Soldiers occupy the streets of Lagos this morning | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 16 January 2012

Soldiers occupy the streets of Lagos this morning

Soldiers have occupied the streets of Lagos...from Ojuelegba to Ikorodu Rd to Ojota, many parts of Ikeja and Lagos Island. They are everywhere. In a democracy? SMH!

61 comments:

This is y he increased their salaries...he bought them over..what a country,what a dictactor,what a scholar for a 1st lady.......!!!!

kaycee said...

Al ds zombie soldiers dat dnt knw wat dey wnt...smh 4 dem

Oya now linda, go & protest & show stunt if ℓ̊ won't be blogging about your yawa. Lols. ℓ̊ told you all that nlc & tuc have their motives & you all made them lords by turning out & making it seem as if †ђξ nigerian masses came out for them.
Nlc & tuc get a share on each litre of crude & fuel sold or purchased & they get federal allocation. So this was all a scam from †ђξ onset. Can Ʊ imagine nlc leader picking his teeth after meeting with †ђξ govt. Ghana must go have exchanged hands & †ђξ strike is gonna be called off latest 2mrow.
Welcome to †ђξ new Nigeria where democracy is militant in its actions.

What a country...............GEJ U ARE DOOMED....GOD WOULD DESTROY U GRADUALLY...GABBAGE IN GABBAGE OUT...

Priscy said...

NAWA OH! which kind thing be this naa?

ashi said...

wow...what a mess

Foolish country and soljas ordinary to fight boko haram they cant Jonathan is such an idiot and his administration.

ONYEDIKING said...

www.gideblog.com says Fellow Nigerians, The govt is of d belief that
after a few days of hungerNigerians do not
have d capacity to endure pain & hardship,
therefore when we get tired we will go back
to work.
Pls do not let us play into their hands, let d
people for once disappoint this govt. The
Libyans, Tunisians, Egyptians, Cyrians etc did
not fight for only 3 days, they fought till the
whole world heard their voices.
He that is down fears no fall, we are already
down & if we can endure power failure & all
the pains they have inflicted on us for over
35 yrs nothing should stop us now.
Babangida came with IMF LOAN, the idea was
for us to suffer then & ourchildren & us to
enjoy later, my question is"who has the
enjoyment now".
It is time to put an end to all this suffering for
good.
If we çould go abroad to wash plates & dead
bodies to earn a living thenwe are more
rugged than we know.
I am appealing to all, do not get tired, don't
give up let's continue to support labour, if the
economy is totally shut down even d cabals
will not have an income.
If you feel the time has come to put an end to
this suffering pls broadcastthis msg.
Occupy nigerian www.gideblog.com

Occupy 9ja said...

Can you imagine this our phantom democracy?

Pretty Lashes said...

wow, just wow!!!

Shouldn't the army guys be following the Boko Haram people?

What the hell gives you the right, because you own a gun, to tell someone's father, someone's brother to frog jump?? What kind of sick perverse people are these?

How can Nigeria ever move forward with people like these in charge?

Otis Redding said...

Democracy turning into dictatorship. GEJ should knw dat in democracy, you dont FORCE policies on the people, whether these policies r in their best interest or not.

Dr. Otis Redding

howsad said...

people pls occupy your houses for now. also let us be realistic that the govt may not change the amount back to 65 so we have to meet half way but please no one should do strong head with nigerian military o. I doubt they are trained propperly. Ordinary polic men shoot senselessly talk less of these aboki trigger happy fools. Biko o, no one should put themselves in harms way

Occupy 9ja said...

Linda pls be safe. Blog from a secret location. Jonathan has gone mad, but we'll force-feed him with antidote

njideka said...

Linda stop acting like a johnny just land. lawlessness is not having military presence during protests of that magnitude. It could easily escalate to a free for all.It is good the govt asked the military to come out. HOWEVER, why would they have these men doing the frog hop? why not just arrest them if they were breaking the law or is this how it is done in nigeria if someone does something wrong. Anyways better this than scooping up their bloodied dead bodies off the floor like we have seen in other pixes

blunt said...

what is the difference between this civilian bumbling resident of Aso rock and a military dictatorship! I totally detest this goverment

ONYEDIKING said...

Nationwide Strike Continues says LABOUR www.gideblog.com

omor naija said...

good luck 4 life. GOD BLESS OUR PREIDENT and may God continue to give him the power and courage to finish the good works wich he have started. Fellow nigerians progres demand sacrifice

ibo boy said...

This is soooo wrong. fully armed soldiers for peaceful protesters. Nigerians deserve what they get anyway. You vote for nonsense, you get nonesense.

It's just sad that majority of Nigerians are just as dull as jonathan. That's why they voted him anyway.

This is democrazy and no matter how mad you guys get, you should remember that y'all (not me) chose him

TeeII said...

GEJ! GEJ!!! GEJ!!!

