Thisday Awards + Hip Hop World Award Nominees | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 24 February 2008

Thisday Awards + Hip Hop World Award Nominees

The 13th annual Thisday Award took place at the THISDAY Dome, Falomo, Ikoyi on Sunday 17th Feb 2008

Here are the names of some of the winners of the award

Lifetime achievement awards for elder statesmen and renowned Nigerians who had served the country decades back, but whose laudable services were hardly still remembered by the society they had laboured to serve.
Yakubu Gowon, who ruled Nigeria for nine years as a military head of state;
Dr. Ola Vincent, Former Central Bank of Nigeria Governor,
Professor Grace Alele-Williams, Former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Benin,
Prince Bola Ajibola, former World Court judge,
Mr. Allison Ayida,, former Secretary to the Government of the Federation,
Chief Arthur Mbanefo, who was chairman of the United Nations Committee on Peacekeeping between 1999 and 2003,
Alhaji Abdul Ganiyu Abdurazaq, the first lawyer from the North and first National Legal Adviser to the defunct Northern Peoples Congress (NPC),

Others were Second Republic senator and renowned accountant, Senator David Dafinone,
former Commissioner for Education in the defunct Mid-western region and secretary of the defunct Petroleum Special Trust Fund (PTF), Chief Tayo Akpata,
Immediate past Chief Justice of the Federation, Justice Alfa Belgore
And former chairman of Arewa Consultative Forum (ACF), late Chief Sunday Awoniyi, who bagged a posthumous award.

The Senate President, Senator David Mark clinched the senator of the year award

Hon. Farouk Lawan, received the Representative of the Year Award

Governors of the year
Fashola emerged the best governor in terms of infrastructural provision.
The governor of Imo State, Chief Ikedi Ohakim bagged the award of best governor in exemplary visionary leadership style,
while his Delta State counterpart,Uduaghan emerged the best governor of the year in the area of promotion of peace and stability

Minister of the Year Award went to Chief Ojo Maduekwe, Foreign Afairs Minister.

Nominees for Hip Hop World Awards 2008.
The list is out and I must say it's an interesting one. So this is what we'll do...WILL WIN/SHOULD WIN.
Lets predict Who will most likely win a category and Who really deserves to win it..
I'm going to do my predictions...

Album of the year

2face Idibia - Grass 4 Grace

P-Square - Game Over (Will Win, should win)
Mode 9 - E Pluribus Unum

Asa - Asa
Faze - Independent

Artiste of the year
D'Banj
2face Idibia
P-Square (Will win, Should win)
Olu Maintain

Song of the year
Yahoozee - Olu Maintain (Should win)
Do Me - P-Square (Will win)
See me so - 2face Idibia
Kolomental - Faze

Recording of the year
Bimbanke - Asa
Stylee - Jimmy Jatt, 2face, Elajoe & Mode 9 (Will win)
Greenland - TY Bello (Should win)
True Love - 2face
Need somebody - Faze

Producer of the year
Mosa - Greenland (Should win)
Puffy Tee - Yahoozee
Jokayne - Stylee
OJB - See me so
Cobhams - Bimbanke
ID Cabasa - Ruggedy Baba (Will win)

Best Music Video (Award goes to director)
Do me - Jude Okoye (Will win)
Greenland - TY Bello/Abbey (Should win)
Fire on the mountain - Cosa
Stylee - DJ Tee
Sasha - Clarence Peters

Best Reggae/Dancehall Album
London Fever - African China
True Love - Timaya (Will win, Should win)
Uchie - African Rockstar

Best RnB/Pop Album
Definition - Jimmy Jatt
Independent - Faze
Niyola - Call my name
Press on part 2 - Indespensables
Game Over - P-Square (Will win, Should win)

Best Rap Album
Definition - DJ Jimmy Jatt (Will win)
E Pluribus Unum - Mode 9
Tha Rapman begins - Terry Tha Rapman
First Lady - Sasha (Should win)

Best Collabo
Stylee - Jimmy Jatt, 2face, Elajoe & Mode 9 (Should win)
Ruggedy Baba - Ruggedman ft 9ice
Lorile - X-project ft Konga
Booty Call - Mo Hits All Stars (Will win)

Best Rap Single
Lagi mo - Rooftop MC's
Stylee - Jimmy Jatt, 2face, Elajoe & Mode 9 (Will win)
U know my P - Naeto C ft Ikechukwu
Crowd Mentality - M-I (Should win)

