADERSHIP that the suspension of Okoyomon as managing director on an indefinite basis until all investigations have been concluded was reaffirmed.

The head of security at the NSPMC, Emmanuel Bala, has also been asked to go on compulsory leave by the board of directors of the company. The general manager, management services, Obi Igoban is expected to write him the letter of suspension today.
LEADERSHIP also gathered that the board faulted the suspended MD for failing to disclose to it that such amounts of money had gone missing even though the company had set up an internal investigation after a mint staff was arrested in Lagos for being in possession of unnumbered bank notes.

The board meeting, which reportedly started at about 10am, did not end until 3pm. Other than the initial audit report, the board also discussed routine and budgetary issues.
The CBN had to set up its own audit team, whose findings were put to the board yesterday, and a unanimous vote affirmed that Okoyomon should continue on indefinite suspension.
Part of the CBN audit team’s investigation is to unravel why the management of the Mint company has consistently refused to place Closed-Circuit Television (CCTV) in its Abuja and Lagos factories, and why other security measures were deliberately set aside.

The audit team had, however, established that the theft of printed bank notes could be traced to security lapses and security personnel who take custody of newly printed bank notes, and when there were shortages, they were never reprimanded. The entire security department is said to be directly under the supervision of MD.

LEADERSHIP also learnt that this would be the second time that Okoyomon would be going on suspension as he suffered a similar experience in 2007 for three months when Charles Soludo, who had appointed him in the first place, was CBN governor.
After seven and a half years on the job, Okoyomon has been the longest serving MD of the NSPMC, with previous chief executives spending an average of five years in office

83 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

Am sorry to say this but Nigeria really needs thorough cleansing. The thieves we have in Government are no moi-moi thieves. remember the bible says thou shall not steal, but these ones steal like there is no tomorrow. opk, how did the notes get missing? am i the one that went there to take it?
this country needs to be overhauled.
what is this????

Nigeria!!! I am just speechless! The more I want to talk about this the more I get angry at this country. Smh....

This people think say we be fools. I give una 24 hours if una no return d money na Sango go strike una

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

oh how lovely wat a palatable news under the tenure and watch of the Hausa midget sanusi lamido wetein happen to the moni dem share am amongest themselves abi dey do am pdp share the moni instead of inviting the police and effc dem dey set up panel panel way go submit white paper report on their investigation and dat will be the end becos powers dat be will kill the report way to go Nigeria thieving nation

Useless ppl, for them to declare 2billion missing, I could bet my life that d exact amount cud be 10billion!

kxl said...

OMg where was I wen all dis money are moving...I need my share o

Adesuwa Ero said...

How can there be no CCTV in such a delicate company in Nigeria....... Who does that ?????

@adeitan...what are you going to do Dj without rhythm. Moron!

@ ojei don't bring tribe into this am ibo and we should not see tribe when someone is doing wrong. Sanusi is doing a fine job, state your point and leave. Moron!

Angelic said...

Stories we hear only in naija, bloody theives......

Nigeria needs deliverance.Almighty God deliver my beloved country.

@Anon, you are just retarted! Must you call him a moron? Foolish idiot.

kunle said...

Festival thing, the minted money disappear into thin air. the CEO deserve the suspension. So nonchalant and part of suspect. Want to have a flat belly, burn fat from part or entire body, maintain shape with fitness. Visit this website to learn more www.bitly.com/fitnessandweightloss

So with all d tight securities at d NSPMC,such huge amount still found a way to disappear,I guess someone or some people are not being sincere. Even Sanusi himself should be investigated.

Chop Chop said...

U c wora min, Chop chop!

CBN no get CCTV??? CHOI! Even gateman dey afford dat 1 these dayz...

Where them?

Hmmm!Nigeria!!!the 8th wonder of the world.I now believe we are under a curse...

2billion notes of 1000 naira notes not even 2billion naira,now do the calculation to know how much is actually missing.God is watching!!! Prince Victor Osuagwu

ole! Call them any name.

Stupid man wants 50% of civil servants sacked, and yet 2.1billion was stolen under ur nose, I think we know who shud be sacked here..