1. Why are soldiers not deployed to Kano where govt properties were destroyed during last week's protests

2. why are soldiers not deployed to Niger state where lots and lots of govt properties were destroyed and burnt!

3. Why are soldiers not deployed to curb Boko Haram menace!

4. Why Lagos?

I laugh in swahili! Clueless govt run by clueless ******!

Futo Admission said...

Ptchewwww.... What are they going to do to the protesters?

News on Nigerian Defense Academy said...

This is a battalion of Warship!

obiesama said...

The end of 'democrazy'..smh

Lechie said...

They are part of the protest, that is 'Occupy Nigeria 2'.

So soldiers are not supposed to control boko haram abi?
And you want to convince me dis is not a north VS south issue. it will eventually become north+south south+south east VS south west.
We must as much as possible boycott their petroleum products,our governors must source alternative means of energy for electricity, improve communication and internet access to reduce our reliance on petrol.
Most of us already provide water for ourselves via wells, boreholes etc.
If only we all could live on enough land to grow adequate food/rear animals for each household..........GOD will take us there.

It's not yet time,this soldiers that should be sent to Bornu to fight bokoharam are sent to Lagos to scare us abi! When the real revolution comes we will not be afraid often thousand soldiers

Tino said...

It's quite unfortunate. I really can't stop wondering what the Army is doing on the streets in a democratic elected govt. Jonathan pls be ware coz it will surely get to you "Nemesis".

Its quite unfortunate.

Vaughn Samuel said...

Hahahahaha! Linda forgive me for laffing so much. Its just that all these moves, we have seen it before. Little advise for Jonathan, Go watch Shagari moves in 1983 after the elections. He unleashed the Soldiers on civilians and eventually, 3 months later, the soldiers took over. Welcome to reality. This is a dress rehearsal for military coup. The Last soldier to steal Nigerias money was Abdusalam and I hear say the money don reduce. Let me retreat to my solar powered cottage and watch this movie unfold. I was not brought up to abuse my elders, so I will not disappoint my parents. All I can say now is; Jona, na u be the main actor now!!!!

You are mad . Born breed and a living mad person. How could you make such a remark. Rich idiot

GOODLUCK EBELE JONATHAN... this action of yours will "ONLY" make the prophesy of your wife to come to reality in no time "MY FELLOW WIDOWS"

The president is simply a mad man. He has become a military dictator. If nepa go on strike na soldier he go call. If doctor go on strike na soldier he go call. I am not surprised the nation is on strike and the soldiers are around. Idiot mumu ....

ST said...

GOODLUCK EBELE JONATHAN... this action of yours will "ONLY" make the prophesy of your wife to come to reality in no time "MY FELLOW WIDOWS"

The president should know that the Military will use this opportunity to take over from him. Then he'll need the same people that he wanted to intimidate to fight for democracy again. Very sad that we the people were imposed with this president who lacks the backbone to lead.

governors must provide improved internet access ke? Really?

Anon 2.29 u on point. When revolution starts these soilders will not be enough then he'll realise that oro soilder ko le leyi.

Mr NIGERIAN SOLDIER, PLS is the price of Petrol going to be Different in your Baracks? Or Is your wife going to Buy FOOD From a Special Market when the Prices go up? Stop behaving like ZOMBIE. The MILITARY is not a CORP of HOUSEBOYS. It is supposed to be a CORP of NIGERIANS who have chosen to defend the Dignity of the NIGERIAN CITIZEN. That is what you swore to. YOU did not SWEAR an OATH TO Defend the DEHUMANIZATION of the NIGERIAN Citizen. Think well before you ACT O!

All hail the absolute Emperor of our time as he deploys the instrument of terror against the same people who stood against the clique that saw these traits in him and swore that he will not assume the office even on acting capacity. we fought through different medium to defeat the cowboys and same cabals that stood against him. We went further to trust our votes for same character. Today, despite the rot in our system as manifested in recent revelation from the oil and gas sector - NNPC (the chief cabal) + the myraid of challenges, corruption, zero infrastructure with the bokoiets harassing the daylight out of people. Emperor Jonah did not find it expedient to tackle any of these but to protect his new found friends - the cabals and roll out tanks against the people that he vowed on oAth to protect. What a waste of trust and vote. General GEJ needs be reminded that the will of d people will always conquer no matter what. Let's remain steadfast until we win on the part of truth.

Is Lagos a war zone? What do the people of Africa's greatest city have to say about being in a state of house arrest?

