Pastor Tunde Bakare summoned by police over GEJ preaching | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 29 June 2012

Pastor Tunde Bakare summoned by police over GEJ preaching

Men of the State Intelligence Bureau of the Nigeria Police have extended invitation to fiery Lagos preacher, Pastor Tunde Bakare, over what police sources see as a controversial sermon against President Goodluck Jonathan.

The invitation is sequel to a sermon which he (Pastor Bakare) delivered in his church wherein he accused President Jonathan of deliberately trying to bankrupt the country.

Publicity secretary of the Save Nigeria Group, Mr. Yinka Odumakin, who confirmed the development in a chat with LEADERSHIP on telephone, however, said Bakare, the leader of the group, was aware of the summon.

Bakare, the running mate to the presidential candidate of the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), Maj.-Gen. Muhammadu Buhari, in the last general election was billed to honour the invitation but had left the country on Wednesday.

“We saw an invitation by the police asking Pastor Bakare to honour an invitation regarding a sermon that he delivered sometime ago, but, as I am talking to you now, he is out of the country,” Odumakin said.
Though, it was speculated that security agents might prevent him from making the journey, which many believe was to the United States of America, he made without it hindrance.

Excerpt of Pastor Bakare’s Sermon
“We have vampires whose assignment is to kill Nigeria and to make sure that Nigeria does not exist thereafter. Suddenly Nigeria that was that cheered now has clueless, shoeless people take over the administration of Nigeria.

“And the one word I have for Nigerians is, don’t despair. Jonathan is dancing to the drumbeat of destiny. His destiny is to bankrupt Nigeria. All men of goodwill must rise up to stop him. And stop him we will do. And I said stop him we will do. Don’t make mistake about what you are hearing from me today, it is clear in my heart beyond any iota of doubt that Jonathan’s destiny is to bankrupt Nigeria, balkanize Nigeria.

And there are forces behind him totally committed and determined to do so. Oil vultures with petrol dollars and all kinds of political “tinkers” not thinkers are tinkering with the destiny of our nation with their palace prophets telling them peace when there is no peace.

I want to tell you that it does not matter what it takes, we will stop you. We will stop you dead in your tracks. You will not accomplish your assignment. You will not finish your assignment. Nigeria will vomit you in the name of Jesus Christ.

Turn your Bible with me to the Book of Chronicles. Tell it on the mountain top that this man is dancing the drumbeat of destiny.

His destiny is to bankrupt this nation and balkanize it and he has the full support of his corporate cowboys and oil vultures as well as their palace prophets who are telling them peace when there is no peace because I don’t understand how a nation will be going through calamity upon calamity and those who should be concerned will only be prancing around. I don’t understand it. I don’t understand how you can serve your nation and serve bomb blast inside a church in Jos for breakfast.

And before they could recover from that anguish you serve them air crash for lunch. And before they could gain their moment of sanity, you serve them with petro dollar bribe and now you vaunt about it telling us nothing can happen because you are in charge, the land will vomit you as the Lord lives in the name of Jesus Christ and every collaborator will not go unpunished.

Your year of punishment has come. Tell it on the mountain top that there are still men of goodwill who will stop you dead in your tracks.

I am not talking about deluded ambitious politicians who now think of 2015 when the nation is in a mess in 2012. We can do all the tinkering, if we don’t rise up now there will not be 2015.”

Source: Leadership

112 comments:

This man Bakare is delusional. Several times, he could not differentiate between a sermon from the pulpit and political statement. His church is now CPC's secretariat and the offerings/tithes are now party contribution. May God save us from masquerade in ecclesiastical hood.

Molara Brown said...

hmmm...well sha the guy is saying the truth now. Oga President needs to know that he must give a damn.

d fool who cals himself a pastor, wonder wat kind of gullible people stay in dat church, preaching nonsense here and der,

Garbage in, garbage out. Two wrongs can never makeva right. In as much as Jonathan has his shortcomings, it is a shame for a so called MOG to preach hate. His message is colored with sentiments. Bakare is off track. Lagos drivers says so

i am now convinced that Pastor Tunde Bakare is mentally challenged. not cos i am a fan of GEJ rather cos his word dont speak of a pastor more like a retarded moron.

Pastor T u can say dat again

Bakare the orator,"I am not talking about deluded ambitious politicians who think of 2015 when 2012 is in a mess". he couldn't have said it any better.

so, while do they want to arrest or talk to him, I am sure they feel they can bribe him to stop. If really Mr President is a saint of these, then he should not be bothered. how can we Nigerians be dieing like mosquitoes, past Bakara is a political preacher and Pastor, please leave him alone let him talk and give us the gist. Enemies of Nigeria will die a shameful death except Jesus is not on the throne, if He is they will all not no peace.

Blue said...

Seriously, GEJ NEEDS HELP!

