Pharmacists are not Doctors- Internet user narrates near-death experience | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 9 July 2016

Pharmacists are not Doctors- Internet user narrates near-death experience

Internet user and photographer with the IG handle @demilader narrates how he almost died when a pharmacist prescribed medication he was allergic to.  Read what he wrote below:

225 comments:

1 – 200 of 225   Newer›   Newest»
DearONE said...

Hehehe the guy hear am

Go and arrest that so called pharmacist that did this to you or else I go come there my self arrest am for you. That so-called pharmacist must not go scot free oo cos me go vex for you

Na today u sey pharmacist are not docs...anyway thank God for ur lifew

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm nawa ooo thank God you survive

God safe you, u for don join ur forefathers

What makes u think the person that gave u the drug is a pharmacist? This is just a biased post. Do u know how many lives pharmacists save from wrong prescriptions from doctors. U should have told the pharmacist dat u are allergic to the drug. Your mistake. Period.

Dis is serious. I hope people would learn from his mistake. Linda take note!

hrm paul ojeih said...

Guy no blame pharmacist for ur woes I totally disagree with u. I av seen pharmacist better than doctors.we can argue dis both ways d only tin a pharm can not do is surgery but wen it coms to drugs and it's uses do not under rate dem.Any new drugs in d market any new research on drugs pharmacist and chemist are aware an up date.ur crying like a bitch cos u were allergic to a particular drug my nigga doctors kill patients doctor botch surgeries doctors forget surgery tools in patients go to the west and see malpractice suits against doctors. It goes both ways

Thanks for the infor bro.

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

Beware of Quack medical practitioners.

NaijaStore said...

Hmm

Tell them! JOHESU

Well, thank God for your life. I believe everyone should stick to his Job but note that there are Dr.'s who make such fatal mistakes too

Shut up!!! Did you tell him your medication history??... just typed rubbish..

Moron, so despite being the son of two highly trained doctors, you still took prescription from a pharmacist and still foolish enough to ask the nurse to take a quick shot. Next please!

My dear shut up. You should have asked your parents first since they are highly trained specialists. You are lucky. And moreover you didn't act like a child of trained specialists. When the pharmacist didn't have what you wanted and told you of a "better one", you should have called your parents to inform them. I am a child of specialists too, so I know what you should have done. Don't take such risk next time.

Did you see a pharmacist or chemist?

He met a wrong pharmacist. A pharmacist should understand drugs, their interactions and who can take it. They should even have more knowledge of the drug than Dr.

Even doctors can mk dat mistake na

This sounds lame to some extent sha,sorry u reacted to it but that's jst one in 100 occurrence, wetin d so called doctors know abt drugs? They jst took a course called pharmacology but d pharmacist spent 5/6yrs doing that so are better off with drugs,am not a dr neither am a pharmacist but a scientist so know how d cycle run in d medical sector!!!

Pharmacists don't claim to be doctors. What happened to you is as a result the growing negligence of our health sector. Doctors do make mistakes too and even your two "highly" trained specialists can make the same mistake.

queen esther said...

One has to be very caring when buyin drugs from pharmacist cause my friend too almost died when given asthmatic drug instead of malaria drug.

***********************nawa ooo. na me u dey warn walai.... ..

Don't mind those pharmacists. They'll be acting like doctors... but they know more about drugs than doctors sha tbh.

9japikin said...

Ode.. Did u tell the pharm what u are allergic to? Or if u also do not tell Ur "almighty doctor" he would also have automatically known... For ur information.. Pharmacists are more knowledgeable than doctors when it comes to side effects and Adverse drugs reactions..

Tell themoooo. They even consult. That's how I went to the pharmacy the other day to get a drug for my daughter and cos she didn't have the particular one I wanted, the sales girl said maybe I should see the phaemacist to prescribe another one for me. I told her it is wrong for u to send me to the pharmacist. U tell me to go back to my doctor and NOT to see a pharmacist who is not trained to diagnose and treat patients.

Your parents are doctors. Why didn't they treat and prescribe drugs for you???? Abeg shift!

I SWEAR I CAN'T REMEMBER THE LAST TIME A PHARMACIST PRESCRIBED A DRUG FOR ME AND I DON'T THINK IT'S EVER GONNA HAPPEN.

Illiteracy is a disease ,it is clearly stated he knew what he wanted but the pharmacist suggested something else.

Genny's Blog said...

Hmmmmm! thank God u survived.

Ayo said...

Azin!!! The guy is a big idiot. The sickness don cloud his brain.

You're very silly. With your kind of intellect, you should have died jeje and saved the world some stupidity. Can't believe how people think in this day and age. I'm sure your mindset about other medical professionals was formed by your egocentric specialist parents and their colleagues who act like they know it all while killing off innocent Nigerians by the thousands. Olodo. Go abroad and find out how things work

Thank God for ur life! Not all Chemist attendants are pharmacists some are employed just to sell drugs for customers.

A pharmacist has d title of doctor, just like a professor has title of doctor. However, they are not 'doctors' like medical doctors are. But why didn't u informed him or ha that ure asthmatic? You're as guilty as the pharmacist, shugs.

LATEST JOBS AND MANY MORE @ www.nigeriajobsdomain.blogspot.com

Linda why did u delete the recent post on Peter psquare, na wa oh. Wen. U knw u don't have mind to post new why post it in the first place?

Whaooooo!!

Photographer or whatever you call yourself, it is better to just go straight and thank God instead of talking tommyrot. So you think doctors have better understanding of drugs by training than pharmacists. You really do not need to rubbish any profession. Talk about incompetence and not what you know nothing about. Next time, ask google before you come ranting

Ua sick in the head. 2 doctors and you couldn't consult with them before going to buy the drug? Who are u trying to fool? Your papa and mama na doctor ko nurse ni

Stupid olodo boy that dont know you shd tellany allergies first!

Jesus christ

Next time, tell your Pharmacist about your allergies. For you to have mentioned that the drug worked, it means it was a proper prescription. And for members of the public, not every one in a medicine store is a Pharmacist. Beware of quacks. And in addition, I know several people that prefer to see Pharmacists than the doctors in GOPD of hospitals plus Pharmacists usually refer you to specialists when they see the need.

uniquebeauty said...

Quiet joor, why go to a pharmacist when ur parents are docs, child's talk

Young man, u need to be flogged. U should have opened up to your pharmacist that u are allergic to the medication. Is he/she in your mind to know that u are allergic to the medication.Rx reporting

My dear....a pharmacist has more knowledge abt drugs than doctors....u sud HV told him or her Ur medical history

Did you confirm the new prescription with your almighty parents doctors before using it or you don't know of consult a physician before taking drugs? Your stubbornness landed you in your present situation so are many I know it all patients... pharmacists or doctors are human and none are above mistakes...

He even said that the drug worked. As per the hypersensitivity reaction, it was totally his fault. Next time he will tell his health care provider about his allergies.

If u don't tell doctor, nurse, or pharmacist the drugs you are allergic to, how are they supposed to Know. Moreover it could just be an idiosyncratic reaction

prisca said...

This guy is super confused. Y didn't u tell your pharmacist dat u were asthmatic. If your parents are super good y them no treat u. Rubbish. Someone will undergo training 4 years as a pharmacist just so dat she can follow watever doctors say. Ur ignorance is annoying. If u know the number of patients that pharmacists have saved just by reviewing your doctors prescription, u will take down this post and send an apology letter to the council. Yes I am a pharmacist, and we are different from doctors. We all know our place.

Pharmacists know drugs, dosages and names of the diseases the drugs are used for, but they don't know the pathophysiology, aetiology or clinical presentations of the diseases. They don't know how to make diagnosis or interpret test results and certainly can't perform simple procedure or surgeries. Therefore dispensing drugs is all they are good for, hospitals can do without them.

Stop bluffing, abeg!

Why going to a Pharmacist when you have "mightily trained doctors". In as much as pharmacist are not doctors; they are actually more knowledgeable when it comes to drugs and their reactions. Since you did not tell him that u react to that drug, pls stop disturbing us here.

Chisomy said...

Chief, u are highly mistaken. People also die in the hospitals from the drugs and procedures prescribed by doctors. If u were allergic 2 something, the onus partly lies on u to let the pharmcist know. The pharmacist also knows more abt which drug is likely 2 kill u dan a doctor ever will. U also need 2 know dat sometimes people don't know what they're allergic 2 b4 taking some drugs. It's not totally d pharmacist's fault. Some people react 2 sulphur, penicllins and in ur case maybe an NSAID (eg Ibuprofen, aspirin, diclofenac) etc. You shld know these and inform ur pharmacist so dat they will know how 2 serve u best.

You are abusing this guy now....it could be you next time....its good to take caution! When sick, see a physician; you cant treat what you didnt DIAGNOSE!

Those guys in the pharmacy are not real pharmacist, the pharmacist was not around when he bought the drugs. It is pharmacist that produces drugs so I don't see how doctors know drugs more than them. I went to one hospital and I was given an anti allergic drug I knew what it is for, but I decided to ask what the drug is for and I was told that it is for malaria, I was shocked.

Ucancallkunle said...

You are the son of two highly skilled specialist doctors but sought treatment from a pharmacist???

