Woman forced to sit next to dead passenger aboard Kenya Airways | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 25 June 2012

Woman forced to sit next to dead passenger aboard Kenya Airways

A Swedish woman was given no choice but to sit next to a corpse for much of a 10-hour flight to Kenya, New York daily reported yesterday.

Lena Pettersson a reporter for 'Radio Sweden', revealed that her fellow passenger, a man in his 30s, appeared to be sick when she boarded a Dar es Salaam-bound Kenya Airways flight during a stopover at Amsterdam's Schiphol airport "He was sweating and had seizures. Air hostesses were there all along, but the plane took off anyway."

The man reportedly died a few hours into the overnight flight, despite efforts by the crew and passengers to revive him.

Pettersson, who was headed to Tanzania on vacation, was compelled to sit across the aisle from the corpse for the rest of the trip.

"I asked to move, but they said there were no other places," she said. However, after returning home, Pettersson emailed the airline, which eventually apologized and refunded about half the cost of her 1,400 dollars ticket. "This feels much better. It is reasonable," Pettersson added.

41 comments:

SHE WOULD HAVE GOTTEN MORE IF SHE HAD INVOLVED A GOOD LAWYER.

IAmhairs said...

eya.....if only a doctor was on board to help out with reviving him....may his soul rest in peace......murphyhairs.blogspot.com

Tundey said...

Obviously, Pettersson is not an American. Only half off for being stuck next to a corpse for 10 hours? In American, that's solid grounds for "pain & suffering".

Lilspicer said...

Mak de woman sue dem jarree people are so wicked nawaooo(omo-iwo)says so..via blackberrybold.5
www.twitter.com/lilspicer

MAXIMUS™ said...

Ewwwwwww! Morbid! A refund of half her ticker fare isn't fair at all. She should be compensated wella for that traumatizing experience

Lilspicer said...

Mak de woman sue dem jarree people are so wicked nawaooo(omo-iwo)says so..via blackberrybold.5
www.twitter.com/lilspicer

Is nt d airlines fault nw. Dey even tried sef dey were able to refund part of d fare.

BLOGLORD said...

i wont take it if it were me. how du allow dat????
the man is dead! the air hostess ought to have made some sort of arrangement like moving him to the rear seat n move d passsengers there forward. its wrong n sort of traumatic to sit with a corpse.
na wa o!

linda u haff come o..you first said next to dead person after you said across the aisle....if the plane was full there obviously was no where to move her to..and they compensated her so why this is news i don't know

mimi said...

I see that the refund erased her trauma.....

Wow, dis is a welcom development, i must really commend d airline operator 4 such a gud act, its nt all abt ur profit, its all abt customer satisfaction. Atleast she was compesated to an extent to suffice her inconvinience. Mayb dis is where Dana Airline erred. May God help us.
- Huzzi.

Oh mine! if you love yourself don't ever take the airline. i took it once (return ticket). 1st when we were departing, the door refused to shut properly, they had to work on it with passengers inside the plane watching, secondly on ma way back, i was offered a vegetarian meal, n i declined it politely that i'm no vegetarian, guess what the low leveled flight attendant told me? "then there is no food for you, i cannot do other wised". trust 9ja, i protested, not because i was hungry but cos of his manners, anyway to cut the story short, they provided a meal for me from the 1st class cabinet. when i got to ma destination, i told a Kenya friend of me, n she even advice that i should never fly Kenya airline again.

I can't even imagine how this woman felt through out the flight.
It is really a bad experience for her

Please check out this blog
www.naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

NUBIAN QUEEN™ said...

creepy i can understand the crew's dilema since the plane was full, the same thing happened on an American Airlines flight in 2009 and the crew moved the body to the floor of the first class cabin you can read about it here >>>>>> http://www.cbsnews.com/2100-201_162-3871213.html

47vids.com said...

Oluwa is involved, this na spiritual. Coz how can you be the unlucky one to sit next to a dead passenger out of the 7 billion peeps on earth.

No federal govt-owned airline in Nigeria. Too bad.#Kenya Airways.

47vids.com said...

i forget put 47vids.com before...if linda can help me edit my last comment and put my signature.

She is a nice lady. I would have sued for a nice 10 figure amount; based on the night mares I would have following the flight.