Shocking how can N2.1 billion just vanished and nobody is held account of it .... let them keep on stealing as the end result is not always good.

http://applytojobs.blogspot.co.uk/

Nigeria I hail thee! Only in Nigeria that billions are mentioned as kobo kobo. Hmmmm when a graduate earns 12k a month

Wow even inside the minting company, there is a total rot in the system. This can't happen anywhere else in the world.Bloglord is right, we need a serious overhaul.The corruption and stealing is 2nd to none.

It all seems like a set up to me.......crap crap crap! Dats wat nigeria is made of. Am on no1's side but d new trenD I've noticed is anyw tryin to mAke a difference Always gets set up......

Nonsense story missing money. their no missing money they knew where they keep the money. They will go & share it as usual

Na wa ooo!! Sanusi himself shld be questioned,why him no put cctv in place in such a delicate area...wetin him dey look since all this years

They will all rot in hell,to think that the standard of living in Nigeria is depreciating by the minutes and no one is doing anything about it.SAD

So since dey cnt find it? Na ghost come carry am or wot? Abi na me? Stupid goats

Omgggg. I am crying a river for naija. Cryingggggggggggg.

Hian..oh chim o!..naija...chukkwu zowa anyi.

Our leaders are heartless and clueless. We all have the bad luck of having the most corrupt bunch in the world as leaders.Were is our Zik? Where is the Awo of our generaion. When are we going to have responsive and proactive government in Nigeria. I am tired of defending Nigeria and am sure many of you guys here are tired too. Where is our money Mr President? When is our president gonna be responsible for anything and something. We are blessed with talents but we always put the wrong people in position of authority.

Which way naija?...linda kilode?..post ma comment naaa

This is much! OMG. Nigeria is not my home Ooo.

Just flipping tired of Nigeria. I'd rather be eating my pap and steak jeje for this South Africa wey I dey and keeping hoping for a better future for me and my family than to think of ever worrying about Nigeria. There's nothing anyone can do anyway...*big sigh*

Queen Bee said...

So okoyomon had a past similar antecedent,so why is he still MD longest serving one at dat?Godfatherism' ,...and godfather's interest has to be fulfilled as such big looting'!!
Corruption is a big circle in dis country....cos d defination of govt,is a group of pple like dis!
Shame!!

Dr. Pinch said...

Nija sef, this should be the work of the security agencies and not a panel. At times I wonder who is not corrupt in this country? Well simple solution let them publish the serial numbers of the missing currencies and it will be as good as waste only if they have not paid it into the banks yet. Panel ko, panel beater ni.

Dr. Pinch said...

Is like you are not a Nigerian? If they can steal 2billion, to steal the tapes of the CCTV go be moi-moi for them na. Just relax go and sleep and watch out for part 3 as for me I don give up on this nija. Living everyday at a time menh because if u think wetin our politicians dey do, u go just die.

June said...

God Help this Country

Becqui Nicholas said...

Some Nigerians and their thieving nature sha.. It is well with us.

KING OF BLOG LORDS
It is on fare who know the amount they have been stealing and lutin beyond our knowledge
Keep hausa and yaruba behind nigeria will worth living. :;',;, , sham on you all idiot's ::

Seriously, wetin concern, ibo hausa or yoruba inside dis issue, dem talk say billions waka, some retards r utterin tribalistic comments... U daft dumb rascist fart inhaling fucks shud stop pinning corruption 2a particular ethic group... Truth is all Nigerians r corrupt, it only has levels... U guys will embezzle and tak wat is nt urs if given d position power and authority... Search ur hearts u knw its true... Unna dey do am for office well well even if they pay u 1million per month... I'm nt exempted... So let's talk abt cleansin ourselves b4 tryin to cleanse and persecute others... Nigeria is fuckd up... No checks and balances anywhere...its an anythin goes mentality so far we get paid. To d dude callin evry1 "moron" u r d only moron here... Nitwit

Adesuwa mata tire pesin,imagine no CCTV,where i dey work wey no b big organization CCTV dey der looters devil dey wait 4 dem 4 hellfire Mrs Nnags Sexypressy Bonario

This country is simply amazing, did the mint grow wings, or where dey kidnapped, Rubbish, am sure that's why they wanted to print 5000 naira notes so they can steal the money conveniently steal more money.