What has he said wrong,that they want to arrest him,is it not the same thing,we all have been saying,about the incompetency of the president,abeg dis is democracy and not military,so the guy gut right to expresshis freedom,When Buhari said 2015 elections would be deadly,why dint they arrest him,set of jobless people always going after,the wrong people...msteeeeew.smh

EVEN GOD DEY LAFF said...

gej,nigeria police are all fucked up pple wat has d pastor said wrong if not but the fact that faces us all in dis country of ours.D PASTOR AS DON NOFFIN WOUNG,JONA,plsss get a life#DFOOLWITHNOSHOES

sammy lbyo said...

hausa imams preach more fiery messages than this n nobody is disturbing them.

I think the man should make up his mind if he wants to go into politics or remain in the church. As a pastor he should learn to be responsible with his speech! If his members go to church and all they hear is the condemnation of a country and it's leaders they are already aware of, where is the edification and exhortation.

This man is he a pastor at all,why is he always saying bad things,and insulting,a pastor can never do this,i feel for people that worship there really

Na wah! Even political matters are now discussed in †Ñ’ξ church's sermon. I pity people who don't know †Ñ’ξ need of going †̥ church. Instead of telling d congregation about christ, he was busy trying †̥ h8t on someone who doesn't care about any soul outside his cabal.... R.I.P haters... I said through  torch 2..

Fire go consume jed and him people, so now freedom of speech no dey our democratic country again abi? I am so furious right nw, rubbish.

NONSENSE MAN. HE IS A DOOM. HE IS THE ONE THAT WILL DANCE THE DRUMBEAT OF DESTINY.POOR PASTOR. INSTEAD OF U TO BE PRAYING FOR THE BETTERMENT OF OUR COUNTRY, U RE THERE CAUSING AND CRITICIZING ALL BECOS U AND UR AGENT DID NOT WIN THE ELECTION. BY GOD'S GRACE U AND THAT UR AGENT WILL NOT RULE THIS NATION.

Amarachukwu said...

Is it the same police that Facrook is dribbling that is looking for a scape goat? The same Nigerian police that Boko Haram is dealing with and armed robbers are killing like rats??? Shame on them and their bosses. I dont see anything wrong with what the man said. Abi there is no more freedom of speech?

Bakare seems to have a personal beef

are these people for real,,,,,how is this a priority?isnt arresting boko haram more important,,,wat happend to freedom of speech? nawa for this govtment....

Craseman says...
I was really curious to know the full details on how a pastor could be arrested. So I have to say pastor Tundes comments just went a bit too far. People only come to church to hear the word. So pastors need to put their political views aside.

HaroldWrites said...

It is not out of place for men of God (real men of God) to preach against a bad government. Afterall,prophets of old did same. At the same time, such act should be done under the direction of the holy spirit. You can easily tell when a supposedly man of God isnt speaking under divine instructions. People come to church to be saved unto Christ. When your message becomes completely political,there is fire on the mountain. By the way, the Apostles didn't ask us to fight(physical) against evil governments. We were asked to pray for/about them. Only God can change a leadership that is not from Him,not man!

That is on the one hand. On the other hand, I am not sure the action of the SIB summoning Pst. Bakare is totally in place. (He has not been arrested,I know. Just summoned.) We all have a right to freedom of expression, as far as it doesn't infringe on the rights of another or amount to treason.

Hmm, typical situation of when two wrongs don't make a right,I would say.

He has turned his church to some political campaign tingy.....smh. So sad.

Hmmm, dat's some mouthful....God is still faithul! *amrra*

Deyon said...

The truth is, i dont know what to make of Pastor Bakare.His alliance with an islamic extremist like Buhari make me question his true motive.Even the sacked security adviser Azazi, called GEJ a weakling becos he did not allow him question Buhari over the BH bombings.My question is,how can P Bakare convince us he has Nigeria's best interest at heart when he is in alliance with Buhari? Guess only God can tell.

Buh the guys is saying the truth naa??
Abeg they shld free him mbok!

d man no dey lie now......he is telling d truth....people re dying everyday...boko haram re killing innocent people becos of wat....and d president has refused to do anythg about it .....pls lindalove post my comment..dey shld leave d pastor alone ...freedom of speech

Mary
God is watching all this politicans and their day is coming ...IS THIS MILITARY OR DEMOCRACY. why cant a pastor say the obvious truth .

GEJ administration has got to be the worse in history, cant wait for the next election ..**HISS****

Wow!!just wow!! Kudos to u brova!no one can say it beta.but be careful ooo.dippin ur hands in a lions mouth can result to harm.I admire ur bravery!jonathan has killed naija!princess ifo

mmakamba said...

this man is a true radical.hes an advocate of change and a better Nigeria.he makes a lot of sense but he needs to be a bit discreet.cos if we have pple that could be potential great presidents locked up in jail,it will do us no good.

NecFix said...

"...I don’t understand how you can serve your nation and serve bomb blast inside a church in Jos for breakfast."

Kpakam! Lol

Kim kardashian fan said...

Na wa o . Please he has freedom of speech. Thy should not use police to shut Nigerians up.

God will judge. only God knows those who are his own.

