In a related development, an Abia State High Court in Osisioma granted a motion filed by Ikpeazu for extension of the order restraining the Chief Judge of Abia State, the President Abia State Customary Court of Appeal and any other judicial officer from swearing in Mr. Uche Ogah, as governor of the state. The order was extended to 18th July, 2016.
News, Events, Entertainment, Lifestyle, Fashion, Beauty, Inspiration and yes... Gossip! *Wink*
Friday, 8 July 2016
Federal High Court affirms Okezie Ikpeazu as Abia State Governor, dismisses the Tax Certificate forgery suit against him
In a related development, an Abia State High Court in Osisioma granted a motion filed by Ikpeazu for extension of the order restraining the Chief Judge of Abia State, the President Abia State Customary Court of Appeal and any other judicial officer from swearing in Mr. Uche Ogah, as governor of the state. The order was extended to 18th July, 2016.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
46 comments:
Wow
A big congrats to him
Goodluck to him...
Congratulations to him
Congrats to him.
~BONARI0~says so via NOKIA LUMIA
Congrats to him
Linda I'm in court o. This article is terribly wrong. He didn't affirm o. He says any news agency that gets it wrong will be charged with contempt
what the,ve him for is nt important
The judge that sack him erred in law for not giving him time for fair hearing and appeal.
i know that the judgement will b faulted and quashed on appeal.
bribery everywhere.thanks to CJ of Abia
The judge that sack him erred in law for not giving him time for fair hearing and appeal.
i know that the judgement will b faulted and quashed on appeal.
bribery everywhere.thanks to CJ of Abia
DEFINITELY HE'S THE GOVERNOR AND NO OTHER.. YEEEEEEEY
This is good news.
Yers...! Congratulations Sir. Even though I'm not from your state, i Celebrate you, you were quite a fighter!
The judiciary just causing unnecessary anxiety. i just pray for calm in the state
************************i knw dix man wud retain dat seat.......... an incumbent gov. dat allows himself to be removed in dat manner ix certainly a political daft........ onyenwa bu ete
This is nigeria!!! Incumbent leader wins any case...nigeria z shit
good for him.
Wow! Thank God
That's nice
Good for him
Dis is a different matter.he still hv case with ogah....lets await d court rulling in a moment thanks
Congrats sir....
Congrats sir
Nigeria judiciary is in a mess
Every court jugde with his opinion no uniformity
It is well
U guys seems not to understand, he still has a case with oga. So ugah is still the governor by law unless okezue wins at the Supreme Court.
Just observing ur stupid self
Congrats to him
I would have preferred if he didnt retain the seat jare..anyway,follow my blog henryaniagor.blogspot.com
Hmmmmm
Congratulations!
congrats oooh...u are indeed the governor.
We are watching,just take note
Battle against PDP failed again.Ogah go ahead and join APC .Buhari still looking for oil producing states for APC.
Lucky him
Na only God knw hw much this nigga spend to still stay in power though.... Congrats to him though.....
the law is an ass
Congratulations
EUNIQUE
hmmm
How does him being governor of Abia State put food on my table? Yeye Igbo people.
Bello Ajibola you must be a full blown idiot for calling the entire Igbo race yeye.
May the good lord embarrass you publicly amen
u ar a stupid horrible person
A Federal High Court in Abuja affirmed in two separately rulings on Friday that the certificate of return issued to Uche Ogah by the Independent National Electoral Commission, paving the way for him to be sworn in as Governor of Abia State, was valid.
Justice Okon Abang ruled that the two separate judgments delivered on June 27, removing Okezie Ikpeazu as Governor of Abia State and ordering Ogah to be sworn in as governor in his stead, could no longer be stayed.
This, he said, was because the Independent National Electoral Commission had already issued fresh certificate of return to Ogah.
He ruled that the judgment removing Ikpeazu remained valid until it is set aside by the Court of Appeal.
The judge ruled, “The order of the court subsists until set aside by the Court of Appeal.
“Therefore, the INEC lawfully issued Certificate of Return to Dr. Uche Ogah as it was in line with the judgment of this court.”
The judge made this declaration in two separate rulings dismissing the motions for stay of execution filed by Ikpeazu and the Peoples Democratic Party with respect to one of the two judgments delivered on June 27.
The June 27 judgments were delivered in two suits separately filed by Ogah and one Obasi Uba Eleagbara.
While the court refused to hear Ikpeazu’s motion for stay of execution of the judgment with respect to the case numbered FHC/ABJ/CS/71/2016 which was personally filed by Ogah, the court dismissed a similar motion filed by the embattled governor and the PDP with respect to the suit, numbered FHC/ABJ/CS/1086/2014.
With regard to the first case (filed by Ogah), the judge ruled that he could not go ahead to hear the motion for stay of execution since lawyers to the opposing parties (Ogah and Ikpeazu) had both submitted that the court no longer had jurisdiction to hear it because the appeal against the court’s judgment had been entered and appeal number issued.
But the court dismissed the motion for stay of execution filed by Ikpeazu with respect to the judgment on the case filed by Eleagbara, on the grounds that it lacked merit.
Though Ikpeazu’s lawyer, Chief Wole Olanipekun (SAN), sought to withdraw the application after the judge refused his request for an adjournment of the hearing on the motion, the judge held that the prayer for its withdrawal was belated since Ogah’s lawyer, Alex Izinyon (SAN), had been made to file a counter-affidavit opposing it.
The judge held that since issues had been joined, the motion for stay of execution was deemed to have been heard regardless of whether it was formally moved in the open court.
Justice Abang also held that since INEC had issued Certificate of Return to Ogah, there was nothing left to be stayed.