I tink d guy just want 2 use dis medium 2 advertise d hospital.oga mentioning d name of d hospital wasnt necessary.well... get well soon, dats if u were ever ill. Dis is ifeoma

ellé said...

This can only happen in a country where nothing works. Everybody wanna do "I too know". Pls stick with ur job role before u kill. A doctor would ordinarily ask u some questions before prescribing.
Imagine my doctor prescribing viagra for me for my IVF treatment and the silly pharmacist started telling me I don't need it. It almost cost me my IVF treatment

No vex

xristine said...

That guy is an asshole.. a pharmacist is a druglord and knows about drugs than doctors.. doctors go 2 them for drug advice.. the guy didn't tell his Pharmacist that he is an asthmatic patient. Most Patients hide their medical history from health workers. Hello they are not magicians they work with what they are given and they are under oath.. that guy should be arrested and sued for mocking some1 profession.. he had 2 doctors and he went to the pharmacy.. Fraud..

He's a foolish nitwit and I'm not surprised, he's a photographer. When he stepped into a pharmacy to ask for a prescription and he got a 'better' recommendation, being the son of specialists that he claims he is, whatever happened to his medical history and juxtaposing with the side effects of the new drug? Yes pharmacists are not doctors, I feel they know best about drugs and indications, I also feel he's full of shit.

Like seriously anon 8:43, you just responded like an educated illiterate right now, pls be well informed and reformed, talking about a pharmacist performing surgeries and all, a doctor doesn't know what a pharmacist Knows and their job differs and vice versa. Sooo.... What are you talking about.

mindset said...

You are just exhibiting your ignorance in the public. Pls know your facts before writing rubbish

some prescriptions na die......wen u r seeing a Dr or pharmacist tell dem ur allergies dy ain't magicians...n he hasn't done any wrong fin by giving u an alternative at least it worked only dt u reacted to it even d common n everyday drugs we ave pple dt react to it recently septrin is causing serious reactions will u den blame d Dr or pharmacist dt prescribed it..

xristine said...

Ure doctor relies on them to correct their prescription.. a pharmacist is trained 2 diagnose minor diseases and interprete lab results. They don't flaunt doctors mistake 2 d patient's face. Bcs dey are team workers.. he corrects d doc and corrects dem.. that's y dey are d last health worker u see.. 2 save ure life if any mistake has being made.. that's y Americans has save 7.5billions from implementing clinical pharmacy.. they realised that dey spend more treating side effects than d main disease.. so b4 u shut down anoda person's profession get ure facts straight

Well the young man should have told the pharma about his medical history since he's got asthma...coz so drugs are contraindicated in such condition and the pharmacist should have ask about the patient's medical history.

Sultry Onyx said...

Who even knows if he actually went to a patent medicine dealer and then came here to harp on pharmacists. If only u know how many deaths and hospitalizations pharmacists prevent by their interventions, then u wouldn't be here spewing rubbish. If I didn't tell the doctor or health care professional about ur medical history and allergies, will he do abracadabra to decipher that. Hediot. Please stick to ur fotoshoots, like u rightly asked, u don't know jack.

And which is why I don't get why people are dissing the guy. The difference between a doctor and a pharmacist is usually that the doctor is trained to ASK the right questions, you know, like allergies,family and social history and the like. Naija pharmacists always tend to be dramatic when trying to correct them but they will never admit that... Which IMO is y Drs are better.Naija Pharmacists be killing people with their alternative prescriptions since 1804. My neighbourhood babalawo is more effective hian

Mehn,u guys are soo ignorant..yes pharmacist do kn about side effects,so does a doctor,even more plus a pharmacist should never dispense drugs without a doctors prescription.

As a pharmacist you should know you should never sell drugs OTC without any prescription from a certified medical doctor. You could have your license for dt and go to jail. Pls take note.

It's funny how pharmacist believe they know more about drugs than doctors when we all know the truth.

Zod said...

I read an article on Linda Ikeji's blog and I was sincerely vexed in my spirit. Pharmacists are not doctors...true! But it's high time we spoke up for ourselves because a vast majority look down on our profession.

When a lay man hears the word.."Pharmacist"..the first thing that comes to mind is "that weird looking individual with a poor dress sense that prices paracetamol behind the counter"

1. The patient never presented a prescription, so let's assume he/she was trying to treat him/herself based on past experiences with the drug.
2. Since there was no prescription, the pharmacist has every right to"suggest" a drug for substitution, based on the knowledge and experience gained by this drug expert
3. Why does the drug have a hidden identity? I will assume the patient had a severe anaphylactic reaction (...."near fatal to an asthmatic patient..),..but have you ever heard of idiosyncratic reactions? Drug reactions that occur rarely and unpredictably among populations?
4. A pharmacist would never substitute a drug and not give necessary advice....was the patient compliant?
5. Did the patient even meet a pharmacist? Not every one who wears a labcoat and hands you a pack of condoms across the counter is a pharmacist (a lot of people have been deceived)

Now listen to me @demilader , next time you post rubbish on your wall, think well. The doctors saved you because it's their job...the job of the pharmacist is drug related. I will not tolerate novices talking trash.

And Aunty Linda... I know you have nooooo idea when it comes to thesr matters... but you fell my hand by uploading this.

Pharmacists please share. Let's make this go viral

Timeyin A.

Most of all dese patients are liars. I've had experience. I'm a pharmacist and proud to be. No one knows the lives that hav been lost in hospitals probably because the prescription wasn't reviewed by a pharmacist. Professional doctors knw what I'm talking about. This patient shld hav simply just told the pharmacist abt his medical history and not everyone in a pharmacy shop is a pharmacist. Pharmacist hav been saving lives and ll continue to. Madam Linda Ikeji u shld hav modified ur statement pple spend yrs of hard work being pharmacist and we value our professional. We are not doctors and we don't pray to be. For drugs consult your pharmacist. Case closed

Their job is to diagnose and dats all. Keep seeing ur physician ok? One day u ll value pharmacy as a profession

Pharm Nafisa said...

How sure are you that you did not make the mistake of taking a dispenser or an ordinary sales personnel to be a pharmacist. Pharmacist are not much in Nigeria so even in some government hospital the personnel you see in the pharmacy are not pharmacist, though qualified to dispense drug. while i'm yet to see a private hospital that can employ a pharmacist.Also,next time you are in a community pharmacy be smart to differentiate between a pharmacist and a secondary school graduate sales personnel that has been in the business for several years and you can only do that when you understand who a pharmacist is which means you need to do some homework.I as a pharmacist have encountered your kind of predicament but as a professional i allowed him to finish suggesting and explaining things which most were wrong though he mentioned few correct points.Afterwards I ask for the pharmacist incharge which I was told the person I just spoke with is the only pharmacist meaning he calls himself a pharmacist, I then ask if he owns the pharmacy but I was informed it belongs to a medical doctor whom happens to visit only at night.hmmmm you need to see how beautiful and organise the pharmacy was.so please this is Nigeria not UK where you can even see a medical doctor dispensing in retail pharmacy though I know some doctors that dispense in Nigeria @ their free time. So I will advice you to choose where you buy your drugs next time. PCN should please take note.

Na so. Oga or madam pharmacist rarely make dat mistake. U went to a patent drug shop.

This guy is just looking 4 publicity and Linda has assisted. He remembered to mention the so called God sent hospital and his parents but somehow forgot to mention this drug whose knowledge of will be useful to other asthmatic patients out there. See as the picture be like nollywood scene. I hope Linda was not paid to post this sha. The story is just unbelievable and vague

So what have u said now. Abeggg pharmacist are very important and needed uve not met good ones

U are confusing yourself. Am sure u must have hidden details from the pharmacist but anyhow receive sense in jesus name. Mtcheeeeeww

9japikin said...

Anon 8:43,im so sure u are a doctor and uv just proven how shallow Ur mind is.. For Ur info.. Pharmacists know more abt the mechanism of actions of drugs than doctors and how can one know how a drug will alleviate Ur sufferings and not know what the disease state is.. It's only in Nigeria pharmacists are looked down on in the hospitals as a result of doctors' ego induced "supremacy".. Bt thank God the community pharmacies are there to show that u guys are just a bunch of egotistical gamblers.. And imagine him say dispensing drugs are all they are good for... Dts y u kill pple daily without anyone being able to do anything abt it cos the stupid hospitals won't want pharmacists to show how really clueless the doctors are.. And by the way,who do u think research for and produce these drugs?

It's your responsibility to mention your allergies and also state that you're asthmatic. This one will teach you a lesson. Next time no one will need to remind you

MzJUDDIE said...

Well the mistake isn't the pharmacist fault, but the guy...you shud inform an health provider be it a pharmacist or a doctor ur underlying conditions before anything. They are not magicians. Y claim your parents are specialists. Why didn't they know abt the drug and it's side effect. Plus I don't think it's a side effect, it's an adverse effect...n it may not be the drug.. you shouldn't insult the pharmacy profession..5 years or 6years in school is not beans..I know what it is cos I'm studying the course

@Anon 8:43PM- You're obviously an obnoxiously narcissistic megalomaniac. You just stated what pharmacists could do and also what doctors could do showing that each profession is incomplete on its own. A pharmacist is the last line of defense for every patient. They save lives by correcting and vetting the prescriptions issued by doctors.