My sentiments all along has been to fight a good fight once and for all, what better time than the beginning of a new year? My fellow compatriots this isn't the time to tire, this isn't the time slip back into our regular routine like we've always done in the face of blatant injustice, keep in mind the struggle now far exceeds the removal of subsidy, its a question of gross incompetency at the highest levels, its a question of institutionalized corruption its a question of rendering and mortgaging the future of those yet unborn, I vote we stand up to this tyranny until the people's wishes is respected, let's occupy Abuja from today onwards, let's occupy their thoughts, their dreams, hell let's camp out permanently until this moron Jonathan gets the message that governance is infact about trust, they have conveniently ignored the real issues, absolved their collaborators and economic saboteurs from wrong doing while we the common man pay and dearly for their waste, their lust for filthy lucre, well we say a resounding NO to this type of dictatorship, its N65 or nothing, my prayer is that the spirit of pharaoh fall upon GEJ so he may suffer the plagues thereof !

Soldiers on the streets! This is d greatest act of cowardice. Soldiers that were not sent to curb the menace of Boko Haram which presidency says its a burden we have to live with are now being deployed to intimidate harmless civilians engaged in a peaceful and legitimate protest. Who says military rulership is out of fashion? Please re-broadcast to let the whole world know.
What a SHAMELESS & SHOELESS leadership.

teju said...

Good day all,it took us sevral years and many lost lives and destruction of property worth billions to get the military off the streets.Now,our democratically elected president has brought them back in the dead of night.exactly how it is done during a real coup.lets put aside arguements from both sides and think of the implication of this as well as what this action is projecting.already,the US govt has asked her people to get ready to pack up.while that isnt important to me we must use their action to think on what they have "heard" that ordinary nigertians havent.i am very worried and as i have continuosly said,we are the ones that would suffer this latest action by this man who is supposed to be there in the interest of the people.Innocent lives have been lost almost on a daily basis from boko haram bombs and we in other areas donnot sleep so deeply becos of constant armed robber attacks.and this is what Mr president has to offer us?no great wonder he settled all military allowances last week even in the midst of the oil subsidy removal saga.so what do we have i ask?a mr president or a mr head of state?

bunmi said...

Mr Chief of ARMY STAFF. The Right to Assemble and the Right to Associate are Human Rights. They are clearly accounted for in the African CHARTER ON RIGHTS also known as the BANJUL CHARTER. I hope you have read it. THIS action of turning Nigerian Soldiers into security Guards of Gardens all over Lagos is nothing more than an Attempt to Ridicule the Newly Reformed Image of our MILITARY. It is an injustice to those who have sacrificed to give the NIGERIAN MILITARY the Dignity that it is now enjoying after Past Corrupt Military Governments have soiled its dignity over the Years. The Nigerian Military is not a CORP of HOUSEBOYS. It is supposed to be a CORP of NIGERIANS who have chosen to defend the Dignity of the NIGERIAN CITIZEN. That is what you swore to. Think well before you ACT O!

Thank God Joe cannot occupy the internet with his soldiers... This only shows that we are winning the battle... #Occupy

The great city of lagos has been taken over by soldiers and its citizens are now under house arrest.

Vaughn Samuel said...

Hahahahaha! Linda forgive me for laffing so much. Its just that all these moves, we have seen it before. Little advise for Jonathan, Go watch Shagari moves in 1983 after the elections. He unleashed the Soldiers on civilians and eventually, 3 months later, the soldiers took over. Welcome to reality. This is a dress rehearsal for military coup. The Last soldier to steal Nigerias money was Abdusalam and I hear say the money don reduce. Let me retreat to my solar powered cottage and watch this movie unfold. I was not brought up to abuse my elders, so I will not disappoint my parents. All I can say now is; Jona, na u be the main actor now!!!!

please guys would it be safe for me to go from yaba to vi tomorrow for a very important meeting.please help

Mena UkodoisReady said...

aha, no wonder the warships arrived.

Mena

The man for whom millions queued to vote into office. For whom thousands went on the streets against the Yar Adua Cabal suddenly rears his head as a dictator. Today we are being pursued all over Lagos for expressing our God given rights to protest against corruption and bad governance. Let it be known sir that it is not about you. It is much more than you. It is about Nigeria and it belongs to us all. We will never surrender our rights to build a country that our children can be proud of. Big up to the men and women who made this work. Fear not, God is with you.

If you voted for GEJ now begin to slap urself even kick ur self. This man is about to show us his true colours.

IELTS Master said...

just sad.We are the oppressors.We are the oppressed.Dog eat dog.

No it is you all anti-Jonathan that are raven mad. Please go get yourselves educated on government dealings, maybe you'll be reasonable. GOD SHALL SURELY BLESS NIGERIA.

AUTHORITIES RAID CNN NAIJA OFFICE

Tess said...

I have been looking for these army zombies. Pls someone tell them to go to Igbo land and help out with the kidnapping menace there

Babatunde Raji Fashola has addressed the President asking him to withdraw his troops.

The full text below:

Dear Lagosians,

For the past few days, I have monitored the developments related to the public protest against the increase in the pump price of petrol.

