Dogs killed, cooked and served up as a meal in Chinese tradition | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 25 June 2012

Dogs killed, cooked and served up as a meal in Chinese tradition

The dogs are chopped up and cooked in front of diners at a dog meat market in Yulin City, Guangxi province, China. Incredible!

88 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

linda what du mean china incredible! calabars do same thing.
no offense o!

MAXIMUS™ said...

Oshe! Where my calabar people at? Chinese visa no hard to get o!

Janded said...

That is so barbaric!

bey said...

This linda sef why are u making it look like a biggie...shey you dont know that ondo and calabar peeps eat dog ni mschewww

meroh said...

if you are not a vegetarian, then you have no moral right to question this. just because you choose to eat cows does not make you better than people who eat any other animals

@ Janded, what is barbaric about a peoples food? Because some people see dogs and /cats as pets does not make it any less or more what it is to other people. remember the cow (beef) that most of us can not do without is sacred to some people.
Lets come back home, a lot of cultures in Nigeria consider dogs a delicacy. Ask people from Ondo and people from calabar #440#

They do it in Calabar too. Leave them alone. How is this barbaric? It's an animal too with edible meat. Just because you're used to seeing dogs as pets doesn't mean you can't eat them. People use snakes, chickens as pets. I don't eat dogs but Why is it "incredible?"

Abegi linda which one b incredible! e de happen here 4 naija no kind meat dem no de sell n chop here even human being sef abi wetin winch de chop.plsssssss. Write sumtin dts actually incredible tank u

if you are not vegan you better not judge what is the diff btwn dog and goat

Why? Because its not a goat? Chicken? Cow? Goat? Pig etc???? Don't be silly now... Are you vegetarian?

Ec said...

Linda did u jst feel like posting this or what.dont ur fellow nigerians eat this?mtchw

deekay said...

What about point and kill? All join jor. It's all about the food chain .....I don't see anything barbaric about it. I just hate it when the animals are made to suffer. They should be killed quickly ....they have feelings, hence why dogs wince when kicked. :(

Daily Times of India
25/06/2012

In the United States, cows are butchered, cooked and served in various dishes such as hamburgers, meatloaf, beef casseroles etc. Incredible!

Point is, yes with westernization, it has become ingrained in our minds that dogs are domestic animals. To some other cultures, as in China, it is not so.

Can some cow activists go to Texas and ask people to stop killing cows? No, yet some dog activists will go to China and demand that they stop killing dogs.

Our duty to mother earth is to kill usefully, not just cruelly and abandon. We also have to make sure that what we use, we replenish for future generations.

E b like say linda dey plan to visit that joint. Sister abeg do wetin your mind tell you. Lmao

i wonder ooo, wats d difference btw goat and dog. How is it barbaric.

Anyway, thats not the most unbelieve thing chinesse eat
Linda if i tell you, believe me u'll NEVA EVER KISS A CHINESSE MAN!!!

Since u're a "JOURNALIST" i'll let you find out your self.

The word starts wit PL******
So figure it out if you can!!

Ebonyi Bitch said...

Who tel u say chinese visa nor hard ehn maximus? My own be say make nobody kill my dog oh! I go kill person

pets lover said...

Linda u fall my hand oooooo. have bn to ondo wit my friends n is no big deal in their community, it was served in d party we attemed also serve in restaurants across onto.. they call it 40/40. i refused to eat it cos i ve a beautiful dog (lissa) it kinda of break my heart but believe me ondo ppl eat dog just like chicken.

You are very wrong. The Chinese visa is the most difficult visa to get. Sometimes it costs 200,000 naira if you even get it and that's a fact.

As for the post, one man's meat is another person's poison. Eat whatever you like as long as it won't kill you and its not human.

the cows u eat in naija is been worshipped in india, so a man food is another mans god or friend *WINK*

Lol @ where my calabar people at. MAXIMUS are u calabar?

leave o you people dont know how dog sweet,just try it once.u no go understand..only me i can buy 500 naira dog meat and finish it wit palm wine

Guanxi province,Naija full there naw, probably Calabar lol,make una no vex o

via cybercafe(forget curve2 for house)

Chioma Boof said...

Ah @maximus chinese visa is hard to get gan! Our Ibo brodas hav fucked it up 4 us. Now even chinko are forming 4 us with their visa

@ MAXIMUS......don't even go der biko, china visa is one of the hardest to get

Black Barbie said...

Maximus sharap there. Before my aunty got hers it was war. Aint nothing easy about chinco visaa

Maxi darling r u frm d 411 eating town of calabar? Hehehehehehe

point and kill with a twist...loool

Zi said...