Young man report ur adverse drug reaction (ADR) to NPC-NAFDAC and stop blabbing that "pharmacist are not Doctors " who told u they're Doctors? Anybody can react to drugs that's y the leaflets are there for u to read.

U are right. It's just for us to be careful

In the hospital, the doctor asks questions and rule out all those side effects before recommending any drugs. It is not the duty of the patient to go and start asking himself questions and answering. It is the duty of the doctor to ask those questions before giving any drug.
In most developed countries where you all rush to for medical care, a pharmacist does not prescribe drug for any patient. How can you prescribe drugs to someone who you don't know their medical history? You haven't examined the patient, you haven't done any lab test, you basically have no disease but you are treating.
You haven't even checked if the persons heart,kidneys and liver will take such drugs.
People that are well don't take drugs. So why will just give someone drugs without first finding out what is wrong.
I lost a patient in kidney failure because we prescribed a certain drug and placed the patient on half the adult dose because his kidneys are failing and won't be able to eliminate it as fast as the normal kidney. The pharmacist just changed the dose and claimed the doctor doesn't KNOW drugs and dosage and that was how the patient was rushed into the emergency in coma, drug TOXICITY. We lost him. His wife that counts his drugs to ensure adherence told us the pharm decided to change the drug dosage without even bothering to consult the consultant that wrote the prescription.
What if this guy didn't know he was asthmatic? What if he has never been diagnosed? Is knowledge of drugs all that matter? What about the knowledge of patients condition? The pharmacist knows about only his drugs. The doctor knows about his patient and also drugs as well as the PRACTICAL SIDE EFFECTS because they are the ones people with side effects see when the problem starts.
The pharmacist know the theory, doctors see it practically and combine it theoretically.
Why are many drugs produced by the all knowing pharmacists later banned and pulled out of the markets? It is because the pharm is a business man, they will do everything to push toxic drugs into the market to make money, the doctors trying it on patients will be the ones to report cases of serious toxicity which might not be recorded by the pharmacist esp in patients that has been using the drugs for about 10yrs (they don't do such tests in their clinical trials). Beware of change of prescriptions, once they introduce new suspicious drugs in the market, even when the doctor didn't prescribe it, they will change the prescription just to sell that drug and get their own percentage of the money. Drugs are pulled out of the market everyday, don't be a lab rat.
In the end, a doctor is a doctor and a pharm is a pharm. They are two different professions and ain't no comparison.
In the heir achy, the doctor is ontop of the pyramid. Let everyone do their jobs within the legal provision.
It is only in Nigeria that a cleaner in the hospital knows more than a doctor. YES! You know more than the doctor but Mister man, focus on your Mop and bucket until you pass MBBS finals.

unknown said...

I know one too curse this guy sha..if u want to promote ur parents hospital..u can do that without insulting the prestigious pharmacy profession..its a well known fact that pharmacist are the custodians of drugs and have more drug knowledge than any doctor will know...many patients die from adverse drug reactions and drug drug interactions and more will buh for the intervention of pharmacist..pharmacist are known to hide the dirty work/correct the mistakes of doctors as e relates to drug dosing and possible interactions...doctors were never trained to be experts in drugs..if e dey pain u say pharmacy nearyby dey get more patients that ur parents clinic...u can try some other skill. Than blackmailing the noble pharmacy profession

Fadafada said...

I don't understand why u pple re attacking d guy, d guy made it
clear that he wanted to buy a particular drug that works for him, but the pharmacist did not ve it. I expected d pharmacist to ask him some questions before giving him another drug since he knew d side effects of d drug.

PrinceCarthy said...

Two medical giants and you needed a Pharmacist? U couldn't mention the name of the drug you were used to or the one you were placed on?
This is a cheap propaganda to destroy the image of pharmacists in this country and an not surprised this came after the Pharm D program was accepted. Our health sector will continue to be in a pothole with issues like this.
I don't believe you realise the number of people that die due to mistakes by Doctors or the number of lives saved by Pharmacist from Doctors mistakes yet nobody hears it. As a patient allergy to a medication you must raise an alarm when it is prescribed. An deeply disappointed in this cheap lie. Brother you need Jesus

Drug Lord or drug baron, u shouldn't do what's not ur job. U can't treat what u didn't diagnose. The truth is that a doctor knows the right questions to ask u don't use all drugs for everybody. And he doesn't need to carry an asthma placard. If this happens in a developed country that pharmacist will definitely go to jail.

Ifunanya cynthia said...

And who does the diagnosis is it a doctor or a medical laboratory scientist?of course not d so called doctor.when you don't know anytin you ask befor disgracing yoursef publicly in the health sector no one I mean no profession is better than any,is a team work

I wonder why everybody did not talk about the fact that it is not the pharmacists job to ever decide to change the type of medication to give a patient cos the doctor has talked with the patient and written what is best. If the pharmacist is out of stock he/ she should tell the patient what is on ground that is similar and ask the patient to confirm from the doctor if any of the drugs can be given instead. The patient does not need to start telling the pharmacist his allergies because he has already talked with the doctor. So the pharmacist over stepped if it was even an actual pharmacist he saw but this does not change the fact that he can just rubbish any profession like that. There are good/bad doctors and pharmacists. It also lies on us to insist that this is what my doctor wrote for me. Let me ask again

How would he have known that he was allergic to the drug? Did you read the post at all? He asked for a drug he was used to but the doctor wannabe decided to do ITK and landed him in a hospital.

When you get sick (non surgery related), I bet you are treated by a pharmacist. Malpractice suit works either ways. If a pharmacist dispenses the wrong drug in the western world, his ass is sued too..just like in this guy's case.

Shantel said...

For a start he didn't even mention the name of the drug he got from the pharmacy...and he may just have suffered complications from his medical condition

Ifunanya cynthia said...

This is the major reason our health sector is bad all because of the egocentric doctors and ofcourse what do I expect from an illiterate whose parents re also doctors he has been brainwashed negativitly abt d tins works I jus pray pharmacy council of Nigeria get a hold of him use him as a scape goat and mk him render an apology,your foolishneSs took you to the hospital not the pharmacist

first of all,the drug doesn't have a name?..secondly when a patient dies, does that make doctors what?.. thirdly..how are you sure u saw a pharmacist..these days ,people pretend to be pharmacists even pretend to be doctors. pharmacists are not doctors..exactly we all have our place..am sure that you have seen a pharmacist more than a doctor in your lifetime..doctors,pharmacist,nurses,lab scientists all save lives but they are not perfect..even drugs show unexpected adverse effects..do not insult the pharmacy profession..it isn't easy to get to be one..Respect all medical professionals.. there's already enough division in the field...n ur a liar cos ur specialist parents should hv treated you..go n compose a better life with your nameless drug..

and what's the truth?. do u know how many prescriptions I have had to correct..ur not in d medical system, so don't say what you don't know..am sure u hv seen a pharmacist more dan a doctor in ur life...hypocrite

It is better u remain anonymous because even your family would not be proud of you for showing the world you lack simple manners. What has happened to this generation? Akoigba omo ale oshi

1, THE DISCUSSION TREAD AGAIN HIGHLIGHTS THE FAILED NATURE OF THE NIGERIAN HESLTH CARE SYSTEM.
2, DOCTORS AND PHARMACIES WORK HAND IN HAND TO PROVIDE BEST HEALTH CARE FOR THE PATIENT
3, PHARMACISTS CAN DISPENSE 'OVER THE COUNTER DRUGS' WHILE EVERY OTHER MED SHOULD BE FROM A DOCTOR ISSUED PRESCRIPTION.
4, THE REASON FOR THIS IS BECAUSE ALTHOUGH A PHARMSCIST KNOWS ABOUT ALL DRUG TYPES, INTERCATIONS. SIDE EFFECTS ETC. THEY ARE NOT TRAINED TO FORMULATE A DIAGNOSIS WARRANTING A MEDICATION.
5, MOST OF THE COMMENTS ABOVE STEM FROM THE REALITY THAT NIGERISNS CAN ONLY SUSCRIBE TO THE JUNGLE MEDICAL SYSTEM AVAILABLE TO THEM SINCE THAT IS ONLY WHAT THEY KNOW. YOU SHOULD NOT APPROACH A PHARMACIST FOR OPINION REGARDING MEDICATION USE. PERIOD.
6, IN SANE CLIMES, THAT PHARMACIST WHO PRESCRIBED THE MEDICATION WITHOUT ASKING FOR THE PATIENTS ALLERGIES, WOULD BE FINED HEAVILY IF NOT DEREGISTERED.

Dapcee

1.The son of 2 highly trained specialist doctors,will never take any drug without contacting his parents first
2.the son of 2 highly trained specialist doctor cannot be an ordinary photographer
3. the son of 2 highly trained doctors most have bn told to always remember that he is asthmatic and so should be careful taken certain medications
4. A pharmacist a trained specialist on drugs and 10 times more knowledgeable on drug matter dan any other health care personel he will never give u any drug without asking u questions like: are u asthmatic,diabetic,hypertensive,or do u react to...etc
The bottom line is dat this news is fake!fake!fake...probably dis he goat must have bn paid t tarnish the image of pharmacist

Are u kidding me. The patient is now the one that is guilty after a doctor has prescribed after asking health related questions from him and a pharmacist decided to change the drug without any knowledge relating to prescription

Yes u are rite pharmacists are not doctors and doctors are not pharmacists they are both different professionals who have difffeerent specialisations just note that wen u need to see either of them make sure u state all ur medical conditions and history so that u can avoid mistakes that could be life threatening

Hardtruth said...

