Quote of the day | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 24 June 2012

Quote of the day

"Asset declaration is a matter of principle. I don't give a damn about it!" - President Goodluck Jonathan said during the presidential media chat this evening...

110 comments:

This president no get respect habba, he does not give a damn about it.
He seems to lack manners

www.naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Schweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeew. Is dat even acceptable?

What do you expect from a drunk?

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Of course he wouldn't would he??..like the other sycophants in Aso Rock past and present..mmhh not with Patience trying to be Donald Trump building hotels all over the place!!
Swear down something's got to give..Egypt..Libya..have..it's just got to happen..if only people can put tribal sentiments to one side..and face the real enemy..I don tire..yarning same thing over and over..na action remain joor!!

oliver ghandi said...

Asset declaration is constitutional, someone need to tell that fisherman that it is an obligation of his office, may reuben should. Ghandi sayso via his blackberry thuraya.

HRHTega1 said...

Haba! Uncle Jona,is that the best way to put it? I haf tire for this man jor.

Duke Emeka said...

Ok oooo.

Anabel said...

Chai!!! Oga GEj egbuola mmadu. This man should stop displaying his ignorance bikonu! Sir u must give a damn whether u like it or not. This is DEMOCRACY. U can practise that in ur house with Dame pej.

Fuck this first husband. He is a weak man. Where is Boko Haram when you need them? This is one of the people to attack.

Linda, d guy did not say he did not give a damn about it.. He only said its a matter of principle.. Pls, quote dat guy well.. Thanks

Y is he findin it difficult 2 declare hs asset, dats 2 show dat he is nt different frm d oda pple. BAD GOVERNANCE!!!

as we see, he has no principle as he says. I pray for nigeria, see robbers in government seat-they are worse than actual armed robbers.

Linda, I like your blog but it seems that you just like creating controvesies maybe just to creat more tension (I might be wrong). The issue you raised about asset declaration was not the only thing Mr. President said. Why continue doing this when you can help unite Nigerians through your blog.

Although, Jonathan said people abuse him of which you are trying to creat room for more abuse but am sure he won't be distracted with his job.

Presidential GooDluck! Really?
Please marry lil spicer

Switched off half way. Dry. However look at his quote in its full context.

This is just the height of insensitivity by a clueless president, the earlier we decide to act the Better
@nigerianblogger

GEj is the problem with Nigeria

If you watched the #mediachat, you will know that we have more problems to come as he said.

No he did not say that on the real! I love naija! I love our lame duck president even more for being so 'damn' clueless!

GEJ said 1 of the disadvantages of social media is that all those abuses could B coming from 1 person *smh for that man* slow poison

SERIOUSLY??? Am not in NAIJA rite now, I beg did Jona really use those words? Ha!

Infact majority of Nigerians don't give a DAMN abt γφυ.Boring d whole Nation wit Ūя̲̅ talk.

He still made mention of coming from a poor family

\_______________ they (Gej & Sambo) should be put to coma abeg.

Blunt Queen said...

Shut up

sexydame said...

Tru out the chat, no constructive conversation! Speaking and explaining issues like JSS student

Mumu, that was a mistake.

Gej is so fucked up

this is what happens when he drinks sapele water.smh.

just dont allow ur hate for GEJ get d better side of u and make u miss the substance in his speech.
If every nigerian wil do their own research on issues in nigeria than towin the line of millions of fools and nay sayers, i think we wld hv even overcome voko haram and other sensitive issues.
If linda wants disunity in nigeria, then u all should follow her.
I knw dat GEJ declared his assets as vp then. Y didnt linda post dat.
Moreover, he said if he does, every political appointee must. But he has too many things ahed of him nw and ahed of naija than assets declaration.
I stand for d man always. He shal correct naija. I jst hope u negative fools wil b ashamed of urselfs and commend him.

IAmhairs said...

like seriously i could not even watch the #presidentialchat ....not cuz he was not really catchy with his words o.....but it was because nepa took their lite wen he was talking about corruption and stuffs....lets pray things get better.......n 1se again its @iAmhairs on twitter....we follow back ...as omo-iwo blackberybold

I assure u that PEN ROBBERS are the real BOKO HARAM. Declaration of assets is a principle- haba uncle that is; if not ur principle then to hell with the masses. I said so via NOKIaaa

Lily am not sure jona used that word 'damn". Yes he's a weak and clueless man who does not have balls but for d word,hmmm not too sure he'll use it.well didn't watch cos no light and no money to buy fuel

Fear no dey catch those boko haram ppl. Dey no fit near gej nah. But i wish dey go kill am make we all rest

Hey Blunt Queen, u on crack or something? Wat did he/she say to warrant the "shut up" comment from u? Blunt Queen, wivout brainz...idiot!!!