Bia maximus chinese visa is hard to get followed by canadian visa. China visa you will pay tire and you will still not get it

Sordid...

dis is horrific and fucking disgusting... i hate ppl dt eat dog meat and support this nonsense, der's a special place in hell for ppl dt eat dog meat.. i know dis is a doubled standard for other animals dt i eat, but i dont care... look at those poor dogs... well all dogs go to heaven... RIP

Skinning any annimal alive and throwing it in boiling water is cruel and babaric Period! But then the Chinese are cruel and babaric people... imagine grinding dead babies into powder and selling.... Useless people!

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Na wa o!!..one day Bingo be bodyguard/gateman..next day it's in the cooking pot!!

If u wld lyk to knw, ppl frm southern kaduna eat dogs nd its a mad ass delicacy 4 dem. D steal dogs anyhw sef in Kd. D stole my dogs on 3 ocassions. So dnt be surprised. Ask any1 abt d Kagoro ppl in KD, den u go no sey no be 2day

Anonymous June 25, 2012 10:39 PM & 10:43 PM are very pathetic hypocrites as far as I'm concerned. Pray for God to deliver you :)

Futo admission said...

So calabar from china abi?

@ meroh... you are so on point.

Why is every dog in nigeria called bingo?

Lilspicer said...

me na pawpaw and dog i wan eat ooo

Taiwo said...

very cool. visit breaking entertainment news for weird stuffs

Best meat Dog said...

I miss Dog meat... I will cook that as my Xmas meal.. Linda hope u have a test...

What is babaric don't you pick out your fish and see them chop it up and turn it into pepper soup. Flesh is Flesh so you might as well eat a dog. Thank goodness im a vegetarian

deekay said...

I been think say Canadian visa easy cos it seems a lot of ppl r heading that way

tinuke said...

In PH there's this beer joint where u can order ROASTED CAT MEAT with pepper and vegetable! As in PUSSY CAT oh not catfish..CAT! They kill, roast and sell it. And apparently I hear it's sweet! So Linda this ur statement get as e be! Firrst of, there is no animal that MAN cannot kill and eat! Where is it written that these are the animals acceptable to kill and the ones that aint??
In some parts of India, they worship COW and see it as a sacred animal. They look at the west like barbarians coz they kill cows...same applies to muslims who don't eat pork...u can kill and eat whatever u want jare..as long as it aint HUMAN!

deekay said...

Didn't ser anything skinning alive. Plus I read that baby stuff was a lie....mmmmmm

deekay said...

That cartoon sucked and was very depressing. Dunno how that was meant for kids. But, hate is a strong word. Besides humans eat animals. Even animals eat animals. U might as well hate lions for killing zebras. .....baby zebras. Cos man brought dog from forest no mean say e belong for house. Na still animal and some remain wild, no matter how domesticated their owners try to make them.

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

Point and kill...hehehe...na only fish we sabi for here o

WHY GO ALL THE WA TO CHINA TO SEE THAT PPL EAT DOGS GO TO AKWA IBOM AND CALABAR WHERE 404 IS A DELICACY...

Diva Coda said...

I am from calabar, i eat dog meat wella...No apologies to any dog lover. Dog meat and fresh palm wine is mind blowing!

NYC-1 says: Everything God made is clean. If it is okay with your culture to eat it, then eat it. If it is your culture to have them as pet, then have them as pets. Some cultures worship Rats; that may be a taboo to you, but to them Rats are sacred.

For me ooo, I will eat anything which is good for my body. My target is bush meat, anytime I breeze in.

404 THINGS!!! hahahahahaha

sexylove said...

=))º°˚˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚˚°º‎..fish aπϑ ogufe p.soup, lol, i no know about dog meat o ,LMao!!

Omoye Uzamere said...

Hello Linda,
Not sure how to get in touch with you, so had to comment. How is this for a story? Not keen on ruffling a few feathers? This is a legitimate concern for everyone...

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2164635/Calls-ban-Coca-Cola-colouring-linked-cancer.html

Chuka Ejiofor said...

feeling noxious...

KC1 said...

haba so chinko visa hard, and all dis our Igbo popsy and brothers they enter there like na back yard. Anyway d easiest visa na UK own, see as Niaja don full here, just put £5400 for account u dey jand..lol for the Dog meat, haba na, e no good to chop dog oo, dis calabar self, una too chop anything..lol

They sha eat anything.

QF
Little wonda dt u'r journalist,blowing things out of proportion is their top-of-d-list quality. Wats incredibl abt dog meat wn so many Nigerians r eating it not calabar nd PH.

Haba, where is ur blackberry bold 5?? Pls dnt forget it next time oh! Lolz!