Guy u just succeeded in exposing your high level of ignorance, despite the fact that u came from a supposedly learned background.
Well,how did u know it was a pharmacist nd not a local drug store attendant that sold drug for u?
But,u should have told ur "pharmacist" abt ur medical/ history of allergy.
Fatal side effects could sometimes occur, even if ur drug was prescribed
by your doctor.Always remember to tell
Your doctor, pharmacist or registered nurse abt any history of allergy.
Be wise boy!

Next time tell your pharmacist about you allergies😳. Is the pharmacist his doctor. The job of the pharmacist is to dispense and not prescribe. If the pharmacist feels like prescribing then he should know to ask the right questions like the doctors do. So pharmacists should just stick to their job jurisdiction.

KC said...

Thank God for your life

(Linda d Kim K's fan)

They are two different profession, a pharmacist is to dispense and not to PRESCRIBE no matter what, he/she didn't assess the patient,no clinical history taking, no medical investigations carried out by the pharmacist. No matter what, even if the drug is not available, you are not to change a prescribe drugs you seek the consent of a Dr or a licensed nurse if possible.
You should learn about all these things bro,the world has develop far more than all these things you are saying. And mind you, there is nobody that doesn't make mistakes but it makes the whoever is involve liable. A PHARMACIST IS A PHARMACIST BUT NEVER CAN FUNCTION AS A DOCTOR,HE/SHE IS TO DISPENSE ONLY BASED ON A DR OR A NURSE PRESCRIPTION

KC said...

U get point for here

(Linda d Kim K's fan)

That's just it. "The new prescription". Is the pharmacist a doctor to be prescribing. They should not be prescribing in the first place. Let them just dispense please. But as earlier said, nobody is perfect

ADeSeWa said...

sorry ooo

I can see you all know your place by what you just posted. So you think a patient should be sharing his/ her symptoms or signs with the pharmacist. A pharmacist has no right to change a doctors prescription. Yes, pharmacists detect defects with doctors prescription but it is not in their jurisdiction to ever change drugs. They write a doctor back to ask or even tell a doctor they are out of whatever drug he has written and these are the ones they have so the doctor can decide. Pharmacists are not to be consulted like people consult doctors. They are to dispense drugs. The pharmacists that feels he/ she can change a drug should know to ask the patients their health history.

Mandy said...

Prescription for OTC drugs??as in Over The Counter drugs??you must be higher for what would be required for a Prescrption Only Medicine na?a court order ba?be displaying your foolishness..

Mandy said...

What truth?pray tell..

Mr/ Mrs hidden details from the pharmacist. It is their doctors they consult with. It is not the patients role to start divulging their health history to the pharmacist. The pharmacists should just dispense

Gina Nick said...

N whats that truth we all know? U must be really silly. U shud visit a watd n see how many patients die from adverse drug reactions such as Steven johnson syndrome especially in a fed hospital in lagos. Pls every health care practitioner has a role to play in health care provision and without the pharmacist such adverse drug reactions wud continually occur. So my darling take a seat n relax k?

I agree;pharmacist ain't Doctors;but when it comes to drugs;they know better.....I know bcus I am one of them""## Most black niggas never cares to know about their drugs;u got this cus u don't care about ur drugs'";";";.Sorry;Not everyone in a pharmacy or chemist are trained pharmacist;Do not mistaken this two things....I am proud to be a pharmacist!

We all are argueing "doctors are not pharmacists, pharmacists are not doctors".... Are u sure this post is real??.. We are medical professional.. Looking at this post you will know that it is only a medical illiterate that can post this rubbish. Linda should be sued for this. She is a confusionist. Linda, you think you are invisible, but soon your time will come.

I know you will not approve my previous comment. I am not sending this comment for everyone to read, but for YOU to read. I am passing this message directly to you Linda. Until you CHANGE... Your life will never be of good. Your houses, cars, they are nothing because you soon leave them because they are all VANITY.

anno2ny2mous said...

And what will be the truth?.... say you do pharmacology for one and a half years through out your medical training and you feel you know better than the pharmacist?..... IGNORANCE!!!

Mams said...

Linda the caption on this post is trying to underrate the Pharmacy profession. I am a proud pharmacist, a drug expert, we all have our own roles in the health care sector. Pharmacists have been saving lives since God knows how long. It's just in Nigeria that we are undervalued. Please modify the caption of your post, people spend 5 to 6 years in pharmacy school, and your here trying to undermine us. Ps: not everybody in a pharmacy is a pharmacist, some are pharmacy technicians. Nuff said

anno2ny2mous said...

From all indications, the person in question went to the pharmacy to self medicate himself and the pharmacist gave him a better option based on his prof opinion....the man himself never knew what he was allergic to and so even the pharmacist had asked him, he wouldn't have known whether he was allergic to the said drug he reacted.... Pharmacist have never claimed to be doctors and so Mr man next time know what you are allergic to. note that even if you had seen a doctor, there is no way he would know about your allergies unless you tell him and even if he happens to take your history about allergies, many people don't know what the are allergic to.... a pharmacist will no just dispense a drug to you just because it works for you. there are many things he considers......
As for the man who said he knows better than a pharmacist, na the one and half years of Pharmacology wey you do through out your medical training na him make you drug expert?

Mams said...

Anon 9:21, pharmaceutical care is a new trend in the Pharmacy profession where we Pharmacists take medication history etc. Visit pharmacy shops and not chemists, and make sure you talk to a pharmacist. There will surely be a difference.

Many People are so daft and nonentitous that what they are interested in is bashing a professional immediately they see a particular headlines.Not knowing if there might be any thing behind such.For the record and enlightenment of the public ,just last week the NUC agreed to add one year to 5years of the training of pharmacist and they will be regarded as Dr (Pharm D).The pofpof doctors don't like it at all and they will be coming for more of this with a view to discouraging the govt.The fact is if we are to be posting here all the prescription errors from doctors ,many here will be scared of going to hospitals and many will require that more than half of them go back to med school and even at that many of them will be given advice to withdraw.These doctors are scared of the pharmacists knowledge and the fact that the new curriculum necessitate that pharmacists follow them to wardrounds and thus more of their errors will be
exposed .Even what they cooked up here was a lie and it can only make sense to someone who is not in medical line as my following comment will show.Bring it up and we shall rip it to shreds.

A very stupid thing to say. What do u even knw abt pharmacists and there training?These are d ppl who formulate d drugs doctors prescribe. they more than anyone else knw d indications and contraindications of drugs. Wen it comes to drug administration, pharmacists are more knowledgeable than a lot of called doctors. Assuming who u called is actually a pharmacist and not a road side dispenser, u shud knw at ur age that u always hv to disclose ur health condition (asthma) 2 any health care giver......... If ur "highly trained" parents didnt knw ur history, they could hv made d same mistake......or evn worse. Oga photographer just thank ur god u survived. be more careful next time

Mams said...

Pained anon 8:43, u are definitely a Dr, and a shallow minded one at that. The 1yr 6 mths u used to do pharmacology cant be compared to the 3years of pharmacology plus 4 yrs of pharmaceutical chemistry a Pharmacist has put in. Most Nigerian Dr's feel threatened by a pharmacist because we are near equals, only difference is we dont do surgery. Y'all should take several seats backward with your trial and error methods for patients. Until pharmacist are fully utilized in the hospital setting, things won't get better. Hospitals where pharmacists go on ward round can testify of the difference.

I use to think photographers see the big picture in life, too bad this one is myopic. Now, if a certified pharmacist is substituting your drug, it would have been majorly a generic substitute (ie a drug with the same constituent(s)/active ingredient as what you requested for). But hold on, let's assume it was a therapeutic substitute given and as knowledgeable as you claim to be, you didn't see it right to consult your highly trained medical practitioners at home before procuring the drug? Who are we fooling here? Come on lad, stand up from that bed and go home and learn from your ignorance else the next allergic reaction you will get is SJS

Mams said...

Anon9:25 OTCs are over the counter drugs that don't require a prescription. The poster didn't specify if it was an OTC or POM. Dnt confuse yourself mate.

Amara said...

I generally NEVER post my opinion on any topic but this one I am passionate about so here we go... I guess my feelings as I read these comments today is just utter disappointment in general. Im disappointed because I feel that we should be able to have a discussion about a topic as important as someones life and the state of our healthcare system without being rude and insulting each other. I have seen comments today calling people 'nigga' (seriously is that necessary?), 'shallow mind', people were told they have no home training (but why?), peoples mothers were insulted, some one even said I quote ' it is pride that is making them feel like one' when referring to how pharmacists want to feel like doctors.
Let me address this. I am a PHARMACIST. And I took offence to this post! Though I respect doctors, I do not/ have never wanted to feel like one. I took offense because one persons mistake is being used in an attempt to bring down the entire profession (including me). I am offended because I am being told to 'do what I am told' when in fact my job IS NOT to do what I am told.