Seriously @ 10:10pm,n it wld b a bad thg if every other political appointee declared der assets,did u rd ur comment b4 sending it,u sound .........,am a Christian so i can't use d word I wld wnt 2!

Dnt mind the fool! Guess, "shut up" iz d word she knows how to spell. Lmaoooooo

Power they say corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely.GEJ's talk is sheer evidence of an absolutely corrupt man. Look at d degree of arrogance in addressing the same people he was practically begging for their votes back then.imagine him saying we shd be patting the thieves( his so called friends) on d back for stealing our oil. Where exactly is dis country going with someone like dis at d helms of affairs.i will not be surprised if we wake up one day only to realise dat corruption has been legalised. LEPA SHANDY

Furious said...

Have a life whoever you are. How can you be wishing death on someone? That man na somebody papa o! The man dey yab big time but that no warrant this your wickedness in low places.

Furious said...

Why una bother sef. She don call her sef Blunt queen. Like Block head, like blunt brain, like Blunt mind, Blunted focus, like Blunt sight etc.

Abeg ojare @Anonymous June 24, 2012 9:10 PM thumbs up to you. Linda know wetin she dey do. She's getting good at adding and subtracting just so make she for cause wahala. Na God go help you Linda. For me, I don hear Presido, I still dey diges d man yans very soon I go shit out the rubbish and keep the sensible of all hin yans. Ka Chineke mezie okwu.

Seriously is dis d man dat rule ur county.....how can head of state use vulgar word on national Tv.
Oga jona go seek help in mental hospital, maybe some1 shld explain to him again dat is democracy. A gov for d ppl by d ppl.... God punish u mad man

Going by the whole "presidential media chat",our president is "damn"clueless!!!!

Like seriously, They still take light in your country? U guys must still be living in the stone age.

A revolution is what we need.

Sent from my Microsoft® Surface™.

NYC-1 says: when criticism begin to flood in over Jonathan's statement, his stooges will put up the defense that he is TAKEN OUT OF CONTEXT. The truth is that the interview was NOT SCRIPTED, so he betrayed his real STATE OF MIND. Come Christmas, he will advice the nation to emulate Christ.

Sir, I don't know the more important things you are busy with that will make you relegate the principle of declaring your assets irrelevant. will it take you more than 10 minutes to show the nation your assets? OR DON'T YOU FILE TAX RETURNS? Are you above the LAW? If you can't answer these questions, then you are a THIEF.

For those of you accusing Linda of polarizing Niaja, you are the real enemies of TRUTH. YOU ARE VULTURES. Pls cut that excuse you make that Niaja problem has been there b4 he came. If he can't fix it, what is he still doing there, why not make way for those who can? A man who came to spotlight through the back door; see how fast he forgot whom he use to be.

This president is a curse indeed.
I am tired of this clueless man we all mistakenly voted for.Something need to happen. This man is also very very wicked. Look at all his actions and statement. No regard for us the people that voted for him.No respect. no nothing for us. God, help us take care of this man. The suffering is too much and even worse than under Abacha who you help us took care of.

In other words, he doesn't give a FUKCC!!

Cereal Killer said...

oh great! my president said ''damn'' that so f**king coooool

YK said...

He never said he doesn't give a damn ooooooooh........Linda pls stop misinforming peeps,am not a fan of jona,but dat was not d word he used !

Ken said...

I don laff tire!!!
Make una watch as Broda Reuben swings into action and starts damage control tomorrow morning by issuing a statement that that statement was a total lie by the news reporter that quoted GEJ
Anyway, I have taken the siddon look approach to this whole matter

webround said...

From punch newspapers..
------------------------------
On asset declaration, Jonathan said it was not an issue since he had already declared his asset as Vice-President only two years before becoming President. “I declared my asset when I was the Vice-President; what is the difference now that I am the President,” he said. He said, “The issue of public declaration I think is playing to the gallery. You don’t need to publicly declare any asset. If I am somebody who wants to hide, it is what I tell you that you will even believe.”

The President stated, “I don’t give a damn about it, if you want to criticize me from here to heaven. When I was Vice- President, I told the then President-unfortunately he’s late. I said, ‘look let us not start something just because we play into the hands of some people and create another situation in the country.”
----------------------------------

Reading the above transcript, my interpretation is he's saying he's already declared his assets as VP and he doesn't have to do it again so soon. And he doesn't give a damn if people criticize him about it.

