5-Man Gang Rapes Girl, 15, For 2 Weeks | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 11 October 2011

5-Man Gang Rapes Girl, 15, For 2 Weeks

The suspects
A five-man gang which abducted a 15-year-old girl, raped and tortured her for two weeks has been smashed by the police in Lagos.

Although two members of the gang are still on the run, the police arrested three other members and a lady who lured the teenager to the gang’s den at Akesan, a suburb of Lagos.

The suspects are to face trial at the Ikeja High Court after they were initially arraigned at Ejigbo Magistrate’s Court.

The victim was abducted on her way to her house in Igando area and taken to a hideout.
She was tortured and raped for two weeks by five men before she was rescued by the police at Akesan.
After the victim’s parents reported to the police at Igando station that the girl was missing, the police began to search for her and rescued her from a hideout where she was kept.

She sustained injuries on her body as a result of beatings by her captors, P.M.NEWS learnt.
The teenager is now receiving treatment at the Igando General Hospital.

The suspects arraigned are Tony Igbo, 32, Onyekachi Joshua, 34, Paul Ibeh and a 22-year old woman, Chika Eze, the victim’s friend who allegedly lured her to where she was abducted.

The four suspects were charged to court with conspiracy, abduction, assault and rape.
When the matter came up at the court, they pleaded not guilty.

The presiding magistrate, Chief Magistrate Shery Solebo, ordered that the matter be transferred to High Court Six, Ikeja, Lagos where they will face the charges preferred against them by the police.

Source - Cyriacus Izuekwe, PM News

52 comments:

ONYEDIKING said...

Oh this men should be killed
god help us in dis cuntry

http:/naijagosip.blogspot.com

Aaaahhhh...not again! Two weeks!!! This issue is seriously getting out of hand ni keee! 'SOME' naija men don turn beast finish ni ooo...Aaahhh...O ma se ooo...Is it that Nigerian women have become overly attractive that these fools can't control their evil/rapist mind or what? Ewo! Chineke zoputa kwa ayin na aka ekwensu!

*passingby* Em...okay...they are all igbos right? Yes they are all igbos *walkingaway*

I pray you heal fast from this traumatic experience baby girl! God loves you most!

What is this obsession for rape among Ibo people?. Why do Ibo men like to rape women?. Dem no get money to carry asewo?. Somebody answer me please.

---Gbenga

Chic Therapy said...

at least Lagos state is persecuting the fools.

grace said...

Gbenga why is it that yoruba men like to kill their wives like Titi's husband? ode oshi! if i'm linda ild ban you from leaving stupid tribalist comments! mind urself oo ofe nnmanu like you! You are one of the reason why Nigeria cannot move ahead!

afu saaaakwa ndi na mention igbos here!

This is a Nigerian issue. Turning it to an igbo issue is not solving the problem. I'm yoruba, but it's so ignorant to narrow it down to an Igbo issue. Men are men, and some are heartless.

Freebrowsinglink.blogspot.com said...

This is very insane! This shameless men are supposed to act like father figure to this little girl.

Federal polytechnic nekede said...

This rapist should be handed over to the Boko haram and be bombed to death. Idiots!

Sam Meera said...

No one on this blog has a right to give rape an ethnic identity! For God's sake, how can anyone say it is only Igbo men that like to rape girls in Nigeria? It is all over the country!!! Do you read northern newspapers? There is always a case of rape EVERY WEEK! It is just not as publicized as the ones that happen in the south. People really need to watch what they say in public. *smh*

Sam Meera said...

As for the topic itself, looking at these men makes me sick. And the lady? She makes me want to barf. They are all despicable human beings.

My whole heart goes out to the girl. I cannot imagine the amount of trauma that girl must be going through right now. Especially at 15. I am not much older than her but I know that such an experience for me will destroy my entire life.
I think she needs psychiatric help immediately.
May God help her and her family to get through this.

bloglord said...

d men in d pics should be forced to rape d stupid girl amongst them in turns(so dat she too can feel d pain n torture) n afterwards all their dicks be cut off. it will serve as a lesson to others

kkdlegend said...

dis is just absurdity of the highest level, dnt dis fools knw the way to a brothel to pik a prostitute,haba

Majorly Igbos are involved in such unpleasant act because their people have failed to reduce dowry,so whenever they are high,they sort for alternatives.

wow!!! Not again.. OMG!!!