Naijadude said...

We are smarter than dis jor.Abi no be naija we dey? Firstly,all d Directors of d Board shuould be arrested includin d Chief Imam of CBN,SLS.OKomoyon has finished his assignment and his pay-masters has paid him off or why can't d EFFC step in.Indefinite leave is just bait for his soft-landing.Fellow Nigerian, N2.1B no miss go anywhere.They don share d money among theirselves.Abi,who works in a bakery and complain of lack of bread!!

In other news,Eygpt is the place to be now.Those guys are not ready to tolerate any rubbish from their leaders. Naija,let's wake up nah,haba

imagine if they had printed the
N5,000 notes..... Dazzling!

imagine if they had printed the
N5,000 notes..... Dazzling!

Warri Girl said...

There should check Ibori's cell oh. It may be there

@Adorabledammie said...

God bless you for that......was thinking same too.....God will surely reward them accordingly#...AMEN!

@Adorabledammie said...

Okoyomon#

I think the stolen unnumbered currency is already in circulation coz i noticed some of the 1,000 mints i got from the mallam at the Bureau de change had no numbers on them.

This is not amystery neither afunny things if it comes for such acts in nigeria cos many acts where uncovered worst then this chicken penny deals.

Oh God. I knw u. Promised man neva. To send flood again to wipe outthe world Lord send terminal disseases to the hsehold of Jona and his theifing caucus oh 2013 let dem morn. From jan to dec oh lord wipe out deir genration oh lord frustrate dem, haa lord cause dem to be restless untill they die shamfully lordwipe. Out deir name cause aal deh cause his pain in the land

the naija saviour said...

Did he took d moni or he thief it i have tired for naija

H S C said...

This Sanusi is just an incompetent buffoon. We see proof of dis everyday when such strange scandals occur. He has shown just how incapable he is, 2.1B worth of missing notes! Jesus Christ man! Somehow he has only been able to come up with d fattest budget for next year, after struggling to introduce 5,000 note. AbEggº°aBeGg°Âº ABegG the Emir of kano beckons, pack ur sh*t and leave. Haba!

What kind of parents are those civil servants turned civil robbers in dt company? If their children should steal in school, what will they do? Just curious from d moral angle....It's so sad, may they know no peace as they keep dragging Nigeria backward....amen amen amen.bb

It's amazing the extent of corruption in our system and nation at large. I'm sure the devil will be amazed at the level nigeria leader have taking corruption to something he the devil invented. Even Albert Einstein's mind can't comprehend it.

In a more civilized society Sanusi shouldn't spend one more day in office for his inability to manage the responsibility bestowed on him as CBN president.

How do u explain that he Sanusi rehired someone who was once suspended by the previous CBN president, did he Sanusi bother to check his track records and be sure he doesn't have any history of corruption before appointing him as manger of such a delicate office? I'm sure he couldn't be bothered about that.

Never have I once heard that it's the decision on an MD as to where and if CCTV will be installed in a government owned facility.

The kind of corruption in nigeria today is inhuman, I'm sure the devil never planned for men to be this evil.

In my years of existence as a nigeria citizen and in this world my hears have not heard, neither has my eye seen or has it ever occurred to mind this level of corruption and poor administration in all levels of government in this country, GEJ and his cohort can applaud themselves for a job well done.

Our people need to wake up from their slumber and rebel, rebel, rebel, rebel otherwise we'll never make a head way and our grand children will lay curses on us for being cowards.

SIMBA

L.A.S.T.M.A said...

i can't understand this news...the information is impossible to process although the word inflation comes to mind

justaijay said...

I na ajum??? But u r right though, naija needs pple lyk u...

Olodo! Where did u see there that CBN no get tv?

My brother oo..it is really "onfare" for them to be "lutin" like this.. "Sham" on them for calling "yaruba" here instead of letting Nigeria 'will worth living'.. Eish!