During that period, I have at the invitation of my colleagues in the Governor’s Forum responded to an invitation from the Presidency.

My role since last Monday till date has been to find a ground of compromise that stabilizes the polity, protects our democracy and prevent any loss of lives.

Inspite of these efforts, we were not wholly successful in preventing the loss of the life of a young Nigerian, Ademola Aderinto, who was sadly shot.

I am truly saddened by that ugly development. While I condole with his family, I pledge the commitment of our Government to bring the alleged perpetrator to justice.

I have decided to address you today in view of the very disquieting developments that occurred overnight especially the deployment of soldiers across Lagos.

I have the highest respect for members of our military, especially because they have made a contract with all of us that they will willingly lay down their lives whenever it becomes necessary to do so, in order to protect us.

This covenant is instructive, because soldiers did not sign up to stop us from expressing our grievance about things that we are displeased about.

It is not disputable that the citizens who have gathered in several parts of Lagos like Falomo, Ikorodu and Ojota to mention a few have largely conducted themselves peacefully, singing and dancing while they expressed their displeasure at the way that we have taken decisions that affect them.

That in my view should not offend those of us in Government. The majority of these people who represent diverse interests have not broken any law. If they have, it is my opinion that in a constitutional democracy, it is the police that hasthe responsibility for restoring law and order if civil protests threatens the breach of the peace.

This is not justification for sending out soldiers to a gathering of unarmed citizens. Every one of us, or at least majority of us who hold public office danced and sang before these same people when we were seeking their votes.

Why should we feel irritated when they sing and dance in protest against what we have done?

For me this is not a matter for the military. The sooner we rethink and rescind this decision the better and stronger our democracy will be.

If anything, this is a most welcome transformation of our democracy in the sense that it provokes a discussion of economic policies and this inevitably may result in political debate.

I therefore urge the reconsideration of the decision to deploy soldiers and implore the President and Commander-in-Chief to direct their withdrawal from our streets, I must also emphasize that the rights of free speech and protest is not absolute. They impose the duty not to break the law, breach the peace, endanger human life or destroy property whether public or private.

They also impose the duty to respect the rights of others not to support our protest and indeed to support what we oppose. At the end of the day, it is a contest of ideas in which the most persuasive will get the endorsement of the majority of the people we serve.

I am convinced that our democracy is mature enough to accommodate this. We must do our best to ensure that it does.

God bless you all.
BabatundeRajiFashola, SAN
Governor of Lagos State

Anonymous 12:59am ure the only one that has said something reasonable so far..leave Ignorant Nigerians..the labour people know what they benefit and they would urge illiterate Nigerians to go and protest those ones too dont know entry from exit..at the end of the some are killed the rest go home with nothing...as for labour leaders nothing does dem..dm don enjoy carry dey go

GEJ!!! You are so unwise. You unleashed soldiers. You weakling! I hope you'll be able to restrain them at a different time. Selah!

franco said...

I strongly believe that Mr President needs some lessons on democracy and good governance...soldiers on the streets...for what? even the last summer london riot as bad as it was did not witness any armed soldiers on the streets of london..what do u expect of a Phd holder in zoology and not politics...animal brain

We all disappointed with GEJ..who would have thought he would bring out the Army to suppress the people..
We have been here before when Nzeogwu led the 66 Coup it was seen as an Igbo initiative which was wrong..he was more Hausa than Igbo..yet the Hausas all got sentimental..fast forward..2012..The South South and South East have done the same..some paid to go on every blog to attack those opposing GEJ's policy not the man..supporting the Army on the streets..supporting subsidy removal how absurd is that!!..cos he's South South!!..9ja would never get past the ethnic angle..
What has GEJ done for South/East anyway apart from token Ministerial positions..paying his cronies in his home state!!..Boko Haram is still killing Igbos..what has he done not a single arrest of significance..couldn't even lodge an appeal against the Borno court awarding 100 million to the widow of the slain Boko spokesman..like the Hausas that killed and maimed the igbos in 66..what have they got to show for it apart from the very few ruling elite??..still as poor and uneducated as 66..and look at the development of South South..not much going for it...either..
We should split amicably 'cos seems we can never ever get past the tribal angle..that's me done with 9jas problems..

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Interesting observations...

Kingsley said...

I don't blame General Emperor Jonathan, but his stupid Chief of our rag tag Army, who obviously is from my state Abia. A mumu general that cannot stand toe to toe with an American general. All he knows is to talk like a fool. He thinks with his mouth. Foolish general. As for you Emperor Jonathan, you have dugged your grave, remember what Shagari did in 1983 and the turn of event in 3 months time. You had better go on a dry three month fasting or else, I pity you. Foolish man. I have always known that you will be a failure and decided never to vote because of your rigging party PDP.

A leader (GEJ) who exonerates himself from his RESPONSIBILITIES is a big DISAPPOINTMENT to the Masses.