Mainstreet Bank sacks 800 workers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 26 June 2012

Mainstreet Bank sacks 800 workers

Mainstreet bank, formerly Afribank Nigeria Plc, on Friday June 22nd terminated the services of 800 of its employees, including 650 members of the Association of Senior Staff of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions (ASSBIFI), a unit of the Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC).

The  Secretary General of the Trade Union Congress, Comrade John Kolawole made the disclosure at a press conference in Lagos yesterday June 25th. He queried Mainstreet bank’s sudden unilateral action despite ongoing negotiations and a court injunction that prevents Mainstreet from terminating employees.

He said, “there is an injunction by the tripartite committee between representatives of the Federal Ministry of Labour and Productivity, the union and management of Mainstreet Bank. The committee insisted that the bank must maintain the status quo till the issues were resolved.”

“The Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC) views this act of Management of Mainstreet Bank Ltd as the height of provocation and lawlessness which is condemnable.  Consequently, TUC unequivocally states and demands the reversal of these terminations and other anti-labour acts immediately, failing which TUC will mobilise all its affiliates, allies and resources to shut down completely the operations of the bank nationwide.”
He added, “We are therefore appealing to all well-meaning Nigerians, Hon. Minister of Labour and  Productivity, Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria, Director-General, Nigeria Deposit Insurance Cooperation (NDIC), The Managing Director, Asset Management Company of Nigeria(AMCON), Acting Inspector General of Police to prevail on the Management of the Bank before the bubble bursts.”

Media reports say the management of Mainstreet Bank terminated the employees by denying them access to the company’s IT network, physcial offices and asking them to wait for their termination letters which would be disseminated to them via email.

(Business News)

44 comments:

ITORO EFFIONG said...

I think is time everyone in Nigeria starts going into business for him or herself. Working in a bank now is like kalo kalo , anything can happen

Wat! So 800persons aside those who are curently unemployd ar back 2 the labour mrkt?oh! Nigeria my gr8 con3,wat a shame.

MAXIMUS™ said...

It's OFFICIAL, nigeria is an 'un-livable' shit hole of a country!
*gives GEJ a cyber slap*

I have neva envied any thing about bank workers; except for the crisp way their ladies dress.
I'm even doing better than them now sef.

I feel for all of them sha...so much for banking job

Tina said...

Wow it is a pity jor dat is bank wk 4 u

So 800 nigerians are owt of work now! #Godiswatchingu

DU&T Consulting said...

You blog is always exciting. That is why you are number blogsite on nigeria's entertainment news. Keep up the good work

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Hope its not the same rogues from the Union Congress that hijacked #Occupy if thats the case they have zero chance of being re-instated!!

DU&T Consulting said...

I believe this is as good as a radio/tv station because your news are always on point. nice job

That is so serious, not fair at all.
APPLY FOR NIIT SCHOLARSHIP 2012

sexydame said...

Bank job! No assurance for long service at all

Janded said...

Too bad for the workers. chei! In this economy

no said...

well, it is not shocking! that is the reigning trend in the banking sector. It's just that the exit package for the affected staffers is dehumanizing, ridiculous and suicidal. so painful.

Dear Linda,

I used to work in a commercial bank that once used this payoff line in their "where you are going looks nothing like where you have been" and "Bright Ideas anyone?" and i tell you you that this is the norm in the industry. Every two years or there abouts the banking system sheds weight and starts getting fat again. My former employee recently sacked some top shots like the head of compliance, head of legal and some regional managers. The truth is, as long as you are in the system, you should prepare to be kicked out

tolanı said...

Choı dıs ıs bad o,renderıng mst breadwınners jobless choı,am cryıng 4 dıs country*

Another 800-man army of job-displaced Nigerians.Honestly job security is non-existent here.

IVORY_CHI said...

These Nigerian Banks have comma.

Thats how one of them offered me a SIX WEEK UNPAD INTERNSHIP.

I thank God, because he quickly opened another and bigger door for me!

Which Bank in the world offers an unpaid intership for six weeks...a whole bank...not a fashion company...but a bank.......?!?!?

As I said in the beginnning Nigerian Banks have comma...the system needs to be reformed xx

Fredilia Ogbonna said...

That's so sad! Especially now that good jobs are hard to find. Well, I am not surprise at all because this is not the first, neither will it be the last we will hear of mass laying off of workers in the banking industry. I pray they get compensated as they should be and give testimonies at the end of all these...better job, self discovery, pursuit of goals etc...http://www.frediliadtruthuncensored.blogspot.com

I weep for you Nigeria

Ø̲̣̣кά̲̣̣̣̥Æ”

KC1 said...

Linda bomblast and gun shot in Kano by Boko Haram...abeg quickly get the information....

