Surfer bitten to death by shark at South African Beach (Graphic photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 January 2012

Surfer bitten to death by shark at South African Beach (Graphic photos)

South African killed by shark in attack at world's deadliest beach.
A 25-year-old surfer, Lungisani Msungubana, was killed a few days ago by a shark on one of the world’s most dangerous beaches, after being repeatedly bitten as he rode the waves off Second Beach in Port St. Johns.

According to witnesses, Lungisani had wrestled with the shark, believed to be the very aggressive bull shark, for more than five minutes as the water turned red around him. The surfer, who was in water which was only around a metre and a half deep, was bitten on both of his arms and his stomach and he sadly died on the way to the hospital.

The incident was the sixth fatal shark attack in just five years at the beach, which lies beside the Indian Ocean in South Africa's rural Eastern Cape province. Continue to see more (graphic) photos...

50 comments:

its so so sad,but why go that deep when u know that dangerous creatures like sharks are there.

erhhmmm.....linda,i'm not finding trouble oh,but your headline says "beaten" and not "bitten". Erhmmm,pls kindly correct it,except you wan tell us say the fish beat the guy follow.
Considering that,should i expect you to post this comment??? **confused & anxious stare**

i feel sad for the guy though........RIP

was it a koboko the shark used, or a belt? LOL!

You mean Bitten, not Beaten. :-)

Linda you must be a hard babe to swallow looking at those photos, they're gruesome & as a man I could barely look at them. If I lived anywhere near that beach I will relocate with my family ten times the distance away from there. That guy needn't lose his life, what a waste of life. RIP fella

Ebere said...

soo sad huh,may his soul rest in peace

Atobatele said...

Geezz..Scary

That's rather unfortunate. Oh BTW, I think the word in the headline should be 'bitten' and not 'beaten'. Editor, take note.

"bitten" not "beaten"

This is just sad

ONYEDIKING said...

Sorry Ooo www.gideblog.com

madam linda, aproko international..is it not "bitten to death"...a shark can not beat someone oh, but can bite someone...you are welcome

devour said...

and people kip goin der to surf knowin der are sharks der ? smh

RIP. BUT IF NA NIGERIA, THE SHARK WOULD COMPLETELY EAT THE PERSON BEFORE HELP COMES

Chux said...

its bitten not beaten

its bitten linda not beaten!

Na stick the shark use "beat" am abi na hand?!

oh no how sad!i didnt think they had sharks in SA tho i thot they were mainly in aussie forgive my ignorance

BITTEN you mean?

Amaka's Notepad said...

Heavenly father!! What pains he must have gone through. So sad.

But if that beach is actually "one of the world’s most dangerous beaches" why do they still let people surf in it????

Linda,

Biko, pray tell, did the shark beat him with a club or a plank? I would have thought that the shark would simply bite.

Jokes apart, I won't be surprised if a horde of surfers and swimmers chose to play in that particular area, the very next day! When black man begin do like oyibo?, abeg o!

May he R.I.P

Pouchii said...

Linda, its BITTEN not BEATEN.... #okbye.

smart said...

wot a pity..! Iku ogun lo n p'akinkanju, Iku odo lo n p'omuwe. look at the ugly rocks around the beach itself, its enough to scare one that sharks would be there. RIP man!

to think i added learning how to surf was on my to do list b4 i hit 40, o well i'm striking that out now

Nawah oo, to go beach na crime.
Is a pity, he take in money kill himself.

Toyosi said...

Title should read "Bitten" not "Beaten".

May His soul rest in perfect peace...

African said...

So sad !
My compassion goes to his family and friends.
R.I.P. my brother.

beembolar said...

OMG! wat da hell are they doing at 'one of the world most dangereous beach' for crying out loud?

Liz said...

OMD I didn't know sharks come close to the shore! So sad :(

Please can some geographer explain to me why Nigerians cant surf? Do we have dangerous tides/waves...just wondering. Kindly explain

greatjay said...

This is terrible.

bloglord said...

i dread water..poor guy! rip

May his soul rest in peace

may God be with him Amen

What a painful way to die. May his soul rest in peace

is pity he died. Rip. But kinda death is avoidable.emenike . Aguda.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Pe le o!!..black people surfing??..somethings are just best left alone!!..

Bee said...

trouble dey sleep, yanga go wake am up.

RIP to the guy. The beach should be closed down if its that dangerous

People can't use their common sense sometimes.. RIP.

e no go better for the shark wey do this thing.

ok guys she got it. one correction is good enough.haba nobody is above mistake and u all keep repeating the same thing.She is doing a great job and all ya people correcting her make the greatest errors of all. it irritates me when people have nothing to say than to criticize.
Awesome Job Ms Linda.....

emerald said...

RIP...........linda bitten not beaten

If they know it's a dangerous beach, why are people surfing there?
People stop making stupid assumptions that the shark will be nice to me.

all of u correcting Linda...SHUT THE HELL UP..! most of u didn't know until u read other people's comments...over sabbi nigerians..kmt

Lmao!

Like seriously u people should shut up jare...... ever heard of typographical errors? One person correcting is alright 2 people okay 5 pple still manageable..... ahnahn but all of sudden everybody don turn English tisha u people should park well jare..... mschewww

RIP @post sad story indeed.

@anon 10:16am- hu sent u to look at d pics???
@anon 10:42am- y re u nw tell us? wots our own???
@anon 10:52am - go and ask dem nw...mtchewwwww
@anon 11:05am : no it "beat" him with ur head...rubbish oshi

MEHN...PPL ON DIS BLOG RE SO UNBELIEVABLE

lepa toh behd said...

pls pls pls enuf of d 'bitten not beaten" comment abeg.it aff do!!she aff hear!!!pple make mistakes so pls stop rubbing it in.kmft!

A human died and all you mortals can comment on is the mere grammatical misrepresentation of the topic..........

Manyuirah said...

THIS WAS SO SAD. CONDOLENCES FROM KENYANS

Like seriously u people should shut up jare...... ever heard of typographical errors? One person correcting is alright 2 people okay 5 pple still manageable..... ahnahn but all of sudden everybody don turn English tisha u people should park well jare.....

abeg.. pro lindalites.. She makes fun of other celebrities too. She's probably laughing so don't fight for her. Thanks for changing it Linda. Everybody makes mistake and we can all joke in good fun.

May his soul rest in perfect peace.