Saudi Arabia women to compete in Olympics for the first time | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 25 June 2012

Saudi Arabia women to compete in Olympics for the first time

Saudi Arabia will let its female athletes compete in the Olympics for the first time. Officials say the country's Olympic Committee will oversee participation of women athletes who can qualify.

Until now, Saudi Arabia was one of three countries that did not allow women to participate in the games.
The other two are Qatar and Brunei and they are also going to allow their female athletes compete in the London games that will begin July 27.

The female athletes will compete but they will be dressed "to preserve their dignity". (photo above)

104 comments:

Lilspicer said...

It was bekuz of der tradition thankgod people are gettin wiser now..oya wer dose lib chicks wey get muscle time don reach ooo(omo-iwo)says so..via blackberrybold.5

Whose dignity really? That of the country or the athletes? Just curios

will dey b able to run n do other stuff fully dressed? i don't think its convenient o. there is a reason for sport outfits, its not just to show the world ur body.

just making the numbers and be called OLYMPIANS - KC

BLOGLORD said...

thank God for exposure.

Hope said...

abegii who dem dey deceive of course demself...am jst passing sha.

pepe said...

Na wah oh how will they win all coverd up like dat, one is suppose to be comfortable n free during sport,make dem go sleep joor!

MAXIMUS™ said...

Hian!

Lilspicer said...

Longtime no see where went u baba BLOGLORD-UR I DEY TROWAY SALUTE VIA BLACKBERRYBOLD.5

Femiluv said...

A step in the right direction..

Woman of Virtue said...

Dressed like dis? Make dem sitdown 4 ouse biko

This is great

I hope they don't trip and fall cuz of their jalabi or jalabia

It has nothing 2 do wit exposure, yes d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ are 2 preserve dia dignity, women hav lost dia dignity all in D̶̲̥̅̊ name O̶̷̩̥̊͡Ƒ westernization. Nakedness is now D̶̲̥̅̊ oda O̶̷̩̥̊͡Ƒ day buh tank God some pple still preserve dis precious pearl call womanhood.

I'm jst happy Saudi is allowing more freedom 4 women! Nt much tho bt soon dey'll ease up on all dese deir strict rules.

IAmhairs said...

bigups ........u culd still follow me on @iAmhairs.....we follow back

t said...

Surprised about Qatar.
God bless these ladies. It's not easy for pioneers. Look at Sania Mirza (muslim female tennis player from India), they gave her so much stress over clothing and religion, and don't think it didn't affect her game. I sometimes wish she had a stronger support system so she could just play!
More power to these women.

Na them sabi,we didn't miss them in Olympics.So their presence or absense does not count

LMAO....this is hilarious. What kinda game will they be participating in though....very curious. LMFAO

This is obviously for comic relief because na so dem go cover face dey run

DEEFLAMEZ said...

MASQUERADES IN SPORTS, DUMB TRADITION/BELIEF...THEY MUST REALLY THINK THIS IS SOME SORT OF FANFAIR OR HALLOWEEN...TRASH, NO WONDER NIGERIAN NORTHERNERS TOOK AFTER THEIR WAYS & FANATISM IN EVEN A MUCH WORSE PERSPECTIVE.

PLEASE THERE'S A REASON WHY SPORTS WEARS ARE DESIGNED THE WAY THEY ARE ABEG!!! WHY THEM NO WEAR AGBADA OR KAFTAN TO RUN, JUMP & EVEN PLAY FOOTBALL THEN... AWON OPONU OSHI

***I laugh in French***

@willadebo

Danny King said...

Whose dignity??? Hypocrites....

Danny King said...

Whose dignity??? Hypocrites....

47vids.com said...

lol, they still won't win, .47vids.com

As time ticks and the end draws closer. Soon they'd conform, reform and deform.

which one be to preserve their dignity ? Dem no dey fuck ? or abi their toto na gold ?

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

Idiots they are only deceiving themselves they compete or dey dont compete wetein concern us. we dont need them they should be searched properly most of dem are suicide bombers.at this age in time Muslims are still acting primitive.Ancient and backwards folks

steezz.com said...

Dats progress. I guess they gonna be covering they heads when they compete.

of cos they wil always tek last, cos i dnt c dem doin well in their outfit.welcom on board though..

why must the tracksuit be black??

What are they wearing? lol

Y.Tee said...

What's the point anyway????How are they supposed to perform excellently with all of em fabric jumping in-between their legs???Mtchewwww Waste of time and energy.