Note, he's not giving a damn is about the criticism he would get for not doing another public declaration, and not about asset declaration as a principle.

We may disagree with GEJ's policies but let's give him the benefit of doubt. There's no President who will publicly declare he does not give a damn about a law of the country. They might ignore the law but they will not openly declare that they don't give a damn about it.

Linda, I like your blog but it seems that you just like creating controvesies maybe just to creat more tension (I might be wrong). The issue you raised about asset declaration was not the only thing Mr. President said. Why continue doing this when you can help unite Nigerians through your blog.
Although, Jonathan said people abuse him of which you are trying to creat room for more abuse but am sure he won't be distracted with his job.
June 24, 2012 9:10 PM

Bros/Sis! May God almighty bless u abundantly for ur comment. May He bless u "front & back" :) we need more of ur kind in that country.
Nigerians, we too dey c -ve side of a person too much, WHY???

Blunt Queen said...

And who are these anonymous cockroaches???

this stupid Jonathan! Doesnt he know that the "word" is a curse word, even to Americanas!!!
Waraahell!!! LOL

Ata wewe said...

U chop shit drink fermented zobo on top?

GEJ should go FUCK HIMSELF in da A$$ because I dont give a damn about the yogabagaba gibberish he's spitting out!!!

People only insult GEJ cos he is worth insulting. Here in UK, pple insult d prime minister cos dey dnt feel he is duin well enuf.
Criticisms are good if properly handled so if Linda puts up a bad comment about GEJ, u will know if he is a gud guy or not by d comments.

Sandi said...

If Obama talk am una go talk how cool him be. But una President talk am, it warrants insults, useless bunch.

Truth of the matter is Asset declaration is not a constitutional matter, it is a matter of principle as he said. Why should he start declaring his asset AFTER he's President. And apparently you daft ones will forget he declared it already.

I have a question o, LI bloggers, pls which of d past presidents did any of u like?..as in, we humans ar so quick to judge, as for linda...ar u really sure he said "damn"?..anyway use ur blog to unite n not divide

Yes na somebody papa but d ppl way him suppose to dey care and protect that he don't give a "damn" about, leavin them for boko haram to bomb up and down those ppl no be person father, mother, brother or even sisters. Or are they not human beings? Pls don't let me start, if he doesn't want to work or step down peacefully if he thinks it's too much for him to handle then bk should help him and do it in Pisces, nonsense

Bill said...

Linda what he said is public asset declaration not just asset declaration! The later is a must under nigeria constitution while d former is a matter of principle! Its if u want to...beside he has publicly declared his asset when he was vice president...and dats less than two yrs ago.

There is no book that gives a complete method of leadership gej, sometimes it takes your sixth sense to do some things, declaring of assets is one of such. Gej was not appointed, he asked to be voted in as president knowing fully well the situation of things. You declare your asset doesn't mean it couldn't have trppled @ the end of the tenure being that you have earnings.not sure I heard DAMN linda & he couldn't be that lame as to use that word. Either way, Gej Is the problem of Nigeria coz he leads from the book & doesn't know when to use his sixth sense.

@ cereal killer, If he did say 'damn' I agree with you.........wow!!! It's sooooooooo, sooooooooo cooooooooool. That guy got spunk after all.

@ anon 11.52pm may God continue to bless your wisdom, @ anon 10.10pm continue to back up evil d same shall u get.

Linda, he said something else... He said he had already declared his assets as a vice president. He's asking you to do a little math. From then till now, calculate all his legitimate incomes, subtract all his legitimate expenses, the balance should be the net worth of the added assets. Add that to the ones he declared as a vice president, you get a new figure, and that is the value of his assets currently. Either we like it or not, Nigerians still have to manage this man for the rest of his tenure, i already quit complaining jare.

weallknow said...

O yeah? . One man is the problem of Nigeria? What school did u go to? I think that's the. Problem ...YOUR SCHOOL. Hiss... Nigeria's problem is deep inside the nigerian culture, the culture people refuse to talk about, rather cover up with tradition. Culture is a way of life. Nigerians way of life is corruption, d deceitful people and those that turn a blind eye to it. Remember the corrupt people in gov r a product of their Ignorant enviroment Ignorant; To ignore.

BLOGLORD said...

am not surprised cos i dont expect anything good or concrete from a complete failure called Jonathan

peoplewatcher said...