BLOGLORD said...

i get his point! he is not out of contest. he is saying pray to remove a bad leader named jonathan. (jonathan if u like come arrest me for lib. send sss to linda ikeji blog to hunt BLOGLORD. u lie!!!).
bakare is very right n i support him. jonathan is a total failure. na him know d cult wen e de. cos their aim is to destroy nigeria. but WE WILL STOPN HIM!

Him mouth sef too large...
IGBOGAL...via nokia 3310

Pastor, may God continue to give u wisdom and strength to expose them..God will punish those who do not want peace for Nigeria...we re behind u pastor.

i thought we lived in a "democracy"? since when did it become a police matter to preach the TRUTH? The police should focus on boko haram. jeeeez!!!

Onstelly said...

Well am not good, when it comes to politics and all dat. Guess i will hv to grab a seat wit cool Miranda n watch as d comments rolls in

Truly, dis government has not done anything good for Nigerians, since it took over power. it has shed too many innocent blood, started at election period, graduates were killed, during subsidy strike, people died and boko haram has been killing and has not ceased.
U wake up every day hearing all sorts of sad news, nothing has made people proud and happy about these government, what good has it really done to the common Nigerians,nothing and absolute nothing.........
it is so so sad, i weep for my country every day.
Linda, pls publish my comment, i dont know if i have to pay blf my comment will be publish

inasmuch as i see the truth in what he's saying, the bible talked about respecting authority, according to Romans 13:1-3 anyone who rebels against authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and they will be punished, i hope he take back his words...

Na so..but you wanted to join the bandwagon as vice president to a core muslim northerner...but when e no work you switch gear...yimu

sexylove said...

Ogao ooo, oro reeee!!!!

Observer said...

Guy, I will not comment on whether or not you are anointed, the fact is these statements are treasonable! And Romans13 is clear as to how we are to regard our leaders! We may want GEJ to do some things differently, and we pray that God helps Nigeria. But making such statements is not supported ANYWHERE in the Bible. Adding the Name of Jesus at the end does not make it less inciting!

Freedom of speech exists, but there is a big line btwn that and treasonable speech. Abeg joor!

deekay said...

But no one arrested buhari after he made that comment. Issokayy

deekay said...

This is another reason why some ppl feel the Bible is full of crap and written by mere mortals with no guidance from the holy spirit as claimed. Why should one not speak about about oppression and wrong? When our parents give us what they feel is great advice but to us and others, not so much....don't we go against them? No one is perfect and we should call them out when.necessary without fear. If ppl never spoke up against racism where would we b today? If we never spoke against colonialism and slave trade where would we be today? Pls use ur brains. No need to bring Bible into this cos u probably wouldn't have access to the internet if it wasn't for rebellion.

Duke Emeka said...

Its Good to speak wisely, wisdom is profitable to direct. He too was planing to be the vice of a muslim.

Linda never publish my comment, so no point making any comment. Until then God bless Nigeria

madawaki said...

pastor bakere should stop preaching politics in the church haba na wetin God send am go do? he's accusing the president of every misharp that befell the country is there any sense in that? his comments amount to slander and treason.it is totally in order for the police to invite him for questioning

I am not in any way pleased with such sermon by a man of God, He used so many ill words that contradict the supposed purity of ordination. there are better ways of making such expressions in public, take note He is the president. now my comment; it is really a thing to regret that a man of God is politisizing calamity, We will never be deceived cos we know that the sole aim of the so called vultures is to cause distraction, destroy and have every Nigerian condeming this govt. with all due respect to pastor, I would say He has been misled some wolves in sheep clothing and I won't hesitate to commit Him in prayer.

U r seriously onpoint! My tots exactly!

In the book of Romans 14 d bibla says, do not judge. Why are u judging & condeming pple instead of praying 4 d nation. Cant u c dat GEJ is a leader wit focus & I strongly believe dat he has come 2 inspire change. All he need 4rm u now is nothing but prayer. Do not create problems/causes 4 ur self by opposing d one dat God had choosen 2 librate our contry. Even d bible says we should pray 4 our leaders but pple are busy writing 2 d contrary. May d peace of d Lord be with any one here with good intension***AMEN***

2 Timothy 3:2-10

But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days. People will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy,without love, unforgiving, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not lovers of the good,treacherous, rash, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God—having a form of godliness but denying its power. Have nothing to do with such people.

They are the kind who worm their way into homes and gain control over gullible women, who are loaded down with sins and are swayed by all kinds of evil desires,always learning but never able to come to a knowledge of the truth.Just as Jannes and Jambres opposed Moses, so also these teachers oppose the truth. They are men of depraved minds, who, as far as the faith is concerned, are rejected. But they will not get very far because, as in the case of those men, their folly will be clear to everyone.

1 Timothy 2:1-2
First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way.

1 Peter 2:13-25
Be subject for the Lord's sake to every human institution, whether it be to the emperor as supreme, or to governors as sent by him to punish those who do evil and to praise those who do good. For this is the will of God, that by doing good you should put to silence the ignorance of foolish people. Live as people who are free, not using your freedom as a cover-up for evil, but living as servants of God. Honor everyone. Love the brotherhood. Fear God. Honor the emperor. ...

