"Driving to work this morning, I drove past Stanbic IBTC bank in Aguda, next thing I heard were sporadic gunshots and things hitting my windscreen and car. Instinctively, I ducked. I didn't know what was going on. I tentatively looked up and saw the mobile policemen in front of the bank laughing and hi-fiving themselves and one was cocking his rifle.
I was stunned. Obviously it must not have been something major, else why the hell would they be laughing. Something caught my eye on the passenger seat beside me, I looked and saw a spent cartridge/shell/whatever it's called on the seat. I recoiled in horror, turned and drove straight into the bank. I came down and saw 3 other shells on the partition between the windscreen and the hood cover.
These policemen were basically shooting at 9am for no reason and their spent shells were what I heard hitting the windscreen and car. I went to the bank security officer and asked him why the policemen were shooting. He said and I quote..."one of them come resume with them so them dey welcome am"
What I could deduce from the security guy was that the policemen were welcoming one of their colleague with gunshots. Wonderful! When did the police start welcoming themselves with gunshots? Shooting into the air? No robbery in progress? Nothing was happening. They were just flossing. Welcoming themselves. *smh*
So I went to the policemen and demanded to know why they were shooting at 9am. Was there a robbery in progress at Stanbic? No. What was happening? These men looked me in the eye and denied shooting. I was mad. I showed them the shells and the one that even deigned to speak with me told me I must have been mistaken. And he was reeking of alcohol. The remaining three had disappeared when they heard me asking questions.
So I did the next thing I could think of. I went to Aguda Police Station to file a complaint. I got there and explained what happened and showed them the shells even the one on the seat beside me. Guess what the officer said...
"Madam, why you sef no wind up?"
That's when I lost it. And the crase I always carefully hide just had to come out. Oh, it was not a pretty sight. I demanded to see the DPO. I explained what happened to him and asked a simple question.
"In
the absence of a robbery or interaction with a suspect, is shooting in
the air to greet or welcome a colleague normal police procedure? "
The DPO apologised and told an officer to call the policemen at the bank back to the station. The officer came back and said he met no policemen there. They had all dispersed. I drove back to the bank and asked the security guy where the policemen were. This guy changed story o. "No be here dem shoot. I no hear any sound." Even when people around said they heard the gunshots and had to hide for safety, this stupid buffoon of a security guy was still lying.
I went into the bank and demanded to see the BM. When we went out to meet the security man, the fool was still lying, I told him I recorded his previous conversation with me where he told me they were shooting to greet their colleague and showed him a picture of one of the shells, that was when the idiot backpedalled and admitted that indeed the policemen were shooting. The BM called an assistant and told him to call the policemen, one now appeared and started begging.
Long story short. Everybody started begging. I wasn't here for the begging. I just needed to know why the police would think it necessary to just shoot in the air for no reason. Anyway, Bank Manager begged. Police begged. Security guy begged. Bank Manager said they would write a report to the station. Smh. Police said they would deal with the guy. *smh*
I ranted, shouted, screamed, popped my veins, used all the expletives in my dictionary and demanded to know why my tax money spent to buy bullets was being used to greet their friend because he resumed work.
The DPO apologised and told an officer to call the policemen at the bank back to the station. The officer came back and said he met no policemen there. They had all dispersed. I drove back to the bank and asked the security guy where the policemen were. This guy changed story o. "No be here dem shoot. I no hear any sound." Even when people around said they heard the gunshots and had to hide for safety, this stupid buffoon of a security guy was still lying.
I went into the bank and demanded to see the BM. When we went out to meet the security man, the fool was still lying, I told him I recorded his previous conversation with me where he told me they were shooting to greet their colleague and showed him a picture of one of the shells, that was when the idiot backpedalled and admitted that indeed the policemen were shooting. The BM called an assistant and told him to call the policemen, one now appeared and started begging.