Such razness

If the flight was full & there were no seats left, I would understand the position of the airline. Kenya Airways should give a full account of the incident. I totally sympathise with the passengers who had to sit next to a corpse. I would totally freak out!

Eeeeewwww.. dats so gross

deekay said...

It could have been anyone, silly!

I don hammer be dat, solid lawsuit leading to a massive payout . I wont rest till i win

Poor woman; Bad airline. A fellow passenger died on a virgin atlantic flight I was on from Lagos to Heathrow, the corpse was moved to the first class cabin and moved out of the plane first thing touch down Heathrow.

I dnt think i can do this. Sit next 2 dead person. Haba

MAXIMUS™ said...

@47vids Lmao! What a joker you are

OmG! Thank YOU!

She is an idiot. I would have sued the airline for millions. Odeh...hissss!!

Oh mine?????????? What's that???? U mean ''oh my''buahahahahahahahhahahahahahah some nigerians ooo smh

Godspowerogono said...

na waooo dis is very bad to here ooo

this woman nah ode oshi and mumu asin she does not know her rights amean does she not know what it means to seat by a dead corpse??? there is the issue of disease and breathing in bacteria well i hope a lawyer would stand up for her and take her case to court and then the airline would see pepper what nonsense.....

Nnenna said...

WHY SUE THE AIRLINE? Did they kill the man....people are so greedy these days...gosh...A LIFE WAS LOST, HAVE SOME RESPECT AND THATS WHY SHE WAS GRATEFUL FOR THE SLIGHT REFUND...and before u start ranting, yes i have experienced this, in a station wagon from lagos to akure and i sat in front of the dead guy the whole time...with his weeping wife!!!! was i traumatized? of course...out of my flipping mind but i was more saddened that a young life was lost...GOD HELP US...WE ARE TOO GREEDY THESE DAYS

She could've gotten a few million out of that. Personally, I would have nightmares about an experience like that for YEARS. And the dreams....Lord.

Half ticket costs doesn't cut it ooo!

***Lush

wini syno speaks said...

Nnenna no one would have said it more better u spoke exactly my mind. if they told the woman to seat near a corpse that would have been a different case, but this man was alive and breathing when he boarded the plane but the breath of life left him, instead of trauma what will be going on in d woman's life would be sympathy 4 the lost soul and not thinking of how to make money. Greedy Nigerians, Bloglord its good to have u back. Nno

Hmmmmmmm! OMG!!! can imagine,i feel so much pity 4 u after the super story u just told abii This life story Hhehe. Amaka says so via lindaikejis blog. Linda waasap? are u on 2go?

Sue the airline.must every opportunity be used to make money,what if na she die!!! Please! #using a dead man to make millions#

the white enchantress said...

Nnenna you have said it all......greed,being self-centered and thirst for money has become a major drive this days. glad the woman was understanding.

Thanks.... But no thanks whaaaat dat lady shod go to a hospital cos the fluid dat comes out frm a dead person is harmful.... And to think she sat by d corpse for 5 hrs!!! God save us!

Woooow at all these comments!

Airlines should have policies for situations like this. Yes, the man was sick before boarding. But after he passed they had a responsibility to remove the body and place it where no other passenger could be offended by it. No one covered the man's face. No one covered his body. THAT in itself shows a lack of respect for the dead.

No American or European airline would not hear the end of something like this if it happened on their flight. We Africans don't hold ourselves to a higher standard. Then people complain when someone tries to. Come on!

***Lush

I was on a flight from Heathrow to Abuja in 2009, and shortly after they served dinner, a young, average looking man collapsed in the aisle, i guess he was trying to make his way to the bathroom after feeling uncomfortable. To my utmost shock and horror, this poor guy started convulsing and foaming at the mouth. Because i was seated right next to where he fell, on the aisle seat, we were evacuated to the business class section of the plane while they battled to save his live. Later on we were told that the plane attempted a diversion to Algiers, algeria, but when he was confirmed dead, we turned around again. A 6 hour flight ended up taking at least 7. what causes normal, otherwise healthy people to die in-flight? i was so mortified at the sight of someone dying in front of me that i started hyperventilating and freaking out. Once he was dead, they laid him out in an empty section of biz class and covered him up with a blanket. My heart went out to those family members who met his corpse at arrival and not their beloved. May God continue to keep us!