Dese pple wey nor de wia pant n bra,wey fuck pass dog. Hu dem de deceive n which useless dignity dem wan preserve. d

hehehehehehehehehhe!!! dignity ko' preserve ni.so oda participants dnt knw of dignity abi? abeg Linda giv us somfin new jor..

Chris said...

Interesting! Let's see how the hijab thing will look on them on the track. I hope it doesn't constitute a hinderance anyway.

lol oya make we dey watch bit i taught that the olympics had come and gone seff...... Via Nokia 701. Which is currently the best nokia phone existing.

THE WORLD WOULD HAVE BEEN A BETTA PLACE IF ALL WOMEN COVER UP MORE!!!!

MUSIC VIDEO ARE NO MORE MUSIC VIDEOS THEY ARE NOW SEX TAPES, LEFT AND RIGHT ALL YOU SEE IS NAKED WOMEM!!!!!!

ABEG THEY SHLD PROTECT THEIR DIGNITY JARE......

β£αɱɱɨɛ Alhaji said...

They can only participate in few sports...they are opening up sha!

Swimming is out of it...all curves, bolds, torches of the ladies would be stared at...something they are supposed to cover with their Hijabs.

And guess what; Hijabs would restrain people from sprinting, streamline in swimming, swing a discuss, play football, do the High Jumps, Pole-Vault, Do lawn Tennis (Table Tennis can fly), Tripple-Jumps would be out of it, no show for cricket, volley ball, squash, etc...Ah! Gymnastics!!!

What's remaining for them to participate at? I'd love to watch.

It will be nice that they compete with their gowns via Second hand blackberrybold.5 and Panasonic Air Conditioner remote.

now we shall fully see what their women look like oshe

Anon June 25, 2012 11:07 AM; yes, there's the H&S side to it as well. I think Blatter banned a female football team from covering their heads due to H&S concerns.

The female athletes will compete but they will be dressed "to preserve their dignity"

Good one, let the world unite, that the spirit of the Olympics
Check this out
www.naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

you can share this http://www.cnn.com/video/?hpt=hp_c3#/video/us/2012/06/25/bride-sings-on-wedding-day.petite-productions

SMH said...

this coming from a country where men and theirs sons think nothing of raping female foreign domestic workers but their women are sacred....smh

Ammy said...

Nd dey wil neva get medals... As in ♓øw dem tink say dem fit run or do any sportin activities????

Dey beta stay nd watch at hom than deceivin themselves...

BOKO BOKO BOKO BOKO is all I see! How can any good thing come from the BOKOs? Ogene meh!!!

Dnt tell me ure dis dull?...kai! D athletes of course..they r women and it is expected of dem to cover their body which is a womanz dignity so as nt to be exposed to d opposite sex...shekina!

ihuoma said...

So nomality dey hungry dem since...

Are dis pple suppose to be living on d same planet with us?just asking lol.

peter said...

good thing for the arab world. BUT....

PPL PLEASE I BEG U IN D NAME OF GOD,.,.respect other pplz choices in life!plzzz ejohhh!

SocialDela said...

Its a step in the right direction

Good 4 them

If u are just passing then pass quietly and stop d criticism. U guys are never satisfied. Stop showing off ur hipocracy and naivity

Bekuz...hia!!

With that one wey dey where gogle/google abi kinonpe, make den no go just waste there time for there..From macbook pro.

how i wish that the same way they dress is the way they work towards making the world a better place?without islam the world would have been a better place for all......dignity my foot.....na by force....

LMAO! Running and doing high Jumps with your face covered only ur eyes go dey Breathe..y wont dey come Last? Lol!

Y.Tee said...

Why dem no wear them gloves???? Foolish pipu. mtchewwwwww.

Yetinde said...

At last o....

Janded said...

Progress. Good for them

They should sha not throw bomb there is all.

good 2 knw dey'r wising up. but dey shld allow dem wear smetin sport like so dat dey can run oo. no b evrytym dem go dey cover cover. 2 much of evrytin z bad no mattet how gud it z..{Ella}

Super story! Dignity my foot, mscheeeew! Who cares?

yamayam! fully dressed to do what kind of sport? i don walk pass.

Thank God they have started allowing them, It was that woman that went rebellious that drove a car that set the women free from encapsulation. why should their men be driving and they are not allowed to drive. why should their men go to higer places and they are left @ the background.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Allegra said...

Who cares!!

Wil dey b able 2 run well wid dis dia full cheeks..heavily clothed?? Wich mumu dignity sef! Em go dey do lyk say em no dey straf 4dia country.. *yinmu

Dey shuldnt bother bcos competing in does outfits is already an epic fail u want to tell me dat u can win 100 meters sprint wit wrapper flapping btwn ur legs? Mtscheeeew

Fredilia Ogbonna said...