The way I see it, there are 2 issues here:
1. People do not know what the role of a pharmacist is
Pharmacists are not doctors.. but they are healthcare professionals and they are knowledgeble about medications. Because a pharmacist made this mistake does not mean that these statements can be generalized to the entire profession. Mistakes are made by pharmacists, doctors, nurses, social workers, physiotherapists etc. It doesnt mean that they are not doing their job properly. It should cause us to look at the real cause which is often the system.
2. There are deficiencies in the healthcare system as a whole that needs to be addressed
The answer is not in putting blame on people, but addressing what the issues are that led to that problem

My feelings right now, Disappointed. Im disappointed because pharmacists could have used this opportunity to further the profession as a whole instead they insult other people.

Maybe i'm taking this too seriously, but I would just like to draw attention to the fact that this is not the answer. The original poster was wrong for his derogatory remarks.. so were alot of people who commented :(

You spoke my mind!

Onome Da Jando said...

Wow, you must be a frustrated cow. May God cleanse your soul from this type of hatred and may your family suffer all the things you just said to Linda.
Anon. 11:36pm, You're a very wicked being and will die a very painful death. May God destroy your entire generation both the current ones and the unborn ones. Wow. 😷😷

busam said...

Pharmacists are not doctors and doctors can never be Pharmacist, that's a fact.
Imagine a grown man whose parents are both doctors seeking the helping of a Pharmacist, it simply tells u how many times he has tried his parents prescriptions but to no avail or if he wants lie in order to damage the image of the noblest profession in the universe, then u have just failed in advertising your quack hospital. We all know the truth, doctors know very little or nothing when it comes to drugs and their mechanisms of action. Without Pharmacist, the health sector would have recorded billions of idiosyncratic deaths because Pharmacists corrects prescription errors almost every minutes in hospitals and at pharmacy.
Have u asked a doctor how many semester he actually studied pharmacology and how many times a Pharmacist has help his genuine professional ignorance on polypharmacotherapeutics? vital questions to be answered.
And Linda, please you better regulate what you post here with respect to noble Progressions like Pharmacy that's trying hard to sanitize the health sector, if you don't want to end your career. Do not take everything that comes your way for granted.

From what I understand from his post, a prescription was given to him and the pharmacist changed it to another probably because he does not have that particular drug. In cases like this, what the pharmacist should have done is to take fresh history that will take cognizance of past medical ,surgical and drug history which should have detected any chronic ailments or allergies since he/she was not the one that wrote the prescription.o

Past medical /surgical history and Drug history are CONSTANT sections in every history taking, so saying that a medical Doctor would not have detected that is a big lie.It only happen in climes where people are just interested in dispensing a particular drug that they have in their pharmacies for pecuniary reasons.

The guy in question claimed he wanted ciprofloxacin to treat his infectious cough, the pharmacist in her right judgement offered Azithromycin which handles infectious cough more effectively then ciprofloxacin. The guy reaction to that is basically idiosyncratic and I really wonder why his "specialist doctor parents" didn't educate him rightly. Probably they are as ignorant as he was.Mr photographer please next time report your adverse effect to NAFdac and not social media. Linda please next time choose what and what not to post. This isn't a case of incompetence the pharmacist indeed had a better alternative. Folks don't tryna create a social media divide in the health sector. We need to trust our health care providers cos they have been trained. Always talk to your pharmacist about any drug related issues. Thank you

blesding said...

Young man, your account is as fake as your claim that your parents are trained doctors. Even the son of an attendant in the hospital who knows he is asthmatic will not reason the way u reason.
Your so called trained doctor parents should be ashamed of u and even themselves for not telling u the importance of knowing the drugs u are allergic to or even drugs that are contraindicated in your condition.
That is, if they are really doctors which I don't believe.
A doctor's son should know better to investigate the actual cause of whatever condition u may have stupidly placed yourself in before concluding it was the drug the pharmacist gave u that caused it.
The son of a Doctor will not or is not expected to make such a statement about pharmacist doing whatever a doctor ask them to do, that a very stupid statement. I didn't go to school for 5 years plus an extra one year of internship to come and do whatever a doctor should ask me to do. We should be working together. I can't even county the number of times I personally have reviews prescriptions and saved lives, I've seen doctors prescribe drugs contraindicated in pregnancy for pregnant women and I have intervened. If I had done exactly what the doctor asked, who knows what would have happened. I have done that without going on social media to insult doctors.thank God you are still alive but I think your story is too dumb for me to believe. Try harder

Seriously I can't be more satisfied with d many replies I ave seen from fellow pharmacist.am a proud pharmacist and I never want to be mistaken for a doctor,cos the pharmacy profession is an honourable one.as for d person who posted.if u had 2 highly trained specialist as parents.i beg to ask why u dint ask der own opinion before goin ahead to self prescribe at a pharmacy and be given a better option.if u wanna be sincere mention d name of d drug u wanted to buy cos I won't be suprised if u were out buying sexual enhancing drugs and got a better option given to u.which u wholeheartedly accepted.not caring to ask if the person that dispensed it to u was a pharmacist or not.bcos u got d oda side of d bargain u really wanna feel fly and make malicious comments about pharmacist or try to cause a supremacy war btw 2 professions.pls pharmacist should stand together and not be dragged into a supremacy war.we are all important parts of the health care system.linda Ikeji pls don't use silly headlines to make news.it just makes u look like a 2nd journalist.

You sound ignorant about the role of a pharmacist. The pharmacist is the only expert on drugs. By suggesting a better drug he did not do anything outside his role, in fact he can make that recommendation to even the medical doctor. He couldn't have known you are allergic to the drug except you told him, neither could a doctor or any other medical professional know except they are told or by an experience with the patient in question or his medical history. In the event you reacted to the drug because of another sickness which is not compatible with the drug which the pharmacist gave you, then I could blame him because he needed to ask you since as a professional he knows the drug-disease interactions. Nevertheless I still insist he did not do anything outside his professional role. Neither is the doctor everything in the health sector. I am a pharmacist too so I know what our roles are. We are not and do not claim to be doctors neither are we less important but we only have different roles. Thank you. Hard luck. Wish you quick recovery.

ebonydoc said...

Goat! Which pharmacist is better than a doctor? Ode! If dey r so good, why do dey like ppl calling dem docs? Dey r bloody low esteemed ppl! U can never see a doc glad wen he's mistakenly called a chemist or pharmacist. But for d pharmacist, u just made deir day calling dem docs...dey will never correct d wrong impression!

1, PHARMACISTS AND DOCTORS WORK HAND IN HAND TO PROVIDE A HEALTH SERVICE TO A PATIENT
2, IT IS THE DOCTOR/PHARMACIST'S RESPONSIBILITY TO ASK AND DOCUMENT THE PATIENTS ALLERGIES AND MEDICAL CONDITION
3, A PHARMACIST CAN DISPENSE OVER THE COUNTER MEDICATION. THESE DONT NEED PRESCRIPTIONS. ALL OTHER MEDICATIONS SHOULD BE DISPENSED ONLY WITH A SCRIPT PRESCRIBED BY A REGISTERED MEDICAL PRACTITIONER
4, IN SANE CLIMES, A PHARMACIST WOULD BE FINED/DEREGISTERED IF A PATIENT SUFFERS AN ADVERSE DRUG REACTION AFTER BEING PRESCRIBED A MEDICATION WITHOUT A SCRIPT
5, FROM READING MOST OF THE COMMENTS ABOVE, IT IS CLEAR THAT PEOPLE BASE THEIR RESPONSES ON THE CHAOTIC SITUATION THAT PREVAILS IN THE NIGERIAN HEALTH CARE SYSTEM WHICH PROVIDES NO GUIDE/EDUCATION TO THE AVERAGE CITIZEN.
6, PEOPLE SHOULD LEARN TO CRITIQUE WITH THE AIM TO CORRECT ERRORS AND LEARN TO PREVENT SIMILAR FUTURE OCCURRENCE RATHER THAN BLAME, SWEAR etc. MOST POSTS ON LINDAS BLOG DONT COMMENT ON THE REAL ISSUES - THEY EASILY ROPE SENTIMENTS, TRIBALISM , RELIGION AND POLITICS INTO THE ISSUES LEADING TO A DISTORTION OF THE TOPIC WITH NO ONE COMING OUT THE BETTER.
7, AS IVE ALWAYS SAID IN PREVIOUS POSTS ON LINDA, YOU COULD BE THE NEXT VICTIM. EDUCATE YOURSELF ON YOUR CONDITION BEFEORE U SEE YOUR DR/PHARM AND ASK QUESTIONS. GET A SECOND OPINION IF POSSIBLE. . GOOGLE IS STILL FREE.

Dapcee

It is the health care providers responsibility to ask, & to tell patients to report any side effects. You can't put all the blames on the patients.

Unfortunately, the doctor knows d patient more than any other professionals in the health sector. If you know the drug well, but little of the patient's condition, how would that help?