And.....

1 John 2:1-29
My little children, I am writing these things to you so that you may not sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous. He is the propitiation for our sins, and not for ours only but also for the sins of the whole world. And by this we know that we have come to know him, if we keep his commandments. Whoever says “I know him” but does not keep his commandments is a liar, and the truth is not in him, but whoever keeps his word, in him truly the love of God is perfected. By this we may know that we are in him:

I no be 'Pastor'like Pastor Tunde O,i be daughter of God and na wetin my bible tell me be this.It is sad how we Turn things upside down as Christians.I rem vividly one of Pastor Tunde's quotations many many years ago in which he said:'The church is becoming worldy and the world is becoming Churchy'i see now that he is the main xter in his own script.God have mercy on all of us!

yea he has spoken the truth pple dont bring the book of romans into this the problem we have in nigeria is that our pple do not have a mind of theirs they attach sentiment to eveything lets be straight fwd its either you are apolitical,in support of jonathan's administration or against it.....pastor bakare say it exactly how you feel jare

Thankyou!! But ull still see people defending Nigeria to death smh .. Ur giving her idea though lool but linda if u make use pay YOYO(your on your own) on this blog

Personally I DO NOT like dis Tunde Bakare of a guy, at least not anymore, my dislike for him started when I realized he was a sore looser. So what u lost an election? U became very bitter nd all ur preachings became one of rage and scorn! Oga go answer o nd I hope u don't change ur mouth when u get there cause u of all people should know what the holy book says about how we should treat our leaders in Romans. GEJ is an a** but u r inciting people! D state of d country is fragile enough as it is. Dis is no way to right a wrong!

Hey Mr treason, what do you know about the law? The constitution si supreme and same gives you the freedom of speech. Now, what Mr Tunde is saying is justiciable. There was plane crash becus of compromise of quality standard from corrupt officials, bomb blast becus of weak security and above all Subsidy scandal with was a national shame. GEJ wake up from your slumber and show us one good reason why we should vote you in 2015...for now, there's non except bomb blasts and bribery scandals. God bless Nigeria.

isis said...

Thank u my frnd,u dnt pray 4 ppl who have no oda intention dan to see dis country in ruins. Wot u do is condenm deir actions and make sure dey leave 4 oda well meaning ppl 2 govern. Tunde Bakare hasn't done any wrong as far as I'm concerned. Dats why fella said nigerians are suffering and smiling, stay der n be prayin 4 jona n his cohorts 2 change while u wallow in poverty. Nigerians had beta sit up n get rid of dem by fire by force.

I thank God say angels dem strong giditgba so that nobody go fit fight them becos that day of judgement,so many people,so many 'minsters'of the gospel,so many 'prophets'etc wey no go see their name for the 'big book of life'go nearly tear angel dress.Hmm...God dey look all of us...

isis said...

All of u sayn pas. Tunde is wrong shld go n jump inside well, I see dat we use our hands 2 do ourselves. Wen something is wrong, u speak out against it and call deir names so dey know u are referrin 2 dem, bt as usual nigerians r bloody cowards n love to wallow in deir poverty. *suffering n smiling* oda countries dat r gettn beta, do u fink it was by prayn 4 d useless leaders dat der was a change? Not @all, dey came 2geda n put a stop 2 it. Oda prophets n men of God in d bible have spoken out against bad leadership even laid curses on dem sef n u ignorant peeps ve d guts 2 say treason, dat stupid, gd 4 nothing #igbogal# dat jez came outta okija shrine 2 is talkn, if I hear ur mouth again amadioha strike u. Anyone dat doesn't want d progress of nigerian wil not see 2morro morning!,dat goes 4 d ppl in govt 2!. Der, ve said it. Linda if u lyk dnt post it, den I'll knw u 2 r an enemy of naija.

Nkem said...

The truth be told, whether you like Bakare or not, he has spoken the truth and nothing but that. How many of your so-called pastors talk about the injustices and rubbish going on in this country...all they know is sowing of seed and driving big cars, meanwhile they are supposed to be the voice of the nation. Tunde Bakare, you have spoken the very truth and my prayer is "God protect and keep you".

I like him cos he says d truth abt ds politicians

Flavour said...

