Part-time programmes in Nigerian Universities suspended | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 25 June 2012

Part-time programmes in Nigerian Universities suspended

The National Universities Commission has announced the suspension of all part-time programmes run by universities in Nigeria.

That's not good, or is it? Continue reading...

The Executive Secretary of the commission, Prof. Julius Okojie Okojie said the suspension of the part- time programmes was to enable the regulatory body “streamline” them.
He said the work of the universities’ regulatory body was becoming more difficult because of the “products of the system” and urged the institutions to cooperate with the NUC to evolve a more focused and credible system.
“For now all part time programmes have been suspended. We are going to streamline them.
“No university should have more than 20 per cent of their student population on part-time with excess capacity to teach. All part time programmes must be located on campus. We do not want satellite campuses anymore,” he said.
The executive secretary said henceforth universities must score over 70 per cent in all areas of assessment, including the provision of library facilities before it would be accredited.
“But if your library facilities are poor or sub standard, even if you score over 70 per cent, you will not be considered fit enough for accreditation,” he stated.
Okojie said that out of the 31 programmes evaluated for the NOUN, 30 were accredited.
He said that four programmes of the university were granted full accreditation, 26 others accredited on interim basis while one programme was denied accreditation. 
(NAN)

65 comments:

Janded said...

Very bad. What do they want workers who school part-time to do? Or Full time mums who school in the evenings?

deekay said...

Any reason given?

Godwin Dunamis said...

Damn!!! This is crazy.what do they intend to achieve from this? arh aarh!!. This is definitely not the decision that will move the country forward at this point.

Godwin Dunamis said...

Damn!!! This is crazy.what do they intend to achieve from this? arh aarh!!. This is definitely not the decision that will move the country forward at this point.

MAXIMUS™ said...

I totally understand where they're coming from. It takes the average nigerian undergrad about 5yrs to graduate (strike and all). Which means part-time students take about 8-10yrs to graduate. It makes no sense!

My money has entered Voicemail...wailing...

Na wa 4 naija they just play wit peoples lives. Wetin go happen 2 d money wey dem pay n those in final year nko,tis our leaders tink se na their house them de, followin due process in tis country just doesn't exists

Jesus someone tell me that this is not true, dat means am out of skul in my final. @maximus what u said isn't all dat true am a part skul of unzik i enter 2007 and will b writing my final exams oct,jus finish wit first sem about a month or so

@non 9.44pm truly sori abt C wat am talkin abt it just doent make sense u just scrap sumtin without makin proper arrangement. God help us

tama said...

Pls is it part time under graduate progs. Only or post grad inclusive?

Innoxx said...

I knew it would come to this.Simply because NUC do not get share from the school fees of part-time students in various universities,they now want to scrap it.See corruption Oo...

Gbemi O. said...

Maximus I don't think it takes that long 4 partimers to finish. 8/10yrs? That's madness now

tama said...

Hmmm, na all sorts of prayers person suppose dey pray if he or she dey dis country. U pray against bomb, boko haram, loss of job, a good job, and sick n silly govt policies dat effect ones life negatively. Smh

N they say we r a developin country were is d development here,they just make life difficult 4 hardworkin n decent nigerians. Most people in tis programme just want a second chance in life n our leaders ve just screwed them.

IAmhairs said...

they just keep jumping the decaying situations to face irrelivant matters...i guess the only things we could do is watch them while they keep acting....MAY GOD COME 2 OUR AID

Instead of them to face the serious probs we are facing they are causing more probs for the masses.

I don't really know reason why this decision is taken but we should frank the way and manner the programme is being run in some school is exploiting,frustrating and time consuming as there is no uniformity in running the programme nationwide so NUC should put proper mechanism in place to curb and correct these deficiencies and lift the suspension to better's pple's life.

This is total nonsense...... Esp if post graduate programme is inclusive. Come on, this govt has got 2 b kidding. How can u jst wake up nd make such a decision, wut do u want d part-time students 2 do?

@maximus I dnt support dis ya analysis cha cha

michelle said...

NUC are completely living in the dark ages...
in this 21st century where access to education takes all forms from part time to distance learning, to online learning....
why must nigerians be backward in their thinking?
the NUC should dissolve its management if these are the kind of unreasoned decisions they keep coming up with...
Nonsense!