That's a very good move! Thank God they are beginning to allow their women express themselves. However I hope their outfits would not be a hindrance to maximum performance, because they look too comfy to me (better as a sleepwear). http://www.frediliadtruthuncensored.blogspot.com

SAA said...

In the pictures Christians portray Holy Mary show that she always cover a head scarf that looks like the ones the young ladies in the picture are wearing. Christian ladies only remember to cover their heads when they are in their churches or about to pray. If those people define define and modesty in dressing as not exposing your body and nakedly dressed, then what is your argument? Let those people rest jare.

Linda, why you put that in quote? Wetin be your business? Na so they wan dress so e no concern you. E no better pass those girls whe dey wear bikini then later, people go rape them because of the thing whe their eyes see?
Wetin they wan even do for Olympics?

Archaic people! So this is what will happen if we allow sharia law in naija abi? God forbid..hypocrites

Steve's Alter Ego said...

Please, these people need to come into the 21st century finally, but this isn't the way forward at all.

world is surely coming to an end. Y must all dis Saint ladies pertake in a competitin wia almost everybody is gonna display dier nudity?

IAmhairs said...

in my opinion i think they are just goin 4 mere formality............murphyhairs.blogspot.com

I guess dey won't b participating in SWIMMING den!! *sigh*
Billie Jean

Saudi is dancin to the tune of world politics. This wuld soon end

Y.tee you must be an idiot for calling them stupid.Mtchewwwwww.

So bcos you open your yanch and toto at every giving opportunity you think you are more exposed.ignorance dey worry you.go to Saudi and go see how exposed these people are and the kind of lifesyle they live.you will be dazed.oshisco

deekay said...

Mchew. But their men don't have dignity to keep?! Mcheew Mumu ppl. If them like make heat kill them in the name of Olympics.

deekay said...

10:29...na beef?! Mchew. Mehn these ppl need to stop listening to their hypocritical men. Same men are busy admiring and cheating with exposed (naked) women. Mchew

deekay said...

So these women wearing scarves and burkas are better than the women without?! It's alright.

deekay said...

Lmao flamezzz. U no even pity them. Haha. Funny but true.

deekay said...

Thank u ohhhh!!! Silly ppl.

deekay said...

Not like they're gonna add or remove anything to the Olympics. Mchew. Maybe a bit of comic relief with their outfit.

deekay said...

I dey wait for person to trip and break neck.

deekay said...

Haha. I like ur breakdown /analysis :)

deekay said...

So true, smh!! Hypocrites.

deekay said...

Lwkmd!! We don c am oh. Choi!! Suppression is a biatch.

deekay said...

Including raping others but "protecting " their women's dignity lmao. Boko boko .....

deekay said...

Buhahahaha pow!!! Gbam!!! Lololol

deekay said...

Abi oh, tee. Cos some ppl have finger fetish. They shd be covered from head to toe. Dignity my nyash!

deekay said...

Dem dey act like say dem be amber rose or Kim k or Beyonce that guys will be wanking to. Mchew. They need to get over themselves!

deekay said...

They're preserving their dignity nau. U can meet boys and get pregnant while driving hahaha

deekay said...

Make heat kill man pikin? Make I no wear fine cloth? Na lieeeeee

deekay said...

God forbid x1million mehn. I will just dash naija to them.

Vking said...

I wish they will be competing with Nigerians in 100 meters hurdle with their faces covered.Na pure gold be that for Nigeria for sure walahi

My belly just had a workout !!! Lmaooooo!!!!

Looool guys I saw this very interesting video on world star hiphop of arab girls shaking their booties in the presence of the men !! Lmao!! U need to see it ull be shocked!! Atfirst I thought it was fake but it was real buahahahaha ohhnoo try typing arab girls shaking booty on youtube, who knows, it might come up but trust me ull be baffled

naijababe said...

What kind of sport will the participate in with the head covered up? I didn't know hide and seek was part of the olympics.

Y.Tee said...

@Anonymous June 25, 2012 10:26 PM. I am sooooo very sorry dear.I didn't know calling someone else your surname will give you such heartburn.(BTW Mumu, i typed "foolish", so get over yourself pls, nobody's interested in stealing your identity!)
Read Beammie Alhaji's comment and understand why i think they are stupid(sorry for borrowing your name again)
P.S- If you love to advocate for them soooooo much, better catch a (Dana) flight to Saudi Arabia, and advise them that they could trip and crack their brain boxes open like water melons on the track. We don't need such gory sights at the Olympics. Azzho!

deekay said...

Lwkmd!!!