LINDA TAKE MY ADVICE: ALWAYS LEAVE OFF SHALLOW-MINDED COMMENTS THAT DWELL ON TRIBAL SENTIMENTS. I BELIEVE SOME NARROW-MINDED FOOLS DO THAT TO DISCREDIT YOUR BLOG. TOMORROW ADVERTISERS WILL CLASSIFY YOUR BLOG AS ONE THAT PROMOTES TRIBAL HATRED. MAJORITY OF THEM ARE ON A MISSION. YOU SHOULD BE GRATEFUL THAT YOU CREATED THE HOTTEST BLOG IN THE COUNTRY. DONT LET THEM DESTROY IT. IF IT MUST CONTINUE, LET IT BE WITH PICTURES AND NAMES, LIKE VANGUARD DOES, NOT ANONYMOUS AND FACELESS.
---FROM THE GUY LOOKING AT TOMORROW

@Gbenga and Anonymous 8:55pm, why can't u face the issue at hand and stop being stupidly tribalistic!!!
What has the tribe got to do with this? and how dare you open your mouth to say it is cos ibo dowries are too high! How daft can u sound! the rape case that was posted on this blog last week, were they not yorubas???
Well as far as m concerned, this is sth that happens round the country and m glad that some of these evil perpetrators are being caught! They should face the law! and their punishment better not be mild! They should serve as a lesson to any silly person who as much as conceives the thought of raping some1 else!
This rubbish has got to stop in this country.
Poor girl, I pray the Lord strengthens her and helps her thru this traumatic experience.

Galore said...

@@@Gbenga and @Grace una so two go soon marry for this blog oo.......see serious vibes......lol............@Linda don post igbo pple wt bad character oo,,una wen say LINDA is too tribalistic.........

Dear Mr 'seeing the future' this is a wonderful blog; yes controversial, but allows for diverse social commentaries. Too bad the truth hurts! Go and lick iceblock *cheers*

you can see why people would think igbo men are the worst perpetrators of rape. abia state refuses to punish the men who raped that poor girl. so what do you expect people to think? if igbo men don't want to be branded as rapists, lobby your state govt and goodluck jonathan to deal with those animals. don't keep quiet until they are made to account for their crime. abia police will not even allow women stage a pecaful protest!!! what does that say about igbo people and igbo culture!!! since you choose to keep quiet, you will take the rap!

14me said...

This is getting to much...what is happening in this country it was bombing,killing of spouses,kidnapping now raping please GOD if it is our sin forgive us meanwhile all case of raping should be attached to firing

O really? It's nt a tribe thing? Profiling though unpleasant to the profiled, exists for a reason. Middle easterners and muslims in general are profiled the world over as being terrorists. Is this unfair, maybe, but it is valid? absolutely.

No one is trying to pick on igbos, however, if yoruba guys were constantly in the press for raping people, wouldn't you sauy something abut it.

Stop whining and rather expend your energy trying to figure out why igbo men think they can just violate anyone at will.

that lady among them deserve to be rape to death. So that she can know wat it taste like. Stupid girl with an evil heart!

look at their ugly faces, they should just lock them up and trowey the key.

Henry!!1 said...

@ Gbenga, i agree that they are all igbos, but igbo men dont kill their wives like Titi's husband did to her and the powers that be have swept it or are trying to sweep it under the carpet!mscheeeeeeeeeeeeew.

Lol I love how stereotypes are fastly being formed on the internet. As if other tribes men don't rape rofl. No be Naija again????

Please I have stories of Nigerian friends raised in Nigeria who have been assaulted or raped (by legal definition) by Yoruba/Edo men as they make up the bulk in Lagos by default. See another example below:

http://odili.net/news/source/2011/jun/2/825.html

Nigerians and how they try to tribalise issues. Abegiii nobody is clean.

Rape is a Nigerian phenomenon, the men beleive that when the woman is saying no, she means yes and continue with their act. Not exagerating though, 75% of sex in Nigeria is rape. We need to indocrtinate the men to understand the fact that no is no and does not mean that am enjoying it. Though some Nigerian girls too are fond of saying no to every act by their men. Even to kiss, they'll say no and their mouth is wide open to slush. The girls need to say NO and REALLY MEAN IT PLEASE. And Nigerian guys, be respectful of your womenfolk. If they say no, let go and walk away and dont assume that they mean yes.

Big Chief said...

It's so scary how for the past few weeks there have been several rape incidents taken place in different corners of our nation...what's going on? This is part of the reason why the Senate is now considering the possibility of passing a bill to legalise prostitution in the country, according to news report on NigeriaTrends: http://nigeriatrends.com/mrs-fashola-opposes-senate-decision-to-legalise-prostitution/

But many people and organisations are opposing this bill at the moment, especially Mrs. Fashola. This rape madness must end!!!

adesemowo opeyemi said...

tribe or no tribe..wu says a yoruba man cant rape..dey shld all be killed...just wondering the punishment for rape in nigeria

I begin to wonder if d Yoruba's hatred of d Igbo's nt bordering on insanity.For every crime committed u guys rank worse after all it was reported in d dailies abt an oba who raped a who raped a youth corper,an Igbo girl nt once did I read d Igbo's make remarks abt ur morally bankrupt and shameless oba a custodian of ur culture.all I wud say to the Igbo's dey shud see u yoruba's as SICK pple who narrow everytin down to tribal sentiments.I pray and hope the poor child heals as for d culprits dey deserve to be hanged.

see how this post has turned to tribe, tribe and more tribal bashing! Nigerians can never change. That is why I keep them at bay here abroad.