Its not a new thing,d Berom people in Jos plateau state do eat dogs

Abeg pass me the 404 meat make i chop. Goat meat and dog meat na d same! meat be meat! Na God create all meat make we chop!!!

Not incredible at all. In plateau state you hide your dog from been eaten. its a delicacy,its called "namass" and they take it with their local drink "burukutu"

Hmmmm i dnt eat dog meat ,snakes or pork meat neither do i eat cats, let's nt 4get dat d bible mentioned sum animals as unclean! N i bet pigs n snakes are 1 of em

Loool!!

They eat placenta. The wife actually prepares it for d husband.

so no bi only 4 naija dem dey chop dog, china self join the 404 community. Welcome on board.

please click here to get latest naija gist
www.naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

wetin de no dey chop?

Dog meat is eaten in most African countries...why na issue if china eat am. No be news abeg.

are you surprised ehh linda asin the chinkos eat anything including cockroach and mosquito

please I'm a dog lover and i think its cruel to kill a dog for food

Jane said...

Please can someone explain why they call dog meat '404?' Please, I'm really curious. Seems the name is quite common.

Yes, when in China always ask what meat they are cooking. If in doubt eat in good old KFC and/or MacD.

Maggie said...

Linda y now..na we start am..you were supposed to post pics of calabar ppl. not chinese. pls. promote our culture.

This is not right! Where are all the animal rights activists?

The only thing is see that's barbaric about wah china people do is actually using female foetus as soup for sex stamina which is so wrong!they poor ones there go n sell their female foetus to get money n d female foetus r been produced into soups for male adults which is so insane n really unfair!saw a few pics n m lyk WTF!dts so wrong n am sure God wd b too upset!they chew ds unborn babies lyk its normal so I really don't see the dog eating as a biggie because d foetus eating is worse off

Haha they can't even try to do this in Canada! A man got sentenced to jail because he killed a raccoon! These animals are like rats, they go from house to house eating your garbage! The man killed them because they destroyed his garden, a neighbor saw him and called the police! U de crazeeee??? Even tv news came to record his face to serve him as an example! You can't mess with animals here oooo! You need a licence to kill ordinary chicken! Canadian law protection order: first animals (especially dogs and cats), second children, third women and last men (I'm not even joking!)

Ehn hen!! Now I know why my chinese neighbors keep looking at my dog in a funny way. One day I even saw one of them pulling my dog's thigh! Prolly checking if he's ripe for frying!! Omg! Na to dey keep my Rocky under lock and key.

Useless lot, like 50 of them living in a 2-bedroom flat. Hungry looking folks..
*now locking up my dog*

erm, why is everyone attacking them, what makes a dog different from a cow, if you eat meat, you eat meat, we need o stop sll this self righteousness. We eat snails dont we....

shosh said...

Go call dem 4 ondo n plateau pple wey dey chop dem too na. Olodo,u no dey chop cow,goat,chicken etc?

XclamationsGroup! said...

That means dose that eat dog cn as well eat snake,crocodile,wallgecko,lion,cockroach,... What rubbish knowin d fact that.dogs R vry sensible n mans best friend jst pisses me off ... Jst imagine me eating Brandy(my dog)*yuck* feel like I need to puke

I said...

CHINESE PPL WEY DEY CHOP LIZARD...THEY EAT EVERY THING THAT WALKS, MOVES OR CRAWLS...MY CHINESE NEIGHBORS WHEN I WAS SMALL WILL STONE LIZARDS CRAWLING ON THE WALL, AND GATHER THEM TOGETHER FOR SOUP!!!!

Nekky said...

Anon 11:46.lolzzz. checking the thighs to see if its ripe for frying indeed. can't stop laughing oo. meanwhile i hate dogs,i hope chinese eat d darn animals into extinction. will be of great pleasure to me.

Calabar, Osun, Ondo and a few other people dey chop 404 ....heck over hear in the US dem dey chop all sorts .. from muskrats to all sorts or bush meat particularly the Appalachian people. Have you all labeled them?

Abeg, leave the people jor.

one man's meat is another man's poison

deekay said...

I wonder oh!!!! Dem wey dey eat Indian ppl God abi na wetin cow be to them again?! God made animals for eating. Even lion dey chop man. No respect lol

deekay said...

I thought God told Paul he could eat everything he created????

Chioma boof sherappp there which ibo ppl fuck up...hennessy na jedi jedi

GlamNotchApparels said...

this is just cruel. animal cruelty at its highest form!

I'm a calabar man and we eat dog. Its called 404 and it goes well with palm wine. So linda its really not a big deal. U gat to taste it.

Nonya said...

This meat go bitter pass stout o