1, PHARMACISTS AND DOCTORS WORK HAND IN HAND TO PROVIDE A HEALTH SERVICE TO A PATIENT
2, IT IS THE DOCTOR/PHARMACIST'S RESPONSIBILITY TO ASK AND DOCUMENT THE PATIENTS ALLERGIES AND MEDICAL CONDITION
3, A PHARMACIST CAN DISPENSE OVER THE COUNTER MEDICATION. THESE DONT NEED PRESCRIPTIONS. ALL OTHER MEDICATIONS SHOULD BE DISPENSED ONLY WITH A SCRIPT PRESCRIBED BY A REGISTERED MEDICAL PRACTITIONER
4, IN SANE CLIMES, A PHARMACIST WOULD BE FINED/DEREGISTERED IF A PATIENT SUFFERS AN ADVERSE DRUG REACTION AFTER BEING PRESCRIBED A MEDICATION WITHOUT A SCRIPT
5, FROM READING MOST OF THE COMMENTS ABOVE, IT IS CLEAR THAT PEOPLE BASE THEIR RESPONSES ON THE CHAOTIC SITUATION THAT PREVAILS IN THE NIGERIAN HEALTH CARE SYSTEM WHICH PROVIDES NO GUIDE/EDUCATION TO THE AVERAGE CITIZEN.
6, PEOPLE SHOULD LEARN TO CRITIQUE WITH THE AIM TO CORRECT ERRORS AND LEARN TO PREVENT SIMILAR FUTURE OCCURRENCE RATHER THAN BLAME, SWEAR etc. MOST POSTS ON LINDAS BLOG DONT COMMENT ON THE REAL ISSUES - THEY EASILY ROPE SENTIMENTS, TRIBALISM , RELIGION AND POLITICS INTO THE ISSUES LEADING TO A DISTORTION OF THE TOPIC WITH NO ONE COMING OUT THE BETTER.
7, AS IVE ALWAYS SAID IN PREVIOUS POSTS ON LINDA, YOU COULD BE THE NEXT VICTIM. EDUCATE YOURSELF ON YOUR CONDITION BEFEORE U SEE YOUR DR/PHARM AND ASK QUESTIONS. GET A SECOND OPINION IF POSSIBLE. . GOOGLE IS STILL FREE.

Pharmacists are not Doctors so also Doctors are not Pharmacists. Pharmacist is a person prepared to formulate, dispense, and provide clinical information on drugs or medications to health professionals and patients, through completion of a university program in pharmacy
five years of education is a minimum, and some curricula require six years. This gives the pharmacist advanced knowledge of the chemical and physical properties of drugs and their available dosage forms, and he or she is thus qualified to play a key role in supplying information about drugs (both prescription and over-the-counter) to patients—those to whom such information is most important. Since the pharmacist may be the last health care professional to communicate with the patient or a significant other before the medication is taken, he or she is therefore in an ideal position to discuss the drug with those concerned. The discussion may include any side effects associated with the drug, its stability under various conditions, its toxicity, its dosage, and its route of administration, all of which may be reassuring to the patient and be of benefit in helping insure patient compliance with the drug regimen.

There are certain things that doctors don't know about drug but pharmacist do. Doctor by virtue of his or her knowledge in Pharmacology knows that e.g Diclofenac 75mg injection is an NSAID. MEANING NON STEROIDAL ANTI INFLAMATORY DRUGS and that it should not be administered to a patient with history of Ulcer, asthmatic attack e.t.c. But the same Doctor do not know about other adjuvants or excipients used in the formulation of the drug (since they were not taught drug formulation) which also possess the tendency of causing a severe allergic reaction in asthmatic patient. How many practising Nigeria physician or Doctors are aware of this? I guess non. As a Pharmacist I would like to use this platform to educate the doctors in the house more on the rational use of diclofenac injection. Read through the leaflet here:
https://www.drugs.com/uk/diclofenac-injection-75mg-3ml-leaflet.html

Pharmacists are not Doctors and Doctors are not Pharmacists and will never be. DOCTOR MISTAKE CAN ONLY KILL A PATIENT BUT PHARMACIST MISTAKE CAN KILL MILLIONS. This is the reason for high level of specificity, precision and accuracy in pharmacy profession. The role of a Pharmacist (7 star pharmacist)
Second, the consultancy agreed that contemporary and future pharmacists must possess specific knowledge attitudes, skills and behaviours in support of their roles. Although these roles go beyond those previously described in official WHO publications and policies, they should be considered essential, minimum, common expectations of national health care systems worldwide. The consultancy summarized these roles in “the seven star pharmacist:”

• Care-giver - the pharmacist provides caring services. Whether these services are clinical, analytical, technological or regulatory, the pharmacist must be comfortable interacting with individuals and populations. The pharmacist must view his or her practice as integrated and continuous with those of the health care system and other pharmacists. Services must be of the highest quality.

• Decision-maker - the appropriate, efficacious and cost effective use of resources (e.g., personnel, medicines, chemicals, equipment, procedures, practices) should be at the foundation of the pharmacist’s work. Achieving this goal requires the ability to evaluate, synthesize and decide upon the most appropriate course of action.

• Communicator - the pharmacist is in an ideal position between physician and patient. As such, he or she must be knowledgeable and confident while interacting with other health professionals and the public. Communication involves verbal, non-verbal, listening and writing skills.

• Leader - whether the pharmacist finds him/herself in multidisciplinary (e.g., team) caring situations or in areas where other health care providers are in short supply or non-existent, he/she is obligated to assume a leadership position in the overall welfare of the community. Leadership involves compassion and empathy as well as the ability to make decisions, communicate, and manage effectively.

• Manager - the pharmacist must effectively manage resources (human, physical and fiscal) and information; he or she must also be comfortable being managed by others, whether an employer or the manager/leader of a health care team. More and more, information and its related technology will provide challenges to the pharmacist as he/she assumes greater responsibility for sharing information about medicines and related products.

• Life-long-learner - it is no longer possible to learn all one must learn in school in order to practice a career as a pharmacist. The concepts, principles and commitment to life-long learning must begin while attending pharmacy school and must be supported throughout the pharmacist’s career. Pharmacists should learn how to learn.

• Teacher - the pharmacist has a responsibility to assist with the education and training of future generations of pharmacists. Participating as a teacher not only imparts knowledge to others, it offers an opportunity for the practitioner to gain new knowledge and to fine-tune existing skills.

By W.H.O:http://apps.who.int/medicinedocs/en/d/Js2214e/3.2.html

Wow, blaming the guy for not telling the pharmacist of his medical history.This sounds nothing like a bizzare drug reaction,This is not about who knows more about drugs.there is a reason why with all the knowledge of drugs, you still are not allowed to prescribe.

Yes, it must be painful. We learn pharmacology for even less than a year and still better than you guys that have to divide it over 5 to 6 years..

ng said...

Did the pharmacist ask for any other health issues? Someone that wants to prescribe should know enough to ask?

Victoria (PharmD) said...

Usually b4 u dispense some drugs...u ask if the patient is asthmatic, hypertensive or has cardiac problem.

2.Nigeria Pharmacies are polluted/filled with 'pharmacy technicals'....big name that kills a fly...some never went to secondary school.

3.How can you enter a pharmacy, with the hope of seeing a pharmacist...only for you to be attended to by a 'pharmacy technical'...not as if they need any degree of education to be called a technical.

4.Nafdac is not doing their job at all. They should enforce that pharmacists or technicals wear a particular uniform at any point in time to enable the clients/patients know who they are talking to.

IN ITALY...IF YOU ARE NOT A PHARMACIST. YOU CAN'T DISPENSE A DRUG EVEN IF THE PATIENT CAME WITH A DOCTOR'S PRESCRIPTION...NOT OF TALK OF ADVISING.

Hahaha!ignorant son of 2 medical giants.d pharmacist gives a doctor drug info in an organised setting.doctors can write lousy prescriptions too.jus thank God u r still alive.everybody u see in a pharmacy store is not a pharmacist....ooo for ur info

Nigeria is a jungle where anything goes.
Although this post has no element to verify that the person who dispensed this is a pharmacist, there is no basis for calling for the title to be changed.
Change to what!
That pharmacists are doctors!!
It's high time the appropriate authorities called pharmacy practitioners to order and weed out the quacks. The PSN should note this.
A couple of pharmacy shops in Nigeria has consulting rooms where the unsuspecting laymen can see 'our doctors'who are largely quacks.
If you think I'm joking try the pharmacy shops in Benin and Warri.
I rest my case

Mudiaga said...

Truth is, it is not a Pharmacist's place to ALTER any prescription! If he/she has a problem with a prescription, what should be done is to politely write out the 'worry ' and have the patient return to the Doctor for clarification or review. It was unethical of the Pharmacist to have altered the prescription. For those insulting the fellow,i don't see why he should whip out his medical history at a pharmacy when he's been seen by a Doctor and a prescription made. In saner climes, that Pharmacist would be held liable.

Drugs are meant to be prescribed only by DOCTORS. Don't self medicate and don't go to a pharmacist when you are sick.
U dnt go to a panel beater instead of a mechanic when ur car engine is bad.

Thank u o jare.