I am not against his teachns n speaking d truth abt Jona bt I think he shld ve used less inciting words.we nigerians r jst full of shit,we insult n castigate Jona @ all tyms in diff places bt neva bold enuf 2say it 2his hearing or dat of his aides.nw pst tunde hz spoken wat is on our mind bt we r here saying he shld preach n 4get abt politics n all.Y dem no arrest Buhari wen he mk inciting comments abt govt?? Abeg jor!mk police go do der work by arrestn BH n all oda miscreants disturbing naija

sakara said...

the 1st 4 comments from Reno Omokri, that's what he can do and knows how to do best

the pastor, i believe, is sane and knows what he's saying, GEJ is d delusion one

Linda post ma comments before I send rain/flood come ur apartment

@anoymous 12.24 we get bible na which one u dey write d full passage. And who is that commentor that is tlkin about GEJ 4 2015 oga park well biko!BLOGLORD spot on my thots exactly...#Ally says so

Jonathan must go. Tunde Bakare av d right as a citizen of federal Republic of Nig 2 say anythng. Tnk God 4 pple lik Bakara dat opened there secrets. I missd Gani Fawehinmi, hw thngs could av bn if he join Bakare. Only a full wl say Bakare is nt gud

I wonder what some Nigerian are, hypocrite! What has bakere said , he only said the mind of the helpless! he's statement shows he's the voice to the voiceless in pains in the North, to the poor in every corner of the country , if Jonathan mom was bombed in the North or any of his sibling do u think he will go to Italy, a Nation where the leader does not feel the pains and agony of his followers is in doom, many people have to come and see the number of people that boko hamram have turned to handicaps here in the north, the man have not preached anything wrong, please come to North and hear the sermon of pastors, church workers everywhere in pains and with dying family members. Thousands dont even know where to start again , they have lost everything , Pls Bakare pls speak, I cant be heard if I do, nobody knows me or my family or what is happen here in the deep part of Jos please speaaaaaaaaaaak , arrrrggggghhhhhh.

Ajiifixing said...

All you people cursing yourselves (Not Tunde Bakare) just do me a favor. Study the lives of prophets of old (Isaiah,Jeremiah,Ezekiel,Zechariah,Zephaniah,Elijah,Elisha etc) and even our Lord Jesus christ against the Pharisees.

Ajiifixing said...

All you people cursing yourselves (Not Tunde Bakare) just do me a favor. Study the lives of prophets of old (Isaiah,Jeremiah,Ezekiel,Zechariah,Zephaniah,Elijah,Elisha etc) and even our Lord Jesus christ against the Pharisees.

when prophet Jeremiah was said to prophecy doom for de leftwing rulers of his time,dat was nt to be misconstrued as having badwill for his country. Nigerians should differentiate b/w prophetic utterance dat is meant to reawaken de consciousness of its citizenry and mere political jargons dat aims at eulogizing our rulers. Wht pastor Bakare has said is purely a clarion call for us to be aware of the thunderstorm dat is coming.we should address dat and nt his person or political affiliations. I feel dat de pastor's warnings are 'ad rem'. GEJ is really inactive! Who can dialogue with terrorists;who forms silly commttes on almost every mata in a country of dis type;he lacks experience which he has said;etc.

Nkechi said...

Nigerians and attaching sentiement to everything. Even the people that support the pastor are all using sentiment to analyze logical reasoning. This pastor ran for office lost and decided to use his pulpit as platform for 2015 how hard is that to figure out. Yes GEJ need to get to work, but if u believe Pastor B has Nigeiran best interest at heart, then u have learned nothing from GEJ tenor. People always come here and bring up bible and praying when I believe is not called for, but this particular situation calls fr biblical guidance becos u should not believe any man becos they added Jesus at the end of every sentence. Religious or not there is a limit to freedom of speech. Even n America (where we all know is the mother ship fr all things freedom) if anyone in an authoritarian position speaks so ill of a president or even their neighbor to the point of insiting hate, it is considered treason when directed to the president and hate crime when directed to ur neighbor, so pls people try not to be so damn gullible, becos u might just be reflecting another GEJ in pastor B clothing! A word is enough for the wise, in this case a thousand words should wipe the stupidity off y'all heads!

tobee said...

Nigeria is a sad place,if people who are typing from congested homes,with polluted water,no running water,homeless touts,bad roads,or your typing from a phone or laptop powered via generators and you can go on to condemn what this pastor says because you have a personal dislike for him...you are the type that voted Jonathan but didn't vote PDP...mshewww
Then Nigerias situation is utterly hopeless!

he should be charged for treason asap.i think pst bakare is among those vampires dat cant live to see Nigeria/GEJ succeed all in the name of loosing the election to him.if he doesnt know,the Bible said we should pray for pple in leadership role and not to criticise,curse,judge them and to incite an already desparate Nigerians as he has done here.he is simply delusioned and angry madman.my fellow nigerians,pls lets wear our thinking caps and pray for and encourage our president to truly transform our nation,dis task is not as easy as you pple think it is,u should not blame GEJ for every calamity dat happens,during OBJ we had abt 3 fatal plane crashes and he was not blamed nor was he called names as dis.the bokoharam is d mechinary of some scrupulous and devilish opposition who thinks Nigeria/GEJ should not succeed and we know all dat.let me tell you pple something u should know dat GEJ is going to rule dis country for the next 8 yrs,so the earlier we support him the better for all of us.as for bakare,you went too far dis time and you most be purnished when ever you return.my brothers and sisters,Nigeria will be better soon only if YOU believe.for me,I BELIEVE the TRANFORMATIONAL CHANGE HAS COME.Lastly,there may be bombs,troubles,wars,hunger,bribery and corruption at night,but our Joy commeth in the morning.CIAO.

