Lauryn Hill pleads guilty to tax evasion; faces 3 years in Prison | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 30 June 2012

Lauryn Hill pleads guilty to tax evasion; faces 3 years in Prison

Earlier this month, Lauryn Hill was charged with tax evasion after neglecting to file taxes for three years in a row. The 37 year old Grammy award winner and mother of six yesterday June 29th plead guilty to the charges...three counts of failure to file tax returns for the years 2005, 2006, and 2007, when she earned more than $1.8 million.

According to TMZ, when the judge asked if she "intentionally and willingly" failed to file the returns, she replied, "Yes."

Lauryn faces 3 years in prison and $75,000 in fines. She was released on $150,000 bail and her sentencing hearing has been set for November.

32 comments:

Hhhhmmmm america. The so called land of opportunity. Nawaooooo

This woman is just an okoko....tax return is real...lol and its not like you would be missing any money if you had done it ko.....kpele o

MAXIMUS™ said...

eh yah, after all she's been through lately with her ex. This must really be a dark period for her. Hang in there Lauryn! This too shall pass IJN

jamar said...

poor lady,she has been thru a lot of pain lately.pele dear.

U.S justice system sha. what will we call this again...think i'll term it
"Successful while black" Is it only famous blacks that evade tax, never the white. Wesley Snipes, Beanie Sigel and now Lauryn Hill...says Nasty German Immigrant

maxi nwanem oh Amen!!!

9jadeltapikin... I will love Τ̅☺ use ds opportunity Τ̅☺ tell all naija people say 9ja government Τ̅☺ ₪☺ go hesitate Τ̅☺ lock people up for jail wey ₪☺ pay tax α̲̅πϑ D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ Ђåvε̲ started the enforcement already please pay U̶̲̥̅̊я tax α̲̅πϑ do the right thing 4 d develpment of NIGERIA. NIGERIA o ni ba je oooooooooooo o ba je tiiiiiiii

Hardewaleh said...

Fore real tho Maximum. Let's pray 4 her she mst b goin threw hell ryt nw

Amonor said...

No good tin in life comes easily my dear,keep rollin d lord is ur strength

obinna bina said...

and seems my own Sammy Eto is likely 2 face jail sentence for same reason. God abeg dont let Eto go to jail....biko Chukwu!

Seconded with a loud AMEN

meji said...

linda pls use that beautiful pix that was on that site you got the story....lauryn is a true beauty.

finest-in-internet said...

I'm sorry for Lauryn, but every other citizen has to do this to, they even have more less money then she does. I don't feel too much pity for her in this case, but she is facing many challenges lately. May God bless her

ijebuprincess said...

Upon all her religious propaganda, dint she read d part of the bible where Jesus said give unto ceasar wot is ceasars??? She's just a confused and troubled person jare.

PoLyMaT said...

jENIFA speaKS----Lauryn Hill,kpele oo!--murder of six,kpele oo!---dnt worries,God is ur strength, THOUGH u walk thru d shadow of dead,u shall fear no efil, die rod & dier staffs shall comfort u#++sori,is it comfort u or folo u??--warefa!

Amanda Reginald said...

i wonder wch is better now? pay taxes and stay outta jail or get arrested later in lyf, pay bail and stil pay fine? stooopid pple

47vids.com said...

All this artistes with their poor judgement, I love you lauryn, but this is a Massive Fail on your part....you know the IRS don't like successful black artistes and you also know Jarule and Wesley went to prison yet still (47vids.com, still luvs you, coz you are a legend)

This is how the use tax to push people to commit suicide in this part of the world!! Their tax wahala is too much jare!

@ Polymat, Murder of six?? R u kidding me..dis one pass typo error abeg wetin???

What would happen to her kids. People need to get educated. First Wesley now her.

Segun said...

Eeyah I miss her songs sha. I wish she could get herself together and make a comeback

Wat abt rich Nigerians that dnt pay Tax thieves like Buruji Kashamu (Esho Jinadu) of best western Vi that dnt pay tax, rip staff and clients off thru dubious means! Owes staff like 3-11mnths except of cos he is fucking u!
Linda post my comment o!

bunmi said...

Dis polymat or wateva is so stupid with his comments. Others will talk up u u're talkin down. And yes its hateration! Idiot! Linda post my comment

one word idiot

Bunmi u'r the bigger idiot

bunmi said...

@ anonymous Hmm u go fear voltron!!! Abeg carry ur pr*ck go put for inside hot water!! Fool!!

Eto'o na your brother. ode! if he truly evaded tax, then his ass should go to jail as punishment and pay what he owes! you think say oyinbo be like you. dey there dey pray mumu prayer! if only you remember what Jesus said about paying tax.
FOOL!

So that they will get money to steal? Abegi, abi u dey revenue ofis and dey luk for your cut ? Development indeed mthceeeeeeww

Yes and ageless too

E be like say she has some with ijebu ..they no dey release, so u shld understand her better nah *winks*

Ofilispeaks.com said...

That is why I like America...even if say you be President you musto pay your tax!!!

expert witness said...

Some people, however, fall for various legal-sounding arguments to demonstrate that paying taxes is unconstitutional. The Supreme Court has rejected all such arguments, and the IRS is well aware of all these ploys.