Photos: NFF releases shortlist for Super Eagles' next Head Coach | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 8 July 2016

Photos: NFF releases shortlist for Super Eagles' next Head Coach

The Nigeria Football Federation has put former Ethiopian coach Tom Sainfiet, Super Eagles’ caretaker coach Salisu Yusuf and Frenchman Paul Le Guen, who once coached Cameroon, on a shortlist of candidates for the position of Super Eagles’ Head Coach, a statement issued today reads.

On Friday at the Glass House, the NFF Technical and Development Committee pored over more than 20 applications before cutting the list to three. Among those who showed interest in coaching the three –time African champions are Giovanni Solinas, Saintfiet, Hey Antoine, Mark Wotte, Yusuf, Ernesto Paulo Calvinho, Dorian Marin, Le Guen, Miodrag Jesic, Perry Hansen, Ove Pedersen, Adebayo Lateef Kola, Sylvanus Okpala, Peter Ijeh, Vladimir Petrovic-Pizon, Lodewijk de Kruif, Kenichi Yatsuhashi, Bjorn Frank Peters and Ricki Herbert. Belgian Saintfiet, 43, coached the National Teams of Namibia, Zimbabwe, Ethiopia, Yemen, Malawi and Togo, and also worked with the Qatar U-17 side, Young Africans FC of Tanzania and Free State Stars FC in South Africa.

Yusuf, 54, was capped by Nigeria at U20 level, won FA Cup titles with El-Kanemi Warriors of Maiduguri as a player and coached top clubs Kano Pillars, El-Kanemi Warriors and Enyimba FC. He assisted Super Eagles’ chiefs Samson Siasia and Stephen Keshi (of blessed memory), and was caretaker coach for two friendlies that the Eagles won against Mali and Luxembourg in Europe at the end of May. Le Guen, 52, played for Brest, Nantes and Paris Saint Germain and won 17 caps for France, before coaching Rennes, Lyon, PSG (in France) and Glasgow Rangers (in Scotland).

He qualified the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon for the 2010 FIFA World Cup finals and also coached Oman. Chairman of the Technical and Development Committee, Chris Green, told NFF. "We set a criteria with which we evaluated the nearly two dozen applications and then agreed on the three persons that we shortlisted. The Committee will meet on Monday, 18th July 2016 to interview the shortlisted candidates and immediately name the next Super Eagles’ Head Coach"

22 comments:

Good for dem mbok

NFF & APC who corrupt pass?

NaijaStore said...

Long live the chief said...

We don't need a foreign coach, period!

All the success we have had in the recent past were by local coaches/Nigerians in charge.

This is 2016! smh

All i want is for Nigeria to surprise the whole world and qualify from that group of death fifa put them in.. Let the best coach be employed

Need a man to give U head?, 9ice fuck here in Abj hit me up cus I also need a woman to give a life time f**k 7b60e9cf

And they will sack him few months after employment abi?

SO NO HOME MADE COACH HUH?

AUNTY LINDA👩

I thought Dalong said no more foreign coach??? Linda take note!

Banks Emenite said...

Pls employ the French man. Don't even think of Salisu. Can any good thing come out from an Aboki?

Okk

Good riddance to bad rubbish...

NFF is d most CONFUSED body not just in Nigeria but in d world.

NFF dat can pay common #5million salary to its local coach and alwaz owing their salaries want to hire foreign coach.

I pity d fate of d so called foreign coach bcos his career as a coach wil surely b rub in d mud.

Wht a shame!

I thought they said they weren't considering an Int'l coach?

#ReOpenOAU

cool

do you need a permanent hair removal solution? google and read about thanaka powder and kusumba oil and email kinibd@yahoo.com if interested in purchasing.

Nff ar soo corrupt

The norther takes it

This is Amaju Panic style to owe contractors while commissional for sport and don't feel any remorse paying... when you have money you want to live long to enjoy it? How do you enjoy life when you're deliberately and consciously accumulating enemies? Amaju for how long can you be greedy and evil? Bloody sycophant!!!! Will suck anybody's ass to get whatever he wants to the extent he sacrifices his wife punani for favour, shameless worwor talkative!!...Karma will soon visit you Amaju and you'll be beg for mercy but will never get it by his Grace...

Presence said...

Foreign coach No foreign coach, the only thing i want is to be happy when watching Nigerian match

anonymous d' Great said...

The Hausa man will get the job. Is it not obvious.

na nija we dey

kings11ng said...

Here we go again with all this no name coaches