i keep saying it...r u an anti govt cos u feel d govt has don smthin wrong to u or cos majority of nigerians r anti govt? Ask u self and ansa for urself. Is pastor bakare realy right in his statements?
Do u realy beliv sm1 wil lead a country and want its downfall? C'mon, we all shld b wiser dan this.
GEJ may not b d best leader, but do u think dat if God knws bakare wil do beta wit buhari he wldnt hv made dem win?
We kw hw nigerians prayed for d good of dis country prior for d elections. Wit God awake, GEJ stil won even wen we all agree dat d elections were fairly fair. Pple, i hv past dis level of following d mammoth crowd. I think for my self.
My tots hv led me to kw dat wit all d presidential contestants in 2011, 5# was stil d best. QED.
The SIB or SSS has got ryt to SUMMON whoever they think and feel is a threath to d stability of dis nation from their statements.
If bakare,s boss (buhari) can be so anti christians, dont u think bakare wld hv bin d big obstacle nw if they hv won? Christians, pls wake up and see things ursef.
All i kw for sure is 2015...we shall all see d savior for dis nation. Who kws, it may stil be GEJ. God's ways r not man's.

Anony Noni said...

@ Mary,keep waiting for the next election waiter!Pdp'll keep BH alive and active,come 2015 they'd have cloned their own version of BH who they'll use to bomb a few polling centres b4 election proper;sacrificing some inec officials and nysc volunteers.After which chicken hearted Nigerians won't dare venture out to go vote paving the way for easy Pdp mass rigging then u'll all start waiting again for 2019.The country of waiters!

we are busy looking for the faceless booko haram, can't we see one of their faces?....this man is about christianizen booko haram. mr bakare 2015 is not ment for you and your oga.

Graceful said...

I am amazed at people. Joseph in the bible was second in command to someone you would consider 'non-christian', did that change him? No. But did he bring change, yes.
Do we wany change in Nigeria? I'm sure we do. So why do we rise and criticise those who are crying for change? Most of us are such cowards who only sit and complain in our closets and yet we speak against those who are bold enough to risk everything to see a new Nigeria.

Are you not tired of the way things are? Do you have to be the next victim of the effects of corruption before you rise?

People we need ONE VOICE.
We need to support those who have chosen to speak up. After all we will all enjoy the new Nigeria when they truth prevails.
God help us.

SAMUEL said...

It is high time the President starts being on some people, maybe from Tunde Bakare to others who have sworn not to respect the office of the President. Tunde Bakare has loss my respect for not digesting the Bible very well. The bible said we should pray for our Leaders for God's wisdom and guidance, so he has the responsibility to pray for Mr. President not preaching inciting sermons to his congregation or making hate speeches. He should be punished for the sermon

The issue we have not is not whether Bakare is a pastor or not! The only difference is that Bakare has used his pulpit as a platform to boldly say what most of us say in our closets about the country and the leadership. (My only prayer for Tunde Bakare is that they do not kill him).

Our focus now should be CHANGE!!! What can we do as a Nigerian to help our nation. The blood of innocent souls are crying daily for vengeance and we are suffering immensely as a result of our current calamities and selfishness. Can we all take out time to pray continuously and intercede for the nation asking God for mercy and peace.

I believe strongly that: one day, some day, justice will be brought to light, wickedness will be exposed and righteousness will be exalted in Nigeria.

pls he dd the right thing by prayin against GEJ....he is a thief,y cnt he dethrone his gf's sis Diezianni wit the odas, he is soo annoying.if nigerians cntinue keepin quiet nd prayin, change will nt come!!its pastors and upright pple dt neeed to voice out evil takin examples frm Peter,Paul,Jesus,Isiah nd evn all the prophets in d bible.If he ran for president, i think dts d best tin he dd, nt only prayin for change bt acting 2wrds it,wats wrng wt dt?evrybodi says politicians r bad wen d good ones wont run,plss i support him nd love him for his fight against all ds corrupt leaders.he's running wt Buhari,hw is dt bad biko?muslim or nt?ddnt Jesus hang out wt gentiles?dy wre evn bettr off than d so call jews, nd seeein Buhari, u knw he is an upright man and very thorough.Nigerians plsss stop all ds sentiments and "e go better" talk and fight and speak against evil.God Bless Pst. Tunde Bakare and no body can do him any harm or lay curses on him,is nt by goin to church, its by changin the world which he is mre focused on.

A leopard can't never change its spot.lm not a politician,neither I'm l holding brief for anyone.from tundes comment you ll agree with me that he didn't change from Islam to christainy for real ,the tracks are,what alien with n lslamic fanatic like buhari.eversince they lost out his life has never been sane.Are u a politician or a pastor.Shame to bakare I'm highly disappointed and also pity your church members you have turned a place of worship and glorification into an opposition den.Repent otherwise you ll perish in hell.

Lmaooooo @ CPC secreteriat. Well said!!!!

Is he now a prophet of DOOM. He shd preach more of salvation and pray more 4 a beta Naija, dat is his mandate.