Long story short. Everybody started begging. I wasn't here for the begging. I just needed to know why the police would think it necessary to just shoot in the air for no reason. Anyway, Bank Manager begged. Police begged. Security guy begged. Bank Manager said they would write a report to the station. Smh. Police said they would deal with the guy. *smh*
I ranted, shouted, screamed, popped my veins, used all the expletives in my dictionary and demanded to know why my tax money spent to buy bullets was being used to greet their friend because he resumed work.
This morning, I was grateful I live in Nigeria."
60 comments:
Thank God for your life Mam... Police is your "prend"!
Policeman and their wahala...
Why shooting anywere?
Please lib I post previously that am looking for an oven in Benin ,I have not gotten
any response yet please help a sister out with an oven,am relying on my baking business
Shashahelp45@gmail.com
MADAM U GET TIME OO AND I LOVE THAT.how will the welcome their colleague with a gun shoot? Did he kill lion OR TIGER?
IF WE HAVE SOME BODY LIKE U 10 IN NIGERIA HMMM NIGERIA WILL BE A BETTER PLACE.
NIGERIA POLICE IS FULL OF LIES LIKE TERRORIST BUHARI AND APC.
I LOVE HOW U HANDLE THE ISSUE WISELY KEEP IT UP AN BECAREFUL.
SHAME TO APC POLICEMEN.
Wow!!!!!you tried wella ma!God bless you for speaking out and not allowing them intimidate you being a woman.this country sef
Walahi, this woman get excess time and no much regards for her safety. So, everybody ran for safety and you just walked straight to the policemen that just fired shots and started questioning them, despite the fact that you said one of them smelled of alcohol. What if they decided to still shoot at you?
Please next time for your own safety, STAY AWAY FROM TRIGGER-HAPPY POLICEMEN
Madam just thank God for ur life...na so craze dey take start
NOT INTERESTED PLS, NEXT?
Just negodu! Linda take note!
shot in the ear repeatedly *** Correct that
Olorun...this woman no get work...cuz if she does she won't be going upandan saying trash!!!
Madam this z not america...you were lucky today!!!
Which soap u use baf?????
Okk seen
NAWA O
Madam nice one! i salute your courage.
Nice one. If everybody can be like u. The country would be a better place.
Wow!
Nice write up and d writer has surely said it all.
Na wa o. U can imagine d nonsense. Thank God for ur life
Lovely and brilliant too.
I admire ur courage u are a brave person keep it up
I am glad I live in Nigeria too. Yes, #BlacklivesMatter... Now, I pray the police men really understand that they should not be shooting for no just cause. Yeah, policemen all over the world. RIP Alton Sterling
U did well madam
You get luck they no use that drink eye shot you.mr over sabi.jumbo
hmmm
Must u enquire all the time.
never try such on a high way patrol team,u will b killed and labelled a notorious criminal.#advice
Thk God for her life ooo. Jus negodu idoit police officers n security guy.if na robbers na them go run, nonsense policemen
Truly thank God you live in Nigeria and not the united states
Thanks for sharing and letting them know they are doing d wrong thing.stupid police officials.
This is a trend. They do it alot
THANK GOD BUT NEXT TIME MIND UR BUSINESS AND GO SINCE THE BULLET NO TOUCH YOU,
WHAT IF NA SOLDIER SHOOT THAT GUN UP WHAT WILL YOU DO MADAM,YOU CANT EVEN STOP OR TALK MORE OF QUESTIONING HIM.
Oh Jesus...what a post.tank God u were not hurt sha,but dat policeman question got me cracking up
Madam u re ryt in ur fight but no try am wit some folice man way no sabi hw to sfeak english oo. Odawise u go hear tins lyk "walahi talahi, me i think say na her gun i c.
they ar simply mad..