God bless Ʋ @anno 11.52(NYC-1)

Menh dis guy dey make phd lose it appeal! Haba jona wetin u no go do? I regret voting for u! Meanwhile dose of u still waiting for him to correct nigeria make una wait well well! Na people like una dey spoil dis country cos u c d truth and cover it! Imagine jona comparing india and nigeria? He said he isn't d one in charge of security and economy!lol na me dey in charge!!

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Linda is very aware of the consequences when posting false info..for those in doubt its all over the media..
@NYC was on point it wasn't scripted..didn't Cameron and Obama inherit problems..people know they need time but they are working very hard at it..what has Jona done??..his dress sense doesn't look like someone wanting to roll up his sleeves..especially when you know 90% of your Ministers and Advisers are crooks..knowing fully well nothing would get done!!

U make perfect sense. I just wish 10 percent of Nigerians can reason like you, d country will be a better place

To even think Linda didn't include this bit
"I didn't want even to declare my assets as VP I was forced to by President Yaradua..Warned him It would be playing into the hands of certain individuals#"

Apparently he left for Brazil cos it would be playing into the hands of Terrorists..excuse me didn't this ode abandon Eagles Sq come Independence day??

peter said...

i do not see anything wrong with that. Even US president once used it. It all depends on the way it is used.

On point.

When Obama won the seat the Americans coined this proudly "Our President is Black",
Now we have seen this interview we can all agreeably shout from the hilltops "Our President is Dumb !"

linda i'm very disappointed, u might nt lik d man bt dat doesn't mean u shld twist his statement, he has constitutionally declared his assets to d code of conduct bureau bt he said declaring it publicly is a matter of principle nd he doesn't giv a damn abt it, stop hatin linda, he's ur president

@Blunt Queen....And who iz dis faceless illiterate talking??? I knw wat u're tryna do. Looking for attention, huh? Cheap asshole. Pls fack off...if u have no sensible comment to make on here. Animal!!!

Lmfaoooo @ Ata Wewe's comment.

The problem here is that most of the "damned fools" telling us how Linda misquoted Jonadull Gridlock were Busy watching Big Brother Africa show and Euro 2012 instead of watching "His royal shoelessness" bore us to death with his primary 3 grammar.

The guy actually used the word "DAMN", it shows his cerebral power......weak.

SAMUEL said...

Recent research conducted shows that Nigerians are the most foolish in the world. This can be exemplified by the way people comment in a public discuss even on this Linda's blog. I have also come to realize that people that mostly comment on this blog are educated illitrates.

Our President made a comment that declaring assets to the public is a matter of principle, what is wrong with that? After declaring assets to the public, will the President not acquire more assets if he wishes?

I always feel disappointed in the level of understanding we have in Nigeria. We believe we know all but knows nothing. People complaining that the President is dumb, the President is this, the President is that.... Who is that intelligent person you all are hoping for? It is high time we wake up from our ignorance and embrace realities of life. Mr President is doing well for Nigeria all we need is time and patience.

@anon 5.36am. Maybe i u dont believe Linda's comment or news u can verify tru other sources like the national dailies before u start commenting. And also u say we humans are quick to judge when u just judged someone? Remove the logs in ur eyes first and read the Punch news and see for urself. Critically lukn at d comment on linda's shows the 'damn' word boldly written. And that is the emphasis here. Quit judging, Mother Superior!!!

Na waoh! All these pple crucifying Linda here, una no de read other newspapers abi na only this blog u all depend on to supply u news? Linda is rly aware of the effect of putting u wrong info. We no listen to the debate, we no read newspapers na African magic channels and movie magic we de watch wen the debate de go on and we all come here and write rubbish. abeg make una free the babe. na 'i must comment' be this.

Ralph Chuks said...

That was the only comment he made during the media chat u know. Trust Nigerians to only hear what they wanna hear. I am sorry for this country, we go about with touch light seeking for the fall of another man that is why there is so much negativity and few Patriots in this Country.

June 25, 2012 12:54 AM not sure what you are on about jona just said he does not give a dam take it or leave he said it and that is stupid

He did use that word. Exactly that word!

Thank God I was Not a kid when he was Vice President. Goodluck DID NOT declare his assets when his boss (Yar Adua) did.