ÈŠ̝̊̅Ï„̅ D̶̲̥̅̊oesn't Τ̅Ã¥ke †̥hα̲̅t lΘng f☺r partimers MAXIMUs

This is the best for us all as most of the universities have misused the opportunity.

standome said...

It seems they fill these part time programmes have negatively affect our academic standard bcos as long as u have money u don't have to show up, jus get ur admission and collect ur cert.

Ulom said...

And u tink its not done in F-time? You can as well pay ur way 2ru school in full time.

Don't just get these pple, they just change things wout knowing the effect its gonna cause on d masses. I'm just sick and tired of all these rubbish!

onyx said...

Maximus uve startd yarning o.p since they've startd hailing u and u r nw becomn dry.

oma said...

This must be a joke,some partime progs are even weekly n mainly ppl who av tried jamb severally bt t no avail,what do they expect final year stds t do n as we knw it's more expensv dan the usual,ths isn't fair nigeria.

deekay said...

Na so we c am oh. Which way naija?!

Donvin said...

That's not ok, i'm even plannin 2 start P.T by nxt year. 9ja sha, is dat boko haram or fuel subsidy wey dem suppose face?

Cloyd N.D.U said...

Last time I check'd ds country is stil d only country claiming to be developed in africa, yet decision made by its leaders er underdeveloped.
Which reasonable human being wud jis wake up in d morning and d only tin on his mind is taking eratic decisions.
This people er taking kai-kai Ooº°˚ ˚°Âºoo.

So wat is the next plan cos u cant jst put pples lives on hold i mean dats not d problem of our country instead of payin more attention to pressin issues hes changin names n suspendin part time programmes in d universities such a shame how gej ve disappointed everyone who voted 4 him

olaronke said...

This is irrational. I would expect that they should not aLlow it affect people alrdy on the progrm. I can't pat an eyelid right now. It is well. I hope they give us more info tmrw morning

Bina said...

Ahhhhh GOD will never forgive dis pple atall cos of dir selfish interest.am already in 400level hopin to roundup nxt yr, i went tru pain and hardship as a young gurl so i can go to sch and become a graduate, nw am abt smiling dey had to do this? GOD. #Sadface#

Bina said...

Ahhhhh GOD will never forgive dis pple atall cos of dir selfish interest.am already in 400level hopin to roundup nxt yr,after i went tru pain and hardship all alone as a young gurl so i can go to sch and become a graduate, nw am abt smiling dey decided to do this? GOD, #Sadface#

MAXIMUS™ said...

biko this is the real Maximus! I don't know who the first bufoon is. No wonder his comment is stupid.
Anyway, back to the gist...they shouldn't have scrapped it! What happens to current students?

cdive said...

Well scraping PT U̶̲̥̅̊ r rite ,bt that doesn't mean the student who r already in wouldn't finish.....i just finished my 2nd semester exam and waiting for α̲̅ new session.the gist ve bn there for long time that's y we ve frm 300l-500l witout 200l or 100.so no skin pain the U̶̲̥̅̊ ƪƪ finish if U̶̲̥̅̊ r already in.

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

We can never be a Developed country ever..I said it...so many r in this part time, to survive n also skool @ d same time..ow can dey scrap it. Wat happens to the undergraduates in ds skools?...they jus stop scooling? N start from where...So help us* God in this country

My thots exactly! U've said it all....

Taiwo said...

This just shows that Nigeria is a failed state .Visit Breaking Entertainment news | Celebrity Gossipsfor weirdest news of all

really this old brains at nuc are working to frustrate the lives of the younger once,where South Africa have gone from part time to distance and online learning,we are still here killing the people who even what to learn.rubbish policies..

QF
welcom to naija where u can jst wake up one mornin nd put ppls lyf on hold...tnx to Mr president who is leading by example.

Duke Emeka said...