Thank u o

I thought your parents are doctors?? Y didn't you call to confirm....how did they even let you deteriorate to status asthmaticus...your asthma has been poorly managed over time that's y u had the incident. Its easy and lazy of your doctors to blame it on the drug

Hello Morons, It clearly says the pharmasist didn't know it was near fatal to asthmatic patients. Meaning, she was probably informed and prescribed it anyway. To the idiot that said the son of two doctors cannot be an ordinary photographer, careful, your stupid is showing.

Common, this is an unfair write up. You didnt even state which drug you were given so we can independently verify if it is contraindicated in asthma. Thee are very few drugs which are contrainidcated in asthma by the way. You just attempted to rubbish an entire profession because a biased person has told you so. This is a biased write up and a defamatort one at best. Linda you should be ashamed to be publicizing such foolishness.

k.k said...

This guy did not enter the pharmacy with a prescription. The sole call doc parents didn't give him any even when they know it was a prescription only meditation. If this story is rea, then both the guy and the parents must be very stupid

9japikin said...

Ebony whatever or what do u call urself.. I can sense the pain in u cos Ur inefficiency has been shown severally by pharmacists habi?.. Well, sorry, that'd what they are trained to do.. And for the egbon olodo before her, pharmacists know more abt drugs, their mechanisms of actions, effects on the body (both good or bad) dn Ur doctor.. And who? A bloody nurse? If u are in doubt, Google is Ur friend.. Consult it instead of just spilling out ignorance frm that hole in Ur head.

Squire said...

Maybe his ailment had loose some nut in his brain or the shots he takes when snapping were aimed at his skull...Cos pls,Hw did d Pharmacist claim to be a Doctor,Asking for drugs without prescription and a substitute was suggested...If not because the poster has his aim and mission of tarnishing the profession.Had the Pharm laid him down to be injected or dissected, What who she had claimed to be? Mtcheew

Funmi said...

The post isn't about the prescription gone wrong. It's about the hospital, I am sure it's owned by his parents(Cus they are Doctors).
Marketing strategy.

Onome Da Jando said...

Wow, you must be a frustrated cow. May God cleanse your soul from this type of hatred and may your family suffer all the things you just said to Linda.
Anon. 11:36pm, You're a very wicked being and will die a very painful death. May God destroy your entire generation both the current ones and the unborn ones. Wow. 😷😷

A doctor could have also given this patient the same medication without knowing that he was allergic to it. If he says he is a son of two well trained parents then he should have been wise enough to tell the pharmacist that he was allergic to some drugs if he had had the experience before. If he has not, then it is no ones fault.

No matter how you paint it, a pharmacist is a pharmacist, and a doctor is a doctor. During the medical training, u learn a whole lot including pharmacology which is knowing in full details about drugs and how u apply to patients and patients you can prescribe such drugs for. Drs learn history taking during clinical years. And management of a patient will include history, examination, investigation before treatment. However, other health professionals do not do this as they may know the little and fine details but not the deep details. So for the above patient who was given a drug by a pharmacist which almost killed him, if the pharmacist had referred to a doctor about the new drug proposed, it wld have been better. Please would advise all health professionals not to overstep boundaries and keep to your profession or 1 day the cleaner in the hospital would form been a nurse. Thank you

You obviously don't

Wow, check your grammar please, it hurts my eyes. Pharmacist.

Why is there so much disunity in d medical field.... others always team up against the doctors with stupid comparisons. My take is that one is just as important as the other. So Johesu, drop Ur inferiority complex.

toluyemi said...

I guess I would react the same way if my profession appears to be undermined. I have met a lot of great pharmacists, they do their jobs and they don't cross the lines. I have met a few crazy ones too. We have such in all professions. Well blame not the poor chap,
1: Did the pharm ask for his health history viz-a-viz Past Med history and drug and allergy history. 2: What drug was dispensed? He went to renew a prescription and an alternative was given.
The pharm goofed. We all do once in a while. It can be fatal and unforgivable when human life is involved. I think we should look at the bigger pix, let all health workers practice their science and art with dignity, empathy, ethics and respect. Let there be mutual respect for one another. Pharmacists are not inferior to doctors, their line of work is just different and we all work to achieve the same goal,(I assume for the most of us). Where I work, Pharmacists can and do crosscheck my prescription when they feel they need to, all I have to do is explain why I need what I prescribed. Case closed. No arguments or quarrels. It's all about the patient not my ego. I am a Surgeon and that won't change because someone is rightly doing their job. This isn't pharmacists versus doctors, it's about the dangers in giving drugs without prescription or proper clerking, it's about the dangers we all run the risk of facing when we become to confident in our inadequate knowledge. Remember Sir Hutchinson's petition
"From inability to leave well alone; from too much zeal for the new and contempt for what is old; from putting knowledge before wisdom; science before art and cleverness before commonsense; from treating patients as cases; and FROM MAKING THE CURE OF A DISEASE MORE GRIEVOUS THAN THE ENDURANCE OF THE SAME, Good Lord, deliver us".

Obeki clinical pharmacy in Ibadan, Consultation is free. He does consult and prescribes, changes prescription only for patients to go back to the hospital, with a different prescription. I guess he is from Benin too.

pharmacist are custodians of drugs. They know better on adverse drug re actions, side effects etc they know better when it comes to drugs. The issue should be investigated, the question are;
Was it a pharmacist dt attended to him or a patent medicine seller
What drug was prescribed by the doctor and what was the alternative given by pharmacist
What was the nature of his condition/disease history

Pharmacists are not Doctor and Doctors are not Pharmacist. The two professions are at extreme of each other, one is at the entrance door and the other is at the exit door. Patient come into the hospital through two major means
1. Through Accident and emergency or
2. General outpatient department

Doctors are at the entrance to receive the patient and to carry out diagnosis on them using their SOAP METHOD.
Pharmacist on the other hand is at the exit door to check/ hand over the drugs written by the Doctor to the patient, after carefully checked for compatibility between the drug and the aliment, the drug and other drugs the patient is on , the drug and patient reaction to them and further counsel the patient on how and when to take with strict instruction on whether to take it with or without food.

Therefore this two professional need each other to fulfill their work.
Without Doctor their will be no pharmacist and without Pharmacist, Doctors will be no where to be found.

See dis mumu, u better read up on azithromycin and it's use in asthma before coming here to talk rubbish, azithromycin is preferred to ciprofloxacin in URTI's d reaction u had is a very rare adverse drug reaction, I know lots of asthmatic patients dat use azithromycin without issues, u shd av gone to the pharmacy with a prescription indicating the ciprofloxacin n then asked ur parents to confirm d drug switch coz the pharmacist prolly thought he was helping u

chidiebere uma said...

Hence,the importance of what many in Nigeria call waste of time and resources called "history taking and physical examination " that doctors do.Through that short interaction with a qualified medical doctor,a lot about one is brought to the fore,which might in the end save one's life too. Even when people try consulting me over the phone,I simply ask em to come over for the right thing to be done.

That Pharmacology the doctor study is in the Pharmacy domain and a core course for that matter. The Nigerian health system ranks almost next to zero worldwide and that's what you expect in such system where educated people choose not to do the correct thing but to blame somebody else or a group of people for their woes afterwards. The medical tourism to India and the rest of the world is as a result of sacrifices on the theatre tables and poor health services delivery. Pharmacy is a noble profession and a Pharmacist is trained to specialise on drugs and drug related issues. It's his domain. Make no mistake about that.

.Ur doctor relies on them to correct their prescription.. a pharmacist is trained 2 diagnose minor diseases and interprete lab results. They don't flaunt doctors mistake 2 d patient's face. Bcs dey are team workers.. he corrects d doc andcorrects dem.. that's y dey are d last health worker u see.. 2 save ure life if any mistake has being made.. that's y Americans has save 7.5billions from implementing clinical pharmacy..they realised that dey spend more treating side effects than d main disease.. so b4 u shut down anoda person's profession get ure facts straight

We are in Nigeria, the health system is chaotic. People are sacrificed on theatre tables daily. The masses don't even know their rights and responsibilities. Pharmacy is a noble profession and Pharmacists are the most trained in drug related issues.

We should not be giving such type of people our humble time. He doesn't deserve our time please. He is just a Photographer sponsored to paint the profession black.

Drug baron yes but Ur doctor relies on them to correct their prescription.. a pharmacist is trained 2 diagnose minor diseases and interprete lab results. They don't flaunt doctors mistake 2 d patient's face. Bcs dey are team workers.. he corrects d doc andcorrects dem.. that's y dey are d last health worker u see.. 2 save ure life if any mistake has being made.. that's y Americans has save 7.5billions from implementing clinical pharmacy..they realised that dey spend more treating side effects than d main disease.. so b4 u shut down anoda person's profession get ure facts straight

I am a proud pharmacist, I am not a medical doctor. The problem in Nigeria is the high level of ignorance and illiteracy even among "literates". Medical practitioners should be addressed as medical doctors or physicians not doctors. He needed a medication and the pharmacist made a suggestion. The pharmacist has the right to make a substitution not to prescribe a medication. The pharmacist ought to have made proper enquiries as to why he needed the drug which should reveal his medical condition (asthma). Pharmaceutical care involves the pharmacist getting to have detailed info on the patient's med records including allergies. The pharmacist should take this seriously and patients should be willing to give out such info.
Lastly, the nation has a very bad healthcare system where teamwork between health professionals is nonexistent, this would have availed the pharmacist the chance to interact with his physician before making a substitution.
If Azithromycin was the drug recommended by the pharmacist, the likelihood of status asthmaticus arising is about 0.07% according to FDA reports which means it is a very rare adverse reaction. Other asthmatic patients have been known to take it with no adverse events.
Please Linda Ikeji and Daddy Dope (@DemiladeR), don't make statements in ignorance as it has the potential to drag people into deeper levels of ignorance. Patients give detailed info to your pharmacist while seeking your medications. Nobody is above mistake just as physicians err when prescribing medications but effective teamwork among health professionals can reduce medication-linked adverse events.
God bless Nigeria
As men of honour, we join hands.