We had an experience during the Boko Haram bomb blast in Nigeria we were held at a waiting room in IAH on arrival at Houston . we were told to wait for questioning like other Nigerians but what baffled me was other people/ nationalities left even who later than we did, I studied the environment and was able to identify the supervisor. I approached him telling him that we have been waiting for th past 3hrs and we have a connecting flight but assured me that we would be attended to soon after 4hrs I couldn't stand it any longer but approached the supervisor again but he made the greatest mistake of his life by responding to me saying do you know I can arrest you but trust Naija man I drew my ear towards his mouth to repeat what he just said and straight away I started with their code of conduct of how to treat visitors and that I work with Americans who respect you with all dignity and my voice was loud and I changed my accent to theirs all officers came around. The first question I threw at the espanic supervisor is that if this came from your direct report I would understand but coming from a supervisor I am ashamed because it shows you don't know your job and mind you I also lead people before we knew he started begging us asking if we were hungry but my reply in anger wa if was hungry I would have said that but you think you can use that word arrest to threaten me infact my just told please we want to go back to Nigeria hour started apologizing even the so called officers who gathered left the scene in shame. An officer who just resumed duty was beckoned upon to attend to us within minutes we were released.
Shut ur mouth
Thank God for her life.
Madam u get mind o ur a brave woman i swear but no try this for night o if not ur on ur own.our cops are lawless but we are hoping that in future it will get better with the cops the lags state police command should investigate this.
Fuck u
This is really unwise for you to have said. If we don't have people to stand-up to the wrongdoers or we all rise up against the wrong doers, how do we have a better world? How do we feel safe in our community?
We don't need your kind of mentality to be passed on to the coming generation. Excuse us Eva Da Diva and change your perspective. I guess you would sit and expect the world to fix itself automatically rather than ruse up and do your own part in fixing the world.
You can be better!
We can be better!
Nigeria can be better!
Joblessness I blame pMB
Madam, don't try it next time and thank God you can make a story out of it now. And again it was in the morning, if it is dark time (evening or Night time) you can not ask them why they shoot in the air and even go to station.please don't try it next time or you will lose your life for nothing. Mobile police are very crazy and mad in their head, so be careful madam.
I love this,,I wish I know the writer😀😀
Nice one.
Hope she ain't a Naggin wife.
What audacity! Na the useless group (Female in Nigeria. FIN) dey give women in naija the encouragement to act sick in the head. In the group, a woman is encouraged to be rebellious, "audacious" and rude, to prove gender equality. Else, what on earth will push a grown up woman to challenge obviously drunk, irresponsible cops, just because they acted way outta line? Isn't that the effect of alcohol? Na so these FINsters they over step their bounds and get wounded or even killed.
SMH! Mtcheeeew!
This woman likes wahala. It's as if she don't have work or she loves gbeborun.
@Anonymous... u are officially a bastard
Grow a brain stupid fuuu
this woman sooo stupid, nigerian police are even worse; they could have shot her and made up a story easily
U are an idiot for dragging FIN into this when u obviously dont understand what the group is about!! Waste of sperm
Shot in the ear abi air...Linda, ya topo error don dey too much o! Nwayo Nwayo bikoo!
U are a moron so obvious that you are related to those drunk police, idiot hu don't not know his right
Madam biko ride on I for do past u
Your parents would have used a condom...
Linda,they shot in the ear right? is it the woman's ear or in the air?
hmmm Nigeria Police... different folks different strokes.
Unknown, there are some things you can change in this country but definitely not the police force. If you see a drunk policeman shooting, you can walk up and confront him if you like. Best thing to do first is to report to the superiors but never to challenge him immediately. Life is too Precious. Be wise
Lie lie
Lie lie
Lie lie
Madam Phillips you are indeed a brave woman, and if you are thinking of starting a movement against citizen harassment/intimidation by the Police and other security agents, please let the awareness be massive, so people of like minds can be part of it. And for most of the comments (as usual) on this post, i shudder for the future of this country.
Thank God for you ohhhhhh brave woman. The Lagos CP should see to the issue of these bad eggs in the NPF.It beat me how anyone could be drunk by 9am in the morning. WTF