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

so uncle Jona sabi use dat kind word well well well who eva tot the non wearing shoe boy from otuke will use dat kind of word well people do change and forget were the fuck dey are coming from. well no b im fault na orbusonjo and turai husband we go blame

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

were ruben abati dey way uncle jona dey use swear words any how like husband like wife. God don catch am becos no b written speech na life dats why im dey fuck up isokay time will tell shey im allow boko boys to dey bokorize the north
after all jona no give a damn

Str8FrmDaHips said...

oh pleeze..corruption is 9jas culture..can u hear urself..was it or was it perfected due to leading by example and pushing people to the wall??...Best way to stamp out corruption is to start with yourself!!...u can even say okay..shit has happpned but from here henceforth..no longer business as usual..instead..he covers up for them..and his wife is just blatantly atrocious.!!

“Boko Haram has no face and government will not have dialogue with faceless people,” Jonathan said in an interview late yesterday on state-owned NTA television. “They must come out and tell us why they are doing what they are doing.”---This statement is credited to our clueless "Pre-Siddon look" Dee Jona. It is shameful and regretable that Jonna continues to engage in willful blindness. Everyone including Stevie Wonder knows the faces of Boko Haram in Nigeria, Dee Jona, those politically frustrated Ndi Awusa who told you that they will make Nigeria ungovernable should you win the election are the faces of Boko Haram. Go after them hard and their little Urchins that call themselves Boko Haram will disappear. A word is enough for the wise!!

Linda........plz........tell d media house to rewind Mr President's conversation ......so dat u will pay an attention to his good speech.....I don't know why u people hate dis man dt I love wt passion.....plz tell dis ur bloggers to stop disturbing my eyes wt their unnecessary local comments.....mtcheeeeeew..

A lot of people on the president's payroll need to spend more time telling him the truth. It' is easier than coming on bloodspots to defend him. If the same Nigerians who came out to vote you into power now cry about your regime then you have a negative situation. It would also be wise not to remind us of your days as vice president because we would have to cry that we saw the signs and still voted for you on sentiments. In a nutshell 2015 will soon be here, make hay while the sun shines, you will soon be in the people's court again

Linda pls dont bother about all dese ass lickers saying GEJ did not use d word damn. I heard it wit my own ears. Everyone is entitled to his own opinion cos dere is freedom of expression.d fact remains dat our president is openly tellin us to go to hell and dat there is nothin dat we can do about corruption since he himself is not clean.kapish. LEPA SHANDY

Not me oh cos I didn't" vote for him. I know he's a very weak man right from time

Ewu

Naijarian said...

Lindaaa... You don yuck up... No be so e yarn... I just dey read today punch and from wetin dem report, the guy yarn say im no give damn if una criticize am till kingdom come onto say im no declare im assets publicly and no be say im no give damn about declaring im assets publicly... Get it? The not giving a damn is to the criticisms he faces and will continue to face and not on asset declaration...

Linda stop d misinformation.is that d only statement frm d 1hr chat?

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Sharrap @Samuel..u the biggest egotistical educated illiterate on here..you think this is 1940..where those Leaders with some sprinkling of british education can say whatever and people look up to them like some sort of Messiah..man is a failure and rapidly getting worse..how can!!..now take that back to your boss..or crawl under the cave you came from..u slimy so and so!!..

All u clueless weaklings accusing Linda, im sure half of you didnt watch. If you did ul realise Jonathan Has gone Mad. I dont even know why we bother calling him President.

Kindly visit Sahara reporters and read Prof George Ayittey's advice to Nigeria.

Since the first lady enjoys following her husband everywhere. It won't have been a bad idea if she followed and sat by him during the chat.

leave linda alone asin it was not linda who said jona did not give a damn it was jona himselve who said it and other blogs and newspapers have written it and the media have said it as well. i am waiting for maku and abati to come and do spin doctor action movie on jonas comments taken from context well let us hear their defence of thier master this time around.

jona needs to go back to school to learn how to talk and address people as currently he has no manners....

deekay said...

I agree with 6:09

deekay said...

He's in a position to right so many wrongs and he is the president so yes we will continue to hold him responsible for anything that happens. He needs to read our critical comments and do better.

deekay said...

Seconded.

deekay said...

HHahahahax1million

deekay said...

It's pppl like u that keep giving honour where it isn't due!! Ppl like u keep praising him when he hasn't done anything worth praising. Making him think he is doing well. Speak up for once. Cos u like someone doesn't mean they are perfect. Humans go wrong sometimes. Let them know instead of sugar coating things. Shine ur eyes. Speak up.

deekay said...

Gbam!

What time was the interview done? Morning, mid day or evening?. Well,my point is,it didnt matter what time. He was probably on cloud nine with johnnie walker......... No one gives a hoot,when in a state of bliss. Lol.

Freesmszone.com said...

na today?
www.freesmszone.com

pls why is he disgracing his state......... i mean beyelsa