Lol. But you prescribe for yourself.

Kay said...

This is really an interesting case . But I would first like to correct an impression. Pharmacists are not meant to do exactly as the doctors say. They are there to intervene when there is a prescribing error or when a potential drug therapy problem arises. If this patient came with a prescription for a condition and the pharmacist reccomended another medication that wld have been better, he would have also suggested to the son of two doctors to put a call across to the parents to confirm wether to go ahead with the new reccomendation or not(especially if the previous one has no relationship in treating the condition in question). The allergic reaction could have resulted due to other interactions (E.g fatty food, alcohol, or Co administration of other medications) but until this is thoroughly investigated, one should not be quick to pass judgement. I am a pharmacist and I have seen a prescription where the doctor prescribed INDO MIE. was I to do as I was told ? I had to inform the doctor, who was obviously pregnant and tired due to high patient workload. Please healthcare professionals healthcare is teamwork, not warzone as no one knows It all.In the developed world, the allergy profile of a newborn can be determined to an extent but in this part of the world, very few people know what allergy is, not to talk about allergy history.Sometimes an adverse event is the only way the person finds out that he/she is allergic to a particular drug.

Yea pharmacist re not doctors and doctors re not pharmacist,doctors who cannot treat ear infection re claiming the Lord of health sector.any way my story,2013 during my internship in asokoro hospital (pls d record is there) a doctor gave a patient fansidar with properly taking patient history and the his history in d hospital stated in red pen"sulphur intolerant" he prescribed the drug with tab artesunate. The patient died in the hospital after taking the medication.i kn d doctor bcos we re friends,he approached me in the pharmacy after d family sued the doctor but nothing came out of it,all the chiefs in d hospital hid the mess bcos d family has no societal influence.he told me he ll leave d country and ask God for forgiveness.yes the patient has died,who knows how many pple died in d hospital daily bcos of these mess.that is d reason y American Incorporate pharmacist in doing ward round bcos of medication related problem from prescription and they have saved about 7.5billion lives bcos dey tend to treat adverse drug rxn,life threatening drug rxn from improper prescription and side effects.my second story is this ,my sister in-law went to a federal staff hospital abj 2014 to see a gynecologist bcos she has cramp and minor pain ,the doctor knew she was pregnant and prescribed Tab diclofenac and an opioid analgesic,thank God she called me ,I withdrew d medication and called the doctor,he denied ,so we went to the hospital together to knw d rational behind giving such medication to my sister in-law,i was to fgt abt d incident with apology,i took it in gud faith,i didn't fight them ,we respect our profession.if I didn't intervene,my sister in-law 8yrs of childlessness ll continue bcos this is her first pregnancy in 8yrs of marriage.there re a lot of intervention done in the hospital and community pharmacy by pharmacist,the records re there bcos we document them and attached them with the prescription.Nobody has monopoly of health knowledge,here in US ,dey believe in specialty course,if u re a urologist , diabetologist etc ,u stick to ur area of specialty without diverting to other field .here doctors work directly with pharmacist,doctors seek advice from pharmacist on drug therapy and pharmacist seek advice from doctors to how wat is being diagnosed.it is a collaborative effort and that is why their health care delivery system is perfect.pharmacist hv their limits and so other health care professionals.a surgical nurse in US is better than most doctors in Nigeria.it is not an abuse but a reality,please my fellow colleagues,try to ask questions wen dispensing some medication,knw d reason y the medication is being given before dispensing bcos I hv come across when a wrong drug is prescribed for a particular indication. check for incompatibility and allergies.p pharmacist re the last person u see in any health care facilities and they re there to correct any mistakes made by the Lords of hospital,that is why American can able to save abt 7.5billion life's bcos dey tend to treat the side effects and drug interactions emanate from d medication rather than disease itself bcos it is medication error and negligence is what kill patient in most Nigerian hospital.doctors that re claiming that they know more Dan every other health professionals pls bring out a good health policy dt ll improve our health care delivery system,most pple hv lost hop on u , instead of them treating ordinary headache or ear infection,they seek medical advice abroad and yet u re here rubbishing another person's profession.pharmacist please know your limit and stick to it you guys re doing well,we not only dispensed ,we care,give advice to patient,and other health care professionals.U re the last hope if the Patient.

Kay said...

I concur with you as per feedback to the doctor, but I am sure the pharmacist did not place a gun on the patients head to bring out money and pay for the drugs, he should have informed his parents (who are doctors) too. However each individual has different genetic make up hence,Adverse events could occur even with the safest drugs. And no one can really predict who this could affect.

Kay said...

I also wish to add that I work in a reputable teaching hospital and I have seen a couple of patients that came down with Steven Johnson's syndrome, due to adverse reaction to drugs. On our patient Ward round, I was reliably informed that in most Hosp visited, the doctors were busy thinking that the patient had infectious disease like HIV (so much for taking patients history and all) only one doctor was able to trace it to an adverse drug reaction, and not until I did my own clerking did I discover that the patient had been repeating same drug (about a hundred tablets or more) for cough within a space of one month. The drug is a simple one, but for the overdosage. Further more, as I kept asking more questions,we discovered that he was not even attended to by a pharmacist, but a quack patent dealer. I still insist that this case be properly investigated.

Yes, pharmacists are no doctors neither are doctors pharmacists, they are two groups of distinct professionals with a common goal of dealing with the common enemy (the diseases) though the case is different in Nigeria where the two professionals engage in endless enmity & baseless superiority fight while the real enemy (the disease is having a field day) especially in the government own hospitals and other health related facilities. The supposed victim here sounded as one in his post, no sense of decorum or respect at all for the noble profession. He just went off his tangent to generalize and pitch the public against pharmacists. That is totally wrong. I still don't understand how a son of two doctors will have a cough that have refused to go and still went to pharmacy to buy antibiotics without prescription and be assuming that ciprofloxacin works for him. Having known his condition he ought to know he don't take any medication without consulting his personal physician, what was his reason for doing this since his parents are both doctors, if they were to be farmers, one would have concluded that because he doesn't want to pay consultation fee and wants quicker access to the drug. Guy, next time don't do that. I am not absolving the pharmacist of blame, if is actually a pharmacist that did that cos this days due to economic hardship in Nigeria, a number of pharmacy outlet in Nigeria are using pharmacy IT student, intern pharmacist, student pharmacist to operate, and again no one is above mistake, doctors also make mistakes which are fatal in some cases after a patient might have paid through his nose. So guy next time, apply sense of decorum in reporting such case, try and follow proper channel like reporting to the superintedent of the pharmacy, or to the owner, if u still feel dissatisfied, report to PCN or NAFDAC. Don't misinform the public on what you have little or no knowledge about. If you really feel it was the drug that cause that problem you r facing now, please go on and sue the pharmacy, I wouldn't mind if the pharmacy hire me to defend this case, it will be no case at all.

Kay said...

Thumbs up to u ,Mr Arinze. The public should first know the role of a pharmacist before pointing accusing fingers.This also teaches the public that they also have a responsibility to get to know about what you are about to consume and ask questions before making decisions.In this case, the patient had two specialists at his Beck and call.

Sandra said...

That's not his parents hospital madam Funmi

You are too dumb to knw a pharmacist and a chemist are the same ... check ur dictionary

Kay said...

Please in addition to this, the photographer has to report the adverse drug event to d pharmacovigilance Dept @ NAFDAC .that's the proper place to report, not on this blog. You may just be among the minority that reacts to azithromycin (all other things being equal).Using a drug that works for you for every condition is not the solution.If a condition persists, you are advised to see your doctor for more investigations. Please this is meant to improve the profession, not to destroy it. Thumbs up to all the Pharmacists and supporters (who believe in the pharmacists) standing up for our profession on this blog! As men of honour we join hands!!!

Did you say nurse prescription ? Nurse really? This is a first

A pharmacist and chemist are the same? Really? And you claim to know ? A chemist is an individual who studied chemistry in school . Patent medicine dealers are called chemists in Nigeria which is wrong . Thank me later

You obviously do not know the duties of a pharmacist . Get off your high horse

Mr. Stretch said...

You are the dumb one! They are not same!

But you found it convenient to mention johesu as the separating party . People would leave you when they have problems with you. If doctors had the decency to be team players the health sector would not be in this constant mess.

Bia ebony or whatever, u hv a problem that's obvious.. .. a pharmacist knows everything bout drugs(what it does n it's side effects) if d so called foolish patient told d pharmacist bout his allergy he won't b in d situation in d first place... . So pls THINK twice or even severally before u say shit.. .. . DUNCE

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 225   Newer› Newest»