I really agree with you dear GEJ needs divine help...

Wake up Nigerians how long wil u keep praying for Nigeria, the kindom of god suffers violence and only the violence takes it by force. U just listen to sermons dogmatically, go and use d ones u hav heard and stop gettin more. If ur family was affected in d crash or d bomb blast, u probably wnt b singing pastor T is insane. DUMB Nigerians wake up so u wnt transit violently to death. very soon boko haram willget to ur door step and ur song will change. No miracle can happen in Nigeria if we dnt rise up to take up d fight. NO SENTIMENTS, NIGERIA NEEDS EXTERMINATION OF BAD LEADERS IN GOVERNANCE

Allegra said...

Summoned for preaching!!! Last time I checked, it was a democratic country meaning everyone is entitled to an opinion. Like him or loath him, he is entitled to his opinion.

Segun said...

I am utterly sad. Nigeria is a country that gives me a dose of utter sadness and heartbreak per day. Our govt gives us pain n sorrow like medicine and we are here arguing whether what the pastor has said is right or wrong. What do the other countries have that we do not have that has made our situation so terrible and pathetic? What is our sin as citizens that we can't afford good roads, good healthcare, eat good food and live a reasonably good life? I guess the people saying the pastor is wrong don't live in Nigeria. They don't ply the same roads i ply, they don't know the number of people that die everyday due to lack of basic amenities. They don't know the sorrow going on in the families of bomb blast victims. They live in the perfect Nigeria.
IMO he has said the plain truth whether you call it treason or felony or whatever. 'You shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free'

D rantings of an embittered loser..yes GEJ is not delivering but is dis d best way to address it? In church? If he feels very strongly abt it, let him grant interviews in d various media forums and leave church services for edifying sermons! Thank God I no dey attend dat church if not I'll insist he gives me back d hrs I used to sit and listen to all d bulls***! Na wetin I wake up for morn say I dey go church be dat? Mtsheeeew!!

ONPME says......
I keep saying it.Pentecostal pastors are not my favourites at all at all.I feel they have hoodwinked gullible Nigerian followers but I do have to give it to this man.He is saying some sense;albeit in a wrong manner but he is talking.

And I particularly liked the comment often anon who challenged Nigerians who do not seem tired of the chaos in that country.You are condemning this man yet you have done nothing about it.You sit in a house where security is an issue,where there is no power supply,where your roads are death traps and you wallow in that poverty.Nonsense!

Bros u took d word outta mind thank u

Who is he that will now speak the voice of the poor whose voices can't be heard? Who is the man that will fight this course & call these so called leaders to order?? Dear LORD ARISE on behalf of our beloved country Nigeria & deal with all her ENEMIES of progress that are in power!! Let YOUR Angels pursue them until they voluntarily resigned or being pushed out of governance!! Let Your peace, righteousness & uprightness be restored to
Nigeria!!! Let it happen now LORD so that our younger generation will grow to fear You & have respect for the Laws of the land & they will not think corruption, bribery, dishonesty, mismanagement of funds (public or private) & abuse of power & positions are normal ways of life, in Jesus' Mighty Name I pray Amennnn!!!!!!!!

This man is not a pastor. He has lost all credibility. This rant is nothing but an inflamed political statement similar to that of Boko Haram.

Isn't it strange that he has not condemned Boko Haram with the same passion. I pity the followers of this man for he his nowhere close to God.

Strange! Such hatred. To comment about Jonathan not wearing shoes is just simply childish. If these are the kind of people who aspire to run Nigeria, then there is real trouble.

Hate, nothing but hate. What happened to this poor man.

you nigerians deserve what is happening to you...
you would sooner criticise Tunde Bakare than Goodluck.

woe betide me at my level of intellectual qnd academic exposure to fall prey to dubious and fake men who hide under d name of d MOST HIGH,to get back at their percieved enemies. My people lets not be fooled into fighting ourselves again. Plz dis are my questions begging for answer,Is Gej d one bombing all d churches and killing our Christian brothers? Is Gej d one dat embezzled d money generated from oil windfall,why is dis man so pointing accuser finger at Gej alone,when we have 36 Governors,how many times has he awked us to take up arms and defend ourselves against bokoharam which is our main problem now, what was his reaction when hus running mate Buhari threatened to make our nation ungovernable if he should loose in d election? My people there are more questions than answers. Plz shine ur eyes. BONARIO says so via NOKIA3610

lekegold said...

what i cannot understand is people trying to castigate a man for saying the truth. so u that think he is delusional......AND believe strongly in ur heart that everything is just fine as it is in this country. Then i am sorry to say, YOU ARE THE DELUDED ONE!

Emmanuel said...

For those of u who said Bakare should keep quiet. I pray that your family be run like Nigeria in Jesus name. YES/NO answer only. Accept bakare's comment or accept governance in Nigeria as d way to run your home. I rest my case.

ben said...

who will speak for us?

I don't like GEJ but bakare should be more responsible as a public speaker.