Olodo! Where did u see there that CBN no get tv?

@ Eze Chukwumereje I'm in love with u,let's get dis strtd biko

NIGERIA ..... We hail thee

Mandebby said...

Naija sha!the more i want to talk,the more i find it difficult to talk.i am speechless!

Adebowale said...

Ah ah ah!the money waka come inside my bedroom o.money don dey get leg dey waka for naija.foolish people,dey think say we be mumu.God go save this country sha.

EDIDIONG AKPAN said...

CBN governor and the board should resign,i wonder what it would have been,if 5000 naira note was printed...and this are the same fools that canvass for the sack of 50 percent civil servants...i bet that money will pay all civil servants @least a months or weeks salary...

Is not a matter of me or u leaving ds country for a better country...what we need is war against undisciplined. But my question is...hw cn we go bout it? Cn revolution solve ds? *sad* Romans.12.19.

na today...more has gotten missing that we dont know about e...BTW i hate this mallam of a man called sanusi

Truth is, I think we should just go back to military regime.. It was much better then.. This democracy aint taking us any where obviously.. Dang!! How can that money just leave like that? Heavenly father!! What's really going on in this country? No jobs, social amenities (0), poverty rate keeps increasing by the minute and theft in public office is the oder of the day!! Jesus Christ!! Are we ever going to get better? The future of Nigeria look bleek.. I'm just so pissed..

D matter heavi 4 mouth but me go talk am sey NIGERIA DON JAGA JAGA. Com arest me if na LIE!

A well organised crime. I salute Ehi and Co on their biggest loot. Nothing go happen in a silly country of plea bargaining. No shaking because the government can never put money to good public use. Ole abara papa!

We need to be RECOLONISED! Its obvious we can't do dis shit!! Wtf!

Na wa o..we surely need a revolution in this country and fight for our rights and freedom..this country is pathetic..I hope we can be like the egyptians..d govt has failed, d church has failed us and even dis expensive democracy.

Lmao,@8th wonder of d world!!

Queen Bee said...

@poster,I second mayb military regime will do better!....afterall he dat is down,fears no fall!!dis democracy has just being 'crazy!!

Queen Bee said...

and it was d equivalent amount of 5k notes dat got missing!!
Whoa!whoa!whoa! It wuldnt have bin a small hit for the MFs'

Queen Bee said...

@poster,I second mayb military regime will do better!....afterall he dat is down,fears no fall!!dis democracy has just being 'crazy!!

Dis is hilarious! Evn small gold shop for wuse market get cctv and a whole printn n mintn nor get?na wa o!naija I hail o

no nid 2 luk 4 d thieves,cos already d thieves ar among d board of directors. Nd dey ar holdin meetin nt 2 find d missin moni bt 2 cover up d shit. Meetin closed

Goodest God!!! They are talking about 21,000 packs of 1,000 naira note here. The facts abt this theft are;
(1.) A thief can't do d job alone. Obviously this was done by thieves.

(2.) These thieve will require a vehicle to do this job.

(3.) This operation couldn't have been by small officers. MDs, Directors and DGs MUST be involved for the job to be smoothly done.

(4.) The thieves will need laborers (small officers) to help them load the vehicle they brought with the money.

MY OPINION ON THIS ISSUE IS: LET EVERYBODY WORKING AT NSPMC PROCEED ON AN INDEFINITE LEAVE WHILE THE EFCC IS EMPLOYED TO DO A THOROUGH INVESTIGATION ON THE SUBJECT MATTER.

Meanwhile let the federal government invite the london metropolitan police to thoroughly question our CBN governor because ......iwa kuwa ni obirin ma nwa nkan obe.

Hey all this money missing must it always billions why can't tht money be millions this show tht naija really got that money for 2.1billions to just missed nd all dis yeye man we just stand their nd be laughg at u nd again I guess for declearg 2.1b d money is almost multiply by 2 not exactly that amount kip doing it upon all we see all ur children abroad tht re just spendg our money lavishly as if they re harvesting money

I am regular reader, how are you everybody?
This piece of writing posted at this site is in fact
pleasant.

My site: visit the web page