Best Vocal perfomance (Male)
2face - Stylee
9ice - Ruggedy Baba
Wande Coal - Ololufe (Will win, Should win)
Faze - Someone like me

Best vocal performance (Female)
Bimbanke - Asa (Will win)
Jebele - Kween
Ekundayo - TY Bello
IJoba Orun - Lara George (Should win)
Niyola - Call my name

Hip Hop World Revelation (New Artiste?
9ice (Will win, should win)

Asa

TY Bello

Sasha
Olu Maintain

African Artist of the year
Nameless - Sinzia

Batman Samini - Lambori

Freshly Ground - Pot Belly (Will win, should win)

HHP - Music & Lights
Jozi - Whats with the attitude

Ok, I've made my own predictions...what's your -Will win, Should win? Do let us know!

12 comments:

Pyeri Boy said...

Agreed with some of your predictions.

LEt it be known that i will personally jump off a moving vehicle if Sashas Album gets any award.

While i love Sasha's determination to be a hot Nigerian Rap Artist.

Her Album didnt do it for me. No, not even a little bit.

Naija Sutra said...

Interesting and informative post.thanks

your previous post was fantastic...

keep it up....

and yes we love the inspirational pieces but thats not to say you shld ignore the regular pieces and entertainment gist that made your blog famous.....
(those in the public eye should expect to be talked about,dats why they are celebs, it comes with the turf.....(so long as u specify whats confirmed and whats not..)

me thinks naija fashionistas are not doing badly at all...tho i must confess i dont get "aunty grace ebagbe" most of the time..
her outfits are usually overstated and too fussy..her fashion sense is highly overrated..just my opinion!

I dont know about the others but whatever category she is in, Asa deserves to win hands down.
Are u sure u have heard that her album with those predictions u made
PLSSS that her album is exportable, she deserves a grammy not only hip hop awards.

Chikena

Lind what is the name of the woman in the black chiffon dress with a huge black clutch bag - Sunny Irabor is standing behind her, smiling. She looks cute!

And what's the name of the lady in the brown floor length gown; standing alone, what's her name, babes?

They all look lood, that is; the attendees, and in my own opinion, the ladies i have asked about their names, stand out.

Linda..... as for the nominations, the winners are ??????????????

Babes... i'm confused as well. They all keep getting better, each year.

Kudos to all a them o!

Linda, take care.

Anya Posh said...

this is really strange. hardly any of the ladies are rocking ankara or any traditional outfits. weird!

Ah Ah Linda....Asa gets no love from you!...her album is magnificent!!! It accomplishes what all the other albums cannot do which is its crossing over ability...dont be surprised if she wins a grammy!! lol

nigerians and "psyco-fancy" or should that be with "ies?

why are they not giving award to the malam that sold them cigar and the mama dupe the akara seller at ketu. they forgot those ones?.

back to proper talk. sister linda do you pay for these rubbish fotos from this agancy?

i cant believe an agency takes such appauling pictures and are not ashamed to water mark their name on it.

you write so well and brilliant too. it will be great if you find away of adding some of the write-ups here into your magazine.

do you have a website apart from this blog? i think you should do one and begin to earn from ads because you are having good visitors here sadly all your efforts here are owned by google or whoever owns this blogland.

if you ever want to copy your materials and have it for future use try using website downlaoder.

as for the haters making you change what you do IGNORE them. my mum would say press your ignore botton.

and you haters keep hating. you see a young lady doing something with her life instead of sleeping around like the others instead of applauding and encouraging her you are all there talking about she made a mistake here and there. she is young person for goodness sake and probably working her hands off to do a great job. she doesn't have the resources the people you may be comparing her to have.

i pray i pick up your magazine one day at heathrow and JFK.

wish you luck dear sister. wale

Linda, hi. It's me again. The lady in the brown floor length gown actually has a gentleman standing beside her with his arms around her waist, laughing, smiling.

My mistake......

They all look good, though.

And last but not the least, Linda, i hope that u are well.

Asa SHOULD win any category she is nominated in. She is just FANTASTIC, if u have not heard her album .. u need to get it NOWWWWWWWWW!

Everything's Eventual... said...

Asa for president! She deserved to win every award she got, and some more that she didn't. Again, I say, Asa for president!

Bros,
E be like say you don dey talk another story again o...

P Square should win Album of the Year? You don't seem to know much about music my brother!