As for the rapists, they deserve to be executed!

Oby said...

Wot does bin igbo ve to do wit dis for pitts sake??Im sure d ppl who r supporting dat tribalistic individual r supposed to b educated...wen igbos do well it goes unnoticed.d minute one hoodlum commits a crime d igbo race suffers it.but i tell u for free...ndi igbo ga na aga ni iru.

why this madness!
what on earth is going on?
what possesses people to do such?

pure wickedness. i cannot wrap my head around such madness.

my prayer is that God heals this innocent child physically and mentally.

as for the perpetrators, God will pay them back in kind- chikena!

Franklyyours said...

oloshi ma lawon eleyi ke? instead of facing the matter at hand they're being unnecessarily tribalistic. I say kill all rapists caught in full glare of the public like robbers used to be executed back in the days in Ijebu Ode and Shagamu. Off with their heads. We will have baby girls too and we want to be able to sleep at night when they are fifteen. I don't give a rat's behind if the rapist is from my home town.

Sam Meera said...

Some of the comments made on this post are really pissing me off.

Hausa=Boko haram bombers?
Yoruba=Wife Killers?
Igbos=Rapists?
And people say Nigeria will not break up... this is exactly the kind of thinking that induces hatred for every tribe and lead to disintegration. Stereotyping tribes may just be the beginning of our doom.

Linda, I like you a lot and your blog has been one of the things that has reduced boredom in my life recently.
But you are supposed to moderate these comments made and I feel any comments that promote discrimination of any kind, be it racial, ethnic or gender wise, should not be posted, especially if it could prove to be very offensive to some readers.

I grew up in a house where my dad is Hausa and my mum is Yoruba, and tribal intolerance was one thing that was not approved of by my parents.
I am a Nigerian and so are you. We should not tolerate tribal bashing of any sort.
Please take my comment very seriously.

bloglord said...

sam meera banks..u are way to goo... u are so on point. intelligently spoken. i like ur opinion not all ds silly tribalistic commentators on d blog.
u are d kind of person i love to mingles with n hold intelligent conversation

peach said...

gbenga ur just a stupid,illiterate, tribalistic fool.. all u do on this blog is make some senseless tribalistic comments. yeye ugly tribal marked ajegulne pig!!!

I stand to be corrected titi's husband was not yoruba! + whose lovely eyes here read on yesterday's punch about the protest in enugu? Yes protest against the continous rape of old women by youths in the area. And err... Where is enugu on the map? Err thinking, thinking ahh yess east! Igbo!
Its funnier some people are talking about the girl's beauty?! I laff! So after 2 weeks of torture, u expect her to lOok good! Ok
I pray God heals this darling! *cheers

@grace n henry .... yoruba women tooo dont kill thier husbands like d igbo woman who killed her yoruba husband by hittin UPS on his head about a month ago ..averagely speaking igbo men rape girls more that yoruba men ....

VJ said...

You guys are so naive! Okay an issue of rape comes up, instead of talkin about how to tackle it.
We turn the issue into yoruba, Hausa and Ibo talk.
Una dey mad!

princess said...

I just hope polis wil not go behind evrybody's back n bail d "suspects". i've had a case with d polis n d guyz were bailed without my knowledge. dats wat 1 get in dis lawless country wia dia are lotz n lotz of godfadarism. God wil surely help dat child.

Damilola george said...

Na wa for all this ibo men and their rape issues.is it in their blood or are they just animals.mo dupe lowo olorun pe omo yoruba ni mi.

Linda da reason Y Nairaland dropped to no2 in da blog ranking and wah actually made me leave Nairaland is simply cox of diz ethnic war.U have to stop this bastard called Gbenga from commenting on ya blog or else,he's gonna drag ya name and beauriful blog to da mud.Gbenga as 4 u,don't blame u at all.This really shows ds level of ya IQ and reasoning.

"Gbenga why do yoruba men like to kill, beat and cheat on their wives?" i hope you notice how stupid you sounded now.

wow! NIgerians can be dense and shallow sometimes. instead of us to be grateful that rapists are now being brought out to face the consequences, we are tlking abt what tribe has more rapists. wow! and you sit here wailing day in day out "why wont our country progress" smh!

Linda Ikeji - please can you address the issue of tribalism in your blog?...no seriously!!!! Stop Ignoring it.

I don't want to believe that you champion this evil, so address it one way or another or it may backfire on your new found success.

i am sure the police will release them soon. After all, police said after their investigation into the Abia case that the lady consented to the rape.

See their ugly faces. Please, throw them jn jail, and let them die in there. They don't belong to the society.

please lets forget this tribal issue,if u re good u re good if u re bad u re bad tribe has nothing to do with it.i know good igbo,hausa and yoruba people.don't let us generalize because of few bad eggs.God bless Nigeria...we are one.One love.God punish the rapist...Kash