Animal! You idiot paid by GEJ to spew trash against the truth. May thunder fire ur smelly head, na the bribe wey u chop go wipe u and ur entire generation out. Anuofia! Eze nkapi

Better go and continue driving your molue till the bad roads GEJ has refused to repair or allow the governors repair; remove your useless self from the face of this earth. Worthless pig!

God punish ur mess mess yansh there. Idiot. Una see pesn wey dey bold enuf to speak up and refuse to call a spade cutlass, una dey abuse am. Dan buroba shege! Mai iska. Was Martin Luther King not a Reverend? The fact that he did not sit still while the oppressors carried on with their evil. Today, the black people in America are to a large extent, free people. Evil is pervasive in the world today cos well meaning people chose to keep mute. Fuck all you retarded irritants.

being a MOG didn't stop MLK from speaking up, neither did it stop most of the prophets in the Bible. So, if you have nothing to say, you can as well chew on ur nails till they are shorter than Desmond Elliot's own.

Ur a fool too idiot

Pas B u shouldnt threaten d Presidents life u r a man of God ppl luk up to u even if he is dancin to d tune r u God. Pls we need solution not hate! Give ur life to christ he is LOVE HE LOVES SINNERS

ps lets pray for our leaders d Holy Bible says heart of d king is in Gods hand n pls lets pray for our Pastors

emarketstrategy said...

Am sure if you were around during the time of Martin Luther King jnr. You'll obviously say this same trash about him... The church should be the last resort of the common man, the church should stand for and with the people but what we have today is the other way round... The church is with the government in this astronomic pilaging going in Nigeria.

PLEASE LET US KNOW THAT THERE ARE SOME PPL WHO ARE GEJ SUPPORTERS WHO HAVE BEEN PAID..GOING FROM ONE SOCIAL MEDIA TO THE OTHER WRITING AGAINST STANDING UP TO HIM......

IF WE DONT HAVE RADICALS LIKE PASTOR TUNDE BAKARE AT THIS TIME ...THEN WE ARE DOOMED...WE NEED MEN THAT CAN VOICE OUT...YOU SAY PASTOR BAKARE IS NOT A MAN OF GOD COS HE TOOK PART IN POLITICS?
AM SO SORRY FOR YOU..YOU WOULD PREFER A MAN THAT HAS NO MORAL OR SPIRITUAL STANDARD TO DO IT ABI!

I'm curious. Somebody please answer me. Is there anything in the law that allows the police to summon him for this 'sermon'? Is this not within the freedom of speech thing or does this not cover it? Not that I don't think this guy must be slightly psychotic. I just want to know if the police can do this under a non-military regime. Because with all the things I've been hearing, including warnings from politicians and such to 'watch what we say' about the president, I'm starting to wonder about their understanding of a democratic leadership.

AMEN!!!!!

Primus said...

Quite an interesting piece there. Commentators, please note;
1.Anyone who has the interest of Nigeria at heart will hate what is going on
2. Pastor Bakare strongly criticised Gen Abacha and Obasanjo (even though he did not contest elections at the time)
3.Most widely known social justice crusaders have at one time or the other be concerned enough to contest an election e.g Gani Fawehinmi, Femi Falana, Prof Wole Soyinka (has a political party), Jesse Jackson e.t.c
4. Truth is constant. It does not matter who says it or how he/she says it. A man whose house is on fire is not likely to shout with 'finesse'
5. The security agents have the right to invite anyone in the course of performing their duties. However, such must be done within constitutional boundaries.
Thank you.

Prince said...

Pastor you are very right, Jonathan is not helping Nigerians in any way, our people are dieing everyday in different ways, only God know what they are turning Nigeria to. God will punish them all. when Jonathan come in we think that God has answered our prayers but it turn to be bird of the same feathers with his oga BABA. if anything happen to Pst Bakare God will punish the people behind it. it will be better every year and things is getting worst day by day. when will Nigeria be better?

Prince said...

Pastor you are very right, Jonathan is not helping Nigerians in any way, our people are dieing everyday in different ways, only God know what they are turning Nigeria to. God will punish them all. when Jonathan come in we think that God has answered our prayers but it turn to be bird of the same feathers with his oga BABA. if anything happen to Pst Bakare God will punish the people behind it. it will be better every year and things is getting worst day by day. when will Nigeria be better?

Tunde Bakare should either choose the pulpit or politics, Nigerians have to know the difference btwn freedom of speech and false accusation. TB should preach repentance and holiness to his congregation bcos politics will not take his members to heaven. God knows the end from the beginning. When he contested, why didn't he win? Is he saying dat God did not see him and Buhari b4 giving the seat to GEJ? Maybe am wrong,can someone pls put me right; If God never wanted GEJ to rule dis nation, would any trick by PDP or Jonathan's occultic powers (as somebody claimed above) have changed the plans of God? The problem of this nation is not who is ruling us but the over-ambitious political opponents who will stop at nothing to frustrate our gov't. Any MOG is supposed to pray to God to help our leaders lead us right. I enjoin Nigerians to join forces and pray to God that His will be done in dis nation, in no time.