KC1 said...

Linda bomblast and gun shot in Kano by Boko Haram...abeg quickly get the information....

IAmhairs said...

and how are they expected to survive in this situation in the country.....its just so bad that all these things are happening at d same time....

Am sure u meant press conference yesterday 25th

Kitomos said...

Another bread-winner loses his bread.

...from inside Eiffel tower

**Nothing is Impossible to he/she that believes**

Asaa said...

NNPC Board and Management sacked!

NYC-1 says: 'Going concern' is the trend in most jobs in Nigeria. I wish these guys well in their future endeavors.

NB: Fellow LIB readers' I got una scolding o. Abeg make una take-kam easy with me o. Some of una write like say we don be enemies for the past 20 years. Next time, I go bracket the word 'sarcasm' for my comment so that anyone wey carry sawdust for mouth, go swallow-am for him belly.

divine said...

Ndi ara,osukwa unu ozo?ehn? If dey retire to the streets nw,u will call dem robbers and prostitudes,can't u pipo just do smtin right for once,u dnt v money to pay dem but u v enof to loot for u and ur family,Godisnothappywithu and Heiswatchingyou! Devilwillsoonflogallofukoboko

Ha linda.u ar been biased in postin people's comment.do i kill a cow b4 mine bcoms visible?o masé o

There is a total disregard for the judiciary in our country!

omo ibo via laptop & curve2

its not only in niga that the bank workers are getting sacked its everywhere Europe, America, e.t.c, to be safe we all need to be enterpreneurs!

Na wa. If they ve not been officially notified,via a termination letter of their current status why stop them from carrying out their normal duties?

And I think our courts would need to give the position of the law on termination of contracts by email. It sEems this days everyone is doing it without regard for its legal implications.

Anyway,800 more 'customers' in the labour market,to add to the millions of jobless. God dey sha.

PH's Tytest.

So lynda,u dont have the nnpc news.u dey town soo?

BANK HARAM: the bank name is MAINSTREET, so as a worker be prepared to be on d street any time. Abeg jo. Jo! Nigerians should start thinking of business idea and how to employ and not whom to employ them. Only time shall tell. Bad government, bad institution!

BLOGLORD said...

access sacked 1,500 workers, zenith about 1000 were laid off now mainstreet. and then u top it up with the thousands of graduates yet unemployed. where are we going to in this country????
is the govt indirectly telling citizens that it is of no use being educated?
its such a pity. a very sad case

Cheddahboy said...

its simple..800 frm mainstreet back to main street..the hussle continues. via my empty mind.

Excuse my ignorance. Do we have labour laws in Nigeria known to workers? Or is it a case God for us, all man for himself?

In Nigeria u have to have an alternate source of income cos job insecurity is everywhere. You manage to graduate & complete NYSC when u are done there is no job waiting for you so u have to dress up & compete with over 1,500 Nigerians for the same position. I've taken a peek in2 d future & i know what i must do, for that singular reason i created a blog http://www.infobizz9ja.blogspot.com as a back up plan should stuffs like this occur. Please check out my page & drop a comment for me to indicate your presence on my page Thanks :)

Linda u no hear say the owner of gitto construction die? Giv us d gist.

Kai as if d job market wasn't competitive enuf adding anova 800 job seekers JEsus is lord. God help Nigeria.

God please help our Nigeria and please provide these people means of livelyhood. imagine bread winner loosing job??? Baba God please intervane. and for bank workers always have plan B, since these mass sack has turn to a norm.

banking sector, their job security is zero (0)

It's not a̶̲̥̅̊ surprise Ï„̅☺ ♏ε̲̣̣̣̥,cos since the inception of the cashless policies these was bound Ï„̅☺ happen. And these won'Ï„̅ be the only bank.

NaijaBizCom said...

A Comment made by a formal banker that makes sense.
He said
“I used to work in a commercial bank that once used this payoff line in their "where you are going looks nothing like where you have been" and "Bright Ideas anyone?" and i tell you that this is the norm in the industry.
Every two years or there abouts the banking system sheds weight and starts getting fat again.
My former employee recently sacked some top shots like the head of compliance, head of legal and some regional managers. The truth is, as long as you are in the system, you should prepare to be kicked out”
There are some truth we need to know about paid employment.
1. There is no job security for paid employment anywhere in the world
2. Your boss can never make rich.
3. You are only useful to your boss if you are productive and if you are not you are fired.
4. And many more.
If you are currently in a paid employment please help yourself against sudden sack by starting a part time business so you will have something to fall back to.
If you need profitable business ideas that will help setup small scale business of your own please feel free to click the link below there you will find any business of your choice you can make money from.
BUSINESS IDEAS FOR MAKING MONEY IN NIGERIA