I totally agree, see what he said due to the Products(graduates), Part Time shld be suspended and then properly modified all those satellite campuses are all not effective. I agree with NUC on this one.

not so suprise about the news. Abuja university is the worst, my colleagues in the office have spent 10yrs now without certificates. We need strong institution to regulate universities. Equilibrate HND with BSC and the issue of Certification will be a by gone hence competence. Kudos to NUC

This not a good news at all, what happened to those who want to upgrade themselves while still on job.

please their should be a rethink.

Visit this blog for news update!
www.naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Hahahahaha 'lib readers' or wa'eva u call urselves y'all are a hilarious inarticulate and uneducated bunch! Even the one's complaining abt being suspended from school can't construct a proper sentence. Y'll need to stop focusing on other people and start focusing on personal self development!!!! My tuppence..... Now let the aggresors start attacking. Hehehehehe

Can nigeria try and solve just one problem in her life time??.The country is sure doomd, damn!....GALAXY!

Bin hearin dis since last year ,i guess dey av finally done it? Dumb fucks!

MAXIMUS™ said...

Why in the HELL are you using my ID to comment? What? You're not smart enough to come up with something intelligent? Btw, I will NEVER construct a sentence as crass as yours. LIB readers pls ignore this imposter!

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Absurd!!..any wonder people are breaking their neck to get out of the country..
Look at Emmanuel Ohuabunwa's achievement at Hodgkins University..nothing beats an enabling environment..not one that continually frustrates and beats u down..

This is definitely not the real Maximus. The way you string your words together gave you away. Anyways? Nah, she'll never use that word like that

stellar said...

Its obvios ur d imposta. Jobless much? Its nt any1's duty 2 make ppl laff. If @Maximus makes a coment and ppl laff, fine. But finkin its her duty 2 mk ppl laff here is stupid tho. And hw stupid r u dat u dnt knw maximus is a female. Go and park ur car somwer else joh. Jobless fool stealing pplz identity

It is well.

i totally agree wit maximus.ask peeps in ekiti state uni n they'll tell u watzup.

Part suspension does not mean terminate.The programme itself is faulty.If only the NUC will be sincere without money politic,they will come up with something good 4 us.As we all have lost hope on the people we called leaders,Only God knows there intentions.Or Do the man those in-charge needs money?are the university chopping alone?these are the factors to address.But for me,the action is good only if the can harmonize well without selfish interest.Lets wait and see as we are looking at Goodluck and his rule.

Alake said...

@ innoxx, where did you get information about NUC getting a share of students fees? you are sooooo ignorant.
NUC is only tring to regularize these part time sattellite campuses as they are producing 'quater baked graduates' bcos they are bn taught by low cadre staff with little or no experience.

I don't think it will affect you that much. The universities will simply absolve all current part time students from 200levels to final year into the full time programme. It just means the universities will not be admitting part time students this year.

NUC should ve made this clear in that statement. Its not possible to stop the universities from graduating thousands of part time students all over the country.

PH's Tytest.

NU NONSENSE.God will fight for the affected students. i'm concered about NOUN. nuc have a rethink or else...

ehinome said...

Ijust heard it didn't affect uniben ThankGod cos m in ma finals now.but I tink the suspension means dey shld nt hv new intakes

it doesn't mak sense @ al. its lik dis pple tink thru dere''ANUS'' no sense of directions. God; flush out al d bad EGGS in dis country..

Dis pple tink thru dere ''ANUS'' hw can they tak dis kind of decision witout a rethink??? God help 9ja by flushin out al d sinking bad eggs dat makes life bitter 4 d common man in dis gr8 nig...

Olajide said...

if this will make the system rejuvenate it oK, but in Nigeria that nothing is working it will be difficult to see such miraculous step achieved. PEACE!

Alale Anthony said...

Das great NOUN 30 prog. accredited? wow great

That is great with National Open University, 30 prog. accredited? wow its great

Don't worry ur money may not have entered voicemail, I reckon †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ suspension shouldn't be for too long, †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ PT issue needs to be addressed,†̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ population of people that are admitted is outrageous,†̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ schools do not care if education is impacted as long as they get their money, that's not fair on †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ students,I just hope †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ naija factor does not come to play as usual so things can be done fast.-Palo

Their fada yansh

Do you people think that suspending of PT programmes in nigeria will make an different?
You people are just being wicked and God in heaven will never ever forgive you people.