'Unlike Jonathan, you did not cancel your visit to Borno because of Boko Haram attack'- Borno state governor, Kashim Shettima tells Osinbajo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 9 June 2017

'Unlike Jonathan, you did not cancel your visit to Borno because of Boko Haram attack'- Borno state governor, Kashim Shettima tells Osinbajo

Borno State Governor, Kashim Shettima on Thursday told acting President Yemi Osinbajo that he had expected him to put off his visit to Borno judging from an experience the state government had in 2014 over fears concerning the safety of the President.

Shettima made the observation at the launching of a Presidential intervention in multi-billion naira food aide to victims of the Boko Haram insurgency in the northeast which Osinbajo chaired in Maiduguri, capital of Borno State.
"Frankly speaking, after Boko Haram made another violent but failed attempt on a community in Maiduguri last night, I concluded in my mind that we were likely to receive a signal from the Villa putting this event on hold or sending a Minister to represent the Acting President. This was the practice we were conditioned to accept judging from our first term in office. For instance, in May, 2014, we had a time our entire security architecture was put in place for a Presidential visit to Chibok. Everything was in place; even parents of the Chibok schoolgirls were on standby. But that historic andgolden opportunity to show leadership was cancelled at the last hour based on some imaginary considerations. I reminded some persons at the Villa,that within days after the unfortunate abduction, my wife had drivento Chibok from Maiduguri without me and I had gone a day after her visit. I said it was defeatist for us as a country to mark any part of Nigeria were citizens live as a place a sitting President cannot go. Unless where war is in motion, Nigeria has always had the security arsenals, with air and ground troops that should be able to secure the President's visit to any part of this country. 
If we believe there is a no-go-area for a Commander In Chief of the Nigerian Armed Forces, then what message are we sending to citizens who live in that area or are compelled to pass through it. The very day that the Presidential visit was cancelled, we had sent Government officials from Maiduguri to Chibok by road not by presidential helicopter. They were safely in Chibok and had mobilized the entire community. Some people would accuse always making comparisons between the incumbent Federal administration and the past, but then, life itself is acombination of the past and the present. You can only appreciate the present or the past, when you compare them. Mr. Acting President, Sir, we salute your good sense of judgment, your courage, patriotism and passion for the northeast which must have shaped your wisdom tin proceeding with today's event. As I believe the acting President must have thought, the fact that a community was traumatized and displaced last night is the more reason the event should hold. Your Excellency, Sir, this visit is a major psychological warfare that sends amighty and raw signal to the remnants of atrocious murderers, that this time around, Nigeria has a Presidency that cannot beintimidatedbackwards. This is a progressive Presidency that is forward everand backward never. We will forever remain grateful to President Muhammadu Buhari for his enormous commitment to ending this insurgency. We are grateful to your dedicated self for the empathy and passion you have shown to us" Governor Shettima said at the beginning of his remarks.

35 comments:

MAD MAN
ITIBOLIBO!
JUST HOW IGNORANT THIS MUMU CAN BE!
Shame on you! Silly Politician

Emeka said...

Very true talk, I like this Governor. I have observed him over time and he is very intelligent and also has a steady hand in governance.
Our acting President is truly God sent. God Loves Nigeria.

LEADERS ARE MEN OF VALOUR, WHO ENCOURAGE THE FEEBLE MINDED!!!
BRAVO, MR. ACTING PRESIDENT!!@

Good and touching speech

What is this one saying? Some people here on LIB just don't have sense. It's obvious you can read, but you can't comprehend.

Amaks said...

Didn't Buhari cancel he's trip to portharcourt because of security issues and osibanjo went. Afoanu

What is this one saying? Some people here on LIB just don't have common sense. It's obvious that you can read but you can't comprehend.

See this ignoramus called Governor! He didn't call Buhari who went for peace missions in Gambia instead of visiting Rann victims that were killed by military/naval plane.
Oga Shetima, don't worry Rondel is here, Jonathan and his people will soon leave Nigeria for you.

Atari Ajanaku..... said...

This are different times,you cant compare Brono of then and now,the scale of attacks where different

DON™ said...

Jonathan was a coward.

Then what will you say to PMB that canceled his visit to Lagos and the Niger delta because of the then Niger delta avengers

Na Goodluck matter go kill of una oloshi them.

Vikai said...

Apart from being an ineffectual, Jonathan was a scaredy-cat. Unlike this brave visit by Prof. Osinbajo, Jonathan buried himself behind the curtains in Aso Rock at every whisper of 'Boko'.

They should ask the stupid governor if buhari didn't cancel his visit to Niger Delta

Did this lady Vivian read the article at all? I want to believe her comment is meant for another post.

Na so Jonathan don turn sharp bone for una throat. Kwantinu

Vivian you bloody lesbian! Your brains have taken a dive.

Haliburton scandal said...

This stack illiterate don't even know the different between president and vice president, how can you compare them? The right statement is Namadi sambo and osibanjo, banza mutumu.

Mr 47 said...

...and one mumu tribe will be calling another tribe coward knowing they are the real coward.

Unlike Jonathan, Buhari never deemed it fit to visit the south. He stayed up North but Jonathan went all over Nigeria as president. I don't really like Jonathan but these northerners are high on free drugs! Like the leader of Arewa (prof ango abdullahi) supporting the youths and berating SE leaders for welcoming Kanu upon release forgetting that they did the same with Yinusa Yellow in the Ese Oruru saga. A peadophile was given SAN to defend him and flown back to his home like a champion. Northerners are just something else. What were the people that created this country thinking! The Igbos and Yoruba would not have welcomed Yinusa yellow back or helped him get legal representation... and to think they are even fasting and are meant to be pious and truthful and calm!!!

Many of you guys insulting each other because of people who don't even know you, you certainly need to surrender to Faith in Christ.

Has PMB visited Borno or Niger Delta? Could you not see him in the same light.

The only thing this mumu govt to achieve is gossip about Jonathan at every corner.

nah wah even as who nah dey suffer because of buhari who nah still dey won compare am with jona way nor put who nah for recession northers u guyz are rilly nigerias major problem

Nice speech .....

Neeyo Linda Ikeji Birth Mate

Imbecile shettima

This is the type of statements you get when you allow touts rig themselves to position of governors.

Did Jonathan not meet with the militants when he was VP. What shit is he saying

Your father was his PA cowardice .

Emy said...

I dont have a problem with this post. What baffles me is that some annoymous' coming on this platform to 'yarn' rubbish. For those that have name, i respect your views but you need to be putting on ur 'thinking cap' always to read in btw lines. Boko boys killed Abu Alli ba?

Anyways, acting Presido, weldone. Some people need to go learn how to play chess and when u are done come back and tell me what Osibanjo represents in the game of chess.

deenity sealord said...

Am waiting to hear that line.."yorubas ar cowards".. yeye de smell. When de use a few agbero attitude to judge a whole race* I jus sidon de look*

deenity sealord said...

Am still waiting to hear that line... " yorubas ar cowards " when a whole race is judged by the act of a few lagos boys*i go jus sidon de look * wink

Acting President is covered by the blood of Jesus. Under the RCCG umbrella

Savage Matilda said...

You all need to take a chill pill!

Savage Matilda said...

You all need to take a chill pill